We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL HOLIDAY AGAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reethi Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Baa Atoll
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have just returned from Reethi Beach for the fourth time. We were on B&B and ate in the Moodha Bar, Grill and Pool Bar the food and the service were incredible as usual. All the staff are really wonderful they are the islands' greatest asset. The island is beautiful like heaven on earth.
We are returning next year for four weeks again

Charlie and Stephanie

SCOTLAND

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charles j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,984 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Very nice hotel and very nice staff!
Always want to come back!
Great beach and house reef!
The service and food in the restaurant at a high level!
Food is always fresh and delicious!
We came for the third time next year we will go again!
Hotel staff is very friendly and knowledgeable!
House reef is great! Many fish, saw a turtle, octopus and dolphins!
Every time we do not want to leave this beautiful place!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a brilliant week on Reethi. Everything from the natural beauty of the beaches, the sunsets, and the coral/fish, to the outstanding and genuine attention to detail by the service staff have given us memories for life. Definitely going to return!

It was our first time doing all-inclusive and highly recommend it. The sunset cruise is a must. It's special because it isn't everyday you get to sit on a deserted island and take in a sunset with a cool beer!

Room Tip: We had beach villa 145 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irish-swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed in a deluxe villa at Reethi for 9 nights, flying from Birmingham via Dubai in February. We took off our shoes as soon as we got to reception and didn't put them on again until we left. The island was fully booked yet strolling along the pathways at night on our way to the Handhuvaru Bar, we hardly met a soul!

We really liked the villa and it was kept spotless by the room boy. The outside rain shower was great and there wasn't much of an ant problem. The bed was very comfortable. The 'Maldivian swing' was in dire need of a facelift though!

Food has been covered in most reviews: we enjoyed the buffets and the quality of the food was mostly excellent. We ate at the Moodhu a few times and just loved the ambiance. Being AI worked for us, as we enjoy our wine, cocktails etc and we decided that the house red/rose was fine (the white not so much). If we wanted something not on the list, we just ordered it and the final bill wasn't anything like opting for the Select (which we did think about) AI includes water and we probably drank 5 or 6 bottles a day to stay hydrated. There was no problem taking shots, beers, sprite etc back to the villa to put in the fridge (we were pretty close to the Sunset Bar!) and the staff at the Rasgefaanu Bar soon dispensed much-more-than-doubles as we wandered through and out for our 'nightcap' on the villa deck.

The technical tour is well worth doing. We were very impressed with the Eco-management of the island and the obvious pride shown by staff. The way the water is desalinated and filtered is quite amazing. Shreekant has recently become Executive Chef and was eager to show the kitchens and preparation areas (all spotless).

The snorkeling was fantastic! We went to Vilamendhoo last year and thought that was amazing and so wondered how the poor quality of the coral would affect Reethi. Needn't have worried: the coral is coming back, but the fish are already there in their thousands! Enormous groupers and parrot fish patrol the steep drop-off and we couldn't guess how many orange-toothed trigger fish we saw. There were several gorgeous Lagoon triggers and the odd Titan. I had a very close encounter with a 5ft Moray, but I sat back and pointed my fins at him and he just swam away. There were a few small jelly fish in the lagoon on a couple of days , but they were easily avoided (and it's just a 'nettle sting' feeling if one brushes by). There are a couple of stone fish, but they are near the deeper lagoon corals by the jetty so people wouldn't be trying to stand there anyway (and touching anything is just plain stupid). We think that it's a case of respecting the environment. The current is generally mild, but can change quickly, especially nearer the water villas. As we spend hours in the water, we also use tea-tree oil to prevent ear infections.

Two things which really amazed us: the stars were unbelievable! The lack of light pollution meant you could see millions of them. Orion was almost lost in the swathe of the Milky Way! Then there was the bioluminescence! On several nights phytoplankton were washed in and the shoreline glowed an eerie blue. We had fun walking on it...the algae stick to your feet and it's like a scene out of Avatar! Little crabs scuttle about with bright blue bits on their backs.

We really enjoyed the relaxation at Reethi and appreciated the efforts the island is making to be both Eco and yet cater for anything a visitor might want.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank SunFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Everything at the Resort has been thought about. Everything is high quality and done in the very best way. All staff are delightful. Facilities are excellent. Food is varied and of a very high and consistent standard.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richatmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

From the moment we booked our holiday to Reethi we knew it was going to be special, and that it was. We stepped off the sea plane to a very warm welcome on a pontoon. We then boarded the Dhow to transport us to Reethi. The winds were quite strong, which made the sea a little choppy which is why the pontoon was used. It was lovely and gave us a grand view of Reethi both from the air and the sea prior to our arrival.

We checked in quickly and efficiently and were shown to our Water Villa, no 208. It was beautiful, the views were amazing, the Villa was large, airy and had everything that we could of wanted. The shower was huge (2 people if desired!) and there was also a large bath if you preferred that. The bed is massive and very comfy, we slept like logs in it. We slept every night with the bi fold doors wide open, listening to the sea and looking at the stars. People who have complained about the noise.... seriously you are in a Water Villa, of course you are going to hear waves!! We thought that is was beautiful and when we return we will stay again in a WV.

We had lunch our first day at the Moodhu, for 2 reasons, we wanted some wifi to let home know that we had arrived safely and we wanted to sit over the water trying to take our new astounding surroundings in. I am sure that my mouth just hung open, the island is stunning, beautiful, amazing, just paradise. We had booked on a B&B basis, the plan was to check our bill after a few days and depending on costs we would upgrade to Select, after lunch we said that we would just upgrade straight away. The cost was $138 p/p/p/d (from AI to Select I think is $40 p/p/p/d) We loved the Moodhu and the thought of sitting there having breakfast each morning was lovely, we ate dinner in the Reethi Grill every night, except one and Aminal and Islam looked after us perfectly. The menu choices were great and we struggled every night to decide what to eat. Aminal made sure we had a lovely basket of naan bread while we decided, I have eaten a lot of naan in my time but never have I tasted it like this, so light, crispy and tasty. We managed to eat at least 2 every night between us!! The steaks were delicious, as were the lamb chops. Hubby particularly enjoyed the different curries. One of our favourites were the Tandoori Jhinga Prawns, simply yummy! The wine list was very comprehensive, the Wishbone Pinot Noir and Sav Blanc went down well as did the Chateau Les Valentine Rose.

The one night we didn't eat in the Grill was because Reethi Beach treated us to dinner in the Saima Garden restaurant for our 10th Wedding Anniversary and my Husbands Birthday. The setting is idillic, with your own personal waiter, right next to the sea. We chose the Maldivian Menu and the food was delicious, nothing that we didn't like, again we would return there when we go back!

There is a small bar by the Water Villas and this suited us down to the ground. Janaka the barman was amazing with his memory of peoples drinks and so friendly too, he made every evening entertaining. He also makes a great 'surprise me' cocktail!!

The snorkeling was out of this world, we took our own gear with us as we had seen the cost was $70 per week per person to rent, however we did see others who had rented from the dive school and it was good quality kit if that is what you wanted to do. Fish Soup doesn't even come close to describing what it is like when you put your head under that water, there were hundreds of fish in your sights at all times. I am so glad that I was brave and went out to the drop off, a scary experience for me at first but after that one time I couldn't wait to get back out there each day. We saw Octopus, Baby Black Tip Sharks, Rays and hundreds of different species of fish, we didn't see any Stone Fish at all and were there at the same time as the reviewer below. Personally I think that they were misidentified Groupers, but a quick question at the dive school will confirm or deny if there are any around. We looked and looked for the Reethi Turtle and could not find him, although several people had seen him in the reef between no 2 & 3 cut throughs. We decided instead to go on the Turtle Trip organised by the Dive School, The trip was full (30 people) and we went on a large Dhow, plenty of room for all of us during the 45 min each way trip. We saw dolphins playing on the way to the reef, we were split into 3 groups and had a guide with each group, dropped about 40 mtrs apart on the reef. We saw 4 or 5 turtles, they were beautiful, so graceful and well worth the trip to see them. I am no expert on coral at all but the coral at Reethi must be regenerating. There are lots of areas of colour starting to show and some people did say that there were other signs of growth which is fantastic. We used Waterworld for a catamaran trip out to see the dolphins, never having been on a catamaran before I was not sure what to expect, it was great fun, you do have to hang on at times and we got soaked but it was so exciting whizzing across the waves. We did find the dolphins, we saw Spinners and others too, I am sure I saw a white one jumping but by all accounts I am mad!! There was a point when we were surrounded 360 degrees by jumping and spinning dolphins, hubby did take his camera but not much came out, the catamaran is quite a harsh ride and difficult to get any good action shots, our memories will have to stay in our heads!

Would we go back to Reethi??? oh my goodness yes!!! We were trying to work out in our heads when we could return within 24hrs of arriving!! Everything is perfect, the weather was beautiful, clear blue skys, the staff are amazing, nothing is ever too much trouble, the facilities on the island are so wide ranging, something for everyone, from the most relaxed to the most active.

We can not wait to return to this little piece of heaven that we have found, the sooner the better. Thank you Reethi for making our 10th Wedding Anniversary so special

Room Tip: We had water villa 208 and the access into the sea was spot on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank nikola_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I loved our stay at Reethi Beach in a Water Villa. The facilities and location of the island lend themselves to a perfect getaway from it all holiday. Located in a northern atoll, surrounded by clear blue azure seas and well away from the overhead planes flying in and out of Male, you really do feel like you're in a remote paradise. The food at the restaurants is of very high quality and the staff were generally very professional and helpful too.

The only point I would make is: Be careful of the Stone Fish. These are stone coloured camouflaged fish which are venomous, dangerous, and even fatal to humans. In fact they are one of the most venomous fish currently known in the world.

I didn't know this until the scuba diving gentleman staying in the water bungalow next to mine pointed out that there were two located near the bottom of our steps. This made getting in and out of the water via the water bungalow steps a rather hazardous lottery. I should point out that Stone Fish are not unique to Reethi and are prevalent throughout much of the Indian Ocean / other Maldivian resorts. However their were no warning signs or other visible information up around the resort about these lethal fish, for the uninitiated.

When I later asked a member of the hotel staff about them he suggested that we only use the various entry / access points to the sea recommended by hotel. However this rather defeats the purpose of having steps from your bungalow directly into the sea. The information about a fish as lethal as a Stone Fish should also not come from another guest who just happened to warn me at the right time in the right place. As this information is rather fundamental to guest survival it should probably be flagged up elsewhere, and more formally. I've stayed at many hotels around the world and local, potentially lethal creatures, are usually identified via highly visible noticeboards that educate rather than alarm or frighten. This could easily be done at Reethi.

In the same spirit I provide this information to help inform you - not to frighten you as apart from this we had a fantastic stay and very much look forward to returning to paradise at Reethi. All be it with a few scary fish.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thetravellingtduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baa Atoll
5.1 mi away
Kihaa Maldives
Kihaa Maldives
#12 of 15 in Baa Atoll
570 reviews
10.0 mi away
Royal Island Resort & Spa
Royal Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Horubadhoo Island
1,268 reviews
24.6 mi away
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
#1 of 1 in Dhunikolhu Island
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
6.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Maldives
Dusit Thani Maldives
#6 of 15 in Baa Atoll
849 reviews
18.7 mi away
Adaaran Select Meedhupparu
Adaaran Select Meedhupparu
#1 of 1 in Meedhupparu Island
2,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reethi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reethi Beach Resort

Address: Fonimagoodhoo Island
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Baa Atoll
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Baa Atoll
#6 Spa Hotel in Baa Atoll
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Baa Atoll
#7 Luxury Hotel in Baa Atoll
Price Range: £128 - £700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reethi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reethi Beach is one of the most eco-friendly, Maldivian style, 4 star deluxe island resorts situated in Baa Atoll, the Maldives. Decorated with refined care, the villas, elegant and spacious, are enhanced by typical architecture of the Maldives and provide all comfort of modern life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Southall Travel, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reethi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reethi Beach Hotel Baa Atoll
Reethi Beach Maldives
Hotel Reethi Beach
Reethi Beach Resort Maldives/Baa Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing