We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic holiday destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Veranda Palmar Beach
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic holiday destination”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We cannot speak highly enough of both the staff and facilities of the Veranda. It is a lovely intimate hotel that benefits from being much smaller than its neighbours and thus provide a more personal service. The rooms are spacious and well equipped and the pool is very clean and a good size to relax in. We spent most of our time on the beach and always found a sunbed in a good position without difficulty. There is also lots to do on the beach, as the hotel supply kayaks, pedlos, snorkling and glass bottom boat all free of charge. The food was good and what you would expect from an all inclusive deal, with the salads fresh and excellent. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and if we ever went back to Mauritius, this would be where we head to straight away!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    289
    74
    34
    10
See reviews for
301
525
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

There are lots of nice things to say about this hotel, it's very clean and in a lovely location, yet we've just returned from our honeymoon more disappointed than happy.
On our arrival at the hotel we were given a ground floor room with a view over the nursery which felt more like we'd taken our kids. We asked to be moved and were put in another room overlooking a garden but which still had very little privacy. We felt really flat and after a few days another couple said they had complained and had been moved to a sea view room. We asked to be moved and two days later, on day 6 of our honeymoon we were put into a more private room. I'm not someone who normally complains so I felt sad that I felt disappointed enough to take that action. The staff do care about feedback and want to make your holiday great. They realised we were disappointed and two nights before we left they gave us a honeymoon dinner by the sea which was great. It was sad that that came after they realised we'd not had such a great time, if it had happened spontaneously on date two or three it would have had a wow factor.

Other things to be aware of are that the food is very nice but many guests complained that it was too cold and repetitive. We ended up having three dinners out as we just found it the same each day. It was good quality though but after paying for the wedding we could have done without the expense.

Overall this is a nice holiday but not a special honeymoon. If it had just been a holiday it wouldn't have upset me as much but you can't redo your honeymoon. Our cheap annual holiday in Ibiza more than competes with this one at a fraction of the cost.

I might sound negative when I'm really not. I've done all inclusive before in Tobago, Jamaica and Turkey and loved it. This just didn't live up to expectations or value for money.

A great trip to do is with Belinda who you will meet on the beach. It's an amazing day on a speed boat, it was truly the best holiday trip I've ever been on. What a total scream and such value. Whizzing over the sea looking at the island, eating great food and we even saw monkeys. Total fun

Room Tip: Complain early if you're not happy. They will try to help. Be aware few rooms have a true sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and myself are sorry that you felt that way.

Congratulations again on your wedding.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Last November/December we had our sixth trip to this excellent hotel. Although staff come and go, the hotel retains its friendly and cheerful atmosphere - the staff are fantastic, probably the best in the world (and we've been to lots of places!) The welcome is second to none.

Although only three star, there's everything we could ever need at the hotel - and just ask if there's something you need! Rooms are large and well equipped and, since the renovations last year, are of a very good standard. The beds are comfortable and huge. The food is stunning (thank you Arrisan and staff) - on one special night, the whole kitchen staff turned out to present a spectacular display of the most enticing food, some of it even displayed on a canoe! And, if you really can't find anything to your taste, the chefs will always prepare something different for you.

The beach is absolutely wonderful, with walks in either direction literally for miles. A three-quarter mile or so walk along the road (turn right out of the hotel), through a fruit and vegetable growing area, ends at the village of Belle Mare which is quirky to say the least. And then there's a delightful walk back along the beach and, if you like, through the grounds of a couple of other hotels, for a lovely circular on foot trip. In fact, any walks along the beach are interesting because there's always something to look at on the sea or on the land. Sadly, the coral is not so good these days but there are still plenty of different fish to see on a trip out on the (free) glass-bottom or snorkel boat (thanks, folks, for the new ladder!)

Because we are 'repeaters' we even get a little extra attention, especially on birthdays, which is most endearing and delightful. A barbecue on the beach was a great highlight on this last trip. The list of repeaters grows significantly every year which, we think, says everything about the hotel.

We could not attempt to name all those at the hotel who give us special attention - all the staff are excellent and do everything they can to make our holiday special. It always is! We shall be back again in mid-November this year (2014) and much look forward to it.

Room Tip: Waking every morning to the sight and sound of the sea is fantastic for land-locked UK Midlanders.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

An idillic location with stunning views. A small intimate hotel located right on the sea front. The rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels. The service was fantastic, we got to know the waiters & waitresses & by the end of day 2 they know our drinks orders & room numbers. The food was plentiful with lots of choice. It was great to try all the different spices & local dishes. I would return to this hotel in a heart beat. Thanks so much to Bernadette,Eneill & Iesha you girls really did look after us.
We booked a number of trips but not through the hotel as they were very pricey. We went on the beach & booked with Raj. Our experiences were amazing we had a driver for the day to do the north & south tours then my ultimate trip was to the water falls on a speed boat, then snorkelling in the Indian Ocean followed by a private BBQ on the beach. This trip is a must do. Raj prices were half the hotels price & you don't give any money upfront. If you don't like it you don't pay. I could not fault his service for all 3 trips we spent just over £100 sterling. Amazing

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tammy068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Member of Trip advisor,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and to Bernadette, Eneill & Iesha in particular and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Sunny Greetings
Jean-Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel has an extremely comfortable environment. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel at home, and the level of service far exceeds many of the fancier hotels/resorts in the area. The hotel is perfect for families and couples, but is also very good for people just looking to unwind. Again, I cannot emphasize how excellent the service is here--you receive the full royal treatment, and workers always do their best to accommodate your every request.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank An0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Member of Trip advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the Team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Sunny Greetings
Jean-Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and i had a great holiday at the varanda palmer beach. Even though its classed as a 3 star plus it was a lot better than most of the 4/5 star hotels we have stayed in whilst holidaying in the caribbean, The beach is fantastic, the staff more than helpful, We found the food spicey for us,so we had a word with the manager and everything we wanted cooking after that was done for us,and i might add for a lot of other english tourists.Entertaiment was what you would expect from a 3 star hotel not brilliant but again better than some of the other hotels we have stayed.
Over all i would reccomend this hotel to anyone thinking of going,a very pleasant stay,we will go back again thats for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank billyjean11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Member of Trip advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions and views with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to our Team and they were proud to hear that they contributed in making your stay a memorable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Jean-Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 12-19 Dec 2013. We are very well travelled and I just have to say that this was one of the best holidays we have had! Our room was a good size and spacious enough to accommodate my husband and I as well as our two sons. The rooms were cleaned every day and very neat. Our boys looked forward to finding the towels made into different animal shapes every day. A nice touch :-) The staff and service were beyond our expectation! Every person went above and beyond their means to make our stay a fantastic one! Thanks especially to Nisha, Bernadette and Hiroye. They have made a lasting impression on our boys.
Having an all inclusive package was great because drinks and afternoon pancakes and ice cream were included. We spent all our time at the hotel except for one day when we took a tour to Ile Aux Cerfs. We booked with Raj who can be found on the beach every day. He was excellent and comes highly recommended on trip advisor which is where i first heard of him. We didnt feel the need to tour the island even though it was our first time there. We so enjoyed the hotel and the beach front and pool that we didnt feel like going anywhere else!
I would recommend a minimum stay of 10 days which leaves enough time to do a few tours. We only had six days which I feel is way too little. the water sports are great and the staff even joined in to play bocci ball. Thank you Oliver :-)
The food was great with a choice of buffet every day and night as well as delicious desserts! The chef was amazing and so obliging. He prepared pizza and fries whenever our sons didnt like any of the buffet foods on offer.
We had met a number of people on our way back home who have complained about their hotels and few have had the wonderful experience that we have. I would gladly stay at the Veranda Palmar Hotel every time i go back to Mauritius! In fact, we are hopefully planning every December holiday there! A dream holiday!!!

Nadira Adam
Pretoria, South Africa

Room Tip: Rooms close to the beach front are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank NadiraA21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the Chef, Oliver, Nisha, Bernadette and Hiroye, and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again .

Sunny Greetings
Jean-Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.2 mi away
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Palmar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,681 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
1.1 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Palmeraie Hotel
La Palmeraie Hotel
#5 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
18.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Palmar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Palmar Beach

Property: Veranda Palmar Beach
Address: Coastal Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius 42210
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Palmar Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE JOY OF SEASIDE LIVING Limpid blue waters, white sandy beaches, shady filao trees… what more could you want? Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel, on the superb east coast boasts one of the most beautiful beaches of the island. The seaside hotel offers the whole gamut of delights that the ocean and the beach guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelbag, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veranda Palmar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel Belle Mare
Veranda Palmar Beach Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing