We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Nearby Hotels
US$630
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$492
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Sun Island Resort and Spa(Nalaguraidhoo Island)
US$1,125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$886
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Diamonds Thudufushi(Thudufushi Island)
US$491
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Holiday Island Resort & Spa(Maamingili Island)
US$670
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Maafushivaru(Southern Ari Atoll)
US$701
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$668
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vakarufalhi Island Resort(Vakarufalhi Island)
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$384
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
LUX* South Ari Atoll(Dhidhoofinolhu Island)
US$633
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$440
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,389)
Filter reviews
2,389 results
Traveller rating
1,935
280
113
35
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,935
280
113
35
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe beach villaunderwater restaurantwater spaquiet zonewine cellarour honeymoonfishcocktail hoursea planehalf boardmale airporthilton pointsoutdoor showerheaven on earthplunge poolmanta raysithaa restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,533 - 1,538 of 2,389 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2008

This is truly paradise!
We stayed at the Conrad Oct 19-26th 2008.

We booked a standard beach villa (119) and stayed there for four nights. It had a small but quaint beach area which had a steady breeze and shade in the morning as the other side of the island did not. The only draw back was the employee futbol field located behind the villa where nightly from 4-7pm they held a loud tournament.

For the last three days we upgraded to a Spa Villa for two nights and one night at a Superior Beach Villa. Although we are Diamond Members we had to pay for the upgrade, which we assumed from other postings.

We were in the Spa Water villa (421) it was the best for privacy since it was at the tip. 419 and 420 would be good as well. All of the pictures of the villas that you see don't do it justice. The window doors all open for a great breeze and sounds of the ocean below. We wish we could have had this villa for the entire time!

The Superior Villa (332) was smaller than the Spa Villa. The hightlight is the jacuzzi on the sundeck. The window doors open here as well and you can see the ocean from your bed.

From all three rooms you could get a view of the setting sun, which were all spectacular.

The Spas- Visit both they are both unique in their own ways! Great massages and facials.

Restaurants -
Atoll Market - Breakfast -We chose to eat here since it was buffet style with a great variety of food. Don't miss the juicer to make your own fresh juice. The banana bread is fantastic as well.
Sunset Grill- Was okay for us it was a windy night so they had to close the doors and no outside seating. Mediocre food.
Mandhoo Spa Restaurant - Great selection of healthy dishes to choose from. Lassies are good for re-hydration
Vilu-We loved this for lunch and dinner with some great creations prepared by the chef! Also for lunch, not many kids are around unlike Rangali Bar. Dinner - Lobster Thermidor and Warm Chocolate dessert are not to missed!
Rangali Bar- Lunch-service was not so good, but the food was okay not gourmet. It was always crowded so that may be why the service was subpar.
Ithaa-Cocktail Hour-Was spectacular to see, it was expensive and we had a lot of kids in our group that were excited about the fish, especially the one that looked like Nemo.(It wound have been a little more peaceful without that.)

Tips:
*Private Island excursion was fun, but bring mosquito repellent
*Don't pack any shoes for the resort except flip flops unless you are going to the Wine Cellar
*If your island host can't get you an upgrade ask to speak to the front desk manager Anne
*Even though the gift shops are expensive at the Conrad buy them there, Male and the Airport had junk for souveniers.
*Male is chaotic be aware if you want to go
*Snorkel out from villa 225 for easy access to the reef
*Luxury Sunset Cruise was excellet! Saw dolphins too!
-The majority of the kids on the island congregate at the pool/Rangali Bar. We didn't see kids out at the beaches very often.
* If you like something at the restaurants the chef will come out and tell you the recipe!

If you have any questions please write!

Also, if you are deciding on an airline, Emirites had excellent service, extensive inflight entertainment and good meals (for an airplane).

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Fredeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

My husband and I went to the Conrad for the second half of our honeymoon. We had booked a regular beach villa and were hoping to be upgraded to a Deluxe Beach Villa, since my husband is a Gold Hilton Honors member. Well, we weren't upgraded to a Deluxe Beach Villa - they upgraded us to a Spa Water Villa instead! We were so excited. The villa is amazing - absolutely huge. The bathroom is gorgeous, the two level deck is great, and walking down into the Indian Ocean from your room is an amazing feeling. (we stayed in 414).

We had told the Conrad that is was our honeymoon and they had a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we arrived along with a plate of fresh fruit. Also part of the honeymoon package was a "bath experience" which was really nice, and a choice of an excursion. We chose the sunset cruise and spent a couple of hours on a beautiful yacht with one other couple. We were served champagne and canapes. I really recommend that.

We also did the snorkel hopping excursion, which was nice, and the Dream Island. This was a great experience. Being stranded on a beautiful desert island with a picnic lunch (the food wasn't great - but that's OK) and my husband was amazing. It's expensive but worth it. We also did the Ithaa cocktails and really enjoyed that. We had a couples massage at the overwater spa. We booked the Jacuzzi there first (free if you're having a treatment there) and watched the sunset. It was beautiful.

As for food - we usually split a sandwich or pizza from the main bar for lunch and it was more than enough for both of us. We ate at Sunset Grill on my birthday and they gave us free glasses of champagne and a cake (our Island Host decorated our room and left another cake for my b-day too). The food there was really good. We did the Shipwreck dinner - a very romantic experience with a ridiculous amount of food. We ate at the Wine Cellar and absolutley loved that. Ate at Vilu one night and did their tasting menu, which was excellent. We also did Fondue night in the Wine Bar and another night had Wine and Cheese there for dinner. We ate at Atoll Market one night - and that was really good as well. But our favorite was the Wine Bar. The guy who works there is so nice and friendly and amazingly knowledgeable about wine and cheese. I definitley recommend trying that.

Some random things to think about - make sure you wear flip flops when crossing the bridge between islands and out to the water villas - otherwise don't wear shoes! Sit on the right side of the plane when you leave the resort - you'll get some great pictures that way.

All in all - it was such a great experience and we can't wait to get the chance to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank michelle002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

We visited rangali for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it.

Our only mistake was to fly Monarch direct from Manchester to Male - BIG mistake. First of all the flight was not direct as it was already half-full from an earlier pick-up from London Gatwick. Secondly, despite it being our honeymoon we were seated 10 rows apart for the 10 hour flight. Obviously all the Gatwick passengers had the seats together as they checked in hours before us. Infuriatingly enough the unhelpful crew advised us to request seats together next time in advance. On our outbound journey we were diverted back to Gatwick where we ended up staying overnight due to engine failure. A horrendously bad service, on an old television-less plane. Not worth the stress.

However, once we did arrive it was easy to blissfully forget the trauma of the journey and relax in paradise. The sea was warm, the beaches soft and sandy.

The buffet restaurant 'atol market' was more than sufficient to eat in every night. the choice of food was superb, and my husband is fussy! there was a sushi chef for me, and an italian corner for the best food that Italy has to offer. Lots of salads, other national variants, and lovely fresh deserts. We did try other restaurants - my favourite night was our own private meal on the beach, the most romantic place in the world, surrounded by sea, being waited on hand and foot by your own personal waiter and chef.

If at all critical, if i went back I would request to be on the other side of the island where there is a much bigger beach, Our beach was lovely but only about a metre deep and the sea was only shallow for 5 or so metres, whereas on the other side you could wade in shallow sandy water for 20metres!!! Though it was nice to have the privacy of your own part of the beach with the water lapping at the deck chair and we were also conveniently located close to the main restaurants, pool and footbridge to the other island.

We didnt book anything in advance - but upon check in we were introduced to everything and given an opportunity to book in. there was plenty of availability with the spa (which was divine), but the wine cellar was booked up which i have heard from friends makes for a very nice evening. It is only run on a friday night, so obviously books up fast.

Our beach villa was simply stunning and spacious - I can find fault in most if not all hotel rooms, and this one was faultless. It was spacious, well maintained, modern, and luxurious. I loved the outside bathroom, although that is a matter of preference! I imagine the DBV and water villas would have blown us away.

The swimming pool always seemed to have space around it, so no early morning rush! It was slightly colder than the sea, so more often than not we found ourselves swimming in the sea.

All in all it was absolutely, i would recommend it to anyone, one of the best hotels in the world!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank loveluxurioushotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Rangali last year in November 2007 for our honeymoon! The unfortunate part was we missed the first two nights as we got fogged in at the Dubai airport and missed our flight out of Doha, which took us 2 more days of traveling indirectly to Male. The one lesson I learned, if you are going to go on a long trip, buy insurance!

Hilton was so wonderful though they upgraded us to a Spa Villa for the rest of the 5 nights we were there. The unbelievable honeymoon began as soon as we were met at the Male airport! The staff was so nice....I had booked in advance our dinners and tours which were recommended from other visitors on the Trip Advisor sight.....they were right on target! We did the snorkeling tour to a private island where they served us lunch. The snorkeling was great off of our Villa but, this island had so many fish when you were only ankle deep! If you love to snorkel you have to do this tour! We tried out all of the restaurants for breakfast and dinner and our favorite was the private sunset beach dinner! It is well worth the money! We had our own waiter and chef and they each took their time at bringing out the food and serving the wine...it was definitely TOP NOTCH! Make sure that you make reservations for dinners, tours and massages before you go as these were filled up all the time.

I am writing now a year later as again I have used the advise of Trip Advisor to book our 1st anniversary in Rio de Janeiro and I hope that what I have written will help someone out there learn from it!

Thanks Trip Advisor.....I will always write from now on, as I have learned so much from the advise from your readers!

Jill Schneider
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, USA

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank worldtraveller039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2008

Stopped here for the first time. Wonderful in every way. Stopped in a De-luxe beach villa, room 210, no complaints, sea beautiful, food good, comments on Vilu from other postings for breakfast are correct. Staff excellent. Will return. One of best holidays we have ever had.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pduxb24138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews