We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect In Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Reethi Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Baa Atoll
Certificate of Excellence
Kent UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect In Every Way”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This was our first experiance of the Maldives and it met all our expectations.
Reethi Beach Resort was an ideal choice recommended by our agent Holden at Dial a Flight.We went AI as we did not know what to expect and we were happy with this choice although people we met who were B/B & HB and said it was not over priced and suited them. We also stayed in a Water Villa which was excellent watching Turtles, Dophins, Rays and all types of fish swim past our villa whilst relaxing on the decking outside. We had our own sunbeds and sunshades allocated to each villa which was nice.Staff were very friendly and helpful we also were shown around their accomdation and kitchens etc (technical tour) which was very interesting.The AI included two boat trips which were worth going on. The food was great and varied.The holiday was for our 40th anniversary and we had a lovely complimentary meal at Samia Gardens.Most of the people we met had stayed at Reethi before which speaks for itself. We hope to return again to this paradise island

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank KristianoRonaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,364
    395
    88
    31
    9
See reviews for
246
1,327
90
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at Reethi Beach for 9 Nights in early April, having spent 3 days previous in Sri Lanka, and it was amazing, from start to finish.

We stayed in Water Villa 202, and upon arrival our room was made up specially with flowers and complimentary Reethi t-shirts, which was a nice touch. The room itself was awesome - yes there were perhaps a couple of things that needed attention if you are being picky, and one of the bathroom tiles fell off, but this was repaired immediately - which is typical of the staff at the resort. They all work so hard, and seem genuinely keen to ensure that your stay is as perfect as possible. The roomboy was timely and took great care in keeping the room to a high standard of cleanliness. Other than the minor faults mentioned, the room was beautiful, and the sundeck/balcony was very spacious, with room for sunbeds and a chair and table - with of course the steps right down to the sea. The coral was right at the bottom of the steps, and we saw octopus, rays, a turtle, an eel, a sea cucumber and countless stunning fish, all within yards of our room.

We ate in the buffet every night except our complimentary meal in the Saima Garden, which all honeymooners receive. For a buffet, the food was of an exceptional standard, and we were well looked after by Hoda and his team for every meal. The theme nights were varied, and there was something for everyone. The only slight negative comment I would make (very very minor) was that the curries, on most nights, were not as spicy as I had hoped, although I love spicy food. I presume this is to cater for the 'mass' tastes. The meal at the Saima Garden was magnificent, and was of a standard you would expect in a top end restaurant in England.

We went on a few excursions - the Dolphin Safari, The Turtle Snorkelling and the Sunset Cruise (which was free for all-inclusive). The latter was pretty boring, and we would not have gone if it wasn't free, but you might like this sort of thing. We had the sunset from our room every night anyway, but you might appreciate it more if you are staying in a room without this. The Dolphin Safari was pretty good, and the Dolphins came and swam with the boat, and did flips out of the water which was pretty awesome to see. The turtle snorkelling, although OK, was not that great (mainly as we saw a turtle the next day on the house reef!) but was also a bit disappointing because of the mass of people that were around when you were trying to get a good glimpse of the turtles.

We went for a few massages, which were very good, but not cheap.

Lastly, the scuba diving - and a word for the dive school staff. They are all very helpful, and very good at what they do. Again, scuba diving is not cheap, but a must - we saw octopus, lobsters etc, and went 10m down, which I believe is quite deep for a first dive. It was terrific.

If you go - which you should - please also take time to do the Technical Tour on Thursday - this is very enlightening, and makes you appreciate all the more the hard work the staff put in.

I read lots before I travelled about B&B or All inclusive. I have not scrutinised the mass of bills I picked up when signing out the night before we left, but we really enjoyed the security of knowing we could go and get water, beer, wine, cocktails etc without the worry of the cost being on your mind - and I think it is likely we saved money going this way. Mohammed at the water villa bar was so genuinely nice, and was a pleasure to speak to, serving us drinks from 11am-11pm every day.

In summary, just go. You will not regret it. It was worth every expensive penny!

Room Tip: Water Villas 201-206 (or so) have stairs straight down to the coral, which is perfect if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frinton on sea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We have just spent ten days at the fantastic Reethi Beach Resort. This was our first trip to the Maldives and it was everythng that we had hoped for.

We were stayng in Water Villa 201 which was right at the end of the line and had beautiful sunset views. Although we had excellent privacy and good neighbours there is the possibility of having noisy neighbours in adjoining villas ( as we know happened to others). We could not get over the fact that we watched dolphins swimming past as we drank our morning tea in bed!

The staff at the resort were absolutely brilliant. A special mention must go to Mohammed who ran the bar by the beach villas and looked after us so well in his quiet,humourous and unassuming way.

We went AI and found the food at the main restaurant to be varied and of a high standard. We did try the Moodhu restaurant for which wepaid extra but it was worth it for its position over the water.The AI drinks we found to be acceptable as long as you are not a wine connoisseur!

Snorkeling is wonderful. The water is warm, the fish plentiful and colourful and there is always a chance to see Rays and Turtles. Make sure you do the Dolphin Safari which is amazing, you also get the chance to swim with them. Not cheap but worth every dollar.

The English are in a minority in the resort but we met some really lovely people from all nationalities and shared a few drinks in the covivial atmosphere of Mohammed's bar.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
16 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Me and my husband decided to go to the maldives for our honeymoon we decided to go all inclusive. BIG MISTAKE! never do it the food in the main restruant was shockinly bad our waiter was so clumsy he didnt know what to do with himself.
The cleaness of the island was poor everytime we had a do not disturb sign on the door we would have the cleaner still knocking on the door.

The only great thing was mohammed at the bar by the water villas he made us feel welcome. definately go to him.

A rule which is unessary if you want to go snorkelling you have to where flippers it does not state this on the website so to hire them is seven dollars a day we were there for six weeks and it cost us a fortune

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reethibeachresort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We spent two weeks in Reethi Beach in April. We booked through No News No Shoes who we highly recommend. We spent the first five days in a water villa and then moved to a beach villa for the rest of the holiday.

Overall we had a lovely holiday and can highly recommend Reethi. If you are considering going then we would highlight the following minor things:

* The beach villas have less privacy than the water bungalows they are quite close together and share a beach front. People on the beach look straight into your villa. If you can afford it we recommend you go for a water villa.

* Really think about half-board / all inclusive options. If you are not big eaters you might find you are better off going room only and paying for what you want while you are there. We were on half-board and although we have not done the maths we think we were better off than going all inclusive.

* We recommend you take an early flight out at the end of the holiday since the resort is not particularly well geared for you hanging around once you check out of your villa (by 12 noon).

* Take care of which dive trips you want to do; be prepared for the up-sell! They seemed to be keen to push the full-day trips or afternoon two tank trips.

* Although they fumigate the island regularly we recommend you use insect repellent in the evenings. We came away with a few souvenir bites from our holiday.

* The island seems to attract families with children which may not be for everyone.

Some of the positives we would highlight are:

* The dive centre is extremely well organised. We enjoyed the two tank boat dives in the mornings. They also let you dive as experienced buddy pairs and don't force you to have a guide.

* We Loved the water villa. The privacy is wonderful. You have a fantastic view from the decking and from the bed! It is very comfortable with a lovely sized room. You can snorkel straight off the steps from your private decking. We had room 202 and we could see the sunset from our room.

* The food is superb. Although we were only on half-board we still managed to eat too much!

* The sports complex is great. We bought a pass for two weeks which meant we could play squash, table tennis, or badminton every day. There are also tennis courts and a gym (although we did not use them).

* We especially loved the bar near the water villas. Mohamed was running it and he made us feel very looked after. He is great company and looks after everyone extremely well. We spent most lunch times on the mock tails and happy hour on the cocktails every evening before dinner.

All in all we loved our stay and highly recommend the island.

Room Tip: Water villa 202 was lovely and you can see sunset from the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank TwickersTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This was our 4th visit to Reethi Beach, so needless to say, we like it. This was our first since the minor refurb of the Island, and in line with the majority of requests, nothing too major was done. However, I have to say that the addition of toilet facilities at the Sunset Bar (Beach Bar last time we were there) and the Moonlight Bar (previously the Sunset Bar), were most welcome! Surprising that such obvious things make a considerable difference! For our party of four (we had another couple with us who were Maldives virgins), the highlight of our stay was twofold. Firstly the incredibly friendly and obliging service at the restaurant and bars - Faysal, Hanifa, Anish, Salim, Ibbe, Aminul, Janaka, Vineeth, Mohamed, to name but those who spring immediately to mind. And secondly, the quality of the food in the buffet restaurant, which in my opinion was exceptional. Never once did I grow tired of it and the selection and standard was simply amazing. I love my curries (as well as just about every other food, as the pics show), and particularly during the first week, there were some incredible curries on offer, as well as a huge variety of other fayre. Myself and Mrs Bonters stayed in a DeLuxe villa, whilst our friends were in a standard. However, they were allocated No. 103, which is a previous DeLuxe, without the minor alterations at refurb. I believe 101 - 104 inclusive have been 'downgraded' to standard, as they are situated at the Southern end, with a few sandbags in the vicinity. However, they are of the previous DeLuxe standard inside, but without the traditional swing outside and no sunshade on the beach. Our friends were very happy with the room indeed, and at that end of the Island, it is much handier for the Reception, Buffet Restaurant etc etc. The West beach was pretty plentiful during our stay, but towards the end it did start to diminish with the shifting tides and we were told that in a week or two, high tide would be coming right up to the Sunset Bar! We chose All Inclusive again, and we were fairly regular imbibers, so perhaps just as well. At the end of the holiday, our joint signed receipts for drinks alone (incl water and soft drinks of course), was about $5,500! It sounds a lot but if you divide it by 14 (days), and then again by 4 (people), it comes into perspective better. There is evidence of one or two budget restrictions kicking in - spirits are not branded ones these days in the main. However we did discover on the last day that if you prefer branded e.g. Gordons Gin, they do have it but you have to request it specifically. Nonetheless, the mxers remain proper branded ones and so not a big issue for most. It does just go against the grain slightly that they are making savings, whilst holiday costs are going up significantly every year!
However, would we go back yet again? In a heartbeat. Cannot recommend Reethi enough for those looking for the relaxed, informal, simple luxury that it offers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Bonters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Just got back from 10nts at Reethi Beach Resort. It was truly paradise. 7nts may have been too short, 14 nts and we may have started taking it all for granted... If (like me) you're spending hours, days, weeks reading reviews and websites trying to make the right choice for a honeymoon/romantic getaway - stop... right now. JUST BOOK! You will not regret the wonderfully scenic sea plane ride and short boat trip to the island. The welcome coconut drinks and cold face-towels on arrival. You will forget all your woes when you take the short walk to your villa along clean, soft, white sands with tropical-aqua waves lapping your feet, you will realise you made the right choice... Met so many guests there who were one their 9th, 10th visit, and I will certainly not take the risk and go elsewhere when this island has it all...
The staff are SO attentive and considerate (especially Mohamed in the watervilla bar, Faysal and Amiee in the restaurant and funny-Vineeth in the sunset bar!)

Assuming you've booked the holiday (DO IT!) and are looking for tips, pros and cons etc... here are our experiences. One thing I have noticed on TripAdvisor is that there are some differences of opinion from one reviewer to the next, so... as stated - these are OUR views! It's a lengthy review, and tailored for those who have booked and are going in a matter of weeks - so stop reading now if you haven't!

MUST DO's:
1) Visit all the bars at least once in the first couple of days. You will hear people say one bar is better than another (most tend to go to the Sunset Bar) but we found it too busy and preferred the more personal/friendly service from Mohamed on the Watervilla bar. If you try them all you will know which is best for you... Same with the restaurants - we had a free meal in Saima Garden and it was amazing! Wouldn't have necessarily gone if it weren't included in our honeymoon package... glad we did!

2) Do the Technical Tour! It's once a week, sign up for it in reception and you get to see the amazing work that goes into running the island! Without knowing it, there are 260 staff living and working behind the scenes in power stations, water filtration sites, kitchens, carpentry and even a hairdresser! Such an eye opener, and seeing a lone man who irons the bed sheets day in and day out made us more considerate about asking for new sheets!

3)AI guests should defo make use of the two free 1/2 day trips. I won't spoil them by going into detail, but they are MUSTS and we only paid for one other trip - the Robinson Island picnic ($90 for two and you get 'speedboated' to a deserted island all to yourself for a half-day! Very romantic). We didn't pay the horrific amounts for dolphin/turtle trips as we saw dolphins and swam with turtles on a daily basis on the house reef... for free! Another couple we met wanted to see turtles and booked the trip, we took them to see one on the reef and soon cancelled their trip (saving around $70+ 16%). We also saw Mantas, Eagle rays and much more whilst snorkelling.

4) Go to eBay and buy yourself a snorkel set. Hiring/buying on the island isn't cheap and you want a good quality/personal set as everyday you will go out - guaranteed! We were offered free snorkelling intro and free dive, but declined to use them as we saw SO much ourselves whilst snorkelling on the reef. Even moreso on the Robinson island reef which was more alive and stunning...

5) Accomodation: You'll be happy wherever you end up. Admittedly, some rooms are stuck facing the sea defences, or depending on time of the year, some water bungalows can temporarily hang above a sand bank, but it isn't overly predictable and always changes, so ignore reviews of people saying to avoid certain rooms. We stayed in 216 (middle water bungalow) and moved mid-break to 205 to get a better sunset view in the evenings. All semi-detached and did get a very noisy/heavy-footed German couple move in on our last day and noticed it can be a little off-putting... We slept with the decking doors open everynight and even slept on our sunbeds under the stars one night. Truly amazing! When we come back in a couple of years, we will likely stay on the beach to get a comparison... If so, I would book 160+ as these are nearer the watervilla bar, which I personally liked and the beach was quieter that end...



PROS: The staff are the real asset to this island and are faultless. The rooms get serviced twice daily, the bar staff are friendly, helpful and will always be the ones to ask for hints and tips on what to do and where... The Front of House staff/reps were friendly, speak fluent English and were always visible.

Food was really nice, head chef was attentive to detail and whilst some nights I struggled to find things I knew and liked, it did make me try new things... delicious things!

CONS:
1) Drinks are very expensive if not AI (around $10 a drink) and a glass of bubbly at the sunset bar will set you back $32+16%!!! However, if you are AI, the choice of drinks/cocktails is limited to basic drinks/cocktails - nothing fancy. I'm still torn between what would be a better option, but as we were AI, at least we could drink and not worry about the $150 bills we were signing each evening!

2) Anyone with allergies, be super cautious. I've a life-threatening allergy to nuts and whilst they do take note of allergies and make arrangements to show you what can/can't be eaten each day, there were too many times where nuts were used to 'decorate' the food tables in the main restaurant or were hidden in desserts, in dishes right next to a non-nutty dish which shared a serving spoon etc... and made the meal times a little worrying. I know this won't apply to many people, but if you have an allergy, you'll know where I'm coming from! Take extra care (and lots of Piriton!)

Children - we went in school holidays and a few people took small whiney children, which if you end up staying next door to them, could ruin the honeymoon/romantic feel... If I had kids, RBR wouldn't be my first choice, and I find it weird that people take babies and small kids all that way to a predominantly 'couples' island.

Other tips -

-Take US dollars and change up lots of $1s at reception to leave for tips. Please also tip the Fish Man if you see him at 5:45 every evening, he has been doing it for a decade and a couple of dollars from each person makes it worth his while. It annoyed me that some people would sit and watch for 30 minutes, then walk past him without even a think-you!

-Mix and mingle! There are welcome drinks and opportunities to meet other visitors. We made very good friends with a few English and a German couple and everyone is just SO friendly. It really isn't like some European resorts where people stick to their 'own kind'!

-Buy souvineers on the island hopping trip, not in Reethi Beach's shop. The prices were a third of what was being charged on our island and after bartering, we saved around $40 on our bits and pieces in the end... plus it supports local traders.

-Don't pack towels. You get beach towels in your room. Don't pack a travel iron, whilst the rooms don't have one, you really don't need it! It's so informal there, a crease or two won't matter! Don't pack shampoo/body wash - all included (unless you are fussy about these things!) Don't pack mosquito spray (they mist the island weekly against bugs). DO pack an underwater camera! DO pack something for heat rash (if you've gotten it in the past), DO pack your own fins and snorkel.

Well, I've probably missed someone or something out, but I guess the whole fun of going to RBR is exploring these things for yourself. Do try to ignore the moans and whinges from other reviewers, the resort is perfect and you won't be disappointed. Nowhere on the island is more than a ten minute walk away and even if you are in a watervilla (10mins from the reception), who cares?! It's a tropical island! Much better than walking in the rain to your nearest Tesco-Metro!

Have a blast of a time, it's only been 24 hours and I miss it already!

Any questions, drop me an email! Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Any rooms is good here... I would opt for Water Villa 201-210 as better reef access and sunset views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank wadzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baa Atoll
5.1 mi away
Kihaa Maldives
Kihaa Maldives
#10 of 13 in Baa Atoll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
24.6 mi away
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
#1 of 1 in Dhunikolhu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
10.0 mi away
Royal Island Resort & Spa
Royal Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Horubadhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
20.1 mi away
Furaveri Island Resort & Spa
Furaveri Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meedhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Maldives
Dusit Thani Maldives
#5 of 13 in Baa Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reethi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reethi Beach Resort

Property: Reethi Beach Resort
Address: Fonimagoodhoo Island
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Baa Atoll
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Baa Atoll
#6 Spa Hotel in Baa Atoll
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Baa Atoll
#7 Luxury Hotel in Baa Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Reethi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reethi Beach is one of the most eco-friendly, Maldivian style, 4 star deluxe island resorts situated in Baa Atoll, the Maldives. Decorated with refined care, the villas, elegant and spacious, are enhanced by typical architecture of the Maldives and provide all comfort of modern life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelbag, Agoda, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reethi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reethi Beach Hotel Baa Atoll
Reethi Beach Maldives
Hotel Reethi Beach
Reethi Beach Resort Maldives/Baa Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing