We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to be.”
Review of Maafushivaru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maafushivaru
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Southern Ari Atoll
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This was our return trip to the island, and we were pleased to see that the resort had in fact improved over the previous year. The food had more variety, and was of a good standard. The rooms were bright and clean as ever. We were " all-inclusive", and as last year, the drinks were all branded and of good quality. They had in fact increased the items included in "all-inclusive".
We visited the newly opened " Teppanyaki Restaurant" which was not only good quality food, but highly entertaining - well worth a visit!!
The staff are great - always ready to oblige, and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChilternsBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

After searching for an amazing hoilday for my honeymoon,we pick maafushivaru and it was a great choice,
We went on 15th may for 7nights
we were alittle dubious as it was the monsoon season and was scared that we werent going to see anysun
but as soon as we stepped off the plane at Male the sun was blazing.
The airport lounge was amazing and a great start to the holiday,after a 35mins ride in the sea plane,we arrived at our destination and it was amazing
We were greeted by Vicky the kuoni rep and she took us to our water villa
Maafushivara is a beauitful island,even tho there was around 100 people in the island it felt really private and relaxing
They were loads of snorkelling excursions and also the sister island was relaxing and quiet
we had our own waiter called Mohammed and the coffee shop waiter Adam was always there to greet us with a smile.
This is a truly amazing place and are planning to go back soon there.

Room Tip: we stayed a villa 213 and the sunrise was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Destinyg18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We have just returned from Maafushivaru following our 10 day stay for our honeymoon and we are so gutted to have left.

The island is beautiful and you can walk around it in less than 5 minutes whilst paddling with schools of fish & reef sharks.

When we arrived (10 hours late due to poor weather) we had been travelling for over 35 hours and were greeted by a smily reception officer called Leilana who handed us delicious ice cold fruit cocktails & wet flannels which were most welcome.

We stayed in water villa 202 which is the first on the right, slightly closer to the island than we would have wanted but still lovely.

The brilliant service continued throughout the week with the waiters and bar staff friendly, attentive and welcoming. The food at the buffet is lovely and changes regularly - dont miss the hot chocolate pudding!!

The all inclusive option is definitely worth booking as all the premium spirits are included (except a couple of rums & champagnes)

We snorkelled with manta rays, sea turtles, reef sharks, whale sharks and a whole host of beautiful fish. We went on a couple of boat trips which are also highly recommended and MUCH cheaper than other islands as Maafushivaru is closer to the places where the whale sharks/mantas hang around. Each half day trip is $35pp. Some islands charge closer to a $100 pp. We also saw around 50 dolphins who played around our boat for around 20 minutes or so - really was breath taking!!!

All in all, a beautiful island, great staff and we REALLY want to go back already!!!!

Room Tip: If staying in a water villa, ask for a higher number as you will be further away from the island whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patr999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We spent two incredible weeks in Maafushivaru last year, it was an amazing experience.
My husband and I took our nearly 2 year old with us and she loved it, everyone on the island couldn't have been nicer!
Our beach villa was lovely, simply decorated and it also felt very private. The beaches are picture perfect and one could spend hours snorkelling the house reef. Swimming with the resident turtles made my holiday. The trips were great and very reasonably priced and Abdulla was an excellent guide and very knowledgeable about the local wildlife etc. he is a real asset to the island.
The buffet restaurant had a huge selection and their maldivian currys are to die for, my husband would even eat it for breakfast along with a full english and chocolate dohnuts!. Our waiter for the entire holiday was Natte, always smiling and extremely attentive. it is remarkable that the chefs can provide such a variety of food on a tiny island in the middle of nowhere.
We never go back to the same place twice but after having such a fantastic family holiday we WILL be back. The island provides a friendly and safe environment for children which for us was very important.
Can't wait to see this island again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights on honeymoon 8th May 13, apart from the Kuoni staff being poor we could not really find fault with the island, accomodation or staff.
It takes 7 minutes to walk around the island yet for 7 days you never get bored and don't really see many people, fantastic to chill out anywhere on this paradise island.
We had a water villa 202, great location at the start of the pier but fairly small for sunbathing, next time we would stay in a beach villa. Rooms cleaned perfectly with any requests atteneded too very quickly.
Food was excellent with good choices and plenty of it, special thanks to the head chef for making me some fantastic curries.
Too many staff to thank but trust me on this island you will not be disapointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikea2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We've recently returned from a week on the island and wish we could've stayed longer; it's stunning in every way. The small beaches are pretty with fine, light sand and warm, clear water rolling in.

The sea life is impressive with so much to see just snorkelling around the drop off. We were concerned that we'd get a little bored on a small island, but there's no chance of this with so much to see. We saw rays, reef sharks, a moray eel and loads of fish all around Maafushivaru.

There are loads of trips to go on, with an excellent dive/snorkel crew who are informative and seem to really want you to have a good time. We swam with a whale shark and saw some cool turtles amongst loads of other things.

The staff on the island are attentive and fun, the bar staff in particular are great and the ladies at the spa are fantastic. Abdullah is an absolute credit to the team, warm and friendly, knowledgeable about the Maldives/Maldivian culture and so keen to see his guests enjoy themselves - we wouldn't have had so much fun without him.

We ate at the Teppanyaki restaurant twice; the show is hilarious, team are lovely and the food is worth paying for. It also provides a good opportunity to socialise with other guests and get to know people, which in our case led to one particularly fun evening of drinks and laughs and a few sore heads.

The food, in our opinion, was good; loads of choice, cooked well and always something we fancied. Loads of drinks on the all inclusive, impressive cocktail list and as mentioned, great staff who were willing to put together new things at your request.

The room (water villa), I'm sure it could've been better, it wasn't a highlight of the holiday, some things could've been improved, but the bed was big and comfortable and to be honest, we barely noticed as we spent so little time in there. Opening the blinds to the sun rise and the ocean was wonderful.

Pretty sure I could write about this holiday for hours, but all in all we had an incredible time and made memories that make me smile to think back to. It was a privilege to visit somewhere so beautiful with great staff and guests alike. Would love to go back some day.

Room Tip: Requested a 'sunset villa', didn't get it, but probably preferred the sunrise side after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BeckoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I love this island! Having been twice I would go back again!

- Food in the buffet changes regularly (to a high standard)
- A true Robinson Crusoe experience!
- Ideal to unwind, relax and watch the world go by!
- Snorkelling/house reef amazing!
- Staff are great

Need I say more?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GlobeTrotterTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southern Ari Atoll hotels
22.5 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,237 reviews
4.4 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
2 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huvahandhoo Island
2,197 reviews
7.6 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
3,345 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maafushivaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maafushivaru

Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Southern Ari Atoll
#10 Luxury Hotel in Southern Ari Atoll
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Southern Ari Atoll
#10 Spa Hotel in Southern Ari Atoll
Price Range: £472 - £1,148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maafushivaru 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reached by a picturesque flight over the mysterious atolls of the Maldives, Maafushivaru is a quiet island knitted with lush flora surrounded by pure white sandy beaches and incredible turquoise lagoon. Next to the resort is the tiny desert island of Lonubo, exclusive to Maafushivaru guests. A visit to this beautiful island is a must. You can choose from daily visits for basking in the sun and snorkeling the beautiful reef, or ultimately book to stay overnight, an island just for you and your beloved, even if only for a night. Slumber at your choice of three distinct villas. Beach Villas are sited on postcard perfect beaches whilst the Water Villas are built on stilts over the Indian Ocean providing sunset and sunrise vistas that will be forever etched in your memory. For a fun filled holiday, the Pool Villa is the right pick for families or friends travelling together, featuring two separate villas with a shared pool. Summon the bon vivant inside of you with the delectable fare. Cuisine Gallery showcases a potpourri of dishes from all over the world. While 135° East is your key for an authentic Japanese cuisine displaying the art of teppanyaki and the hibachi steakhouse. Sip favourite sunset cocktails at Water Bar with eclectic evening entertainment ranging from Maldivian evenings, to laser shows and disco nights under the starlit sky. Located on the water’s edge, instill a sense of calm and quietude at the Spa with signature product line Voya focusing on healing therapies and rituals. Explore rich underwater life on the house reefs of Maafushivaru and Lonubo, where fish teem and corals bloom colourfully. Dive with whale sharks and mantas in famed spots down south. Discover the epitome of Maldives – Maafushivaru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Maafushivaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maafushivaru Hotel South Ari Atoll
Maafushivaru Tclub Hotel
Maafushivaru Maldives/Southern Ari Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing