We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious, but pricy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conrad Maldives Rangali Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Certificate of Excellence
muscat, Oman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious, but pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Depends on your style, to me it was not the value for money. Good water sport facilities. Transportation by club cars from villas located far from the main service area (bar, restaurant, gym etc.) is an issue.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Gabor Istvan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,642
    235
    92
    27
    20
See reviews for
427
1,238
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

If you're a smoker this is not the ideal island for you as you're not allowed to smoke in most of the restaurants not even outside! And every afternoon the staff is playing football for hours and making lot's of noise with the microphone and whistle, impossible to relax in your room if it is close to the field! Service is very bad and they have ridiculous rules as for exemple you're not allowed to see the Ithaa underwater restaurant if you don't pay a fee and kids are not allowed at dinner time. I have been in 5 other different Maldives islands and this my worse experience, never again!!!

Room Tip: choose a sunset beach villa but especially ask a room far from the football field as the staff is pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Bibidibabidibou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We just came back from our week-long stay at the CM resort - this was our first time in Maldives and everything was just flawless. The entire stay was in the OW villa, but I should admit that nearly 2/3 of our active time we have spent on the main island. We had a chance to tour both beach and deluxe beach villas and still considered OW - mornings and sunsets on the deck overlooking endless ocean were just unbeatable and in our opinion worth the upgrade, plus, view of the lion fish through the glass floor or a sting ray that is trying to camouflage in the sand bed at night is just remarkable experience. Anna was our island host and did an exceptional job tailoring to our needs from the very first minute we met her to our departure so big thank you to her.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and convey your kind comments and observations having stayed with us here at the Conrad Maldives Rangali Island.

It will be my pleasure to relay your positive feedback to all the teams concerned who would be very happy to know that their efforts are recognized and praised.

We will also be carrying out some exciting upgrades and refurbishment to the Resort this year in order to strengthen our position as a luxury hotel and brand with exceptional services and quality products. We continue to work hard to ensure all our guests are made to feel very welcome and we are very proud of our renowned Conrad service standards.

We very much hope to welcome you back to our island paradise in the not too distant future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any assistance in the future.

Kind regards,

Andrew Brett
Director Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from Apr 7-13 in one of the over-water villas. Please note that the review is also based on our comparison with our previous stay at Four Seasons Landaa in 2012.

When we arrived at the Conrad lounge, it was awesome. Service was fantastic, there was a ball pit for the little one and they even made him special pancakes!

Upon arrival at the resort itself, the little one was handed a little stuffed fish which was really sweet. However, it would have helped if a schedule of the kids club with activities that are suitable for him was shared as well. When we enquired, we were told we have to check with the kids club directly.

In the room, we felt that the layout could have been better and the beautiful Maldivian sea was blocked by the wooden panels between each villa. We feel that the layout of the overwater villa at Four Seasons Landaa was wonderful with a magnificent view.

There is no real reef in front of our villa and not many fishes to be seen. The reason why we chose to stay in the overwater villa was so we could have the convenience of heading straight into the beautiful waters to look at marine life, especially when we have a little one with us. We don't think this is an unreasonable expectation as this was our experience at Four Seasons Landaa. That said, the house reef is AMAZING and we saw a decent sized reef shark, a turtle and a ray.

The bed is super comfortable and we all loved it.

No amenities were provided for the little one and we were surprised as all the five star hotels/resorts that we had stayed in had provided.

Little stuffed toys were left for the little one and he loves that!

Housekeeping could have been better. The room was never cleaned properly - crumbs still on the table top/sofa, bed still a little sandy, tissue and shower cap not replenished, multiple requests on the first day for a plastic cup so that the little one could brush his teeth went unactioned, etc.

The food and service at the restaurants were unimpressive except for Sunset Bar & Grill. Very disappointed in the food at Rangali Bar, Vilu Restaurant, Atoll Market and Maldivian night.

Ithaa is an experience if you do not have a fantastic aquarium back home. So we were underwhelmed by that as well.

The seafood at Sunset Bar was really fresh though! Not overcooked and dry like the lobster and fish at Rangali Bar, and fish at Vilu Restuarant. At Sunset Bar, they even catered to my special request for food for the little one!

Service at Sunset Bar and Vilu Restaurant are awesome and they really took great care of my son. They paid attention to our needs and we had a great conversation with Yasid (hope I spelt correctly; Sunset) and Fazeen (Vilu).

Overall service (or lack of) at Conrad is underwhelming and disapointing compared to Four Seasons Landaa. Not everyone greets you and even when you greet them, some of them just nodded. There were a few times where I saw the smile being turned off the moment their heads turned away. No sincerity, not genuine and it's just not the level of service we are used to. Even after giving feedback to the finance manager on our 3rd night and another manager on our last night, there was not much improvement.

Last night was a nightmare. Where Four Seasons Landaa arranged for a seaplane timing so that we do not have to hang out at Male with a 2.5yr old toddler with nothing to do, Conrad failes to give us the best timing until we "complained". That was the last straw and a bitter note to the end of our holiday.

That said, some highlights would be seeing mantas under the bridge almost every night and some baby reef sharks.

Will we be back in Conrad? Definitely not! Back to Four Seasons Landaa we go. No more trying of other resorts!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Felians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
593 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We arrived Male on Singapore Airlines (great airlines by the way!) at around 11:30 am and found the Conrad desk. We were whisked away in the Conrad van and taken to the lounge to enjoy finger sandwiches, drinks and a shoulder massage. Had to wait a couple hours for the seaplane transfer before we arrived at the Conrad.

This was our 2nd stay here as Hilton Diamond members. We used points for the stay and paid for an upgrade to a Water Villa (room 315). The rates fluctuate but since this was high season, our rate was $340/night plus service fee (10%) and tax (8%). Tax and service is added to everything on the island.

We really loved the water villa. Our stay last time was in a beach villa so it provided us totally 2 new experiences. We weren't near the house reef or snorkeling but I really like the smaller island since it is quiet without any kids. There is plenty of fish we could see from our deck and we made use of our little pool every day.

We requested a sunset view. Although we could not see the sunset directly, this was the best room in the water villa category and we still saw amazing colors during sunset. To see the sunset, you'd have to be in the Sunset Villa or there is a beach next to it which provides an excellent view.

We opted to do nothing during our 5 nights here. A few folks we would like to pay a special mention to. Every day we would eat lunch at the Quiet Zone Bar and Iqbal was always there with a cold towel. We had breakfast at Vilu every day and Shark made sure everything was well run. And last but not least our host, Irene, provided the perfect amount of service.

We dined at Sunset once since it was our favorite from last time. The food is still good and I think it is pretty "affordable" considering where you are. Hubby had sea scallops, I had the catch of the day. Both were fresh and delicious. We also ordered a bottle of red wine. The entire meal with tax and service was $210. And of course the priceless view.

Another time we ordered room service. It was slower than I would have liked - took 45 minutes and afterwards, you have to call to remove the food and that took a bit of a wait also. After that, we just went to eat at Rangali Bar because we did not want to be tied down to any reservations. In the evenings, there is live music at Rangali Bar.

Upon check out, our Singapore flight from Male left at 2:20 pm. We were told to check out at 10:30 am and had to wait a bit in the lobby as our seaplane was delayed until 12:20. Rangali is ahead of Male by 1 hour.

Overall, we had a great stay. We've travelled the world and I never like to repeat places. Maldives is one of those special places I don't mind repeating although it is very hard for us to get to. Hopefully there will be other renovations/changes in the future to entice us to return.

I like to read and write reviews. If you found this review helpful, please let me know by giving me a helpful vote.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and convey your kind comments and observations having stayed with us here at the Conrad Maldives Rangali Island.

It will be my pleasure to relay your positive feedback to all the teams concerned who would be very happy to know that their efforts are recognized and praised.

We will also be carrying out some exciting upgrades and refurbishment to the Resort this year in order to strengthen our position as a luxury hotel and brand with exceptional services and quality products. We continue to work hard to ensure all our guests are made to feel very welcome and we are very proud of our renowned Conrad service standards.

We very much hope to welcome you back to our island paradise in the not too distant future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any assistance in the future.

Kind regards,

Andrew Brett
Director Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Went for Honeymoon, stayed 6 days in Spa Water villa and 6 days in Beach Villa. I prefer beach villa, my wife Water villa. so perfect combination.
Friendly staff
"lot's of" (relatively to other resorts in Maldives) things to do. very nice beaches.
Will definitelly come back!!!! if i could afford i would be there every year :-D and would not go anywhere else :-D

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertolah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and convey your kind comments and observations having stayed with us here at the Conrad Maldives Rangali Island.

It will be my pleasure to relay your encouraging positive feedback to all the teams concerned who would be very happy to know that their efforts are recognized and praised.

We will also be carrying out some exciting upgrades and refurbishment to the Resort this year in order to strengthen our position as a luxury hotel and brand with exceptional services and quality products. We continue to work hard to ensure all our guests are made to feel very welcome and we are very proud of our renowned Conrad service standards.

We very much hope to welcome you back to our island paradise in the not too distant future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any assistance in the future.

Kind regards,

Andrew Brett
Director Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

stayed here for 3 nights. the resort is lovely, with the 2 islands joined by a bridge. stayed in a room out on the sea, on the quieter adult only island. the room was lovely. the spa on the main island was really quite an experience. totally lurve the outdoor shower. plenty of restaurants so you aren't going to get bored of the food.
if there's one thing that was below expectation was the service. being a Conrad, I had expected more. generally, the service was average, very run of the mill. The last day was a nightmare, there was a storm and the sea plane was not in operation. there was a huge group of us camped out at the lounge area, waiting for about 6 hours before they decided to send a ferry to take us the another island to catch the domestic flight. just felt that the hotel could have done better to accommodate the guests. and to keep them abrief of the situation.
if I were to return to Maldives, it wont be a Conrad for me though I am typically a huge Conrad fan.

Room Tip: choose a room far away from the crowd, on the quieter island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank damask_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our Conrad Rangali Resort for your stay and thank you for the time spent sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. It is with such genuine feedback that we can tailor skills and service training to improve the overall level of service we provide to our guests.

I was very disappointed to read that you were not happy with our service levels. We try our very best to exceed all our guests expectations through employee service training and product enhancement. I am sorry that the weather was inclement upon your departure and that you were required to wait at the departure platform. The seaplane transfer service is managed by a Maldivian company based in the capital Male which operates the worlds largest Twin Otter craft operation. The aircraft are not allowed to travel in bad weather situations in the interest of passenger safety however these bad weather conditions are not normal for the Maldivian climate. Alternative craft solutions to return to the capital also take time to organise and we would always first wait to review the changing weather situation first before sending guests back on seacraft.


I am apologise for the delay and we very much hope to welcome you back to our island paradise in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangali Island
18.5 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
16.3 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
11.7 mi away
Diamonds Thudufushi
Diamonds Thudufushi
#1 of 1 in Thudufushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
14.4 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,713 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Maldives Rangali Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Maldives Rangali Island

Property: Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Address: 2034
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Rangali Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Maldives Rangali Island 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot luxury meets unpretentious style at this five star hotel in the Maldives. Home to whale sharks, manta rays, dolphins and turtles, Conrad Maldives is set on two islands and is reached by a 30-minute seaplane flight. Select from 12 restaurants and bars including Ithaa Undersea Restaurant, the Cheese Bar featuring 101 of the world's best cheeses, and an underground Wine Cellar with 20,000 bottles of fine wines. Relax at one of two spas or on the beautiful white sand beaches. Go diving and exploring on the many excursions available, including luxurious sunset cruises, big game fishing expeditions and local island hopping trips. Conrad Maldives is included in Conde Nast Traveler's 2013 Gold List of the Best 100 Hotels in the World and The World's 10 Best Beach Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Destinology, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Holiday Gems and TravelUp so you can book your Conrad Maldives Rangali Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island Hotel Rangali Island
Conrad Rangali Island
Rangali Island Conrad
Rangali Island Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing