We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Veranda Palmar Beach
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Northam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

All the staff where so polite considerate and helpful.
The accommodation was spotless and comfortable with a large ensuite, television, phone and well maintained minibar.
The pool area was clean and attractive with easy access to sun loungers and the bar.
Well maintained and pleasant gardens led down to the beach which housed another bar/restaurant, boat house with beach towel facility and attentive staff. With lots of free activities as well as extra pay ones.
The main dining area was attractive again with terrific staff and the food was superb with plenty of choice.
Thanks Shiva and all the staff. This was a holiday to remember.
I cannot find anything negative to say about our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the beach are quieter than poolside ones. Having said that evening entertainment finis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobDixon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach.
The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the entire team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.
We look forward to welcome you again.
Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    292
    76
    34
    10
See reviews for
304
530
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here back in 2009 on our honeymoon.
We got upgraded to business class because virgin had stopped their direct flights, this was amazing.

The location: we were met by an air conditioned private taxi that took us on our way to this hotel.
It is located on the other side of the island to port louis on the east coast.
you do get a bit more weather on this side. (not a bad thing)

The hotel: the hotel is a small family run complex. with lots of small pools and many small bars. always well kept and always very clean.

The staff were always courteous and well turned out.

The food was different not in a bad way just different to what we have here. always something new to try. We paid extra to have a sea food BBQ. which was going to be on the beach but it blew a gale that night.
This was fantastic.

One tip if you walk down the beach for 20/30 mins you will come across many small huts selling freshly made samosas which were cheap and tasted fantastic.

This hotel is a great little hotel. we have explored most of the island and personally i would go back to this hotel but probably not Mauritius. Lovely but for us only once.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andynohair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

On behalf of my entire team, I would like to thank you for having chosen the Veranda Palmar Beach. Our heartfelt thanks to you for having taken the time to post a review on trip Advisor about your stay. Your experience at our hotel is mostly valued and will inspire the team to strive much more in making our hotel a favourite spot for holidays. Also, please note that the hotel has completely been renovated since August of last year. We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent 12 nights for our honeymoon in May – June this year. The hotel was fine. Lovely beach with beach attendants cleaning it on a daily basis. Water sports to choose from. Booked a couple of excursions with Raj. We visited ile aux coerfs which is a must when visiting Mauritius. Hotels rooms are nice a spacious, as well as the bathroom. Good entertainment at night and activities throughout the day. On the other hand, one very bad thing was that on one evening, we had dinner at the beach restaurant (which is far better than the main restaurant) and when we were walking back up to the pool bar, a coconut fell 2 stories (approx) from one of the trees next to where my husband was walking. When I complained to the reception, the reply I got was ‘I am happy it did not fall on you’ so families with children please be careful as this is very dangerous. The remaining days, we used to look up when walking down to the beach. This was the only issue we had with the hotel, apart from this, we had a lovely time at the Veranda Palmar Beach and would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach.
The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the inconvenience that you mentioned and we apologise if this has caused you to worry. It does not usually happen as the coconuts are gathered before they can fall. Our health and safety team will take the necessary measures to prevent this from happening again. We thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community and we look forward to your next visit.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a great holiday we had at the Veranda Palmar Hotel in Belle Mare. The hotel is not large so you get to recognise and interact with fellow guests and staff. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help. The hotel is very clean and tidy, the bar’s and restaurants working very efficiently. The food and drink were of a very high standard, the restaurant giving a great choice at all meals considering the relative small number of guests. Being all inclusive, the only minor niggle was having to give room number and signing for food and drink. I realise that some guests were not all inclusive but I would not have minded wearing a wristband to identify us as being all inclusive. The pool looked nice but was cold but that may have been because it was the start of the Mauritian winter although the weather was still glorious. It was my wife’s Birthday and at breakfast three waitresses decorated our table with flowers and sang happy birthday. We had booked a meal on the beach but it was too windy so we instead had our meal in a discreet part of the restaurant and the staff arranged a beautiful chocolate cake. One of the housekeeping staff even bought my wife a small gift! We did not venture away from the glorious beach of white sand and turquoise water too often but went out on the (free) glass bottom boat which gave a good perspective of the coastline around Belle Mare as well as seeing fish at the reef (the fish and reef were a little disappointing after snorkelling in the red sea). We walked to the village of Belle Mare along the beach which took around 15 minutes. There is a fantastic gift shop (Dodo Souvenir shop) where the shop assistant was” inverse bartering”. If we picked up one product priced at 100 rupees,the assistant said that we could have two for the price of one! We got a taxi from the hotel to the market at Flacq which was a great half day experience where you can see many types of fruit and veg that I could not start to identify. We also got a taxi to Port Louis visiting the port and substantial market as well as many shops. The taxi drivers were very knowledgeable and always willing to stop for photographs. In both instances the taxi driver waited for us to take us back to the hotel as part of the agreed price. We have fallen in love with Mauritius and would like to return to Veranda Palmar sometime perhaps in the Mauritian summer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cantonian57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community.
We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Veranda Palmar Beach is a nice hotel located directly at the beach in Belle Mare. The rooms are recently renovated with nice furniture and a stylish feel to them.
The pool area is very nice as are the beach.
The service was very good with a helpful staff that tried to make the best of our stay.
We did not go with the all inclusive (which is actually very fairly priced at 40€ per day), but we tried the dinner buffet, which is a part of the AI-deal. That was not good. Tasteless food and weak selection, which made us seek other places to have dinner for the rest of our stay (4 nights in total). Maybe we were unlucky with the dinner buffet, as the breakfast buffet was good.

The pricing of the rooms is extremely fairly set compared to some of the neighboring hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jonas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Member of TripAdvisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach.
The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the few inconveniences that you mentioned regarding the food and we would like to apologise if the food wasn't up to your standards. We nevertheless thank you for your feedback as it will help us improve in the right direction. We look forward to your next visit.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A lovely, quaint resort with everything you need to have a great holiday without breaking the bank, if you take the all-inclusive package. I would rate it 4 star! Clean beach,great for swimming and sun bathing. Comfortable clean rooms, well serviced. The front desk team were excellent, very responsive to any requests we had. The spa service was amazing. The bar service was great, lots of cocktails to choose from. The waiters were superb and so friendly. The beach restaurant was very disappointing though. Main buffet food was a much better option, nice variety, slightly different daily and no spicy Indian dishes. Desserts were not that exciting, but you could find something out of the selection. We had a candle lit dinner , champagne and complimentary spa treatments as extra gifts from management. The water sports facilities were really cool and available every day. Evening entertainment was arranged daily and on some night were outstanding!!! We thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon and the cocktails. Merci pour tous!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MNDurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach.
The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the few inconveniences that you mentioned regarding the food and we would like to apologise if the desserts were not up to your standards. We nevertheless thank you for your feedback as it will help us improve in the right direction. We look forward to your next visit.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic experience! Veranda Palmar Hotel in Belle Mare was superb! The resort caters for everything a family could want and the staff are very friendly and always willing to help. It was our Daughters Birthday and the staff arranged a beautiful chocolate cake and champagne for my wife and I at no extra cost. We will definitely be coming back to Veranda Palmar in Belle Mare.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Member of Trip advisor,

I want to send my heartfelt thanks to you for having taken the time to post a review on trip Advisor about your stay at Veranda Palmar Beach.

Your thoughtfulness about your experience at our hotel is mostly appreciated and will inspire the team to make this hotel an even better place for you to stay in the future.

I thank you also for your excellent rating.
I look forward to welcoming you in the future for other great moments.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.1 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Palmar
3,718 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
768 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Palmeraie Hotel
La Palmeraie Hotel
#5 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Palmar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Palmar Beach

Property: Veranda Palmar Beach
Address: Coastal Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius 42210
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Palmar Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE JOY OF SEASIDE LIVING Limpid blue waters, white sandy beaches, shady filao trees… what more could you want? Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel, on the superb east coast boasts one of the most beautiful beaches of the island. The seaside hotel offers the whole gamut of delights that the ocean and the beach guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Veranda Palmar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel Belle Mare
Veranda Palmar Beach Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing