We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a very good Sunday brunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moderne Barn

Moderne Barn
Reserve with OpenTable
Moderne Barn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Armonk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Livanos family proudly welcomes you to Moderne Barn, a casual and sophisticated American restaurant with global influences. Our philosophy is to create an experience that brings exceptional service, superb cuisine and terroir-driven wines together in a stunning atmosphere. Executive Chef Ethan Kostbar accomplishes this by using a Mediterranean, New American approach to showcase ingredients with simplicity and seasonality.
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Had a very good Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was recently at the Moderne Barn for brunch and we had a good experience as we usually do. While this restaurant can be considered a neighborhood gem, it is much more than that. It has an excellent reputation and is well known throughout Westchester County. I have been eating at this restaurant at least once a month since it opened 5+ years ago and have never had a poor meal. It is a truly excellent dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    93
    51
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
157 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“At best average...or maybe disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Biz group...recommendation by one of the group.

Nouveau hip cool but not pretentious...NY crowd so clothes and all to match. Some outdoor tables but over look bushes then parking lot...why sit there?

Smallish bar...hipster beer list...but then traditionalist...ok list...sorta limited. Bigger wine list...but not heavy duty.

Appetizers creative...had fried calamari...yeah, how adventurous of me, eh?

Ordered spaghettini with sea food...spags with scallops, clams, shrimp...not difficult...

Scallops dry and luke warm. Shrimp scarce and tough. Clams sandy, way over cooked and glued to their shell. The gravy.....simply awful. Gummy almost, acidly as heck, total tomato with no spice...seriously, a jar of Rao's would be far better. Whoever made that swill has no clue.

Cohorts got tuna spicy...they liked. One had lamb and thumbs up. Dessert of iron clad brownie for them a plus.

Servers hustle and are ok but takes a while to get your person's attention...they really move.

Noise level makes conversation kinda hard....

Dinner for 5, minimal drinks, 3 desserts...$300.00

Go elsewhere is my advice...there are lots more out there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Kisco, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointment!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Recently ate at Moderne Barn since having a great experience in the past. Unfortunately, this experience was not good, to say the least. Food was below average. Ordered the scallops, which were full of sand. For 5 scallops on the smaller side on a strip of sauteed spinach at $31 a plate, I at least expected the sand to be rinsed before cooking. What an terrible oversight in the kitchen! Also, my husband ordered a bacon cheeseburger that was not only overcooked and dried out, but was covered in rosemary. Why rosemary on a bacon cheeseburger? Also, the two miniscule fried squash blossom appetizer were over battered and overcooked. Very disappointing especially when paying an arm and a leg.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ACapDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasantville, new york
Level Contributor
78 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Inconsistent at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have eaten at Moderne Barn on several occasions. I typically dine there for lunch and it's adequate. The service is fine for a business luncheon because we are in and out and order something simple like a personal fig pizza or a burger. Lately I have been meeting friends for dinner on Friday or Saturday nights. We were excited to have dinner there this past Saturday because our previous experience was so positive. The first time we dined there we sat downstairs and had a very upbeat, fun and attentive waiter. The wine "director" was courteous and fun. Although the restaurant has an overpowering smell of mold and mildew upon entering, we had a fine experience. This past weekend was very different. We were happily seated upstairs in their private dining area (we had reservations) and the place quickly filled up with families and couples. The noise level rose so high we couldn't have conversations! Our server, Melissa, was very stiff.. seemed almost uncomfortable because she had no sense of humor. So, our table ordered a personal prosciutto pizza, scallops, veal and a burger. We also ordered wine and drinks and a few salads. The scallops were, according to my friend, "filled with sand".. not happy. The burger was so overcooked and dry that my other cohort didnt eat AT ALL. The waitress didn't even ask why he wasn't eating. The veal was tender and plentiful, but the rest of the dish was bland and lifeless. The pizza was crispy as promised, but the prosciutto overwhelmed the rest of the flavors..tasting the fig was almost impossible. All in all, our night wasn't great. I guess if you know the staff and stick with what you know you may be okay.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rush, rush rush!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Recently visited Moderne Barn for the second time and like the first we were rushed all the way through the meal. The food was good but practically shoved down our throats. The entrees come the moment the appetizers are cleared from the table. We didn't even have a chance to order a bottle of wine after an initial glass we drank. The service was completely indifferent as well. One hour total time for dinner. Not the experience I look for when I go out for the night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moderne Barn also viewed

Armonk, Westchester County
Armonk, Westchester County
 
Armonk, Westchester County
Armonk, Westchester County
 

Been to Moderne Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing