We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and Peaceful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Veranda Palmar Beach
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
curepipe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy and Peaceful resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Cosy to spend vacations. Not too big in terms of land surface but just enough for all residents to spend quiet holidays. If you like the sea, ask for the rooms near the sea, we had the one which was the first near the sea and it was just wonderful to hear the sound of the waves. 2 bars:one near pool and other near the sea which is very convenient. the all-inclusive package is really worthwhile as it spares the pain to look and pay for food and drinks all through your holidays. quality and presentation of cocktails can improve. Buffet is tasty and ok, with some variety. Staff is friendly. Be careful of wasps however as there were quite a few around. Refreshing green gardens around and nice 'arena' to watch the sunrise (don't miss it if you are there).

Room Tip: Rooms near the sea or with sea view are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pramoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    285
    72
    33
    10
See reviews for
295
512
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We spent two weeks at this hotel. Really pleased with our location (Room 505) as just a few steps down from our patio doors and we were on the beach. Lovely modern room. At first we thought, "hmmn, only 3*" (we always go to a minimum of 4*), but it became apparent that the management are keen to up their rating and any issues were dealt with promptly and effectively. For example, one day we didn't have our mini-bar replenished. One word to Shiv and thereafter we had double the normal stocks replenished every day. A repeating criticism on Trip Advisor seems to be the quality of the food, or the mundaneness of it. As we enjoy our food (which plays a big part when we consider a holiday destination) we were a little concerned about previous guests' comments. Management are clearly keen to listen to guests' opinions. Clipboards asking for guests' feedback were regularly seen on the food stations. For us (and we fed this back to the hotel before checking out) we felt that the food served catered to 'the masses' and we would have liked more traditional Mauritian food with lovely spices to be offered. We suggested they perhaps offer a proper Mauritian Corner every day so that those wanting more European food could be happy as well as those travelling thousands of miles to sample the delicacies of the Indian Ocean. By paying 3* prices, we were happy to venture outside of the hotel and use the money we had saved in local restaurants. Tinos was a favourite and we ate here twice - once in the evening and once at lunchtime so we could enjoy the views. Very reasonable cost and amazing food. We listened to previous reviews on TA and utilised the services of Raj on the beach. Try the speedboat trip to Ile Aux Cerfs - the lunch cooked by Laura from a BBQ in the bushes was amazing. The lobster and whole fish were spectacular. The trip and lunch cost about £35ph. Don't book a taxi via the hotel - it will cost twice as much as one booked either from a local taxi driver (and there are many keen to pass on their cards), or ask Raj (he seems to be the answer for everything!). Would we recommend this hotel - yes, for a lovely relaxing time, yes for the fact that management and staff seem genuinely keen to ensure you have a good time, and yes because money saved from booking a 3* rather than a 4* or neighbouring 5* hotel can be better utilised exploring the locality and frequenting the local eateries.

Room Tip: 505 was perfectly sited
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HeRo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable. The Mauritian corner is a great idea and we will look into that. We again thank you for your valued feedback.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We spent 2 weeks at the hotel, it is very nice with a well keep garden, lovely private beach which is cleaned every morning, the staff are very friendly and very helpful,very pleasant waiters and waitress’s, we found there was a good of choice of food but the choice was consistent each day. The room was quite basic but clean. There were two pin sockets in the room so you may need an adaptor for your electrical items. We didn’t bother to hire a car because the taxies immediately outside the hotel were a cheaper option. There is not too much to see locally, so you will need to go further afield to explore. We found that the entertainment at the hotel in the evening was poor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyliu668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the Team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable. Locally, there is a natural reserve where you can hike, do quad biking, horse riding and go bird watching. The Mauritian east coast is also one of the longest beaches of Mauritius, hence lovely for walks, jogs and sight-seeing. There are also numerous Hindu temples, an extremely large market in Flacq, a very typical Mauritian village, in addition to waterfalls and the islet of Ile aux Cerfs, which offers watersports at its best. How unfortunate that you didn't get to discover all these. Hopefully next time. We are sorry that the evening entertainment wasn't up to your standards and we will look further into that matter.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have just returned from Veranda Palmar Beach, and we have had an amazing holiday. A special thank you to Boodhan who was so helpful and friendly, however all the staff couldn't do enough for us. Great food, pool, entertainment and beach. The kids club was brilliant too and my girls love spending time with Sharone and Charlene.

Room Tip: We had room 602 which overlooked the beach and was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Member of Trip advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Le Palmar. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the Team and to Boodhan, Sharone and Charlene in partciular and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Sunny Greetings
Jean-Marie Chinnapen

Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I returned from this hotel a couple of weeks ago having spent 2 weeks there. The hotel is very welcoming and sort of boutique type- small and friendly. The hotel has it's own beach which could have been a bit bigger but the sun beds were not occupied all the time as visitors took themselves off on trips. Bedrooms were very comfortable and had a vow of the ocean. The food was a bit repetitive although I did enjoy the breakfast and afternoon pancakes! All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Small pool but did not get crowded as most people spent their time on the beach. Not a lot of entertainment which was held outside but the majority of visitors were couples so they were probably happy to spend their time relaxing with a drink. If it was not for the long flight I would be going again tomorrow! Enjoyed my holiday there and would recommend. There were one or two hiccups for me but if there is anything you are not happy with the management will go out of their way to help. Do go and stay you will enjoy the relaxed atmosphere at this hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 602 which was on an upper floor and had sea views and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 848christmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the few inconveniences that you mentioned and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community.We look forward to your next visit.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle united kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Flights: booked direct with Emirates flying from U.K. to Dubai then onwards to MRU : as always on time, pleasant with great connecting times. Slight problem with T.Vs which made listening to films poor : even after being reset, but other than than all good. That said our 8th flight with them since October & had the same problem more than once!

Accommodation booked via Travelbag : highly recommend on not only price but efficiency. Booked private car transfer with them which was there ready waiting for us which ensured quick journey on to accommodation.

Hotel: this is a very good standard 3 * extras such as mosquito plug-ins in rooms. Rooms were spacious we checked 3 out : highly recommend 721 or 502 both with close proximity to beach & awesome views. Very little time spent in rooms but large, well equipped , very clean & pleasant decor. Well stocked mini bar included in AI package along with tea/coffee facilities in room. Cleaned daily & table chairs on patio/balcony.

Beach : brilliant stretch of beach, cleaned regularly, beach beds aplenty and comfortable with options of thatched umbrellas. Safe to walk both right & left and the sellers on beach do not pester you, are friendly and will take payment from you day later if needs be.

Beach Facilities: daily glass bottom boat & snorkelling trips. Good to get out on with camera for views back over to shore. Kayaks, pedalloes free with option of scuba diving from hotel along the beach as well as option to pay for water skiing, parasailing, donuts. W.C & beach bar serving drinks / food from 11am until 5pm. towel change free daily. Safe for children as shallow and extremely clear.

Restaurants : buffet / this is not a fine dining experience however every meal time we enjoyed a selection of fresh salads, pastas, meats & fish from the grill.
Beach restaurant only open certain nights and has to be booked/ we ate a lobster champagne meal for our wedding anniversary. Service was good, table decorated lovely but not quite sure the lobster meal was worth the price we paid. A lovely evening though.

Recommendations: walking with the lions at Casela Wildlife Park followed by the Zip Wiring. Boat trip to Ill Cerf we booked with the Naz on the beach. Perfect day out with awesome BBQ setting & drinks.
Recommend A meal at the exclusive Prince Maurice which is a taxi drive away. Google it :) Tinos for a traditional Mauritius menu but go to both of these whilst still light to make most of views before dark. Trip to market for an hour just to experience the local way if life tho do not expect fancy shoes : bags etc tho for souvineers try Cavern D"Alibaba in Flac which is set over 4 floors & cheapest around. We got taxi from the beach to there & combined it with trip to market .

Tips : use taxis from beach as half price of hotel, if you are not happy with your room ask to change . We were located a pool room on arrival until our requested sea view one was ready the next day : well worth the change and wait.

Niggles : the reception staff & porter were extremely helpful & polite however the restaurant staff seemed to make little effort unless you spoke French. We did not let this spoil our holiday but did find it frustrating having to ask for the same thing several times.
Beach restaurant : food is limited and not everything included on AI ? For instance you pay for spag Bol yet can get this free from the buffet , I'd also like to see the beach bar utilised more of an evening instead of closing at 5 which forces most up to pool bar giving delays on service for drinks/coffees etc. for me they should have lanterns, music and make more of a venue for the beach lovers . It is after all Mauritius and certainly has the beach setting.

Would we go back ? Definitely, tomorrow ! would highly recommend. Chilled, relaxing, awesome setting, and well priced allowing you to get out and spend money outside the hotel on other experiences.

The Mauritius people we met were extremely kind, helpful and friendly honest people. Such a clean island and such a beautiful one.

One last thing for £110 you can take the seaplane from the beach and witness the views of Ill Cerf & the coastline/reefs. Views are embedded into memory for life !

Experience it for yourself it's a holiday of a lifetime.

Hakuna Matata :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank todd060470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We took all your remarks into consideration and we thank you for your feedback. It is true that some staff , especially those who have just joined our teams, sometimes have difficulty with accents and we apologise for this.


We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel is not five star luxury, but doesn't pretend to be. As a three star hotel it is fantastic value for money, on an all inclusive package, offers all you could want for a superb holiday on the stunningly beautiful paradise island of Mauritius. The hotel has a stretch of pristine white sandy beach with crystal clear sea just sensational for swimming in, which is cleaned twice a day, and offers the best stretch of beach along the Belle Mare coast.
The rooms are spacious with super sized double beds which are very comfortable and offer a great nights sleep, the decor is fresh and rooms are cleaned to a good standard.
The rooms offer good clothes hanging and shelf space, along with room for case storage, so your not tripping over them during your stay.
The bathrooms are a good size with wash basins, shower cubicle with room for two,and large backlit mirror.
All rooms have a private balcony or veranda with chairs and small table, though the ground floor rooms are open to the garden, and have views of the gardens and some have sea views which are superb.
The staff all speak french and english and offer warm greetings, and are only to eager to help in any way possible, creating a calm, friendly, relaxed atmosphere to ensure a memorable holiday, that we really enjoyed.
The all inclusive package offers ample food in a choice of two restaurants, one buffet and the other al'a carte, every day was a large choice of fresh salads and fruits, with a choice of three main course dishes along with vegetables and rice dishes, and most days offered some pasta dishes also.
The hotel has two bars, one is poolside the other situated beachside, offering a wide variety of soft, alcoholic drinks along with tea and coffee.
The pool is large and very child friendly, the hotel offers a daycare service for young children during the day with activies in a creche area in the gardens, which was popular during our stay.
The entertainment team in the hotel provided activities during the day and evening, including aqua aerobics, beach volleyball,table tennis, amongst others, along with a daily glass bottomed boat trip out onto the reef free of charge.
There are free of charge kayaks, pedalows and surf boards, along with sailing boats, speed boats that are available to hire from the hotels boathouse on the beach, which offer fresh towels for use daily.
This hotel offered us a superb holiday in an awesome destination without paying a fortune, and will be somewhere we will definately be returning to in the future.
As a destination Mauritius is not just a paradise beach holiday, it offers many water sports, unbelievable stunning vistas from the mountains with walking trails, it's great for cyclists, and shopping for clothes, souvenirs, and local produce.

Room Tip: ask for a second floor room for a better sea view and private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ALAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the Team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.2 mi away
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Palmar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,615 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
1.1 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Palmeraie Hotel
La Palmeraie Hotel
#5 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
18.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Palmar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Palmar Beach

Property: Veranda Palmar Beach
Address: Coastal Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius 42210
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Palmar Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE JOY OF SEASIDE LIVING Limpid blue waters, white sandy beaches, shady filao trees… what more could you want? Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel, on the superb east coast boasts one of the most beautiful beaches of the island. The seaside hotel offers the whole gamut of delights that the ocean and the beach guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veranda Palmar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel Belle Mare
Veranda Palmar Beach Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing