We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No authenticity at all” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conrad Maldives Rangali Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“No authenticity at all”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

We decided to spend our honeymoon in the Conrad Rangali Island, since we experienced several Conrads worldwide. After a 10-hour-flight from Zurich directly to Male, we were instantly picked-up by the Conrad people and brought into the Conrad Lounge at the Male Airport (air conditioned, clean, offering fruits and danish as well as different beverages). After a while, when other passengers arrived, we were escorted to the seaplane (laud, not air-conditioned by 35°C and high humidity). The flight took appr. 30 minutes - luckily as soon as we were high enough, the temperature in the cabin became slightly agreeable (for us coming from European winter...). This way of "wow" transport costs appr. 200 $ (even though there is nothing "wow" about it, apart from full body sauna).

As we arrived, we were served drinks and cook towels and soon welcomed by our "island host", who did not bother that we had a long flight, a jet lag and a temperature shock behind us, he just began to summarize everything about the island in 30 minutes. One gets several prospects, island plans, etc. to study at the same time... The only thing we wanted was to get to our room, refresh and think later about what we could do. Finally, we were to stay for 14 days, which gives you a long time to think about what you want to do...

Being honeymooners we got a fruit basket and a champagne bottle offered in our villa. Concerning the sunset cruise, our island host missed to tell us that it is happening every day – instead he pointed out that it’s exclusively on one particular day. So we had beautiful sunsets behind us, when the weather changed, our cruise began, while our boat was rocking and rocking…. The service on board consisted of several canapés and a lot of champagne (was the idea to make us drunk???), turning into sunset boose…

We had one of the beach villas on the riff side of the main island, which was for us a very good choice, sine we had a beach (not only a beach line) and were quite away from other people. But this is when the sunchair horror began - there was no way that you could reserve you sunchair (even if it was just in front of you room). You needed to hunt for one (beginning at 8 a.m.) if you wanted to stay in the vicinity of your villa. The island hosts pointed out that there are no reservations; you can take any sunchair (and put your towel on it). Which just reminded us of cheap hotels in Europe, frequented by Germans (like ourselves), who wake up early every day just to be able to reserve the sunchair…. or in Conrad Maldives for 700$/day…. Since we got new neighbors every couple of days, the discussions began every time when somebody threw out towels and took our chairs (e.g. while we were snorkeling). Beach service (drinks & food) was available only once daily. If you missed it, you needed to call the concierge from your room, get connected with the kitchen, etc… i.e. waist time on nothing. The prices were higher as in Miami Shore Club!

Food and prices are a special chapter in this hotel. First of all, you needed to reserve in all of the à la carte restaurants, even if they were completely empty (again you needed to call the concierge, get connected with Restaurant call center, etc). We once appeared without reservation and collected brittle looks as if we were trying to rob the bank… We live in Zurich, where everything is expensive – but being here we learned the new definition of expenses. Each night we spent at least 200$ for a simple dinner (incl. wine)! The back-up option was to get the buffet, which was so unauthentic that we decided to try something else. The buffet consisted of 5 separated areas, including Asian (I just don’t know what was Asian about it, the curries were as in the worst restaurant in Thailand) and Japanese food (I wonder what Japanese thought about it, since we found it rather doll). Our top spots were restaurants in the Spa and the Vilu, since they offered balanced and delicious food (the later could have also been somewhere in Italy…). However, nothing was true Maldivian or Asian food! We had the feeling, as if we were in the Hilton in Connecticut or Munich. They even had yogurts from Germany!!! (feels like home, but not on Maldives). The rest of the restaurants (underwater, sunset grill, tepan-yaki) were just not worth the money, unless you don’t know better. For us, it was just fake (eg. after eating the best tepan-yaki in Kyoto!).

Snorkeling on the house riff was much more exiting than diving (really great!). We were truly disappointed with the diving landscape – cannot match ones in Southeast Asia or Australia. The diving team was OK, but we’ve seen and experienced better. Still the prices were high and the service average. We had the feeling that the diving guides only wanted to finish their jobs, without caring for fun or any other kind of improvement. We did 11 dives – only one was really good (not excellent).

We could not get to the Spa, since what we wanted was always booked out (again call through concierge…). Other time slots were offered, but we did not want to loose our diving time for a massage (since the one we wanted happened 2-3 times/week).

After 14 days and additional expenses of 6500$ (hotel not included!!), we came back home disappointed. If we ever come back to Maldives, we will surely choose another, more authentic hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stilleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,647
    235
    92
    27
    20
See reviews for
427
1,241
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

We have just had 7 wonderful nights in paradise. Rangali Island is in a class all of its own. We styed in a Superior Water Villa and our stay was worth every penny. The Superior Water Villas are on the quieter side of the smaller island and we had sunset views every night. Paradise in every way - yes it is expensive but you get what you pay for. True first class accommodation, and courteous staff and our villa attendant Ali coudn't do enough for us. We walked both islands every day - which totalled 6 miles. So not a place for those looking for long walks - also not somewhere for youngsters or party goers, it is ideal for honeymooners and those looking for a peaceful and tranquil holiday.
We went HB as advised by our travel advisor and we were glad we did as we saved money there. We ate most nights at the Atoll Bar which was real good food, always hot, buffet style and you eat what you want and as much as you want, no restrictions. Drinks are expensive but hey once you are there just enjoy it and take enough money to enjoy yourself and not limit yourself too much.
Every night we walked across the bridge from the big island to our smaller one and enjoyed looking at the stars - we also went snorkelling every day from our villa, it truly was a beautiful experience. So quiet at night and fun sipping a cocktail watching the ray and turtles swim by. We also saw quite a large reef shark which looked threatening when snorkelling but they kept their distance. The colours of the tropical fish are out of this world, quite truly paradise and if you are going, you are extremely lucky as we will definitely be going back some time in the future.
One piece of advice is try to avoid a late departure from Male as there isn't much there and as we found out an 11.30 pm flight after leaving the island at 5.30 is a lot of time in a very basic airport. Apart from that - enjoy.
Our hot tub was used every evening too after it had cooled down a little (it got real hot) and we enjoyed relaxing out there and then retiring to our room. The weather was very hot every day - no rain.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

Idyllic,stunning,breathtaking!
If you are reading this prior to a trip, have no worries you will love it here.Totally relaxing,great food at all the restaurants (we did them all),super villas,powder white sand,well appointed rooms, great service etc etc.
Only one problem I saw, beach villas 101 to 110 are located near a screened fuel/diesel storage tank which is smelly,the path which runs behind the villas past the tank was fairly thick with the odour, not sure if it penetrates in the rooms but I personally wouldn't be happy here.
We had water spa villa which I would recommend ( No 409) as this side you get the sunsets & great view & more importantly a breeze. We just left windows open to let in sea breeze no air con needed plus sound of waves. Sea totally clear,baby sharks, sting rays all types of fish etc WOW!
Fantastic spa treatments. A lady called May was my favourite,try the thai massage (not for faint hearted).
Sunrise snorkelling great,dolphin trip good.I loved a week of total relaxation & pampering,but on a purely personal basis I think I would have gone stir crazy if I was there for 2 weeks as there is not much else to do.If all you need is sun sand & chilled relaxing you can't go wrong. We left our teenage boys at home,glad we did,not for them,definatley grown up adults place, although kids are apparently catered for my footy mad boys would be clicking their heels, needing to burn off energy.Not enough action for them! ENJOY,YOU DEFINATELY WILL!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2009

Just got back from our 3rd Visit to Rangali.
This is a simple review
THERE IS NO PLACE ON EARTH LIKE IT!!!
Thankyou Staff, Thankyou Conrad for another amazing experience. YOU ARE TRULY THE BEST!!! ITS LIKE LIVING IN A DREAM
The service is 2nd to none.
The people are so wonderful and nice
No review can decribe what this place is like,
It must be experienced!!
We are coming back for a 4th Time in Jan 2010!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2009

After several nights at Cocoa Island, we spent one night at the Conrad to check off several special “Maldives must-dos”: a massage in an over-water spa, a meal in an underwater restaurant, and a seaplane trip to see the islands and reefs from the air.

Compared to the naturalness of Cocoa Island, the Conrad is definitely a resort: larger, sleeker and glossier (almost prefab), with manicured landscaping. Staff and menus are pretty international, not providing much of a sense of place. Everything was, however, top quality, and food was very reasonably priced for the Maldives.

We were upgraded from a standard to a superior water villa, where we enjoyed watching the sunset from the private Jacuzzi and then, after dark, the many fish (and one ray) close to our villa in the lagoon. It was great to have the over-water spa so close to us, and we saw plenty of interesting fish during our massage. Vilu, also nearby, was nice for meals and drinks by the gorgeous turquoise blue water.

We much preferred the cool, quiet water villa island to the main island, which was hot and humid because the dense jungle foliage blocked the glorious breeze from the sea. We only spent time there for lunch at Ithaa – ridiculously overpriced food, but it really does look like the pictures (fish and all), and we had it almost to ourselves – and a morning snorkel.

The snorkel was tougher than we’d expected. It’s difficult to access the house reef if you’re not in one of the beach villas, and we were surprised to find significant erosion on the beach (exposed palm roots, chunks of missing beach, concrete supports sticking out into the water). The reef has a nice drop-off with lots of colorful live corals, but it’s on an exposed side of the island, so with just a 15kph breeze the water got so choppy that we had to cut our snorkel shorter than we'd hoped.

As we had a late flight out, we were very grateful they extended check-out until our 4 p.m. seaplane. We weren’t able to get a day room at the Hulhule Island Hotel (book early: they fill up fast), so we just did a dinner (so-so) and massage (nice) there to kill time. Conrad staff told us they would watch our luggage at the airport, but when we returned to pick it up, it was sitting on a cart in the middle of the walkway, with no Conrad employees in sight! So you may want to take your luggage with you to HIH.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PickwickLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2009

It is hard to fault such a beautiful place as this. The location is simply stunning. However, our island host was very good to start with, he did always try to act as though he was doing a really good job (for example one night we wanted to book a restaurant, we were told he had worked really hard to get us a table as there was only one left, however when we were seated we noticed that there were at least 8 tables free!) We had to overlook these little issues as when you are there you cannot think of anything else.

We did almost every excursion/trip. The Dream island excursion was amazing! I highly recommend everyone to book this. The sunset fishing was a lot of fun, another tourist managed to catch a massive grouper fish! Was quite scary but a great experience - we tried to book again, however the weather got slightly temperamental after that. The sunset cruise was beautiful, the snorkelling trips (all of them) were brilliant - we swam with turtles! and came back home with amazing underwater pictures.

We had private dinner on the beach which was so beautiful, there was too much food for us to eat but what we did eat was delicious! The best sea food I have had was here. I was also able to eat the red snapper I caught fishing, they grilled it for us the next day - fresh fish is divine!

We stayed in a superior water villa for the first 9 nights of our holiday - I highly recommend these villas - they are very private and secluded and it's heaven waking up to the sea beneath your villa every morning. We also enjoyed watching the fish feeding at night beneath the villa, or laying the Jacuzzi watching the stars - yes this place really is that dreamy!

We extended our trip by 3 days because we loved it so much. Our island host unfortunately upgraded us to a spa water villa as no superior water villas were available. The spa villas are much larger but nowhere near as special as the one we had stayed in previously. The main reason for this, I believe is that the spa water villas are on the main island, which is busier than the private island (which is a lot smaller but definitely quieter). The sea is also much nicer on the private island side as it is protected by a reef, so it is calmer and shallower. The colour is more beautiful too!

We stayed half board and believe me, the food here is amazing! You will be spoilt for choice. I was worried by booking half board you would be given a lower grade of food, or you would not have much choice - how wrong I was - we had every cuisine we needed - the Indian and Asian food was especially good. Breakfast you are also spoilt for choice. I personally LOVED the banana bread ... I would take some back to my room to snack on throughout the day!

Everything at this resort was special. The manta ray at night was enchanting; the natural beauty of this location leaves you lost for words. I understand there is other equally as luxurious resorts in the Maldives ... but I really can’t fault this hotel.

As stated earlier, my only problem was the island Host - on the last day we settled the bill for the extra 3 days we stayed, it was far more than agreed previously as service charges were added here and there which was only going to annoy me - I would return but don’t think I would stay extra days if it means this hassle again and being out of pocket more than I should have been.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mouse00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2009

Well the reviews below my just about say it all and I completely echo everything they said about The Conrad.

It is the most beautiful place I have ever been and I would go back to The Maldives in a shot, it was perfect for our honeymoon in November.

We stayed for 9 days - 6 in Deluxe Beach Villa & 3 in a Deluxe Water Villa. I had read others reviews before going and saw many recommending Deluxe Beach Villa 230 so put a request in before leaving and on arrival we were allocated the room and I can see why everyone recommended it - the pool is huge and you can easily do laps in it, positioned on a perfect bit of beach, far enough away from any noise but near enough still to everything. We were sad to leave it behind when we left to go to the Water villa but soon forgot once we arrived as again another excellent room and a completely different experience to the Beach villas, if you can’t decide and it is a special holiday or you can afford it I definitely recommend doing both!

I am going to try and not repeat what everyone else has written on here but it is very hard!

So quick rundown –

Wine Cellar dinner – Go, great food, great wine, learning experience and social
Champagne and Lobster night – Romantic, good value, amazing food
Shipwrecked dinner on the beach – Perfect, really romantic, secluded, lots of food – don’t eat in the day! I would say this option is better than the private dining on the beach as you are near the bridge and others, where as for the shipwrecked dinner you are further along and on your own.
Ithaa Cocktails – Worth it to look at the fish and see the restaurant, we didn’t do dinner based on others on here recommendations and don’t feel like we missed anything
Atoll Market – Absolutely fab, you could easily eat in here every night, the choices are huge – Italian, Indian, Japanese, Chinese, Maldivian you can choose from many different dishes every night and also request different freshly cooked meals from each of the specialist chefs from their countries.
Vilu Restaurant – Fab views and great food, a little pricey and not an essential meal. Tapas in the bar here is great for mid-afternoon hunger or lunch.

Overall all the food we had was amazing, we did not have one bad meal in our whole time here, I would even go as far to say that each meal was exceptional, therefore I cannot understand why some people have had issues with food on here. I have been lucky enough to eat in some of the most renound and amazing restaurants in the world and I would say The Conrad beat most of them hands down and infact cheaper!

We did not do many excursions because we really didn’t want to leave the island as it was so peaceful, you really don’t get bored in the Maldives. We did the private island trip which was worth the experience and great to do but wasn’t overly fussed. There is as much or as little as you want to do on this island with a choice of water sports, games, pool, trips etc

I visited the normal larger spa and had reki which I can highly recommend, was a lovely experience and the therapists were very clued up, we also did the overwater spa joint couple massage which was amazing especially watching the fish during the massage. Although my only tip is, even if you have regular massages at home and think your by fine with a hard/medium strength massage when asked move it down a notch or two to soft as they were very brutal and I was in more pain than relaxation!

Our island hosts were extremely attentive and are there as much or as little as you need them, they do daily checks to see you have everything you need.

Other quick tips and points
• There are three computers in the library for internet access if you want to grab five mins out the sun and brag to your friends ;) Quite slow connection but hey you’re in the Maldives!
• I would take my own hair dryer even though the one provided was good quality if you’re a girl and you hair requires lots of styling take your own
• Do not bother with shoes – seriously they really are not needed and that is from a very shoe obsessed girl!
• Try the Moonlight swim cocktail in the bar
• Take ALOT of suncream, we normally are fine but really did burn and quickly the sun is strong!
• Look out at sea everyday when you’re lying on the beach for Dolphins as we were lucky enough to have dolphins swimming only just out from the shore on many occasions

So to round it up if your debating going…go and if you are going - you lucky people!!! Enjoy!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangali Island
18.5 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
16.3 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
11.7 mi away
Diamonds Thudufushi
Diamonds Thudufushi
#1 of 1 in Thudufushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
14.4 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Maldives Rangali Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Maldives Rangali Island

Property: Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Address: 2034
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Rangali Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Maldives Rangali Island 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot luxury meets unpretentious style at this five star hotel in the Maldives. Home to whale sharks, manta rays, dolphins and turtles, Conrad Maldives is set on two islands and is reached by a 30-minute seaplane flight. Select from 12 restaurants and bars including Ithaa Undersea Restaurant, the Cheese Bar featuring 101 of the world's best cheeses, and an underground Wine Cellar with 20,000 bottles of fine wines. Relax at one of two spas or on the beautiful white sand beaches. Go diving and exploring on the many excursions available, including luxurious sunset cruises, big game fishing expeditions and local island hopping trips. Conrad Maldives is included in Conde Nast Traveler's 2013 Gold List of the Best 100 Hotels in the World and The World's 10 Best Beach Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Destinology, Holiday Gems and TravelUp so you can book your Conrad Maldives Rangali Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island Hotel Rangali Island
Conrad Rangali Island
Rangali Island Conrad
Rangali Island Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing