We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural Beauty for Me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merang Suria Resort
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
perak, malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty for Me”
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I like the environment Merang Suria Resorts. The beach make me happy during we there and it is very beautiful beach, because I'm one of the person who love natural beauty. For me the resort have gave good service during we stay there.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peace086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Front Office Manager at Merang Suria Resort, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion and nice comments during your recent stay with us.

We are happy to see that you enjoy your recent stay and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    11
    16
    7
See reviews for
18
9
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We had read the reviews so we didn't expect much. But is was really nice. A nice swimming pool, room at groundfloor so we could sit outside, nice restaurant. The beds were good, softer than the other hotels we took in Malaysia.
Only they (the reception) called by phone at 9.30 pm to ask for feedback for the hotel. Little strange.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank boatmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Guest Relations Manager at Merang Suria Resort, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for your recent feedback. We strive to offer the best possible service and any feedback encourages our team to ensure our guests are feel comfortable and enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

This property definitely needs upgrading in all areas - rooms, furniture, electrical appliances in rooms etc. Our kettle had a crack in it, room smelled musty, sheets and bedding needed to be replaced. The swimming pool needed a clean too. With so many locals jumping in with T-shirts and shorts on (should wear swimming suits!), the water was quite murky. My legs definitely itched after a 2 minute dip. The staff try their best but their proficiency in English is much to be desired hence making it tedious and aggravating trying to get one's point of view across. The ala carte food is ok but much is to be desired of the breakfast buffet. Menu is very limited with no local Terengganu specialities. Out of the way of the main city of Kuala Terengganu but very convenient if you need to rest up before boarding the ferry to Lang Tengah island. The jetty is a 10 minute drive IF you can find a taxi. Bear in mind, no taxis service this hotel unless called for. Would rather stay in Kuala Terengganu and catch a taxi to the jetty which would take about 40 minutes.

  • Liked — Location to Merang Jetty
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aquajade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Terengganu hotels

Stone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2008

We booked a 5 night package with Air Asia and had this hotel thrown in with the package, we had trouble finding any reviews of the Best western so thought by looking at photos it looked alright.
10 of us arrived late on saturday eve about 10.30pm only to be told that there was no food available at all the only thing we could have was a bottle of water or can of pop so all went to bed hungry hoping that in the daylight things would seem better.
The rooms were not secure the pateo door had one small bolt on that would easily be able to break with a bit of force also the bedding and pillow smelt terrible of damp it was as if they had been locked up all winter and left damp. Breakfast was dire... cutlery was not clean and the only thing we could manage to eat was some toast and jam as everything else didnt look good at all. The hotel was surrounded with rusty barbed wire and a rusty gate opened onto the beach..... miles and miles of beautiful white sand and beautiful sea only to be spoiled by litter strewn all over the beach and to our horror a dead turtle was being washed up without its shell (obviously been killed for the shell) as we were walking on the beach. Enough was enough we managed to book early flights back to KL for the next day and had to endure one more night of little food (and not even a glass of beer available anywhere... we did know it was strict this side of Malaysia but hadnt really realised how strict it was). Security men walked around the hotel during the night one of our party had noticed so that put some confidence in the security of the hotel but it certainly isnt a hotel we would recommend as 3 families with children in such a remote place. If you are planning to visit any of the islands it would be ok for a night in transit but thats all i could really recommend it for.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank JLB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2007

Only stayed here because I couldn't get a hotel on Redang, if you haven't booked yet and are planning on staying on Redang then I sugggest you book it early.

Hotel was rather ordinary but I was grateful to get a room for 2 nights. I spent both days communting to Redang on the speedboat for about 30 dollars a day.

Hotel doesn't live up to its chain name. The beach outside is pristine and you can see the islands far ahead, looks like noone has walked on it for weeks.

Can be a little isloated I had to be driven to the Petronas petrol station in order to get to an ATM.

On the second day I requested a pick up from Merang so I could pick up my early evening flight - They didn't turn up, luckily for me I bought the hotel card with me and the restaurant oweners had to ring 3 times, they eventually came after 2 hours - he managed to even get lost on the way to the airport

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2007

It was late in the evening, and as we approached the driveway up to the lobby, our hearts sank, as we knew that this was not what we had expected a resort to look like. The feel of the place was more a motel-like atmosphere rather than a resort.

The staff were polite but not well trained.

The pool water was murky and dark green. Didn't dare let my kids go in. The next morning, there was someone with a net trying to clean it. When I asked if the water was always like this, he said yes. Hmmm....still didn't dare let my kids in.

Buffet spread offered for dinner was unappealing and choice of dishes were very limited. (Same goes for their buffet breakfast).

Unwilling to settle for a terrible meal, we ventured to the hotel/resort right next to Suria, and instantly wished we had booked to stay there. The buffet at that resort looked good and because the atmosphere lent itself to an upmarket tropical resort feel, we ended up having dinner there instead. Yum!

Didn't try to see what Suria had to offer in terms of beach activities as we had to check out early to catch the ferry to Redang Island.

  • Liked — Close to the Merang Jetty to catch ferry to Redang Island
  • Disliked — Pool and the black bugs that were everywhere
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JH992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
16.4 mi away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#7 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
148 reviews
17.1 mi away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#5 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
146 reviews
17.9 mi away
Primula Beach Hotel
Primula Beach Hotel
#21 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
J Suites Hotel
J Suites Hotel
#13 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
63 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental
Hotel Grand Continental
#8 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
191 reviews
13.4 mi away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#2 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merang Suria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merang Suria Resort

Property: Merang Suria Resort
Address: Best Western Merang Suria Resort Lot 1841 Kampang Rhu Tapai | Merang Setiu, Kuala Terengganu 21010, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Merang Suria Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Merang Suria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merang Suria Hotel Kuala Terengganu
Kuala Terengganu Best Western
Best Western Kuala Terengganu
Merang Suria Resort Malaysia/Kuala Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing