We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wife's 50th” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vabbinfaru
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wife's 50th”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We went to this island on our hooneymoon 16 years ago and my wife choose it for her 50th.
What can I say that will do justice to the hotel team,the location,the attention to detail,the beauty of the surroundings,the facilities etc
If you plan one hotel of a lifetime and you can afford it go here

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swantoncourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    999
    147
    32
    9
    13
See reviews for
210
748
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We spend 4 lovely days enjoying every single second of the stay. The luxury at Banyan Tree is to be able to feel the nature as it is. No protocol whatsoever. No marbles. No gold. No swimming pool but the one at the room. One can be all day long bear-foot, swimming on a pretty safe sea, even though the corals and the harmless sharks but yet enjoying the thousands types of fishes swimming in and out the beautiful coral reefs. The more you look the more you appreciate the tremendous nature activity that is going on there. Rooms are really nice. We stay in a pool villa that was marvelous. Service is very nice and helpful. Food is very good and some dishes are really excellent. They have another island near by that can be visited easily by a five min boat ride that is very good for snorkeling but it is not as nice as The Banyan. Willing to come back again soon.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Juan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Thanks to the banyan tree Penn law invite lu, experienced during check-in thoughtful service; Advice is good surroundings, also have a variety of fish, sharks and devil rays have aggressive behavior exists in humans, in order to avoid the attack, so it's best to have a fixed area for guests to swimming and snorkeling. Hope I can help to each of the banyan tree's guests. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Although there are a lot of Islands in Maldives, but can not be denied
that Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru was one of the quiet and beautiful
islands.

I appreciate your staff Miss Pearls from Bar and Miss Feng Tiffany
form front desk, for their enthusiasm and meticulous service. Such as
Miss Pearl introduced the Banyan Tree’s sister Angsana Ihuru to us,
her attitude for work let us decided on shipping in your Bar.


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
185 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

The time we spent at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru was absolutely the most romantic, idyllic, and dreamy ever! Staff is superb, knowledgeable, kind, and engaging. Hotel Manager Hilmy is an extraordinary man whose goal is to ensure you have the vacation of your dreams. Executive Chef Neil was most accommodating and the food at all meals, especially our destination dinner over the ocean, was of the highest quality, freshness, and flavor. Marine Lab experts Shameen and Mason helped us with snorkeling and exploring the reef. I am disabled and Shameen has enormous patience. Staff Fareed and Ziyad went beyond their duties to give us the most memorable dining experiences. Kaleel kept our villa clean and the rose petals on the sheets were an unexpected surprise. The villa is perfect with two outdoor showers, private pool and jacuzzi, and seating areas on the beach. The reefs at Vabbinfaru and Ihuru (sister island home of Angsana) are magnificent and teaming with colorful corals, sponges, fish, rays, and sharks. Swimming with sharks and having them glide by was thrilling.
Banyan Tree knows its corporate eco and social responsibilities. They protect the coral reefs and raise turtles to release back into the sea. This was a perfect vacation to celebrate our 25th year of matrimony. We recommend the Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru and Angsana to anyone wishing a PERFECT honeymoon, vacation, anniversary, or family reunion.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is our second holiday with Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru and we were not disappointed! The friendliness of the staff and the gorgeous location of the island is simply wonderful
The snorkelling and swimming right out in front of your villa makes for an easy and enjoyable holiday with no fuss
The addition of the pool and spa is also a great idea for lazing around in the afternoon after you have been in the ocean all morning!
The restaurant serves up wonderful breakfast, lunch and dinners so you can guarantee you will find something you like
The marine centre is also worth popping into to see the small turtles and the afternoon sting ray feeding is a definite treat!
This little island makes for a very memorable holiday

Room Tip: All villas are great as you walk straight out onto the beach and into the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru is a perfectly good resort. It has clearly been around for some time, but continuous updates have kept it in reasonable condition, especially the villas which are well designed and furnished. The open air bathroom is particularly cool, but the exposed loo leaves you a bit vulnerable to the sudden arrival of housekeeping!

However, as they are all so close together, it does lack the intimacy of some resorts. The pool and whirlpool are in an enclosed courtyard at the rear. When relaxing there, frankly, you could be anywhere in the world - out at the front overlooking the stunning beach and ocean is where you want to be! But privacy here is not on offer. Our sun beds were within yards of our 2 neighbours, which felt a bit intrusive.

The rest of the resort had a somewhat dated feel. Tables, chairs, crockery and decor are all from 20 years ago - as was the piped music - 80's soft rock and ballads (on an incessant loop) where gentle modern ambient mood music would surely be more appropriate.

The food was a let down. Just so average and repetitive. With average service from the staff. Don't get me wrong, it was absolutely fine and most were lovely, but everyone just looked so bored and lacking in enthusiasm. And the bar - how about some comfortable seating on the deck other than the rock hard wooden armchairs? After all, I'm here to relax and chill.

The spa, which again looked a bit tired, must be one of the most expensive in The Maldives: $200 for a 90 min massage. Too much for the standard of the resort and spa.

A big plus is that the journey from Male is just 20 mins by speedboat. Perfect for a shorter stay.

We enjoyed our time here, but left feeling that it could have been so much better. It's all about the detail. As it is, Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru is just average. As 80% of their guests appeared to be of Chinese origin, perhaps it's good enough for their average client!

Room Tip: All the Villas appear the same size, but some are set so far back from the beach that you are denied...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPH0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed H, General Manager at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear CPHO_0,

Greetings from Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent Maldives vacation. Thank you for taking time to review our facilities and services. it is such comments and feedback that enables us to keep on improving on areas needed.

Your comments and feedback is greatly appreciated.

Best regards
Mohamed Hilmy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vabbinfaru
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
8.7 mi away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angsana Ihuru
Angsana Ihuru
#1 of 1 in Ihuru Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru

Property: Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru
Address:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Vabbinfaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vabbinfaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cast away on a secluded coral atoll in the paradisaical Maldives archipelago, you experience a sense of magic, romance and tranquility at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru that's second to none. Cocoon yourself in a web of shimmering turquoise waters, swaying coconut trees, indigenous blooms and pure white sand. Free your spirit on the Maldives' North Male Atoll. In Maldivian, Vabbinfaru refers to a round island circled by a round coral reef. In this circle of peace, claim sanctuary at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru resort. Feel the natural sea breeze sweeping in from the majestic Indian Ocean, and let the resort's signature hospitality bring you peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Destinology, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Prestigia and Travelbag so you can book your Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing