We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Big Disapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Veranda Palmar Beach
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Big Disapointment”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just arrived back from a ten night stay here.I would stay this place is more like a 2 star all incluseive hotel if that.the food was very repetitive other people have complaind about it befor but it got know better .we even had rats wondering round the pool area one day yuk.My daughter and some other guests had money stolen from they rooms and the management just wanted to cover it up.police was called but they was not much help .I would not recommed this hotel to anyone .Maurtitus is a fantastic place to visit the only let down was this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kel e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you for having taken the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at our hotel, Veranda Palmar Beach for your holidays.
We are sorry to read that you have not enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to express our apologies. We would like to underline however that they were not rats but two tiny voles and that was an isloated incident.

Sunny Regards,
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    298
    79
    35
    10
See reviews for
315
543
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I would not recommend this hotel at all. Myself and other guests had money stolen from our rooms! On reporting this the hotel were more concerned about us keeping quiet than investigating the situation to find out what member of their staff was a thief. To add to insult when reporting the situation the staff tried to tell me I had spent the money without realising! The hotel is all inclusive and I hadn't been anywhere to spend any money. I an disgusted by this. My mum and dad had gone back to their room one night after dinner to find someone had been through their suitcases and moved some of their belongings! I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank stacyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for having chosen Veranda Palmar Beach. We are sorry to read that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to reiterate that when you reported the incident. we have immediately reported it to the police, lead our own investigation and have verified the surveillance videos and did not see anyone entering your room. We are morever sorry to see that all our commercial efforts to make you feel better after your loss of 90 pounds, that you gleefully accepted at the time, have gone unnoticed.

We wish to express our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you had to face during your stay.
Kindly rest assured your comments will be taken into due consideration.
Kindest Regards
Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have recently returned from a two week holiday with friends at the Veranda Palmar Beach on the East coast of Mauritius. We have had a fantastic time with all staff at this hotel making it a very relaxed and special trip. A smaller hotel (77 Rooms) but this gives it a personal touch with staff being attentive without being overbearing. We arrived at 10am in the morning and initially were told our rooms would not be ready for another two hours, after twelve hours of flying, our faces showed our dissapointment and we were in the rooms within ten minutes . On awakening we asked if our rooms could be changed as they were not together as previously requested when booked 12 months ago, we were told that as soon as rooms were available they would try their best. The next day Shiv (manager) apologised and assisted in moving us to adjacent rooms with beach views.The rooms are sizeable, comfortable with tea makings, free mini bar, tv with movie channels. Our summer is Winter in Mauritius, the weather was very good overall but this is a risk you take as we were told by locals our weather was extremely good for July / August. The beach is beautiful and is like a lagoon prior to the coral reef, see through water with plenty of fish on show. Free watersports included are Kayaks, windsurfing, pedelo's, snorkelling. The hotel pool is next to the main bar and even though the hotel was full, we never had a problem with loungers or chairs. The one dissapointment was the lack of the other beach restaraunt as without comment it was not open. The restaraunt food was good with a variety of meats, fish and salads and the chefs would prepare individual dishes if you prefered. Meal were always accompanied by a chioce of drinks, the local beer, Phoenix, was fantastic if a little strong at 6.5% per bottle ! We hired a car via Hertz at the hotel for two days, reasonably priced and a good way of visiting the whole island, local taxis are also readily available. We sourced some scuba diving at a local dive centre and unfortunately our dive boat capsized within the reef and we suffered cuts, bruises and a perforated ear drum. The hotel became aware of the incident and without any responsibilities they were fantastic in providing a local doctor and daily checks on our condition. I can confidently say as a fairly seasoned traveller, the Veranda Palmar staff are amongst the best we have experienced and would highly recommend this hotel and Island.

Room Tip: Ask at reception for a sea view, they will accomodate you if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottwayne44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor.
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach.
The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the entire team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Sunny Greetings

Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel wasn't bad for the price, but it wasn't the best we have stayed in. It was a very small hotel and we already knew this but we didn't realise how small it actually is. There is nothing to do in the evenings and it makes it worse that the resort is in the middle of nowhere. The food was terrible. The buffet was so small and the food was so plain and boring. Even though the resort is supposed to be all inclusive, you still had to pay for some things. In the bar, there are two menus. One of them is the all inclusive menu which has a small amount of drinks that are really boring, and then there's the menu to pay for which is packed full of margaritas and piña coladas and so many drinks. There is also a small restaurant by the beach and the only things all inclusive are a plain pizza and a few other things. If you want a nicer pizza you have to pay. The staff were also very miserable and rude, but most of the waiters were very friendly. Entertainment was very boring, but you would expect that for a small resort. I wouldn't come back to this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MissP_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you for choosing Veranda Resorts. We are sorry you feel this way and we thank you for your feedback. We will work on the few issues that you mentioned and we would like to apologise that we failed to meet your standards. Should you give us a second chance, we would be grateful to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northam, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

All the staff where so polite considerate and helpful.
The accommodation was spotless and comfortable with a large ensuite, television, phone and well maintained minibar.
The pool area was clean and attractive with easy access to sun loungers and the bar.
Well maintained and pleasant gardens led down to the beach which housed another bar/restaurant, boat house with beach towel facility and attentive staff. With lots of free activities as well as extra pay ones.
The main dining area was attractive again with terrific staff and the food was superb with plenty of choice.
Thanks Shiva and all the staff. This was a holiday to remember.
I cannot find anything negative to say about our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the beach are quieter than poolside ones. Having said that evening entertainment finis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobDixon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach.
The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the entire team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.
We look forward to welcome you again.
Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here back in 2009 on our honeymoon.
We got upgraded to business class because virgin had stopped their direct flights, this was amazing.

The location: we were met by an air conditioned private taxi that took us on our way to this hotel.
It is located on the other side of the island to port louis on the east coast.
you do get a bit more weather on this side. (not a bad thing)

The hotel: the hotel is a small family run complex. with lots of small pools and many small bars. always well kept and always very clean.

The staff were always courteous and well turned out.

The food was different not in a bad way just different to what we have here. always something new to try. We paid extra to have a sea food BBQ. which was going to be on the beach but it blew a gale that night.
This was fantastic.

One tip if you walk down the beach for 20/30 mins you will come across many small huts selling freshly made samosas which were cheap and tasted fantastic.

This hotel is a great little hotel. we have explored most of the island and personally i would go back to this hotel but probably not Mauritius. Lovely but for us only once.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andynohair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

On behalf of my entire team, I would like to thank you for having chosen the Veranda Palmar Beach. Our heartfelt thanks to you for having taken the time to post a review on trip Advisor about your stay. Your experience at our hotel is mostly valued and will inspire the team to strive much more in making our hotel a favourite spot for holidays. Also, please note that the hotel has completely been renovated since August of last year. We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent 12 nights for our honeymoon in May – June this year. The hotel was fine. Lovely beach with beach attendants cleaning it on a daily basis. Water sports to choose from. Booked a couple of excursions with Raj. We visited ile aux coerfs which is a must when visiting Mauritius. Hotels rooms are nice a spacious, as well as the bathroom. Good entertainment at night and activities throughout the day. On the other hand, one very bad thing was that on one evening, we had dinner at the beach restaurant (which is far better than the main restaurant) and when we were walking back up to the pool bar, a coconut fell 2 stories (approx) from one of the trees next to where my husband was walking. When I complained to the reception, the reply I got was ‘I am happy it did not fall on you’ so families with children please be careful as this is very dangerous. The remaining days, we used to look up when walking down to the beach. This was the only issue we had with the hotel, apart from this, we had a lovely time at the Veranda Palmar Beach and would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach.
The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the inconvenience that you mentioned and we apologise if this has caused you to worry. It does not usually happen as the coconuts are gathered before they can fall. Our health and safety team will take the necessary measures to prevent this from happening again. We thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community and we look forward to your next visit.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.1 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#10 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
#7 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,764 reviews
2.6 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Palmar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Palmar Beach

Property: Veranda Palmar Beach
Address: Coastal Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius 42210
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Palmar Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE JOY OF SEASIDE LIVING Limpid blue waters, white sandy beaches, shady filao trees… what more could you want? Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel, on the superb east coast boasts one of the most beautiful beaches of the island. The seaside hotel offers the whole gamut of delights that the ocean and the beach guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Veranda Palmar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel Belle Mare
Veranda Palmar Beach Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing