We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only thing that let's this hotel down is its food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Veranda Palmar Beach
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel and it's staff are fantastic they all go that extra mile to make your stay a good one . The rooms are fine and cleaned daily, the beach is clean and we'll looked after ,the service at the bar is of a high standard but the thing that let's this hotel down is its food ,it is bland,tasteless and never hot and the choice is limited .it is without doubt the worst all inclusive food I have had any were in the world and I am a chef so I know what I am talking about . If they improved the food this hotel would be faultless

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank bressay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the few inconveniences that you mentioned and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We will work on improving the food offer and we hope that it will meet your expectations next time you visit us.


We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen

Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

On arrival was welcomed with a drink, room was nice, comfortable bed, bathroom good size, the resort was quite small but didn't have to walk far to go to eat or the bar, the pool was small, though I didn't mind because pre fare the beach, could always find a bed, comfy lounges, the beach was stunning, white sandy beach, it did rain occasionally but not too much, the food was average to good, breakfast usually omelettes which was fine, you could either eat at the buffet or the restaurant at the beach which was included in the all inclusive just had to pay extra for some items, the food in the buffet could say one night was really bland, another night got a lasagne which was cold but they heated it up, some night there was curry which was ok but needed more flavour, I got really bad sun burn one day and I asked the staff for aloe vera and they got me some fresh which I thought was really nice, never had a resort do that for me before, went out to eat a couple of night at Tinos which was nice, did one excursion on a speed boat where you go to an island, can't remember what it was called but was beautiful, you can walk to the local village which is like a 15 minute walk, the bar service was good could be a little slow some times but not complaining.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lisa2002805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the few inconveniences that you mentioned and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We will work on the few issues that you mentioned and we look forward to your next visit.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel 8th - 18th Jan 2014. room 708. It had a lovely view onto the beach and over the gardens. ALL the staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was excellent with a good choice. The room was cleaned everyday and because I had a problem with mosquitoes (not especially in the room but outside in the evenings I would get bitten) they even put a net around my bed which was great (It also meant putting a hole in their ceiling to hook the net up !) Nothing was too much trouble.
The beach was clean (it was swept by staff!) free beach towels available and lots of water sports were available.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family. I had a wonderful time and the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff was amazing. Definitely the best hotel I have stayed in for service. My husband and I, both 62 years old, had one of the best holidays of our lives.

Room Tip: Room 708 was lovely with a veranda view to the ocean, beach and gardens. The entertainment in the ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elaine190951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Sunny Greeting
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel and the staff went above and beyond expectations and made every day special for both of us, We never heard any other guest complain about the service or the hotel, The organised everything to perfection from the transportation to the inclusive meals, Was the only holiday that i have never wanted to come home from, We were made to feel like special guests by the staff every day,
You could not fault the staff/hotel for a fantastic experience and i would highly recommend this resort for everybody from singles/young adults to family's with children.
Since my return to Scotland we cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to our Team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

To all members and staff at the veranda Palmer a big thank you for making this holiday so memorable it was a joy staying at your lovely hotel staff are so friendly and pleasant.we were in room 809 nice view of the garden and beach as said in other review about the birds nice to see some wildlife some people conplaned about them but they are one of the wonders off nature.The meals were very tasty but not a lot to chose from. Entertainment was good on some nights and some nights Jost soft music. Hired a speed boat with rarj from the beach well worth the money but after chating to our friend I think Belinda's trip was slightly better. The only proble we had was waiting till 11 to get a nice cool drink on the beach as it was 30 degrees very hot. The pool is a little on the small side but ok but it is the warmest pool we have ever been in. This is one of the best small and friendly hotels we have ever been in and would recommend this hotel to anybody

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Metal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The hospitality we received at this hotel was very good indeed. Without exception all the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. As previously mentioned in another review, it is impossible to single one person out.

The evening entertainment was varied and on most occasions really really good, with everyone joining in and having fun and getting to know each other.

Our room was amazing (814) top floor on the end, with beautiful views from the balcony, overlooking the white sand and blue sea and sky. We also had the bonus every evening of watching the beautiful red and yellow birds coming into roost in the trees out the back which was fabulous to witness. On returning to our room later in the evening, we took great delight in watching all the little birds fast asleep on their branches.

The rooms are beautiful and spacious, the bed is huge and comfy, no complaints about our room whatsoever, and it was cleaned to a high standard each day.

The beach area is great, with plenty to do if you can be bothered. :)) and you can have lovely long walks in each direction.

The All Inclusive was fine and any previous issues we had read about before travelling, all seem to have been addressed. Our mini bar was stocked daily with beer, coke, and water and juice as was the tea and coffee, and all included in our AI deal.

During our stay the food in general was good, with plenty of choice, although often it was only lukewarm, which did spoil it a little for us. The wine was ok, not brilliant but still nice to have it included. At Breakfast, there was a good choice, with eggs cooked to order, all very nice, with lovely coffee poured at your table. We also had visits from the lovely birds Red Fody's and the Bulbuls, who will feed out of your hand.

The bars at the beach and around the pool, offered lovely all inclusive cocktails from 11.00am until 11.00pm, and I used to have an amazing G&T. My husband really enjoyed the beer which was like a light lager and very refreshing.

We did a speedboat trip to Isle Aux Cerf, which we booked through Belinda on the beach, and had the most fabulous day out, snorkelling, glass bottom boat trip at the Marine Park, a visit to the waterfall, and then on the beach at Isle Aux Cerf we had the most AMAZING BBQ 3 course lunch, of Grilled whole fish with salad and fresh bread, Crayfish, Prawns, and chicken, with fresh Pineapple, and flambe bananas with Rum. We had a choice of beers or the local Rum, or soft drinks.

I could get free WiFi most of the time, and if I couldn't connect to Veranada, I seemed to be able to connect with the hotel next door!!

We would definitely recommend this hotel, it is a smaller 3* hotel, so I feel its unfair to read some reviews where its being compared to a 5* !!

Room Tip: High floor rooms have more privacy and beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank frewnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We cannot speak highly enough of both the staff and facilities of the Veranda. It is a lovely intimate hotel that benefits from being much smaller than its neighbours and thus provide a more personal service. The rooms are spacious and well equipped and the pool is very clean and a good size to relax in. We spent most of our time on the beach and always found a sunbed in a good position without difficulty. There is also lots to do on the beach, as the hotel supply kayaks, pedlos, snorkling and glass bottom boat all free of charge. The food was good and what you would expect from an all inclusive deal, with the salads fresh and excellent. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and if we ever went back to Mauritius, this would be where we head to straight away!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.2 mi away
Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Mauritius
#7 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#6 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,467 reviews
18.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,137 reviews
2.6 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
3,884 reviews
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Palmar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Palmar Beach

Address: Coastal Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius 42210
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £135 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Veranda Palmar Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE JOY OF SEASIDE LIVING Limpid blue waters, white sandy beaches, shady filao trees… what more could you want? Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel, on the superb east coast boasts one of the most beautiful beaches of the island. The seaside hotel offers the whole gamut of delights that the ocean and the beach guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Veranda Palmar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel Belle Mare
Veranda Palmar Beach Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing