We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Diving Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Reethi Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Baa Atoll
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We spent two weeks in Reethi Beach in April. We booked through No News No Shoes who we highly recommend. We spent the first five days in a water villa and then moved to a beach villa for the rest of the holiday.

Overall we had a lovely holiday and can highly recommend Reethi. If you are considering going then we would highlight the following minor things:

* The beach villas have less privacy than the water bungalows they are quite close together and share a beach front. People on the beach look straight into your villa. If you can afford it we recommend you go for a water villa.

* Really think about half-board / all inclusive options. If you are not big eaters you might find you are better off going room only and paying for what you want while you are there. We were on half-board and although we have not done the maths we think we were better off than going all inclusive.

* We recommend you take an early flight out at the end of the holiday since the resort is not particularly well geared for you hanging around once you check out of your villa (by 12 noon).

* Take care of which dive trips you want to do; be prepared for the up-sell! They seemed to be keen to push the full-day trips or afternoon two tank trips.

* Although they fumigate the island regularly we recommend you use insect repellent in the evenings. We came away with a few souvenir bites from our holiday.

* The island seems to attract families with children which may not be for everyone.

Some of the positives we would highlight are:

* The dive centre is extremely well organised. We enjoyed the two tank boat dives in the mornings. They also let you dive as experienced buddy pairs and don't force you to have a guide.

* We Loved the water villa. The privacy is wonderful. You have a fantastic view from the decking and from the bed! It is very comfortable with a lovely sized room. You can snorkel straight off the steps from your private decking. We had room 202 and we could see the sunset from our room.

* The food is superb. Although we were only on half-board we still managed to eat too much!

* The sports complex is great. We bought a pass for two weeks which meant we could play squash, table tennis, or badminton every day. There are also tennis courts and a gym (although we did not use them).

* We especially loved the bar near the water villas. Mohamed was running it and he made us feel very looked after. He is great company and looks after everyone extremely well. We spent most lunch times on the mock tails and happy hour on the cocktails every evening before dinner.

All in all we loved our stay and highly recommend the island.

Room Tip: Water villa 202 was lovely and you can see sunset from the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TwickersTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,102 - 1,108 of 1,984 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

This was our 4th visit to Reethi Beach, so needless to say, we like it. This was our first since the minor refurb of the Island, and in line with the majority of requests, nothing too major was done. However, I have to say that the addition of toilet facilities at the Sunset Bar (Beach Bar last time we were there) and the Moonlight Bar (previously the Sunset Bar), were most welcome! Surprising that such obvious things make a considerable difference! For our party of four (we had another couple with us who were Maldives virgins), the highlight of our stay was twofold. Firstly the incredibly friendly and obliging service at the restaurant and bars - Faysal, Hanifa, Anish, Salim, Ibbe, Aminul, Janaka, Vineeth, Mohamed, to name but those who spring immediately to mind. And secondly, the quality of the food in the buffet restaurant, which in my opinion was exceptional. Never once did I grow tired of it and the selection and standard was simply amazing. I love my curries (as well as just about every other food, as the pics show), and particularly during the first week, there were some incredible curries on offer, as well as a huge variety of other fayre. Myself and Mrs Bonters stayed in a DeLuxe villa, whilst our friends were in a standard. However, they were allocated No. 103, which is a previous DeLuxe, without the minor alterations at refurb. I believe 101 - 104 inclusive have been 'downgraded' to standard, as they are situated at the Southern end, with a few sandbags in the vicinity. However, they are of the previous DeLuxe standard inside, but without the traditional swing outside and no sunshade on the beach. Our friends were very happy with the room indeed, and at that end of the Island, it is much handier for the Reception, Buffet Restaurant etc etc. The West beach was pretty plentiful during our stay, but towards the end it did start to diminish with the shifting tides and we were told that in a week or two, high tide would be coming right up to the Sunset Bar! We chose All Inclusive again, and we were fairly regular imbibers, so perhaps just as well. At the end of the holiday, our joint signed receipts for drinks alone (incl water and soft drinks of course), was about $5,500! It sounds a lot but if you divide it by 14 (days), and then again by 4 (people), it comes into perspective better. There is evidence of one or two budget restrictions kicking in - spirits are not branded ones these days in the main. However we did discover on the last day that if you prefer branded e.g. Gordons Gin, they do have it but you have to request it specifically. Nonetheless, the mxers remain proper branded ones and so not a big issue for most. It does just go against the grain slightly that they are making savings, whilst holiday costs are going up significantly every year!
However, would we go back yet again? In a heartbeat. Cannot recommend Reethi enough for those looking for the relaxed, informal, simple luxury that it offers.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Bonters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Just got back from 10nts at Reethi Beach Resort. It was truly paradise. 7nts may have been too short, 14 nts and we may have started taking it all for granted... If (like me) you're spending hours, days, weeks reading reviews and websites trying to make the right choice for a honeymoon/romantic getaway - stop... right now. JUST BOOK! You will not regret the wonderfully scenic sea plane ride and short boat trip to the island. The welcome coconut drinks and cold face-towels on arrival. You will forget all your woes when you take the short walk to your villa along clean, soft, white sands with tropical-aqua waves lapping your feet, you will realise you made the right choice... Met so many guests there who were one their 9th, 10th visit, and I will certainly not take the risk and go elsewhere when this island has it all...
The staff are SO attentive and considerate (especially Mohamed in the watervilla bar, Faysal and Amiee in the restaurant and funny-Vineeth in the sunset bar!)

Assuming you've booked the holiday (DO IT!) and are looking for tips, pros and cons etc... here are our experiences. One thing I have noticed on TripAdvisor is that there are some differences of opinion from one reviewer to the next, so... as stated - these are OUR views! It's a lengthy review, and tailored for those who have booked and are going in a matter of weeks - so stop reading now if you haven't!

MUST DO's:
1) Visit all the bars at least once in the first couple of days. You will hear people say one bar is better than another (most tend to go to the Sunset Bar) but we found it too busy and preferred the more personal/friendly service from Mohamed on the Watervilla bar. If you try them all you will know which is best for you... Same with the restaurants - we had a free meal in Saima Garden and it was amazing! Wouldn't have necessarily gone if it weren't included in our honeymoon package... glad we did!

2) Do the Technical Tour! It's once a week, sign up for it in reception and you get to see the amazing work that goes into running the island! Without knowing it, there are 260 staff living and working behind the scenes in power stations, water filtration sites, kitchens, carpentry and even a hairdresser! Such an eye opener, and seeing a lone man who irons the bed sheets day in and day out made us more considerate about asking for new sheets!

3)AI guests should defo make use of the two free 1/2 day trips. I won't spoil them by going into detail, but they are MUSTS and we only paid for one other trip - the Robinson Island picnic ($90 for two and you get 'speedboated' to a deserted island all to yourself for a half-day! Very romantic). We didn't pay the horrific amounts for dolphin/turtle trips as we saw dolphins and swam with turtles on a daily basis on the house reef... for free! Another couple we met wanted to see turtles and booked the trip, we took them to see one on the reef and soon cancelled their trip (saving around $70+ 16%). We also saw Mantas, Eagle rays and much more whilst snorkelling.

4) Go to eBay and buy yourself a snorkel set. Hiring/buying on the island isn't cheap and you want a good quality/personal set as everyday you will go out - guaranteed! We were offered free snorkelling intro and free dive, but declined to use them as we saw SO much ourselves whilst snorkelling on the reef. Even moreso on the Robinson island reef which was more alive and stunning...

5) Accomodation: You'll be happy wherever you end up. Admittedly, some rooms are stuck facing the sea defences, or depending on time of the year, some water bungalows can temporarily hang above a sand bank, but it isn't overly predictable and always changes, so ignore reviews of people saying to avoid certain rooms. We stayed in 216 (middle water bungalow) and moved mid-break to 205 to get a better sunset view in the evenings. All semi-detached and did get a very noisy/heavy-footed German couple move in on our last day and noticed it can be a little off-putting... We slept with the decking doors open everynight and even slept on our sunbeds under the stars one night. Truly amazing! When we come back in a couple of years, we will likely stay on the beach to get a comparison... If so, I would book 160+ as these are nearer the watervilla bar, which I personally liked and the beach was quieter that end...



PROS: The staff are the real asset to this island and are faultless. The rooms get serviced twice daily, the bar staff are friendly, helpful and will always be the ones to ask for hints and tips on what to do and where... The Front of House staff/reps were friendly, speak fluent English and were always visible.

Food was really nice, head chef was attentive to detail and whilst some nights I struggled to find things I knew and liked, it did make me try new things... delicious things!

CONS:
1) Drinks are very expensive if not AI (around $10 a drink) and a glass of bubbly at the sunset bar will set you back $32+16%!!! However, if you are AI, the choice of drinks/cocktails is limited to basic drinks/cocktails - nothing fancy. I'm still torn between what would be a better option, but as we were AI, at least we could drink and not worry about the $150 bills we were signing each evening!

2) Anyone with allergies, be super cautious. I've a life-threatening allergy to nuts and whilst they do take note of allergies and make arrangements to show you what can/can't be eaten each day, there were too many times where nuts were used to 'decorate' the food tables in the main restaurant or were hidden in desserts, in dishes right next to a non-nutty dish which shared a serving spoon etc... and made the meal times a little worrying. I know this won't apply to many people, but if you have an allergy, you'll know where I'm coming from! Take extra care (and lots of Piriton!)

Children - we went in school holidays and a few people took small whiney children, which if you end up staying next door to them, could ruin the honeymoon/romantic feel... If I had kids, RBR wouldn't be my first choice, and I find it weird that people take babies and small kids all that way to a predominantly 'couples' island.

Other tips -

-Take US dollars and change up lots of $1s at reception to leave for tips. Please also tip the Fish Man if you see him at 5:45 every evening, he has been doing it for a decade and a couple of dollars from each person makes it worth his while. It annoyed me that some people would sit and watch for 30 minutes, then walk past him without even a think-you!

-Mix and mingle! There are welcome drinks and opportunities to meet other visitors. We made very good friends with a few English and a German couple and everyone is just SO friendly. It really isn't like some European resorts where people stick to their 'own kind'!

-Buy souvineers on the island hopping trip, not in Reethi Beach's shop. The prices were a third of what was being charged on our island and after bartering, we saved around $40 on our bits and pieces in the end... plus it supports local traders.

-Don't pack towels. You get beach towels in your room. Don't pack a travel iron, whilst the rooms don't have one, you really don't need it! It's so informal there, a crease or two won't matter! Don't pack shampoo/body wash - all included (unless you are fussy about these things!) Don't pack mosquito spray (they mist the island weekly against bugs). DO pack an underwater camera! DO pack something for heat rash (if you've gotten it in the past), DO pack your own fins and snorkel.

Well, I've probably missed someone or something out, but I guess the whole fun of going to RBR is exploring these things for yourself. Do try to ignore the moans and whinges from other reviewers, the resort is perfect and you won't be disappointed. Nowhere on the island is more than a ten minute walk away and even if you are in a watervilla (10mins from the reception), who cares?! It's a tropical island! Much better than walking in the rain to your nearest Tesco-Metro!

Have a blast of a time, it's only been 24 hours and I miss it already!

Any questions, drop me an email! Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Any rooms is good here... I would opt for Water Villa 201-210 as better reef access and sunset views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank wadzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Great:
1. Hospitality (apart from room service). Top class. Very friendly staff. Thanks a lot Joe and team. Doctor was available at 4 in the morning.
2. Cleanliness. The whole resort was well maintained.
3. Dolphin safari. Got to see ~300 dolphins (and no i am not exaggerating. Even i thought "what a joke" when the guide told us that we will see hundreds of them)

Good:
1. Water villas. The deck was superb. A swing on deck (like the ones in front of other villas) would have made it perfect.
2. Restaurants. Food was good but not many choices. Moodhu restaurant was very good.
3. In house reef. Not too big but decent.

No so good:
1. Room service. Not too bad but not great either.
2. No restaurant near water villas. Only a bar.
3. Lower numbered water villas are almost on land.

Room Tip: Go for water villas, the experience is worth it. Lower numbered rooms 201-207 will give you a good s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank devanshd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We spent 12 days here in September 2011, so a rather delayed review!. This was our 2nd trip to the Maldives having stayed on Kuramathi in 2010.

We stayed in a water villa and following recommendations from other trip advisor reviews we asked for the water villa left side, last villa, which we were given - think it was 201. The rooms are semi detached and are nice, although the decor is a little tired and need a make over. But at the end of the day you are paying for the location and the view. It was heaven sitting on our deck relaxing with book and just looking at the view. It was also great to just be able to walk down steps and into the beautiful water with the fish!.

As they are over the water we were exposed to the elements and on the day we arrived it was raining and the force of the wind and rain resulted in rain coming in through the door and window frames!. Luckily this only lasted for the first day and after this we had fantastic weather.

We chose to go B&B rather than All inclusive. We had breakfast even day in the main buffet, where the choice was good. Each evening we selected one of the other restaurants and had a excellent meal every night with fantastic food. At lunchtime we ate at the poolside bar or the Moodhu, where again we had great lunches. The house wine was acceptable and perfectly drinkable. The selection of wines from the wine list was good and reasonably priced. The service at all the restaurants was great, as was the service at all the bars. I would suggest that you book your evening meal venue on arrival especially at the Saima gardens, as tables are limited.

We were glad we went for the B&B option rather than the All Inclusive one as it gave us a lot more freedom of choice. On speaking to other guests who were on the AI option they did say the food in the AI buffet was good, but after a few days it became a little repetitive despite theme nights. We were also pleasantly surprised when our final bill arrived as we found that we had actually spent less than we would have done on AI!.

My husband initially planned to do 12 dives but in the end he did 25 as it was so good!!. He was very impressed with the dive school and felt that the whole operation was very professional with friendly and helpful staff. Prior to going to Reethi we did read some comments on Trip advisor saying that the dive school was pro German. However he did not find this the case at all and he found that the staff were fantastic with everyone regardless on nationality.

The snorkelling on the house reef was fantastic and we saw dolphins, a turtle, reef sharks, a manta ray and numerous beautiful fish. As a non-diver this was perfect for me.

A fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: If you are staying in a water villa ask for one on the on the end of the row to ensure you are alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Stevienorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This was a holiday promised to myself to celebrate a special birthday! It surpassed my dreams and expectations! We had a wonderful 2 week stay in a Water Villa and had so much fun dipping in and out of the water for a swim and a snorkel. The colours, shapes and antics of the fish kept us occupied and amused for the duration of the 2 weeks! We had a short wait for our room upon arrival which was not a problem and meant that we could take an opportunity to have a cooling drink after our journey, so yes first stop for us was the bar! Here we served by Mohamed, who with his polite good humour, instantly made us feel welcome and at home. The service from the staff in every area of the island does take some beating and. We decided to go B&B which was for us the right decision and gave us the flexibility of restaurants and at the end of the 2 weeks we didn’t have any nasty shocks with the bill, it was exactly as expected. You can eat as expensively or not as your budget allows! Just do take into account the added 10% and 6% on everything. The Moodhu bar was our favourite and we ate there most nights. For a snack in the afternoon, I would recommend the fish fingers at the pool bar, they definitely are not Birds Eye! In time the island lures you into such a chilled out state, and you are so well looked after that you do start to wonder how you will cope with 'the big wide world' at the end of it :). This was the first time we have visited the Maldives and I would definitely recommend a visit to Reethi Beach. For us it ticked all of the boxes that needed to be ticked. I know a lot of people go to the Maldives for the diving which I understand that is not the best at RB, but we were more than happy snorkelling. I would definitely return and so miss the cocktails at the Sunset Bar! Not to be missed!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank 186337PaulaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I spent 8 days on this island for the second time and again I loved it. The sand is just amazingly white and soft, the barrier reef is just 10 meters away and you enter into a different world with thousands of tropical fishes of all colours. I did one snorkeling trip and was amazed too. We saw dolphins passing by and on my last day, the dolphins were also passing just in front of the beach.
There was a previous review before and I agree that the beach is quite crowded for Maldives which of course means that you are not alone on the beach like on other places but it's all friendly and still far far away from any other holiday destinations.
I booked the lowest category for the room and was very hapy about it. The quality/price ratio is just excellent. The room was a bit inside (meaning maybe 20 meters from the beach instead of 5) but beautiful, large and completely renovated. You enjoy taking a shower below the stars, it's magic. My roomkeeper Allaudin was just amazing. He was very discrete, trustfull and got nice attentions.
I went few times to the Moodhu bar and just loved it. You are above the ocean, it's beautiful, people are so nice and the food is made with love.
I enjoyed 3 massages and I was so happy with Vina that I asked for her each time. She is fully into the massage, feels the tensions and releases them. I had the chance to try the spa Aole vera gel for sun burns and it's just magic. The skin is just repaired the next day.I could not believe it.
The resort also organized some receptions and each time, you meet nice people and the organisation is perfect.
The week was again too short but so great, that I am looking forward the next trip and to go for the boat activities.

Room Tip: I would suggest the beach bungalows as they have the best location on the beach. I had once a water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank IsaZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baa Atoll
5.1 mi away
Kihaa Maldives
Kihaa Maldives
#12 of 15 in Baa Atoll
570 reviews
10.0 mi away
Royal Island Resort & Spa
Royal Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Horubadhoo Island
1,264 reviews
24.6 mi away
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
#1 of 1 in Dhunikolhu Island
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
6.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Maldives
Dusit Thani Maldives
#6 of 15 in Baa Atoll
844 reviews
18.7 mi away
Adaaran Select Meedhupparu
Adaaran Select Meedhupparu
#1 of 1 in Meedhupparu Island
2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reethi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reethi Beach Resort

Address: Fonimagoodhoo Island
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Baa Atoll
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Baa Atoll
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Baa Atoll
#6 Spa Hotel in Baa Atoll
#7 Luxury Hotel in Baa Atoll
Price Range: £132 - £695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reethi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reethi Beach is one of the most eco-friendly, Maldivian style, 4 star deluxe island resorts situated in Baa Atoll, the Maldives. Decorated with refined care, the villas, elegant and spacious, are enhanced by typical architecture of the Maldives and provide all comfort of modern life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Reethi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reethi Beach Hotel Baa Atoll
Reethi Beach Maldives
Hotel Reethi Beach
Reethi Beach Resort Maldives/Baa Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing