We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Veranda Palmar Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
LUX* Belle Mare(Belle Mare)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambre Mauritius(Belle Mare)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa(Trou d'eau Douce)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Solana Beach(Belle Mare)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,282)
Filter reviews
1,282 results
Traveller rating
739
385
107
39
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
739
385
107
39
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsveranda palmerhorizon restaurantsmall hotelfriendly hotelchef vikashthree starjean mariespecial thanksstar hotelall inclusive packagelobsterentertainment teamglass bottom boatevening entertainmentcleaned dailypool bartwo weeks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
522 - 527 of 1,282 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

v clean nice Beach, food is a big let down also birds share the restaurant. lot of things "not included" tue, thurs and Sat BBQ on the beach, really nice but "NOT INCLUDED"
sad really as a nice place. with a bit of effort it would be great. Staff happy and helpful.
shop v expensive. £25 for 4 post cards and 3 small fridge magnets

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billy1922013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor following your holiday in our hotel. We have considered constructively all the points that you have raised, and this will undoubtedly contribute to enhance our offer. Should your travel plans bring you back to Mauritius, we will do our level best to meet your expectations.

With our kindest regards

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Everything was just perfect from the second I set foot on Mauritian soil. Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel in my opinion deserves a 5 star rating. The staff really made my stay worthwile. The other international guests where awesome people as well. I will treasure the memories. My son Rishaan aged 1 year 8 months enjoyed himself every single night dancing. I'm already planning my next trip to Mauritius in 2014.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Jason,

We thank you heartily for sharing your holiday experience on Trip Advisor and we are delighted that you have beautiful memories of your stay amongst us. We will impatiently wait for your next trip and we will, again, go above and beyond to provide you the best service. Our best regards to all your family, especially to little Rishaan. See you soon.

Sunniest regards from Mauritius.

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at the Veranda Palmar beach for 13 nights as part of our honeymoon and overall had an excellent stay.

It’s a smaller hotel (with 76 rooms), but with a really friendly atmosphere. The staff are really helpful and always on hand to meet your every need.

The hotel itself is kept to a high standard, it is spotlessly clean and the grounds are well maintained. The hotel is right on the beach front (just a few steps separate the beach from the hotel).

Our room was cleaned to a high standard on a daily basis.

We were provided a card upon arrival to the hotel which allowed us access to fresh beach towels from the beach hut, these must be returned within 48 hours where you then have the option to exchange them for fresh towels or the towel card.

A few things to bear in mind, the all inclusive does not include the tea or coffee facilities in the room (with exception of your first night) or water and soft drinks in the minibar, we found this odd as all of these items are available as part of the all inclusive from the pool bar.

Pizza and fries are available upon request from the beach and pool bar between 12:00 and 15:00, this wasn’t made very clear to us during our welcome talk from the hotel upon arrival. Ice cream is also available for dessert included in the all inclusive, but you do need to ask your waiter/waitress for this.

Our second week was slightly disappointing as unfortunately a large group of 26 people booked into the hotel and soon dominated the establishment (however this was not directly related to the hotel or staff whom have no control over guests and did make attempts to satisfy all guests’ needs). Unfortunately, no matter what the staff did to minimise the impact of the large group, the relaxing tranquil atmosphere was ruined; this left a number of us wondering why such a small hotel allowed such a big group to check in.

The hotel also appeared happy to allow topless sunbathing which surprised us based on previous experiences of similar sized/style hotels. Smoking is also permitted around the pool, on the beach and pretty much anywhere apart from the restaurant; unfortunately based on the behaviours of individuals this can often be frustrating if you are a non-smoker or have young children.

If you’re thinking of booking any trips, there is a guy called Raj on the beach who can arrange any trip you require for a small fee. We purchased a trip to Ile Aux Cerfs which included a speedboat transfer, visit to a waterfall (viewable from the boat, is quite small and overcrowded with other tourist boats) and finally return to the island for a beach BBQ. The BBQ was lovely if you like seafood and well worth the money.

Whilst visiting Mauritius a trip to Casella Park to walk with the Lions is a must, we arranged this through our Virgin Representative; although it was pricey it was well worth it.

Finally a visit to Flacq Market is highly recommended, this is a medium sized local market held on a Wednesday and Sunday. It is a short taxi ride from the hotel and is well worth a look as it is much cheaper for souvenirs than the hotel/Belle Mare and full of local colour.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool can be noisy in the evenings.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Joanne,

t was our pleasure to host you at Veranda Palmar Beach for your honeymoon and we thank you very much for sharing your views on Trip Advisor. My team and myself always try our best to meet our valuable guests’ expectations but unfortunately it happens that at times things do get out of our control, to the disappointment of our guests and we feel sorry for that. Please rest assured that due consideration will be given to the points that you have raised in your comments and in that respect we have already included the mini bar in the All Inclusive package.

We will be most delighted to welcome you again should you plan another visit to Mauritius in the future.

Kindest Regards

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Well it was our first visit to mauritius, we chose this hotel and we didn't regret upon our choice. Excellent service. We were welcomed warmly, As soon as we arrived we were served with delicious hot pancakes, But we were a bit unhappy with the loud music at night. In overall we enjoyed our trip here and we cannot stop ourself from coming a second time here. Special thanks to restaurant girls namely Bernadete, Eniele and kitchen guys Ajay, Akshay and who just did everything to satisfy us and made our stay memorable, some more we can't remember their name well. Wish you lots of courage and prosperity

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,
It was our pleasure to host you for your first visit to Mauritius and we are glad that you made the good choice. We thank you for sharing your experience on the web and we’ll be waiting to welcome you again soon. We will convey your appreciation to the staff mentioned in your comments

Sunniest regards from the team of Veranda Palmar Beach.

JeanMarie Chinnapen

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Let me start by saying that the 3star rating of this hotel nearly put me off booking! Well I shouldn't have worried! My boyfriend and I have just come back from a 10 day stay at the veranda palmer hotel and have never enjoyed a holiday so much!

From the moment we arrived the staff did everything to make sure we had the most relaxing time possible, nothing was to much bother, always friendly and smiling which made a huge difference to the usually miserable faces in London!

The food, although only a small selection at the buffet compared to some all inclusives was always very well cooked and delicious and if you couldn't find anything you liked you only had to ask and they would try there best to accommodate. Alternatively you could eat at the al a carte restaurant on the beach which was lovely, I had steak and my boyfriend had lobster both were top notch!

Being a young couple I was also a little worried that although we wanted a relaxing holiday it may be too boring in the evenings but the entertainment was great, better than any other hotel I ve stayed in with a lot of variety. That being said it finished by 11 so you could still go back to the room and have a chilled night if you wanted to without it disturbing you. We had a room by the pool so could watch the entertainement from there but if you wanted a quieter room maybe request one of the ones by the beach. The singer was really good and had a lovely voice he sung different songs to so it didn't get boring seeing him perform more than once.

The hotel was also spotlessly clean and when we asked for extra pillows they were there straight away. We had an amazing massage in the spa really professional and relaxing and not too expensive.

Aside from this being such a beautiful island the staff at the hotel made it for me, they are a credit to the hotel!! Special thanks to Oumesh, Avinash, Danny, Bernadette, Enielle and Nisha for looking after us, also to the entertainment staff without you all our holiday wouldn't have been the same.

Thanks guys love from Dan and Laura room 203 30th sept-10th oct xxx

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Trip Advisor member,

We thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience at our hotel with the Trip Advisor community. This will undoubtedly help other holiday makers in their plan to visit our country in the future.
My team and I are delighted that your expectations were met and we will definitely keep the same track to satisfy our valuable customers.
Please rest assured that we will convey your special thanks to all team members mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you once again in our establishment should you decide to come back to Mauritius.

Sunniest regards from all the staff of Veranda Palmar Beach Resorts.

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews