We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant stay! Brilliant food and drink”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Veranda Palmar Beach
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay! Brilliant food and drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Lovely lovely hotel directly on the beach unlike some other hotels where there is a road between your hotel and the nearest beach.
Hotel room was on the first floor over looking the beach and hotel grounds.
Beautifully decorated and pool area was clean and well looked after
Drinks were plentiful and in constant supply
Food was ranged and fresh!
FYI it is very meat and fish based which happened to be perfect for us.
We were on our honeymoon and where treated to a special couple meal with candle light on the Thursday which was lovely.
You must try a massage as the rooms and staff are great at what they do there! :) very relaxed and stress relieving
Wifi reaches just to the beach from the hotel which is amazing as it allowed me to listen to internet radio while sun bathing

Only down side was noisy hotel neighbours, due to winter season refurbishments going on and lack of local entertainment.

Overall a brilliant stay and was a beautiful location

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community.
We have passed your fabulous compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable and memorable one. We shall indeed lay much emphasis to work out the local entertainment programme and will ensure that your next visit will be a much warmer and full of enjoyment.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings

Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    285
    72
    33
    10
See reviews for
295
512
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Recently returned from a fantastic fortnight with our two kids aged 12 and 15. Great, small, friendly resort and so much to see and do on Mauritius. Read a lot of the previous reviews and can't agree with the criticisms; we had an excellent experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NickM163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again .


Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Spent 14 glorious days here. Staff were excellent and some of the best customer service ever experienced. Hotel manager, Shiv, was very attentive particularly after my husband was involved in a boating accident and required medical assistance. The staff were very friendly and professional and all requests were met. Rooms were cleaned immaculately daily and mini bar replenished. The only negative was the lack of extra places to eat. During our stay the rules had changed and the beach restaurant was only available on an al a carte basis. We also found the prices in the Spa were very expensive so were unable to visit for any treatments.
I would happily recommend a holiday at the Veranda Palmar hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,
The entire team joins me to thank you for staying at our hotel and most of all for sharing your holiday experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor.
I am glad to read that your holidays were to your expectations and that we have been able to contribute to its success, despite the few inconveniences that you mentioned.
We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The room was average, but was only used for getting ready and sleeping. shower head was detached from the wall, and after asking the staff to fix it they did nothing so i spent the week using a detached showed head. The food got a bit boring, and was normally overcooked and tough. however the staff in the dining area were friendly. being an all-inclusive, you still had to pay for the good drinks, and the drinks that you got for free were in small little glasses. Had a little shrew infestation as i had seen one large one running about and there were two little ones around the pool one day, yes sanfrandragon, they were shrews, not voles, thankfully i can tell the difference. They would let out a lot of cats to try to sort this out at night, but they do this when everyone is normally asleep so you don't see them during the day which isn't a bother.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sark323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you for choosing Veranda Resorts. We are sorry we feel this way but we thank you for your feedback. We would like to underline that the shrews running around were really a one-off incident and again I would like to apologise on behalf of the hotel. We will work on the few issues that you mentioned and should you give us a second chance, we would be grateful to welcome you back.

Kind Regards


Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have just returned from a lovely restful ten day holiday at Veranda Palmar. We found the staff fantastic, friendly and fun! I see that Kel E has posted that there were rats around the pool, we were there that day and thankfully can tell the difference between a sweet little vole and a rat! The onion field opposite the hotel was ploughed which obviously disturbs the habitat of the vole so two tiny ones had found there way across the road. They were easily picked up and placed back in the field by a staff member.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, we found the food was fabulous, lots of choices. We even had a chat with the chef who came each day to ask our opinions for some of his recipes!
We found Flaque market a good trip out and a day on Ille du Surf ( dodgy spelling) arranged by Raj a brilliant day out, our daughter was even allowed to drive the speedboat back. All in all a faultless holiday, at the end of the day you get what you pay for and we got our moneys worth so thank you to manager Shiv and his wonderful team. The Barrett Family

Room Tip: The rooms nearer the beach are probably the best. Those in the 200 block are close to the staff quar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sanfrandragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community.
We have passed your compliments to the whole team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Myself, wife and two children stayed here last summer and as soon as we arrived were welcomed by very friendly staff.
The rooms were of a good size, very clean, well maintained throughout our stay and most of the mini bar was inclusive.
There was always a good selection of food from the buffet with themed nights to mix up the variety. The waiters/waitresses were extremely helpful and could not do enough for you, they were also very friendly to my children who loved every minute.
The facilities including the pool were excellent and the beach being so close was excellent, with various activities included.
We went on a couple of day tours organised by the hotel and the memories live on, especially swimming with dolphins in the sea, then onto a remote island for food and drink.
I can safely say that we would return and enjoyed our experience in Mauritius.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank paddy428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear member of Trip Advisor,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach.
The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community.
We have passed your compliments to the Team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just arrived back from a ten night stay here.I would stay this place is more like a 2 star all incluseive hotel if that.the food was very repetitive other people have complaind about it befor but it got know better .we even had rats wondering round the pool area one day yuk.My daughter and some other guests had money stolen from they rooms and the management just wanted to cover it up.police was called but they was not much help .I would not recommed this hotel to anyone .Maurtitus is a fantastic place to visit the only let down was this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kel e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you for having taken the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at our hotel, Veranda Palmar Beach for your holidays.
We are sorry to read that you have not enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to express our apologies. We would like to underline however that they were not rats but two tiny voles and that was an isloated incident.

Sunny Regards,
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.2 mi away
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Palmar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
1.1 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Palmeraie Hotel
La Palmeraie Hotel
#5 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
18.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Palmar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Palmar Beach

Property: Veranda Palmar Beach
Address: Coastal Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius 42210
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Palmar Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE JOY OF SEASIDE LIVING Limpid blue waters, white sandy beaches, shady filao trees… what more could you want? Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel, on the superb east coast boasts one of the most beautiful beaches of the island. The seaside hotel offers the whole gamut of delights that the ocean and the beach guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veranda Palmar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel Belle Mare
Veranda Palmar Beach Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing