We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Island.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vabbinfaru
Cambridge
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful Island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband and I went to this Island for our 30th Wedding Anniversary, we spent a week here and a week at Angsana, Velavaru. We had a villa on the sunset side of the island, with a large garden and a decking area at the back with seating and a jacuzzi. We had two showers, but preferred the outside one, so only used that! The bathroom was fantastic, and so private. There is a huge four-poster bed, and a Bose CD system, robes and flip-flops, slippers, beach bag, so many complimentary items (not the bath robes, though you can purchase them if you like). Out the front was a huge decking area with table and chairs, then a sand garden with an elevated decking area with two sun beds on, and a thatch roof, then the beach, your own private paradise! Here you had a fantastic hammock swung between trees, two more sun beds and a floating lilo type bed for floating on the sea! Amazing choice of where to sit/lay!

We thought the food here was amazing, truly 5star. Breakfast and lunch being buffet, and dinner twice a week also. The rest of the time dinner was a la carte, which we thought was lovely for a change! The fruit man at breakfast cut and served you with the freshest of fruit, there was the obligatory egg station too! Lunch, there was a lovely guy who would make you a fresh salad, with whatever ingredients you wanted and brought this to your table. The staff were fantastic, so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble and they seemed to really enjoy their work. Desserts were to die for, but fortunately in small amounts! My husband loved the fresh ice-cream at lunch time!

Diving was excellent, according to my husband, I snorkeled which for me was amazing, the reef was easily reached, and we often swam over to the turtle cages to see the turtles being fed, also a must is the marine talk, and ray feeding!

The spa was amazing, we had a couples package and both my husband and I thought we had had the best ever massage, the ladies are fabulous.

For our anniversary dinner, we booked the sunset jetty, here we had champagne (which was complimentary) with canapes, then a full a la carte dinner, in pure privacy, with only the moon, the stars, the sound of the waves and gentle music to dance to.........beautiful!

I would recommend this island to anyone, it is small, friendly and just paradise!

Room Tip: All the rooms are located on or very near the beach, we had room 20, which was perfect for us, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Popperoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    147
    32
    9
    13
See reviews for
210
749
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

staffs there are very friednly and with smile on the face when they see you. Breakfast and launch are buffet, many of choices but everyday nearly got same variety. Dinner, you can choose a starter, a main course and a dessert from the package, they are all delicious. Staffs will clean your villa twice a day and you can get a warm gift after night cleaning everyday. The coral garden is exllent. when you go there everyday, you can see different kind of fishes and sometimes you can see a shark. If you go there an night, you can see 10+ sharks at the arrival jetty. Snorkelling environment is perfect. A little disappointed thing is about spa. We did two 500 dollar packages for two person. The fisrt was perfect but the second was nearly made me crazy. But it was not resort's fault, it was spa staff's. She didn't gave me a towel to hide my body when need to get a shower and when she did head message for me, knotted my hair and it was not a head message, it was a hair message nearly. Spa manager provided us two-person complementary spa but we didn't accpet it. surprising thing is we get this complementary spa in Angsana Velavaru which is the second island we go. And actually the service of this island and coral garden are better than that in Velavaru.

Room Tip: Room 49 is good. In front of this villa is the best area for snorkelling and the pool in this villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenny814109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

There was nothing to be left desired! Perfect accomodation, perfect service and excellent food. Great snorkelling with many sharks and turtles.
Contrary to the comments of "Snudi" (in german) we were treated very generously with our late check out (we had our villa until 30 minutes before our boat transfer left the island). It must be clear however for everyone that this is not only a question of courtesy but also a question of the occupancy. I would like to come again and again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

we went for one week and also took the boat which Banyan personally operates. the boat trip was AMAZING!!! the crew made sure you had a great time. book this only if you want to relax and enjoy the good life!!! after this we went to the island. The villa's are so nice. Also ensure you book the sandbank dining, the jetty dining etc. i would skip the meals in the evening, though they are not bad, but.... the if you ask the chef to 'think out of the box' from the already fixed menu he will make the effort and the food experience would even be better.

Room Tip: ask for some more private ones, the staff should know what you mean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

After I came back home, I found that I lost a brown box in the room, within gifts bought in the shop, but till I checked out on 16:00, 6th April, no one mentioned me about it, I am sure the room service had found it when they cleaned the room, this is a terrible experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This was a return visit for us to the Banyan Tree, Vabbinfaru and it was as good as we had remembered it. We were upgraded to the Vabbinfaru Villa which had an extra outdoor room which we loved. The lagoon is wonderful and this time we discovered snorkelling around the outside of the reef wall which was almost as good as the scuba diving we also did. The food is wonderful with wide variety of cuisines and tastes. The staff are discrete and thoughtful. I was interested in how they managed to have such a consistently good standard of customer service across all the staff we encountered and the secret is good training. All in all we had a wonderful holiday and look forward to going back again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, however, this time we were on the eastern side of the island which gave us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This was our second trip to the Maldives and the first to Banyan Tree and we were not disappointed.

From the moment we were met at the airport to the moment we were dropped off the staff were amazing - warm, friendly, helpful, and willing to go the extra mile.

The location is spectacular - everything you expect. The snorkelling is great, as is the diving. Even in the house reef there was more than enough to see - sharks, turtles, eels etc. The marine centre was also really good - watching the ray and turtle feeding each day was always interesting. It is great to be able to go across to the sister island (Angsana) at ihuru, but Banyan definitely feels that bit more special.

Wish we could afford to go back again soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe beachfront villa - if you get the choice I would recommend trying to get one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon_fraser2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vabbinfaru
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
8.7 mi away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angsana Ihuru
Angsana Ihuru
#1 of 1 in Ihuru Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru

Property: Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru
Address:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Vabbinfaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vabbinfaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cast away on a secluded coral atoll in the paradisaical Maldives archipelago, you experience a sense of magic, romance and tranquility at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru that's second to none. Cocoon yourself in a web of shimmering turquoise waters, swaying coconut trees, indigenous blooms and pure white sand. Free your spirit on the Maldives' North Male Atoll. In Maldivian, Vabbinfaru refers to a round island circled by a round coral reef. In this circle of peace, claim sanctuary at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru resort. Feel the natural sea breeze sweeping in from the majestic Indian Ocean, and let the resort's signature hospitality bring you peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Prestigia, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Destinology so you can book your Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing