We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT! LOVED IT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“LOVED IT! LOVED IT!”
Reviewed 31 December 2008

We stayed in Conrad for a week during Thanksgiving. Having been to some of the best hotels in the world, Conrad by far exceeded our expectations.

We were at a delux water villa. While not as big as the one we stayed at in Bora Bora, it has nice amenities. Hanging out in the jacuzzi while watching sunset quickly became one of our favorite things to do. The day we checked in, a Manta ray was swimming right off our deck. Take your ipod if you are staying at a DWV. The have a ipod dock and speakers inside the villa and out on the deck.

Needless to say, the water/beach is pristine. Watch out for the fruitbats lurking around the bush at night. But this is the tropics so it's part of the fun. The house reef has tons of fish. We saw a baby shark and a ton of fish. You can always call for buggie to take your there if you don't feel like walking.

The only disppoitment, if can be called as such, was that the food was not as great as we would expect in a resort of this caliber. While it was certainly not bad, there was room for improvement. And as expected, it was very expensive. My husband tried Maldivian spicy noodle soup one day, and it was ramon noodle (the type you get at grocery store for 25C) w/ 1/2 can of tuna. It was almost comical. However, I do have to point out that the servcies we received in the restuarants, as well as everywhere else in the resort, were outstanding. Everyone goes out of their way to make sure you are having a great time.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FoBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,709
    240
    96
    28
    20
See reviews for
444
1,283
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2008

Conrad Rangali was mine and my husbands first stop on our 3 week honeymoon, we spent 9 nights there and also paid for the HB basis instead of just BB, I would recommend this as I believe you would save quiet a bit of money.

We always knew we wanted to stay in a water villa when in the Maldives and we paid extra to upgrade to a superior water villa so we could have the jacuzzi on the deck. Once I had booked this I read a review with someone saying it wasn't worth the money as it was too hot to use and it was a waste. We didn't find this the case, yes it was very hot in the day time but the deck itself was very hot as there isn't too much wind on them (we were on the sunset side) so we didn't spend much time on the deck (or in the room) in the day time let alone in the jacuzzi but after dinner every night we'd sit in it with a drink and it was so lovely looking up at the stars, we certainly made the most of it!

I had read a couple of reviews moaning about the main buffet restaurant (where you can go for your HB dinner) so we were expecting to be a little disapointed but we were far from that. The food was hot, so tasty and there was so much variety every night. We had planned to go to the other restaurants in the resort before we left but we didn't feel the need in the end, we were more than happy to eat there every night.

As for the service, wow. We have been to some lovely hotels over the years and this one was exceptional! There wasn't anything they wouldn't do for you and you only had to look up and someone would be there to help you.

We did the sunset fishing trip - if you're on honeymoon you get some lovely little freebies and a trip is one of them so we chose that one and it was excellent. We caught several fish and the staff on the trip were brilliant with us, helping us with everything - even pulling the fish up as we caught some big boy's!!! In the end we chose the red snapper I caught to have grilled for our dinner the next day and it was so tasty!!! The chef cooked it so nicely and it tasted even better knowing we'd caught it!!

We did scuba diving and the instructors at the dive centre were really nice and helpful. The snorkelling was excellent, you pick your snorkel gear up from the dive centre at the beginning of your stay then return it at the end, when picking up make sure you ask them where the best place is for snorkelling and they will show you on the map of the island - we didn't do this so only found out from someone late in our stay where it was - once we did this we were there so much as it was amazing. The fish and coral were excellent!! If you're lucky you see the turtles too.

I would say if you want a very romantic and quiet holiday then stay on the water villa island which is very quiet, not saying the other main island is loud but there is more going on. There is a boat (Dhoni) that runs back and forth to either island all through the day till late but we chose to walk most of the time (apart from hot period in the day when the bridge burnt our feet from the heat!) Every night we'd watch the fish in the water walking back to our room and twice we were lucky enough to see the Manta Ray in the water, once time we even saw two. Apparently it wasn't the season for MR so we were very lucky and got some great photo's.

Spa was lovely, staff there were so attentive and as like all the staff at the Conrad were so friendly and made you feel welcome always. We had some gorgeous treatments, yes they were expensive but you guess they will be after spending what you did on the holiday itself. I looked into the spa treatments beforehand and pre booked them all as it can get busy. We tried both the Retreat Spa which is on the main island and the over-water spa on the water villa island and they were both lovely.

We didn't sit around the pool much, but there wasn't a rush for beds etc like you may get in some resorts. We sat on a different part of the beach every day, with a beach and water like that we were making the most of it!!! Whilst on the beach the staff bring you round water and fruit and there's even a man who comes and cleans your glasses too which is a lovely little touch.

Yes, it is a very expensive holiday but we would go back there tomorrow if we could and pay it all over again!!!

We even had a few celeb's out there at the same time so that was a surprise.........

If you want a special holiday and are willing to pay a lot for it then you must go here, we loved every minute of it!!!

Carly and James, Essex

  • Liked — exclusive, service, rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank CLE78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2008

We just came back last week from 12 days at the Conrad Maldives for our honeymoon. All I can say is that the stay was wonderful! The hotel is absolutely great and service was excellent.

Almost all of the staff are very friendly and very helpful. And one day when it was raining all day long, the hotel had some alternative activities in the bar during the afternoon.

We stayed in a Beach Villa. The first night we were given room 107, but at night it was noisy from the power generator across the room. Also as it was close to the jetty, we could smell petrol. The next day we requested another room and were given room 203. No nois whatsoever and it was great as it was just in front of the dive center (as we spend a lot of time diving and in the dive center).

We thought about an upgrade but in the end preferred to stay where we were.

Food: the Atoll Market has everything. Ithaa has great food and is a great experience. Wine Cellar is an experience not to miss! Food is excellent and the wines as well and you can basically drink as much wine as you want! And Vilu's new chef cooked for us on the last night and his cooking was delicious.

Diving: The diving is great, all the dive staff are friendly and helpful, and they really take care of you on the boat (towels, bathrobes, etc).

We had a couple of Spa treatments, did the Sunset Cruise (free flow champagne), and spend most of the time by the pool (when not diving).

Last tip: Don't bring any shoes. During the 12 days I was there I never had shoes or flip flops on. It's a waste of luggage bringing over your shoes.

  • Liked — Almost everything
  • Disliked — A bit expensive
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank evilboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2008

The only regret that I have is that it has taken me a full year to write this review. My husband and I went to Rangali Island for our Honeymoon one year ago. We were there the day that Hilton became Conrad and were actually the on the first Conrad Flight from Male to Rangali!

Everything you hear on these forums and reviews about the top notch service, uncomparable views/beaches and the secluded paradise is true.

My husband and I are young travellers that were looking for romantic relaxation on our Honeymoon, and that is what we got. I cannot even express how much we enjoyed the staff. They are so kind, humble, and warm. Our favorite was Fatah who has worked at 3 of the different resors at Rangali for over a decade. His service in particular was fantastic and we will never forget him.

We started in a Beach villa (which was spacious and beautiful, however it was next to the laundry which is loud. If you choose a Beach Villa, request to be away from the laundry). We were upgraded to a Spa Villa which was breathtaking. I swear we were in the villa featured in the postcards in your room. They were very spacious and luxury defined. If you can afford a night in a Spa Villa it is worth every penny. We loved the villa because of the privacy we had off our deck. We had a reef for snorkelng at our steps and and a real life aquarium below us.

Highlights for us: wine vs. chocolate, wine cellar dinner, Tea in the afternoons - one of the Islands best kept secrets and an amazing free snack!, our morning breakfast at Atoll Market, and shipwreked dinner (tons of food!), Ithaa for cocktails, playing chess at the rangali bar over an afternoon cocktail, Over water spa treatment (we did a wrap, facial, and massage - BEST Spa Treatment I HAVE EVER HAD!)

Pass on: lobster and champagne, Ithaa dinner (dinner was too expensive and food just OK - stick to cocktail hour). Most of the othe food on the island is really just OK. Not for foodies. Like I said above the wine cheese and chocolate speak for themselves, but unpasturized european cheese can be hard on the tummy, so prepare accordingly.

Packing: Do not bring high heels... I am a stiletto fan, but all is true that is said here. You will not wear shoes for the duration of your stay (only on the bridge if it is hot). Dresses, shorts, and a bathing suit are all you need. Men, casual and light. Pack LOTS of sunscreen. They will get you for $30 per tube if you need to buy it there. Bring lots of books... most in the library are not in english!

$$: Yes it is expensive here, but if you pick a couple of the items I highlighted and stick to the Bar and Atoll Market, and share food I am sure you could save a bit AND get the full expeirence. This amazing paradise is an experience in itself.

Service: We requested a music change at our Shipwreked Dinner (we were not upset, just wanted a different genre). The very next day we had a note from the manager wtih an apology and a complimentary CD for us of local music. This is just one example of the service you will get at Rangali.

To and From - They mean it... no booze. Also Male airport not much fun and not very comfortable. Women dress modestly, you will feel more comfortable.

We really hope to return to this amazing place. As a confessed workaholic, I can say I truly 'unplugged' in the maldives. I fell in love with my Husband all over again and fell in love with this gem of a place in the world. Enjoy!!

A

  • Liked — EVERYTHING!
  • Disliked — Expensive
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alanadancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

This is truly paradise!
We stayed at the Conrad Oct 19-26th 2008.

We booked a standard beach villa (119) and stayed there for four nights. It had a small but quaint beach area which had a steady breeze and shade in the morning as the other side of the island did not. The only draw back was the employee futbol field located behind the villa where nightly from 4-7pm they held a loud tournament.

For the last three days we upgraded to a Spa Villa for two nights and one night at a Superior Beach Villa. Although we are Diamond Members we had to pay for the upgrade, which we assumed from other postings.

We were in the Spa Water villa (421) it was the best for privacy since it was at the tip. 419 and 420 would be good as well. All of the pictures of the villas that you see don't do it justice. The window doors all open for a great breeze and sounds of the ocean below. We wish we could have had this villa for the entire time!

The Superior Villa (332) was smaller than the Spa Villa. The hightlight is the jacuzzi on the sundeck. The window doors open here as well and you can see the ocean from your bed.

From all three rooms you could get a view of the setting sun, which were all spectacular.

The Spas- Visit both they are both unique in their own ways! Great massages and facials.

Restaurants -
Atoll Market - Breakfast -We chose to eat here since it was buffet style with a great variety of food. Don't miss the juicer to make your own fresh juice. The banana bread is fantastic as well.
Sunset Grill- Was okay for us it was a windy night so they had to close the doors and no outside seating. Mediocre food.
Mandhoo Spa Restaurant - Great selection of healthy dishes to choose from. Lassies are good for re-hydration
Vilu-We loved this for lunch and dinner with some great creations prepared by the chef! Also for lunch, not many kids are around unlike Rangali Bar. Dinner - Lobster Thermidor and Warm Chocolate dessert are not to missed!
Rangali Bar- Lunch-service was not so good, but the food was okay not gourmet. It was always crowded so that may be why the service was subpar.
Ithaa-Cocktail Hour-Was spectacular to see, it was expensive and we had a lot of kids in our group that were excited about the fish, especially the one that looked like Nemo.(It wound have been a little more peaceful without that.)

Tips:
*Private Island excursion was fun, but bring mosquito repellent
*Don't pack any shoes for the resort except flip flops unless you are going to the Wine Cellar
*If your island host can't get you an upgrade ask to speak to the front desk manager Anne
*Even though the gift shops are expensive at the Conrad buy them there, Male and the Airport had junk for souveniers.
*Male is chaotic be aware if you want to go
*Snorkel out from villa 225 for easy access to the reef
*Luxury Sunset Cruise was excellet! Saw dolphins too!
-The majority of the kids on the island congregate at the pool/Rangali Bar. We didn't see kids out at the beaches very often.
* If you like something at the restaurants the chef will come out and tell you the recipe!

If you have any questions please write!

Also, if you are deciding on an airline, Emirites had excellent service, extensive inflight entertainment and good meals (for an airplane).

  • Liked — The location was amazing
  • Disliked — Our island host
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Fredeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2008

My husband and I went to the Conrad for the second half of our honeymoon. We had booked a regular beach villa and were hoping to be upgraded to a Deluxe Beach Villa, since my husband is a Gold Hilton Honors member. Well, we weren't upgraded to a Deluxe Beach Villa - they upgraded us to a Spa Water Villa instead! We were so excited. The villa is amazing - absolutely huge. The bathroom is gorgeous, the two level deck is great, and walking down into the Indian Ocean from your room is an amazing feeling. (we stayed in 414).

We had told the Conrad that is was our honeymoon and they had a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we arrived along with a plate of fresh fruit. Also part of the honeymoon package was a "bath experience" which was really nice, and a choice of an excursion. We chose the sunset cruise and spent a couple of hours on a beautiful yacht with one other couple. We were served champagne and canapes. I really recommend that.

We also did the snorkel hopping excursion, which was nice, and the Dream Island. This was a great experience. Being stranded on a beautiful desert island with a picnic lunch (the food wasn't great - but that's OK) and my husband was amazing. It's expensive but worth it. We also did the Ithaa cocktails and really enjoyed that. We had a couples massage at the overwater spa. We booked the Jacuzzi there first (free if you're having a treatment there) and watched the sunset. It was beautiful.

As for food - we usually split a sandwich or pizza from the main bar for lunch and it was more than enough for both of us. We ate at Sunset Grill on my birthday and they gave us free glasses of champagne and a cake (our Island Host decorated our room and left another cake for my b-day too). The food there was really good. We did the Shipwreck dinner - a very romantic experience with a ridiculous amount of food. We ate at the Wine Cellar and absolutley loved that. Ate at Vilu one night and did their tasting menu, which was excellent. We also did Fondue night in the Wine Bar and another night had Wine and Cheese there for dinner. We ate at Atoll Market one night - and that was really good as well. But our favorite was the Wine Bar. The guy who works there is so nice and friendly and amazingly knowledgeable about wine and cheese. I definitley recommend trying that.

Some random things to think about - make sure you wear flip flops when crossing the bridge between islands and out to the water villas - otherwise don't wear shoes! Sit on the right side of the plane when you leave the resort - you'll get some great pictures that way.

All in all - it was such a great experience and we can't wait to get the chance to go back!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Prices
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank michelle002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2008

We visited rangali for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it.

Our only mistake was to fly Monarch direct from Manchester to Male - BIG mistake. First of all the flight was not direct as it was already half-full from an earlier pick-up from London Gatwick. Secondly, despite it being our honeymoon we were seated 10 rows apart for the 10 hour flight. Obviously all the Gatwick passengers had the seats together as they checked in hours before us. Infuriatingly enough the unhelpful crew advised us to request seats together next time in advance. On our outbound journey we were diverted back to Gatwick where we ended up staying overnight due to engine failure. A horrendously bad service, on an old television-less plane. Not worth the stress.

However, once we did arrive it was easy to blissfully forget the trauma of the journey and relax in paradise. The sea was warm, the beaches soft and sandy.

The buffet restaurant 'atol market' was more than sufficient to eat in every night. the choice of food was superb, and my husband is fussy! there was a sushi chef for me, and an italian corner for the best food that Italy has to offer. Lots of salads, other national variants, and lovely fresh deserts. We did try other restaurants - my favourite night was our own private meal on the beach, the most romantic place in the world, surrounded by sea, being waited on hand and foot by your own personal waiter and chef.

If at all critical, if i went back I would request to be on the other side of the island where there is a much bigger beach, Our beach was lovely but only about a metre deep and the sea was only shallow for 5 or so metres, whereas on the other side you could wade in shallow sandy water for 20metres!!! Though it was nice to have the privacy of your own part of the beach with the water lapping at the deck chair and we were also conveniently located close to the main restaurants, pool and footbridge to the other island.

We didnt book anything in advance - but upon check in we were introduced to everything and given an opportunity to book in. there was plenty of availability with the spa (which was divine), but the wine cellar was booked up which i have heard from friends makes for a very nice evening. It is only run on a friday night, so obviously books up fast.

Our beach villa was simply stunning and spacious - I can find fault in most if not all hotel rooms, and this one was faultless. It was spacious, well maintained, modern, and luxurious. I loved the outside bathroom, although that is a matter of preference! I imagine the DBV and water villas would have blown us away.

The swimming pool always seemed to have space around it, so no early morning rush! It was slightly colder than the sea, so more often than not we found ourselves swimming in the sea.

All in all it was absolutely, i would recommend it to anyone, one of the best hotels in the world!

  • Liked — luxurious comfort, modern, spacious
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank loveluxurioushotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangali Island
18.5 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
16.3 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
12.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Diamonds Thudufushi
Diamonds Thudufushi
#1 of 1 in Thudufushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
14.4 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Maldives Rangali Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Maldives Rangali Island

Property: Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Address: 2034
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Rangali Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Maldives Rangali Island 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot luxury meets unpretentious style at this five star hotel in the Maldives. Home to whale sharks, manta rays, dolphins and turtles, Conrad Maldives is set on two islands and is reached by a 30-minute seaplane flight. Select from 12 restaurants and bars including Ithaa Undersea Restaurant, the Cheese Bar featuring 101 of the world's best cheeses, and an underground Wine Cellar with 20,000 bottles of fine wines. Relax at one of two spas or on the beautiful white sand beaches. Go diving and exploring on the many excursions available, including luxurious sunset cruises, big game fishing expeditions and local island hopping trips. Conrad Maldives is included in Conde Nast Traveler's 2013 Gold List of the Best 100 Hotels in the World and The World's 10 Best Beach Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Destinology, Agoda, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Conrad Maldives Rangali Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island Hotel Rangali Island
Conrad Rangali Island
Rangali Island Conrad
Rangali Island Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing