We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible”
Review of Kihaad Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kihaad Maldives
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Baa Atoll
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

I never usually write reviews but I feel I have to tell other people about our awful experience so they don't book this hotel.

We had a 3 hour wait in the airport terminal upon arrival. We were told it was a private transfer but this was not the case it was a scheduled flight.

We then arrived late and in the dark hungry and tired only to be told that our room wasn't ready. We waited 4 hours for a baby cot which we had pre- requested.

The management are really to blame here because the hotel is so badly managed and run. The staff have no service skills at all, they were (apart from a very nice bartender) unhelpful, unacommodating and rude. We were sent away from the main restaurant and refused to be served on more than one occasion. We waited more than 1 hour for coffee in our room because the machine in the room was broken - these are just 2 examples out of many. We spent the whole time there hungry as the food was so bad. Even my children found the food inedible.

We asked for the manager on several occasions but no one ever seemed to be there. We were finally visited by him but it was too late we were having such an awful stay we decided to leave and stay somewhere else (Iru Fushi which was amazing).

We were not alone in our dissatisfaction and everyone we spoke to seemed to be having the same issues with staff, service and food. There was a strange atmosphere that was uncomfortable and we just felt completely unwelcome.

It's a good job that the Maldives has so much natural beauty because that is the only good thing about this hotel.

They ruined our holiday.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank RunB2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013, Direttore generale at Kihaad Maldives, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Sir,

We are sorry to read your review, especially when we did our best in order to meet your needs and preferences.

As you know, from Malé every Resorts in the Republic of Maldives can organize transfers for their Guests; these can be done by domestic flight or by seaplane. Our Reservations Department has been – as always, with every Guest – at complete disposal in the organization of the transfer through your travel agency. We are sorry if the travel agency did not correctly highlight that the transfer would have been through a domestic flight and not with a private jet; from our part, this was of course well specified at the moment of the reservation.

Our staff is usually appreciated, as you can see from the comments reported below, for the kind and smiling behavior. We do not feel that any of our staff member can be defined rude and unskilled and everyone is pleased to be at Guests’ disposal, for a natural attitude.

Also, Guests can have at any time of the day something to eat, being our bars and restaurants available.

We will be pleased to welcome you again and demonstrate that what you kindly reported does not match the reality of our Resort.
We thank you for your kind attention and remain with our sincerest regards,

The Management
Kihaad Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    109
    45
    22
    23
See reviews for
121
307
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I had to stay in the Airport for more than 3 hours and missed one flight waiting for the hotel confirming my booking information from hotel.com. Gave me wrong bills when checking out, and I had to check the bill by myself and corrected it for 3 times.
Staff in main restaurant are not friendly, keep telling me not to do this, not to do that.
Can hardly find smile from the staff walking by.

我们不得不在机场候机厅等待三小时并延误了一班航班,等待酒店确认我们的预定信息(之前通过hotels.com预定酒店说没有查到)
结帐的时候给了我们三次错误的账单
主餐厅的服务员很不友好,很少看到有经过你的服务生朝你微笑

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linchli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were really puzzled before our trip because the reviews were either excellent or terrible. Of course the truth is in between but if you start from the premise that this is not a five star resort and doesn't charge five star prices you will get the picture. The resort is still improving which means that not all rooms as yet have the same equipment and there is a small amount of non-intrusive building work going on.
What really sets Kihaad apart is the standard of service which is exceptional. All the staff are friendly and customer focused, going above and beyond their remit to make sure guests are happy - for example one of the dive school staff going to find a bar man (we had been waiting all of about 30 seconds!)
So one area at a time:
Rooms - large, clean, Italian design which looks fine but can lack a little functionality. Really well equipped bathroom though - there is no need to pack anything other than deodorant and sun cream. Bathrobes & flip flops also provided.
Restaurant - main restaurant is buffet style and good standard of Italian-led international cuisine; great grilled fish, pasta, risotto, cheese and coffee. Menus could rotate a little more but overall there is plenty of choice. Not to mention wine you actually want to drink.
Bar - premium brands not included in all inclusive but an extensive range of cocktails instead, also cappuccino and latte.
Dive Centre - we are snorkellers not divers but were made very welcome indeed and given great information on the house reef. The staff remained interested in what we were doing for the whole holiday. We took two trips with them; one we snorkelled with mantas - and we're really impressed with the staff to guest ratio and attention to safety in the water.
House Reef - one really good long snorkel from jetty to jetty. Not pretty coral wise but an huge variety of fish; some were new to us and this was our sixth trip to the Maldives. Otherwise a bit of coral garden pottering provided some variety. Sting rays gather at the dive jetty every morning to be fed.
Gym - we have never seen a gym like it in the Maldives. Fantastic equipment and even a couple of squash courts.
Spa - was OK, not great. Lacks finesse and menu of treatments could be more varied. Not impressed with the level of cleanliness in the showers but the therapists were fine.

Overall if you set your expectations to four start not five and value friendly service above all this will be a great resort for you.

Room Tip: Probably not worth the premium for beach front on the lagoon side of the island as all the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013, Direttore generale at Kihaad Maldives, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Jane,

We would like to thank you for your kind feedback, it is a pleasure to know that you kindly attribute us 6 stars for our service!

Please kindly join our Facebook fan-page: it is a nice way to continue in getting in touch and remind our Paradise Island.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon and in the meantime remain with our sincerest regards,

The Management
Kihaad Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed at the Kihaad Resort in the second Half of August and my experience was simply amazing!!
Firstly we have been welcomed by the Front Office Management with a cocktail Manager after two minutes we landed at the Kihaad Resort!
Villas and Water villas are great in every detail and will be very comfortable for couples and for families as well.
Secondly as far as Food and Beverage concerns I've been surprised by the great amount of variety and quality in Foods, the astonishing Staff at the Diving centre (special advise for Mantas Trip) and great time during Snorkeling sessions
Everything as been perfect and very relaxing!!

I will come back for sure as soon as Possible!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maitx0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013, Direttore generale at Kihaad Maldives, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your nice feedback. It such a pleasure to know that we met your expectations, and that you enjoyed your recent stay at our Kihaad Resort!

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon to our Paradise Island and in the meantime we invite you to become our fan in Facebook, where we regularly post our latest news and pictures.

Thanking again, we remain with our sincerest regards,

The Management
Kihaad Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

service is very bad and try to check your bill three time because they charge 4 times the bill. That is how they cheat their customers. Not only us who experienced it, there was even one guy from saudi who was complaining and a couple also from china. They keep on delaying ur domestic flight after that they will tell you, you have to pay extra charge. Plus, the owner should kick the resident manager Marco because he is arrogant, disrespectful and does not know how to handle customers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank shooshoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013, Direttore generale at Kihaad Maldives, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Sir,

We are sorry to read your comment, especially as it contains wrong informations.

We are not used at all to charge uncorrect amounts and especially charge 4 times a bill. Concerning possible delays with seaplane, our Staff has correctly organized the transfer service and the mistake has been due by the seaplane company.

We are sorry if our Resident Manager, Mr Marco, seemed arrugant in your opinion, as he is usually very appreciated by all Guests for his kindness and smiling attentiveness to the clientele, as you can notice by all the reviews posted by our past Guests here in Tripadvisor.

We remain at complete disposal for any further assistance and send our sincerest regards,

The Management
Kihaad Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We missed the international flight for the reason that our transfer from Kihaad to Male airport wasn't organized in time. They explained to us that it wast TMA - the hydroplane company fault. During all the day they gave us only empty promises and they were thinking and thinking how to solve this (during almost 12 hours) Though didn't become anything to change a situation. Throughout the day we with small children sat on a reception aria without food and water and any news. Though nowdays presently to find and bok the new ticket takes only 15-20 minutes. Only late at night they transfered us to Male for overnight and only in the morning of the next day we could depart. We want let you knew that in case of a similar situation that happened to us, nobody will care , just simply wanted to get rid of us somewhat quicker! Family from Russia, Moscow

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013, Direttore generale at Kihaad Maldives, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Madam,

We are sorry to read your review, especially because we don't feel that you missed your international flight because the transfer from Kihaad to Malé Airport was not organized in time.

As already explained, everything was correctly set by our Reservations Staff but the unpleasant situation has been caused to a lack of service of the hydroplane company, which did not respect the correct timing of departure from our Island.

At the same time, we wish to highlight that, during the whole day, our General Manager, Resident Manager and Guest Relation was at your disposal, trying to solve in the best way the situation which was caused by an external part. As you surely remember, we offered you complimentary lunch, dinner and beverages on that day, because this is part of our Hospitality.

In addition to this, we wish to remind that - although our Resort was highly occupied - we offered 2 rooms to be used complimentary during that day, for your total comfort.

Once a new flight was ready at 5.00 pm, you actually refused to get on - although our recommendation was to take advantage of it - and we have been ready to be at your disposal, offering our private boat to escorting you to Malé at 10.00 pm.

After all this, we are surprised to read your review, which does not correspond to the real Hospitality and efforts we put in solving the situation.

We remain, as always, at complete disposal for any additional information or clarifications and remain with our sincerest regards,

The Management
Kihaad Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This review focuses on the snorkeling environment. We did not stay in Kihaad, we only went there twice for snorkeling during our stay in Dusit Thani which is located at the same atoll, Baa atoll.

We booked private snorkeling trips for Manta Rays and reef hopping on two different days during our stay in Dusit Thani, the weather was quite bad, it was very windy and the sea was choppy, the original plan was snorkeling in three outstanding reef and looking for Manta Rays around Hanifaru bay, the speed boat crew tried to stop in three different reefs, we jumped into the choppy water and we could hardly see anything even within a meter. The crew finally brought us to the house reef of Kihaad.

Surprisingly the water is still extremely calm around Kihaad's house reef under the bad weather condition, the visibility is unexpectedly high. The corals are not very healthy and colorful though, we are impressed by the rich marine life, we saw different varieties of fishes, sea turtles, octopus and a big nurse shark spinning at the reef for food. The second snorkeling trip was the same case.

It might not be the best house reef we've been, but we appreciated the nice snorkeling environment and condition in Kihaad during the Monsoon season.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baa Atoll hotels
3.2 mi away
Amilla Fushi
Amilla Fushi
#4 of 13 in Baa Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
20.2 mi away
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
#1 of 1 in Dhunikolhu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
5.7 mi away
Royal Island Resort & Spa
Royal Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Horubadhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Maldives
Dusit Thani Maldives
#5 of 13 in Baa Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
5.1 mi away
Reethi Beach Resort
Reethi Beach Resort
#7 of 13 in Baa Atoll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
8.8 mi away
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
#1 of 1 in Kihavah Huravalhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihaad Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihaad Maldives

Property: Kihaad Maldives
Address: Kihaadhuffaru Island, 6040 (Formerly Gioia Resort Valtur Kihaad)
Region: Maldives > Baa Atoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Baa Atoll
#9 Spa Hotel in Baa Atoll
#10 Luxury Hotel in Baa Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kihaad Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind, Relax and celebrate Life. Redefined, refurbished and recognized as KIHAAD Maldives, nestled on its own 600 meters long, coconut-shaped island, complete with lush green vegetation, long white soft beaches and an adjacent house reef. Whilst the resort offers 124 spacious, private villas and whole range of classic and natural facilities, majority of the island has still been left in its pristine natural state and is a true barefoot Paradise! No News- No Shoes! KIHAAD - named traditionally in local Dhivehi language as `young coconut island` with a beach length of some 1,200 meters around the Island, is a haven of peace, tranquility and serenity. Proudly nestled within the Baa Atoll UNESCO Biosphere Reserve, the entire Island and lagoon is the exclusive and private domain of our guests set just across the Hanifaru Bay which is a world renowned Marine Protected Area (MPA) announced by UNESCO, where whale sharks and manta rays meet seasonally and many turtles can be watched along with the delicate coral life. Just like UNESCO, the philosophy of KIHAAD is to focus on the preservation of marine life and local lifestyle, traditional ways and customs of serving and living together. That is why we are the first 'Reserve' island in the Maldives. Guests may fly-in by a scenic Domestic 25-minute flight from the Domestic Airport at Male', the capital of the Maldives to Dharavandhoo Domestic Airport, the closest airport in the area which only 5-minute speedboat to the island of KIHAAD. Relax in our K Spa with Holistic Asian treatments or go for barefoot walks on the long soft beached that stretch out around the entire island. Join us for a lobster Beach BBQ or stargaze the clear night skies on the jetty. Paradise awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kihaad Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gioia Resort Valtur Kihaad Hotel Baa Atoll
Kihaad Maldives Baa Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing