We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really a 5 star experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conrad Maldives Rangali Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Really a 5 star experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for 6 nights for our honeymoon with half the time in the Beach Villa and the rest in Retreat Water Villa. It's really an amazing experience both at Maldives and Conrad.

Service at Conrad is really a 6 star experience. All the staffs are nice and seem to know everything well, from the people at the airport lounge, the island host (Haishal), the front desk .. to the housekeepers (Faiz & Shah) all did an excellent job in taking care of us and making our stay a memorable experience.

The Beach Villa is huge with great outdoor bathroom, however I agree that some parts are showing their ages. The Retreat Water Villa looks even more amazing than it is on the pictures, with the jacuzzi which is perfect to relax, and the location that you can catch both sunrise and sunset. There's also a coffee maker with not 1 but 4 type of coffee capsules inside each house which I extremely like since I'm a coffee lover.

Snorkeling is great with 2 best spots, one on the left side of the water sport center and one near beach villa 220-225. You can also rent a paddle boat (for free), go into the area in front of the water sport center and jump into the middle of the sea for snorkeling there. We are busy all days with snorkeling, kayak, paddle boat & jet ski.

Breakfast & dinner at Atoll are great, with good varieties of different cuisines, and you can order your customized fruit juice during breakfast time. Breakfast at Vilu is not so good, so we did not try dinner there. Instead, the dinners at Sunset Grill are absolutely wonderful. We have dinner there twice, trying different food, and all taste delicious. We especially love the soup there, and it seems that they cook all kind of soup really well. Our favourite is seafood chowder & Maldivian lobster. On a separate note, the F&B Menu price does not seem to be so high compared to many 5 star resorts. However, I have not been to the underwater restaurant, so not sure about it.

So overall, amazing stay, great people, very comfortable rooms, many activities to keep you from the TV & tablet (afternoon tea, live music, water sports ...), beautiful beach, sky and fish, lot of fish, in all size & color. Will be perfect for honeymooners, or simply anyone looking for a relaxing time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Long G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle L, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Long G,

Thank you for your very positive review. We are delighted that you gave us the opportunity to celebrate your wedding with you both.

In regards to your comments regarding the Beach Villas, please note that we are currently refurbishing all Beach Villas and should have the upgrade completed by end of the 1st quarter 2015. I have also noted your views of Vilu breakfast and will address this with the F&B team.

Again thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your feedback is invaluable to us. Take care and we very much hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, maybe for your 1st anniversary!!.

Best Regards
Lyle Lewis, General Manager
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,651
    235
    93
    27
    20
See reviews for
427
1,244
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,683 reviews
321 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 649 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This is my 4th time to the Maldives, and 4th different hotel

Conrad is not near Male, so a seaplane is needed. The Conrad lounge while waiting is pleasant , and the wait was not long. The seaplane lands in the middle of 2 Conrad atolls. 1 atoll has mainly the beach villas, and the other, mainly water villas. Check-in was ok, and off we went to the beach villa

The beach villa was fine, but showing it's age. The fixtures don't look modern, but they're mostly ok. The aircon is a pain, there are sensors for all doors and if you leave 1mm of any door open , the aircon shuts down. So we spend the day checking doors for cracks each time the aircon goes away

Room service was patchy and the 1st time, couldn't connect to them at all. They apologized and offered free orange juice. Nice gesture, though I don't drink orange juice

Snorkeling by the hotel reef was fine, the best spot is outside beach villa 225. The troublesome thing was that we needed to get the goggles and flippers from dive centre, and the life jacket from sports centre. And return them to the 2 different spots u before checkout. At the sports centre, it's USD150 for a 30min seabob and USD250 for a 45min jet ski. Always come to Maldives and prepared to be fleeced

1 of the main reasons I chose Conrad is the undersea restaurant Ithaa. I chose lunch and it was hot with the sun beating hard on us, and alas, children are allowed so you hear them screaming each time a nice fish swims by. Which is all the time. It's a 4 course lunch and it was pleasant with large portions. if I ever return, it's going to be dinner, where kids are thankfully banned

The Atoll market restaurant is where we have our breakfast and we had a buffet dinner here too. The breakfast is quite blah and the highlights are comb honey, blue cheese and fruits for me. The buffet dinner is more blah and costs USD95 per pax without drinks/water. The only highlights were the steamed lobster and fruits

We had a dinner at the sunset grill and the ambience was good. They have amuse bouche and everything, so pretty fancy. Perhaps I chose the wrong main of chicken, but the chianti marinade was terrible and the chicken breast very dry

Before our last night, we were offered a complimentary upgrade to a water villa. It was much newer than the beach villa, apart from the obvious fact we don't have to walk to snorkel. Unfortunately the porter didn't know any English and made us wait in the hot sun for 25mins outside our villa for the transfer. Pain before bliss I suppose

Overall a very good experience and the Conrad is really just 4 stars with all the blemishes above. But being in Maldives helps it become an overall 5

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle L, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear bcheong,

Thank you for posting your impressions of your stay however I am saddened to read that we did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves in being one of the highest rating Resorts in the Maldives and regret that we failed to meet your standards on this occasion.

I have taken note of your comments regarding Ithaa restaurant, Atoll Marketplace and In-Vila Dining and work with our Food & Beverage department to ensure your experience is not repeated.

Ahain thank you for your comments. Your feedback is invaluable to us. I very much hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Conrad Maldives Rangali Island so that you can witness the improvements based on your comments.

Regards

Lyle Lewis, General Manager
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alor Setar, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights (1 in Beach Villa and 2 in Water Villa) and it was an unforgettable honeymoon to us. I am pretty much looking forward to my next trip to Conrad Madlvies to relive this experience again and would definitely recommend it to anyone especially honeymooners looking for a nice secluded stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mei Xuan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle L, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Mei Xuan,

Firstly congratulations on our recent wedding and we are delighted you chose Conrad Maldives Rangali Island for your honeymoon.

We are equally pleased to read your positive comments. Your feedback is important to us and we are thankful for you taking the time to post your impressions.

Again thank you and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Conrad Maldive Rangali Island.

Regards

Lyle Lewis, General Manager
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

It was an unforgettable stay for all the good reasons, We stayed there for 5 nights (4 in Beach Villa and 1 in Deluxe Water Villa) as part of our honeymoon trip and I can say this stay was the climax of our trip.

After taking the seaplane which was a very enjoyable experience, we arrived at the island deck to find our island host (Shiraz) waiting for us and all I can say he treated us like kings, he was quite helpful, guiding us to our rooms, helping us in planning activities for our whole stay, making all needed reservations (Spa, restaurants), that is beside the great service throughout the islands.

Since we informed the hotel, they gave us complimentary honeymoon benefits (Fruits and Champagne in room, 100$ credit for any excursion and a romantic dinner for 2 at the Mandhoo Restaurant) which was a very nice gesture from Conrad.

Villas: First 4 nights were in the Beach Villa, it was a very pleasant room, spacious with very comfy beds, has a very nice outdoor bathtub and your private access to the gorgeous beach, we wanted to upgrade to the water villas for the last 2 nights but we only managed to get the last night because of the high occupancy at that time and our host helped us a lot in getting it for this last night even at a discounted rate, the water villa was amazing and it was the best room ever (fully over water and swimming is only a couple of steps down, has a big jaccuzi on deck overlooking the sea with a magnificent views of the sunset, the sound system everywhere even outside on deck) and I definitely recommend the upgrade for anyone who is thinking about it.

Activities: All kinds of water activities are there, you can get a free snorkeling gear and jump in one of coral reef locations they have, or even go diving, I enjoyed a lot playing volleyball on the beach, they have two infinity pools (one on the main island which is sometimes packed with kids and the other one on the quite zone which is pretty much secluded and every time we went there we were alone and it felt like we had our own huge private pool), they have a lot of excursions we liked the island hopping one the most (we got to visit a local village and another private island for a lovely picnic).

Restaurants: We tried both the Atoll and Vilu restaurants for breakfast (It was complimentary for being HHonors Gold) and I liked the Atoll one much better for having a lot of food varieties and tables are all on the sand so it was beautiful sitting there on these beaches having breakfast.
It was pricey otherwise when it came to lunch and dinner so we mainly relied on room service and the Rangali bar with their night programs (especially the Maldivian night which was very enjoyable and fun), they also offer free drinks and snacks on the happy hours in both Vilu and Mandhoo restaurants.
We had the honeymoon dinner in the overwater Restaurant (Mandhoo) which was very good, We wanted to try the famous underwater restaurant (Ithaa) but it had very expensive lunch and dinner options so we opted for the cocktail hour (55$++ per person) and the experience is definitely worth it.

I am pretty much looking forward to my next trip to Conrad Madlvies to relive this experience again and would definitely recommend it to anyone especially honeymooners looking for a nice secluded stay.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying first in the beach villas (Villas with #100 have their almost private beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hossam_Elgeneidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle L, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Hossam_Elgeneidy,

Firstly congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing Conrad Maldives Rangali Island as your honeymoon retreat.

Your comments regarding your overall experience and also about the villa types is music to our ears. I am pleased that you liked our Water Villas and yes, they are great for honeymooners.

Thank you posting your review and I very much hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you both back in the near future.

Best Regards

Lyle Lewis, General Manager
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

WOW is all I can say. The staff is warm, friendly and amazing in their ability to make you feel special and welcome. The rooms are spectacular; the sandy paths throughout that resort are amazing. The food, the amount of sports equipment and things to do is top notch.

I have traveled to over 50 countries and have stayed at very high end places - often seeking the best that a city or island has to offer. So, I feel as though I have much to compare this experience to. Conrad Maldives Rangali Island has set a new bar and may just be the nicest hotel in the world.

I opted for a beach villa since I have stayed at an over-the water hut in Bora Bora. The villa was straight out of a magazine with its open air candle-lit bathtub and slick shower. Between the beds and the tub, is your personal water fountain. This fountain lulls you to sleep in your gorgeously comfortable beds.

I can't say enough: we had our own patio and, also, our own beach front location. I'm officially in love. (sigh) I, also, am spoiled for any other place that I ever set foot into again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle L, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Nancy R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort.

I am delighted to read your comments as it is feedback such as this that encourages us to constantly strive to improve our guest experience.

Please be assured that I will share your review with all Team Members and I hop that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Take Care and Best Regards

Lyle Lewis, General Manager
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a place. I am unbelievably and unjustifiably blessed to have visited this Conrad 3 times, and am always thinking of how to go back. The term paradise is clearly a cliche and overused, but trust me people.... This is it. Pure and unadulterated. It's not perfect but anything pathetic little nit pick I could mention is not worth it. Ok...let me tell you about the house reef that you step out of your villa and plunge straight into. I get bored easily, have over 150 dives around the world, but this snorkeling experience is straight out of heaven and I snorkeled probably 20 times there and never wanted to get out. It's mind blowingly beautiful and jam packed with a million species of fish, turtles, rays, lobster and sharks (100% harmless) with a drop off wall that plunges over 100 feet down. You don't need to dive but I did... And when I did I saw multiple Manta rays and a massive whale shark in the same day. The food, the atmosphere and the service is truly spectacular. The beaches and crystal clear water are just incredible. I have stayed in 5 star Park Hyatts, Ritz Carltons, St Regis's and JWs. This place is the undisputed heavyweight champion of my hotel world. Don't go changin' Conrad Rangali now... I'm acomin' back whenever I can swing it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andyyacMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle L, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear andyyacMiami,

WOW! what a great review. Thank you for your wonderful comments. Please be assured that I will be sharing it with our Team Members for their enjoyment.

We are also very proud of our house reef and of our commitment in protecting it so that it can be enjoyed by our guests.

I promise that we won't change anything but also please promise us that you will return so that we can welcome you back to the Conrad Maldives Rangali Island.

Regards,
Lyle Lewis, General Manager
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed here last March (2014) to use up my Hilton points before they were significantly devalued (it now costs far more points to stay here , and at most if not all other Hilton top end properties then it did a year ago). I was so impressed I may try to find a way to stay here again even if I have to pay. If you are American you are lucky as there are hilton based credit cards that will give you free weekend days - check the Conrad Rangali thread in the Hilton section of Flyertalk.

The house reef is exceptional with so much unspoilt coral; the excellent trips to mantas and whale sharks do not have to go far as the sites are nearby; and eating options are memorable, outstanding and unique (although expensive--but eating at the regular (Rangali) bar is fine, affordable and has good entertainment). But do try at least one of their high end restaurants. I especially liked the Tapas diner in the wine cellar and a special diner they did with a French winery. I had to leave early so missed the underwater restaurant. The rooms are total luxury - even the lowest level one I stayed in. The baby mantas swimming beside the bridge connecting the 2 islands were great nightly entertainment.

If you go become Hilton Gold first (check the Hilton section on Flyertalk for shortcuts to gold status) as there are great benefits in terms of free breakfast, internet and receptions. This saves a lot.

One nice touch was i came to Conrad from Vilamendhoo Island Resort and they arranged with Conrad I could take a boat transfer instead of flying back to Male and then flying Male to Conrad. A bit more expensive at $600, but far more convenient then the double flight and it was nice to arrive at Conrad in style. Also as the price was per boat this would be cheaper than flying if you were 2 or a family. The flight from Conrad back to Male was easy and well organized.

From years of snorkelling in many places around the world I think I have now concluded Indonesia (have done Bunaken Island and Komodo National Park Diving Resort so far), the Maldives and the Australian Great Barrier Reef on a livaboard are the best bets, although I still need to try Fiji and maybe Bonaire fits here too . But so many other well recommended places have been comparative disappointments I think I need to focus on these for the next while and will definitely return to Maldives, and Conrad if I can afford it!

One noteworthy point is I had to return a day early for a family emergency and I was really surprised and touched at how sensitively Conrad dealt with this and helped me out.

My one nit is the lounge chairs in front of your room were not yours and could be taken by anyone. This happened to me once as I guess I had a great beach location-- although it seemed to me all the locations looked pretty good. Annoying , but I did not let it bother me. Although I think worth mentioning.

As a final point, they had some really excellent receptions for Hilton Gold and Diamond members and I met some great people there. A nice touch.

Room Tip: They are all outstanding, even the lowest level one I stayed in, and I have stayed at many luxury ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordonnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle L, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Gordonnomad,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a complimentary review of our Resort.

We are very proud of the many attractions within close proximity of the Resort and I agree, our house reef is an amazing snorkeling experience.

I have taken note of your comment regarding the beach furniture. These are placed there for the use of the Villa guest and I am disappointed to read that you did get to enjoy it on this occasion.

Again, thank you for your comments. Your feedback is valued and I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Conrad Maldives Rangali Island in the near future.

Regards

Lyle Lewis, General Manager
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangali Island
18.5 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
16.3 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
11.7 mi away
Diamonds Thudufushi
Diamonds Thudufushi
#1 of 1 in Thudufushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
14.4 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Maldives Rangali Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Maldives Rangali Island

Property: Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Address: 2034
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Rangali Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Maldives Rangali Island 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot luxury meets unpretentious style at this five star hotel in the Maldives. Home to whale sharks, manta rays, dolphins and turtles, Conrad Maldives is set on two islands and is reached by a 30-minute seaplane flight. Select from 12 restaurants and bars including Ithaa Undersea Restaurant, the Cheese Bar featuring 101 of the world's best cheeses, and an underground Wine Cellar with 20,000 bottles of fine wines. Relax at one of two spas or on the beautiful white sand beaches. Go diving and exploring on the many excursions available, including luxurious sunset cruises, big game fishing expeditions and local island hopping trips. Conrad Maldives is included in Conde Nast Traveler's 2013 Gold List of the Best 100 Hotels in the World and The World's 10 Best Beach Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Holiday Gems so you can book your Conrad Maldives Rangali Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island Hotel Rangali Island
Conrad Rangali Island
Rangali Island Conrad
Rangali Island Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing