We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful staff nice resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Veranda Palmar Beach
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Helpful staff nice resort.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

On arrival was welcomed with a drink, room was nice, comfortable bed, bathroom good size, the resort was quite small but didn't have to walk far to go to eat or the bar, the pool was small, though I didn't mind because pre fare the beach, could always find a bed, comfy lounges, the beach was stunning, white sandy beach, it did rain occasionally but not too much, the food was average to good, breakfast usually omelettes which was fine, you could either eat at the buffet or the restaurant at the beach which was included in the all inclusive just had to pay extra for some items, the food in the buffet could say one night was really bland, another night got a lasagne which was cold but they heated it up, some night there was curry which was ok but needed more flavour, I got really bad sun burn one day and I asked the staff for aloe vera and they got me some fresh which I thought was really nice, never had a resort do that for me before, went out to eat a couple of night at Tinos which was nice, did one excursion on a speed boat where you go to an island, can't remember what it was called but was beautiful, you can walk to the local village which is like a 15 minute walk, the bar service was good could be a little slow some times but not complaining.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisa2002805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the few inconveniences that you mentioned and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We will work on the few issues that you mentioned and we look forward to your next visit.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    285
    72
    33
    10
See reviews for
295
511
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel 8th - 18th Jan 2014. room 708. It had a lovely view onto the beach and over the gardens. ALL the staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was excellent with a good choice. The room was cleaned everyday and because I had a problem with mosquitoes (not especially in the room but outside in the evenings I would get bitten) they even put a net around my bed which was great (It also meant putting a hole in their ceiling to hook the net up !) Nothing was too much trouble.
The beach was clean (it was swept by staff!) free beach towels available and lots of water sports were available.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family. I had a wonderful time and the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff was amazing. Definitely the best hotel I have stayed in for service. My husband and I, both 62 years old, had one of the best holidays of our lives.

Room Tip: Room 708 was lovely with a veranda view to the ocean, beach and gardens. The entertainment in the ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elaine190951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Sunny Greeting
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel and the staff went above and beyond expectations and made every day special for both of us, We never heard any other guest complain about the service or the hotel, The organised everything to perfection from the transportation to the inclusive meals, Was the only holiday that i have never wanted to come home from, We were made to feel like special guests by the staff every day,
You could not fault the staff/hotel for a fantastic experience and i would highly recommend this resort for everybody from singles/young adults to family's with children.
Since my return to Scotland we cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to our Team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

To all members and staff at the veranda Palmer a big thank you for making this holiday so memorable it was a joy staying at your lovely hotel staff are so friendly and pleasant.we were in room 809 nice view of the garden and beach as said in other review about the birds nice to see some wildlife some people conplaned about them but they are one of the wonders off nature.The meals were very tasty but not a lot to chose from. Entertainment was good on some nights and some nights Jost soft music. Hired a speed boat with rarj from the beach well worth the money but after chating to our friend I think Belinda's trip was slightly better. The only proble we had was waiting till 11 to get a nice cool drink on the beach as it was 30 degrees very hot. The pool is a little on the small side but ok but it is the warmest pool we have ever been in. This is one of the best small and friendly hotels we have ever been in and would recommend this hotel to anybody

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Metal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

The hospitality we received at this hotel was very good indeed. Without exception all the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. As previously mentioned in another review, it is impossible to single one person out.

The evening entertainment was varied and on most occasions really really good, with everyone joining in and having fun and getting to know each other.

Our room was amazing (814) top floor on the end, with beautiful views from the balcony, overlooking the white sand and blue sea and sky. We also had the bonus every evening of watching the beautiful red and yellow birds coming into roost in the trees out the back which was fabulous to witness. On returning to our room later in the evening, we took great delight in watching all the little birds fast asleep on their branches.

The rooms are beautiful and spacious, the bed is huge and comfy, no complaints about our room whatsoever, and it was cleaned to a high standard each day.

The beach area is great, with plenty to do if you can be bothered. :)) and you can have lovely long walks in each direction.

The All Inclusive was fine and any previous issues we had read about before travelling, all seem to have been addressed. Our mini bar was stocked daily with beer, coke, and water and juice as was the tea and coffee, and all included in our AI deal.

During our stay the food in general was good, with plenty of choice, although often it was only lukewarm, which did spoil it a little for us. The wine was ok, not brilliant but still nice to have it included. At Breakfast, there was a good choice, with eggs cooked to order, all very nice, with lovely coffee poured at your table. We also had visits from the lovely birds Red Fody's and the Bulbuls, who will feed out of your hand.

The bars at the beach and around the pool, offered lovely all inclusive cocktails from 11.00am until 11.00pm, and I used to have an amazing G&T. My husband really enjoyed the beer which was like a light lager and very refreshing.

We did a speedboat trip to Isle Aux Cerf, which we booked through Belinda on the beach, and had the most fabulous day out, snorkelling, glass bottom boat trip at the Marine Park, a visit to the waterfall, and then on the beach at Isle Aux Cerf we had the most AMAZING BBQ 3 course lunch, of Grilled whole fish with salad and fresh bread, Crayfish, Prawns, and chicken, with fresh Pineapple, and flambe bananas with Rum. We had a choice of beers or the local Rum, or soft drinks.

I could get free WiFi most of the time, and if I couldn't connect to Veranada, I seemed to be able to connect with the hotel next door!!

We would definitely recommend this hotel, it is a smaller 3* hotel, so I feel its unfair to read some reviews where its being compared to a 5* !!

Room Tip: High floor rooms have more privacy and beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frewnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We cannot speak highly enough of both the staff and facilities of the Veranda. It is a lovely intimate hotel that benefits from being much smaller than its neighbours and thus provide a more personal service. The rooms are spacious and well equipped and the pool is very clean and a good size to relax in. We spent most of our time on the beach and always found a sunbed in a good position without difficulty. There is also lots to do on the beach, as the hotel supply kayaks, pedlos, snorkling and glass bottom boat all free of charge. The food was good and what you would expect from an all inclusive deal, with the salads fresh and excellent. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and if we ever went back to Mauritius, this would be where we head to straight away!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

There are lots of nice things to say about this hotel, it's very clean and in a lovely location, yet we've just returned from our honeymoon more disappointed than happy.
On our arrival at the hotel we were given a ground floor room with a view over the nursery which felt more like we'd taken our kids. We asked to be moved and were put in another room overlooking a garden but which still had very little privacy. We felt really flat and after a few days another couple said they had complained and had been moved to a sea view room. We asked to be moved and two days later, on day 6 of our honeymoon we were put into a more private room. I'm not someone who normally complains so I felt sad that I felt disappointed enough to take that action. The staff do care about feedback and want to make your holiday great. They realised we were disappointed and two nights before we left they gave us a honeymoon dinner by the sea which was great. It was sad that that came after they realised we'd not had such a great time, if it had happened spontaneously on date two or three it would have had a wow factor.

Other things to be aware of are that the food is very nice but many guests complained that it was too cold and repetitive. We ended up having three dinners out as we just found it the same each day. It was good quality though but after paying for the wedding we could have done without the expense.

Overall this is a nice holiday but not a special honeymoon. If it had just been a holiday it wouldn't have upset me as much but you can't redo your honeymoon. Our cheap annual holiday in Ibiza more than competes with this one at a fraction of the cost.

I might sound negative when I'm really not. I've done all inclusive before in Tobago, Jamaica and Turkey and loved it. This just didn't live up to expectations or value for money.

A great trip to do is with Belinda who you will meet on the beach. It's an amazing day on a speed boat, it was truly the best holiday trip I've ever been on. What a total scream and such value. Whizzing over the sea looking at the island, eating great food and we even saw monkeys. Total fun

Room Tip: Complain early if you're not happy. They will try to help. Be aware few rooms have a true sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and myself are sorry that you felt that way.

Congratulations again on your wedding.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.2 mi away
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Palmar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,604 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Palmeraie Hotel
La Palmeraie Hotel
#5 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
18.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Palmar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Palmar Beach

Property: Veranda Palmar Beach
Address: Coastal Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius 42210
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Palmar Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE JOY OF SEASIDE LIVING Limpid blue waters, white sandy beaches, shady filao trees… what more could you want? Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel, on the superb east coast boasts one of the most beautiful beaches of the island. The seaside hotel offers the whole gamut of delights that the ocean and the beach guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veranda Palmar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel Belle Mare
Veranda Palmar Beach Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing