We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maafushivaru
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Mirihi Island Resort(Mirihi)
US$714
US$653
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$292
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$986
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vakarufalhi Island Resort(Vakarufalhi Island)
US$439
US$352
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
LUX* South Ari Atoll(Dhidhoofinolhu Island)
US$1,214
US$786
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Lily Beach Resort & Spa(Huvahandhoo Island)
US$968
US$832
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Constance Moofushi(Moofushi Island)
US$1,549
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,616
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sun Island Resort and Spa(Nalaguraidhoo Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveller rating
657
131
27
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
657
131
27
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour waiterbeach villasister islandwhale sharksmarine biologistfishsmall islandour honeymoonno shoesall inclusive packagebar staffprivate islandsea planemain restaurantteppanyaki restaurantisland toursun loungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 826 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Maafushivaru lived up to the expectations based on previous reviews. The barefoot concept works (sand floor even in reception and the bar) which gives a very relaxed atmosphere. The resort attracts a range of European customers, mainly British. Italian, French and Swiss. Most of the guests are couples, but there are some families too. The public areas seem to have plenty of space. The resort was about 50% occupied when we were there, but even if full there would be plenty of space in the restaurant and bar areas.

The water villas are excellent, and worth the extra money even though the beach villas are a bit larger. The room is well furnished and very practical, with a comfortable bed. The air conditioning works well. There is a private area with sun loungers and steps into the lagoon.

The restaurant food is varied and good (and the comments about dry or overcooked fish were not true when we were there), although it would be good to see more local dishes. There was always fresh fruit, and always a choice of various meat, fish and vegetarian dishes.

Do take the all-inclusive package as extras can be expensive. The bar is great, with a wide range of excellent quality cocktails available in the inclusive package (only a few special drinks are not included).

The snorkelling in the lagoon from the villas is good, but much better is the house reef which is easily accessible just at the end of the jetty. The is also a free boat service to the very small sister island, Lonobu. This is also great for snorkelling and has sun loungers, umbrellas and basic facilities.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, although there needs to be some clarity around tipping. There is a 10% service charge on everything, but some staff had a tendency to hover in expectation of a tip.

The spa is good but expensive.

If you can't live without your laptop there is free wi-fi in the public areas, but there are better things to do in Maafushivaru than check your e-mail. There is good mobil phone reception.

There are thieves on the island - crows! Don't leave small items unattended outside!! Other than this we had a totally relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Choose a water villa, or a beach villa away from the reception area
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank MyReview186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Amazing, beautiful, exotic, romantic, relaxing.....I could go on but ALL of these words sum up Maafushivaru. I spent many nights researching a new island having been to both Coco Palm islands (which were also amazing and worth trying). Finally, having spoken to several travel agents, I was convinced that Maaf was exactly what I was looking for...and they were spot on!!

Everything about our holiday was wonderful.....and this was quite simply due to the most amazing team - EVERY member of staff was a delight...nothing was too much trouble. I have visited many places and I have to say that the staff on Maaf were probably the best I have come across....a huge THANK YOU to you all.

The weather was amazing (even though it was low season), the food was excellent (yes, it was buffet style, but it was still very tasty well cooked food) and our accommodation was just perfect (room 114) and overall we had a fantastic time.

The only sore point was that all water sports had to be paid for even though the island is All Inclusive. Having said that, we spent a massive amount of time snorkelling, which was outstanding, so didn't need to make use of the water sports centre.

Suggestion: we booked out a dhoni for a full day (similar to the Island hopping trip), but just for the two of us. We had a skipper, the skipper's mate, a chef, a waiter and a snorkelling guide. We were taken on a deep sea snorkelling adventure, then on to a Robinson Crusoe Island where the chef cooked the most amazing meal, followed by another snorkelling trip. We were treated like royalty and it was quite simply out of this world. Thank you to the staff who made our day out so special. A definite must and absolutely not expensive.

Our recommendation............BOOK NOW!!........... You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayloversOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We went to the island on our honeymoon, it was everything we could have wished for and more! I have never felt compeled to write a review before, even though I always use tripadvisor-I felt I had to confirm all the other fantastic comments about the resort. It is truly "Robinson Crusoe" with 5 star luxury!
It balances the relaxed feel you want from the maldives with wonderful staff and beautifully decorated surroundings. I,m not going to go into too much detail as there are several reviews already showing this. To name just a few, from Mark who is the best rep we have ever encountered, to Tim the Operations Mgr who has a wonderful team who made our honeymoon. As many who have gone to the resort we have stayed in several lovely Hotels/Resorts, but no staff we have encountered match the team here....the Management should be extremly proud of what they have acheived here!!! Thank you to all the team we had an amazing honeymoon, and wished we could have stayed for at least another 2 weeks...2 weeks were definatly not enough.
We will be back.....

Room Tip: We stayed in a beach villa which was great, spacious clean and included lovely facilities.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hevday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This is our 2nd trip to the Maldives. The first one we went to was Veligandu. Maafushivaru is similar to Veligandu in a way but not exactly the same. It would be a good idea to break down our experience into categories.

Size of the island - It's a small to medium island (50 villas I belive), which is what we love about the Maldives. You don't see lots of people around therefore it feels like a romantic hideaway. Not many families, mostly couples.

Location - It's truely beautiful with white sand all the way around the island. The main jetty side of the island is very good for snorkelling although it could be choppy sometimes. We have seen many types of tropical fish. The sister island is an added bonus but we didn't manage to snorkel there due to bad weather on the day we went. You have free rental of snorkels and flippers which is unexpected.

Accommodation - We stayed in a beach villa (No. 129) which is quite spacious and well equipped. Acommodation is a big thing for me on a holiday and I was very happy with it. There are 1 indoor shower and 1 outdoor shower plus the widest bed in the world! We do get big ants sometimes but I guess that's common in the Maldives. The only thing is that our villa is quite close to the staff centre so a lot of the time our bathroom door keeps vibrating probably due to the generator nearby. We had to stuck some paper in the door to stop the noise.

Service - All staff are very nice and smiley. They are from many different countries and they certainly provide 4 star service. Our biggest thank you goes to Mark the Kuoni rep. I have read a lot of good things about Mark before we went and it turns out to be 100% true. He is a lovely guy! Marina in the spa is nice, so is Nissan and Elaine in the beach bar, Indunil the bartender, Kaaf and Aya in the restaurant... Sorry if the names are spelled wrong.

Weather - We went in the rainning season and there were quite a bit of rain/storm, but we can't complain as it's our own choice.

Mosquito - There seems to be more mosquito around than Veligandu. I don't remember even being bitten once in Veligandu but I wish we brought more Jungle Formula with us. Some days are better than others.

Entertainment - We had great fun playing board games in the library bar when it's raining. They do lovely cakes and finger food in the afternoon. We also borrowed DVD from reception although the selection is not great. Once a week there are 2 locals playing guitar and sing their own version of pop songs. We truly enjoyed that! The entretainment is just right for us, not too much, not too quiet.

Pool - Love it! Very nice pool and it's located perfectly on the beach overlooking the water villas.

Diving centre - We tried the canoe and the pedallo and that was good fun. A manager took a pictrue of us on the canoe and printed it out on a proper photo paper. It was given to us as a surprise which is a really nice touch.

Spa and fitness centre - They have the best fitness centre with ocean view. Don't forget your trainers if you fancy burning off some of the extra calories. We also had 2 couples' massages and it's top notch! The shower room in the spa could be a bit more fancy though.

Beverage - We were surprised that most of the cocktails and branded alcohol are included (Veligandu charges you for these). We have tried nearly everything in the thick menu and it's so wonderful.

Food - This is the "Almost" bit in the title "Almost perfect". It's not bad, but it definitely could be better. We are not fussy eaters, but we do prefer a bit more choices and more exciting food. In Veligandu, there are lots of lovely seafood (you would expect that in the Maldive, wouldn't you?), also the chef behind the counter cook quality steaks and sometimes crepe for dessert. But in Maafushivaru, the only seafood is over cooked small prawns in fried rice and tough grilled fish on the counter. Other food is rather repetitive and not cooked to a high standard. My husband particularly enjoyed unlimited sausages and bacon for breakfast at Veligandu. Maafushivaru keeps these behind the counter which is a bit awkward if you have to ask the chef for 6 sausages and 8 rashers of bacon. We were going to have a romantic meal on the beach as the one we had in Veligandu is truly memorable. Having felt slightly disappointed with the buffet food, we weren't sure if the expensive meal would be justified by its quality. So we didn't try it.

One other issue is that we both had a virus from the 4th or 5th day there for 2 days (I had it a day before my husband). It started with aching mussel and a bit of temperature, developed into bad diahorrea. Also the eye sockets really hurt when you try to look to the side. I got some medicine from reception and found out a few other guests (including a little boy) and staff had the same symptoms. We have perservered in the end fighting away the virus. I am not saying it's down to the island, as we have been travelling and anyone could have brought it to the island. But I did notice the chef use the same tongs for raw and cooked sausages and bacon. Not sure if that is the cause but certainly it's not ideal.

All in all we had a very good time and would recommend Maafushivaru to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLoJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We have just returned home from our 2 week holiday on this small, gorgeous paradise island. It is everything we expected & some!
We were greeted on our arrival by the superb, friendly Kuoni rep Mark, who gave us a guided tour of the island, after a refreshing cold towel & fruit cocktail.
We were then lucky to be allocated beach villa 107 on the south facing beach. The villas are very comfortable & spacious with a super bathroom & outdoor rain shower.
Naseer was our fantastic, very helpful roomboy & kept everything clean & tidy for us.
The mini-bar was only stocked with soft drinks & water but is part of the all inclusive package.
The lovely restaurant provided an excellent buffet every day. The choice of food was very tasty & more than adequate for our needs. Our attentive waiters were Shah & Samad who were always waiting for us with a smile & our favourite drinks at the ready.
The Water bar staff were all fantastic. They would always share a laugh & a joke with us.
Zoel made sure that I tasted every one of the all inclusive cocktails on the extensive list. (The all inclusive package is excellent value for money!) Special thanks to the lovely hostess girls Jaisa, Nissan & Ellaine who looked after us so well & kept the (diet) beer flowing. Thanks also to Prabath, Aminul (animal), Manu & the big boss man for showing us how to play carrom.
I was lucky enough to have 2 fantastic, relaxing massages in the spa. These were a bit on the pricey side but a must have for this type of holiday. The girls in the spa are really friendly & helpful.
The snorkelling on the house reef is fantastic & accessible from the main jetty or a cut through by the watersports centre. Such a large variety of colourful fish to see. I was lucky enough to see that elusive turtle too on the last day.
Thanks to Alessandro for taking us to swim with the whale shark, what an experience. The manta ray was also lovely but he didn't want to swim with us that day :-(
Lonubo island is a must. The shuttle boat is free & goes twice a day. Total peace & quiet. The snorkelling off the jetty there is also superb.
Muaz & Misbah, please give a big cuddle to Dudu when you can find him!!
All in all, this holiday is going to be hard to beat. Everything was perfect.
We are already planning to go back there next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPtheBlack-Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews