We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm pretty place, very good food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moderne Barn

Moderne Barn
Reserve with OpenTable
Moderne Barn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Armonk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Livanos family proudly welcomes you to Moderne Barn, a casual and sophisticated American restaurant with global influences. Our philosophy is to create an experience that brings exceptional service, superb cuisine and terroir-driven wines together in a stunning atmosphere. Executive Chef Ethan Kostbar accomplishes this by using a Mediterranean, New American approach to showcase ingredients with simplicity and seasonality.
Brewster, NY
Level Contributor
190 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Warm pretty place, very good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Late Sunday brunch reservation on a cold, raw day. We were welcomed warmly and seated promptly. The brunch menu had lots to try, nice for those of us who really hate the French Toast/Waffle mushy sweet stuff. Our party of 4 ranged in age from 65 to 13.

A few specialty cocktails and starters, I loved the house made gravlax on thinly sliced beets, a new to me combination that I plan on exploring further! our main dishes were a little bit of everything, including "Hungover Piggie": sausage stuffed pork loin wrapped in bacon,
bell peppers, onion, provolone polenta, sunnyside eggs. This was very good! My daughter had the Cape Cod cakes, they must have been great because she would not share a bite. the 13-year old went for a burger and fries. He was very happy.

The place is pretty and pricey. I'm looking forward to trying the lunch menu during the week.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Woolite-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    93
    51
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setup, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I had the opportunity to dine here twice in a week and that helped me analyze - the place is huge and can get noisy when packed. The woody interiors are beautiful. The food is very tasty and the portions are huge. The sea food dish is awesome - i loved it. The beer collection is great too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank khalidraza9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“What you see is what you get”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Lovely big space clad on the inside with deep rick wood.
We were quickly seated by staff who new the routine but didn't really listen much. "take everyone else's cocktail order while I have a look at the wine list" was interpreted as "go away and come back in 10 minutes".
Starter of tuna tartare with plantains, guacomole and salsa was really good and fresh but the burger that followed was unseasoned and bland - though good quality meat and cooked just right.
Good wines by glass, and bottle and also some nice draft beers.
surprisingly good cheeseplate with honey and quince jelly

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LordH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
278 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is one of the more popular places on the Armonk Restaurant scene. It is a nice space with high ceilings, lovely chandeliers and lots of tables. So why do I expect more? I would think with all the money it must have cost to get this place going they would have spent a little moreon training their staff.....and maybe hiring a few more waiters. The wait to place your food order is ridiculous. We waited one night to order for 25 minutes. We got our drinks right away and then they disappeared. The waiter finally came back and then it took another 20 minutes to get our food. We only ordered pizzas. The variety of pizza was okay. We ordered 4 different ones. Not all were executed well. The mushroom pizza and the tomato basil were good. The clam pizza was very salty and loaded with garlic. The one I would have liked the best of all was just okay. It was arugula with figs. The salad was just tossed on top of the crust when it really should have been lightly dressed if for nothing else but to keep it in place. The place gets very crowded and so noisy , you can barely hear yourself speak. You better have an iteresting person sitting next to you because that is the only person you will be able to converse with considering the high buzzing in the dining room. Even though we only ordered pizza the bill was pretty hefty. If I ever go back I will try something from the regular menu. If I am going to pay those prices it better be more than pizza for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
242 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“disappointing food and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We arrived at noon on a Sunday to a beautiful and huge space. It was already quite full and we waited 20 minutes to have our food order taken and a half hour after that for our food to arrive. The place was clearly understaffed, both front and back of house.

Worse, the food was mostly mediocre. The caesar salad was flabby, the chicken escalope was served with tomatoes that were well past their best, the macaroni cheese side was nicely creamy but too salty, the fries that came with the burger were cool, and the list of misses went on and on. We were not impressed with a single dish we received.

We won't be back, which is a pity because this is such a beautiful place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank exotissima1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moderne Barn also viewed

Armonk, Westchester County
Armonk, Westchester County
 
Armonk, Westchester County
Armonk, Westchester County
 

Been to Moderne Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing