We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“David & Lisa's Dream Wedding!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Veranda Palmar Beach
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“David & Lisa's Dream Wedding!!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

March 2013. Veranda Palmar Beach was our dream setting for our wedding!! We got married in the gardens with the stunning beach behind us.. We were treated like royality the whole time we where there. Amazing staff,special thanks to Clifford and Melissa....If your looking for affordable luxury you don't need to look any further! Mauritius is beautifull and this hotel was perfect for our first experience to this magical island.... Thaks again to all at the Veranda Palmar and we Can't wait to return for a future anniversary!! Best Wishes, Lisa,David,Josh Wills. Olive Wills and the Cotton family...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LISA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Lisa,

It was our great pleasure to host you at our hotel and we are pleased to learn that your expectations were met. We thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community and we will convey your special thanks to the persons mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Sunniest regards from the staff here.

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    289
    74
    34
    10
See reviews for
300
524
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Dec 6th. This was our first visit to Mauritius and we are so glad we picked this hotel. From the moment we arrived to moment we left, we found the staff and service friendly and efficient. One day we commented on the barman's shirt so he went to the market and got one for us. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was its size. Small and intimate and in a great location. Our room was ground floor just a few steps from the lovely pool. The entertainment ranged from OK to very good and always finishes around 11pm. The hotel was very clean and the food was extremely good with a varied choice every day. We spent a few days travelling and the hotel supplied really good lunch boxes.
Booked a great value boat trip with Raj on the beach
All in all we had a really fantastic holiday and would love to return.
Thank you all at the Veranda Palmar Beach - Lovely people.
Steve & Debby
PS Recommend a day trip to the safari park for interaction with lions - brill!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank STEVEandDEBBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Steve & Debby,

We thank you for sharing your holiday experience on the web and we are delighted to hear that you keep good memories of your stay with us. I will share your appreciation to the staff and look forward to welcoming you back should visit us again in the future.

Kindest regards from sunny Mauritius.

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was our 4th stay at the hotel and we simply returned because it is paradise...the staff are angels(yes the men too!)nothing is too much for them, they are so friendly and in fact very able people. It is impossible and unfair to name any particular person.. they are all great. The location is excellent..the same great stretch of sand which is also used by neighbouring, more expensive hotels...the public beaches neighbour the place as well..great at weekends to see the locals having a super time. For value for money it is unbeatable. I defy any chef anywhere to produce the buffet display which Arissen and the chefs did for the Rodrigues evening!! It was stunning..a feeling which continued when one ate it. In the words of the managers it is human hotel..you are wanted because you are you..not just for your money. Beyond the hotel, Nelson,one of the taxi drivers and Raj, one of the boatmen, will help you to widen your enjoyment of mauritius with their taxi or boat trips. The boat trip to Blue Bay for snorkelling is wonderful, with a stop off visit to the old lighthouse on the reef and a beach barbecue at Isle aux serfs thrown in. There are very many returnees to this hotel...a number which is growing because what can be better than paradise...

Room Tip: It is true that the rooms nearer to the beach are better located but all of the rooms are fine becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulinatplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear member of trip advisor,

We thank you for sharing your views with the trip advisor community. It was with great pleasure that my team and I had the privilege to host you again at Veranda Palmar Beach. We are delighted that your expectations were met and that you always leave our hotel with unforgettable souvenirs. We will convey your appreciation to all the team members and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Sunniest regards from Mauritius

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is a well run hotel with a good beach and in my opinion very attentive staff. This is a quiet location and well suited to a restful holiday. The food was very good the first week not quiet as good the second week, and occasionally they did run out of dishes towards the end of service. This would be my only criticism of this hotel, as our stay was wonderful. For getting around we chose to go by taxi as you can negotiate a price, we use ricky Nelson fontaine who had good knowledge of the country and was happy to share that information during the drive. All in all a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid any rooms near to the pool as the entertainment in the evening is centred in that locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Roydi,

It was our pleasure to host you at our Veranda Palmar Beach and we thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience on this web. We have well noted your constructive observation which will help us improving our food services. We look forward to welcoming you if you ever visit Mauritius again.

Kindest Regards

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit in UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Overall a good holiday experience.

The staff at this hotel are friendly and helpful. The buffet style food was fine with some of the local grilled fish being really nice. There was also the added touch of mid afternoon pancakes on offer. Some nights the restaurant was very busy although the timing of this differed so it isn't possible to recommend early or late dining.

Drinks and cocktails were ok with two drinks menus - one for the all inclusive drinks and one requiring payment. The all inclusive cocktails are made with local spirits. The local beer is an acquired taste, improved by a large splash of lemonade, but is drinkable. Beyond possibly creating slightly extra work for room service I don't get the logic of charging people on all inclusive deals for drinks supplied in their rooms (including tea and coffee after the first cuppa) . Most people simply order their free drinks (including water) from the bar and take these back to the rooms leaving empty glasses / cups for room service to clear anyway. Room service will still need to check the fridges in case someone has taken their supplies from there.

As reported elsewhere the entertainment stopped early, which for me was a blessing as I don't go to such beautiful islands to have my ears bashed by a beat box. The pool is on the small side. With six or more people in swimming it starts to feel overcrowded. That said most seem to gravitate towards the beach so it seldom did feel overcrowded. With very few notable exceptions this hotel seems to have escaped the usual towel bagging merchants who creep out in the middle of the night to reserve their sunbeds only to leave for a day's outing. The hotel issues guest with a card to echange for a beach towel. If the card or the towel isn't returned at the end of the stay a hefty fine is charged. Perhaps this helps to deter people from leaving their towels unattended? If so great! There are also some very nice mattresses on the way down to the beach - a really nice touch.

The size of the roped off sea area in front of the hotel varies with the tide but is quite small. Do watch out for the sea urchins. While they aren't rife they do exist. I am told it is necessary to separate swimmers from boats hence the need to cordon off an area. If you are looking for off shore snorkelling then forget it. It's too dangerous to dodge the passing boats and too far to get to the snorkelling area. The hotel has a boat that runs out to the snorkelling area once a day for an hour but this has to be at a set time according to the tide. If like me you prefer to snorkel as and when you feel like it this isn't the area for you. Nb this comment isn't unique to this hotel as it applies to all the others hotels along this stretch of the coast.

The hotel is in a good location in that it is right on the beach. However the nearby town of Belle Mare (15 minutes walk along the road or via the beach) has very little to offer by way of shops, cafes or restaurants. Possibly not surprising as most all of the hotels in the area offer all inclusive deals so there isn't really much demand from tourists. There are a couple of 'designer(?) clothes shops and small local shops but after 30 minutes to an hour you have seen it all. It is worth taking a trip to the nearby market a taxi ride away to sample a more local flavour of sights and sounds. Taxis from the hotel or on the adjacent road will cost you ten times the rate of the local taxi/bus from Belle Mare. Most tourists pay the premium rather than walk into town as it still won't break the piggy bank. NB be warned taxi drivers will encourage you to join them on a visit to designer clothes shops as they get credit for taking tourists there. If you are looking to spend loads of money, bored and / or it's raining you may not mind otherwise insist you don't want to go. If you want to venture farther affield you will need to hire a car or a taxi and driver for half a day to a day.

I don't want to give the wrong impression as I really did enjoy the holiday but I can't really go along with the superlative descriptions of other travellers e.g. 'second to none'. I have rated the hotel as very good as I felt 'average' was being unkind. I wish trip advisor would introduce 'good' as a sixth rating category as I feel the top end of good would be a fairer reflection for this hotel. For a very good to excellent rating I would be expecting more / better amenities (e.g. larger pool), larger beach side swimming area and a wider range of food and drinks. That said I personally liked the smaller / friendly feel of this hotel as opposed to the larger hotels nearby. The beach is nice, sea is warm and clear and it is relaxing here. If not for the fact that I rarely if ever go back to the same place twice I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at this hotel for the night and loved it, stunning location and soft,powdery sand! We were lucky enough to take part in a pirate evening with a huge varierty of food to chose from.... Every bit if it delicious! The staff cant do enough for you and cliff looked after us well ensuring we enjoyed our stay. This hotel has recently been refurbished to a high standard and rooms are lovely.... Would recommend this for anyone looking for a smaller, well run hotel on an amazing beach!
Hope to be back soon for a longer stay :-)

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sami_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Trip advisor member,

We thank you for sharing your holiday experience here and we are happy that your expectations were met. We will convey your appreciation to the staff, who will be delighted to hear that they contributed in making the stay enjoyable. We also thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Our warmest regards from sunny Mauritius.

Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is the only hotel that we have ever returned to. The hotel could be anywhere in the world but the staff are amazing. The hotel is clean. The management actually listen to the reviews, and make improvements accordingly. The spa is not brilliant but we are not that bothered about that. Try the fishing, organised through the beach.

Room Tip: Go for rooms in block 7. But all of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andysbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear member of Trip Advisor,

We are delighted to read that you are keeping good memories of your holiday in our establishment and we thank you for sharing your experience on the web. Our improvements are the fruits of your constructive comments and we look forward to welcome you again should your future travelling plans bring you back to Mauritius.

Till then, take care and sunniest regards from Mauritius.

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.2 mi away
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Palmar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,665 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
1.1 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Palmeraie Hotel
La Palmeraie Hotel
#5 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
18.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Palmar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Palmar Beach

Property: Veranda Palmar Beach
Address: Coastal Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius 42210
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Palmar Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE JOY OF SEASIDE LIVING Limpid blue waters, white sandy beaches, shady filao trees… what more could you want? Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel, on the superb east coast boasts one of the most beautiful beaches of the island. The seaside hotel offers the whole gamut of delights that the ocean and the beach guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veranda Palmar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel Belle Mare
Veranda Palmar Beach Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing