We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Primula Beach Resort Kuala Terengganu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Primula Beach Resort Kuala Terengganu
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best hotel in the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

It is probably the biggest and the best hotel in the city. I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed my visit. The staff English is limited but they are friendly. Overall a good hotel for a small city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    64
    90
    43
    20
See reviews for
91
41
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed one night at the hotel for business - I will take my business elsewhere in Terengganu moving forward. The hotel misplaced my reservation. When I check-in, the room I reserved was unavailable and instead was given a standard room (at the same price as my reserved deluxe room) in the old wing of the hotel. They upgraded me to a suit, but I had to pay the difference. The room itself was old, dingy and well past its useful life. No wi-fi, which was par for the course since the ancient TV only had 6 channels, and did not have a clear picture. The bathroom was small and dank, with thread-bare towels. The room appeared to be furnished the same as when the hotel opened in the late 80's or early 90's.

Breakfast was ok, with a standard set of Malaysian and western breakfast items.

This place has not only showed its age but the customer service was poor and made for a thoroughly disappointing stay. My advice - go elsewhere!

Room Tip: Avoid the old wing at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harvlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Terengganu hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We have a soft spot for kuala Trengganu and each visit, we'd choose to stay in Primula. We tried a few other hotels, but e'd come back to Primula.

Primula's about the only hotel that fits our bill of being close and easy access to the city. The lobby gives you that feel of being by the beach and friendly to lounge in.

For private entertaining, there is the coffee corner for coffee and snacks.

The pool opens to the beach and during weekends and some weekdays, the hotel offers grilled seafood by the pool.

Aah, and the Bistro. They serve local dishes till late night and a place for sports fans to spend time watching sports on TV while enjoying your cuppa.

The rooms? I must say they do need sprucing; the bidet and leaking taps. But they do come to the rescue if we care to call. I do remember seeing the rooms in much better condition some time back. Time to refurbish perhaps?

Oh, and the staff, the ones in the restaurants are v friendly. Makes one feel at home, indeed.

Those manning the reception, hmmm.... more "genuine " smiles probably helps ... Why the so serious look? We don't bite!

Despite that, I'd come back again to Primula.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed in room 111 and 112 on 2nd June to 4th June 2014. The toilet facilities is very bad, very dirty and smelly especially room 111, toilet smell of cockroaches. The tabs can't close properly. Can't sleep well at night due to mosquitoes.

The cafe staff is very straight, small children was charged RM14.50 for having breakfast.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 111 and 112, the condition of toilet facilities is very bad and the toilet is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mdismail238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights for a business trip. When I got to my room my first discovery was that the phone ... had no cord. Nobody noticed? That was fixed. Second problem was that the wifi connection did not work. It never worked in my room and only sporadically at the lobby. So if you are on a business trip and need to stay connected: too bad.
Breakfast was somewhat boring (hot dishes are actually lukewarm or cold) and they need to learn some basic hygiene: the sliced fruits were not covered in any way and thus covered with hundreds of mosquitoes enjoying them. Not very appealing. I went to check out dinner but with only 2 choices of meat and a bowl of rice I passed. That was disappointing as I had looked forward to Malaysian food. The rooms are somewhat dated with stained carpets and signs of quick repairs. The A/C does not have a thermostat so it gets freezing cold. Overall not the best introduction to Malaysia.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterp_belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

It was our first road trip to the East Coast and we only stayed one night in KT. We didn't have much expectations as we knew the hotel was an old property but we wanted one that had a beach front.
We were pleasantly surprised as the entire stay was a pleasant one from check-in to check-out. The service staff was friendly and efficient. Rooms were spacious and beds comfortable. The only let down was that we didn't get the double room as requested and booked as the hotel was fully booked over the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kopicham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
1.7 mi away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#11 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
4.6 mi away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#1 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.2 mi away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#6 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental
Hotel Grand Continental
#3 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#7 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sumai Hotel Apartment
Sumai Hotel Apartment
#17 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primula Beach Resort Kuala Terengganu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primula Beach Resort Kuala Terengganu

Property: Primula Beach Resort Kuala Terengganu
Address: Primula Beach Resort Jalan Persinggahan, Kuala Terengganu 20400, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Primula Beach Resort Kuala Terengganu 3*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Primula Beach Resort Kuala Terengganu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primula Beach Resort Kuala Terengganu Hotel Kuala Terengganu
Primula Beach Kuala Terengganu
Primula Beach Hotel Kuala Terengganu
Primula Beach Resort Kuala Terengganu Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing