We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Didnt want to come home!”
other travellers have booked this property
front bedroom balcony side view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front bedroom balcony side view
 this is the beach that our house is on Tropical storm brewing - hot and wet- magical! ( from the daybed )
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
front bedroom balcony side view
this is the beach that our house is on
Tropical storm brewing - hot and wet- magical! ( from the daybed )
closest house to the beach(far left)
you will mostly have the pool to yourselves
huge four poster in bedroom 2
Priceless beachfront view from side dining area ( now covered)
bedroom  1 great bed and sea view
step onto this beach from your front door
seating for 8 in the main room
front line view of the Indian Ocean about 15 footsteps from the door
(good strong showers up and downstairs)
Bedroom 4 (steep stairs but amazing views)
Breakfast bar in a well equipped kitchen-  being refurbished until March 2014
Bedroom 2- biggest room and biggest bed
View of house from pool and beach
very safe warm sea footsteps from the door
the view from here is uninterupted beach
taken from the front doors
you can walk, ride, sail or run for miles in any direction
beat that for a sandcastle !
Huge daybed for people watching
seating for 8 people, indoors and also outdoors
beautiful horses brought to your door for sunrise rides
breakfast on the beach ( almost ! )
Throwing pebbles in the sea from the daybed can be exhausting! ( from daybed )
This canopied additional dining area seats 8/10
bedroom balcony
overlooked by nobody
your walk to the beach bars or shops
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Belle Mare

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Elbullito
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Didnt want to come home!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a fantastic time staying at this property. From start to finish (and we never wanted it to end) this really was a holiday to remember and hopefully not of a lifetime because we would love to go back.
The location of the house really is second to none. Right on the beach which was literraly few small steps away. The sand was lovely and soft altho in parts nearer the sea it had some coral in it but it was great to walk along it which we did every day. Whether it would be to visit one of the hotels on either side with 5 to choose from within 10minute walking distance or to visit the rock pools and hunt for crabs and feed the fish.
Even at night time we enjoyed walking on it, the moon rise was truly amazing and lit up the beach like the scene from a movie.
And it was very safe, there is security in the complex but you never felf like you needed any and it seemed it was only there to control any cars or bikes coming in to pick us up or deliver fresh fruit and fish.

Unfortunately for us The Lux was closed whilst we were there so we didnt get to experience it (reopens on September 1st after a major refurb) but we did go to 3 of the others though and found for a family of 6 on a reasonable budget that the Palmar was perfect. Less than 200m away and they were very reasonable for food and drink - they charged us 4000 MR for 6 to eat their buffet which is about £60 and we all enjoyed.
The boys were also welcome in their pool when we were there during the day. The pool at the beach house is bigger and better tho and we loved having that to ourselves being able to play with frisbies, footballs etc without upsetting anyone else.

One of the things we loved most was just getting up in the morning and sitting outside eating breakfast. Bread was delivered every morning which was very nice but we save some for the tropical birds of all colours who didnt waste time swooping onto the patio and garden.
You also didnt have to get up early to get a sunbed with 6 available to use plus the large garden bed overlooking the sea.
It really was our own peace of paradise.

As well as the birds we did also have a few ants paying an unwelcome visit but we soon learnt to clear up after ourselves - rather the boys did :-). They were only small ants so it wasnt a big problem.

Oh and the house had wifi which was essential for the boys of course and worked fine.


Ravi was recommended by the owners as a local taxi driver/chaperone and he picked us up from the airport and also took us back for our return flight. He was great and ended up taking us on several trips around the island. He was an extremely safe driver and his prices were really reasonable.

Ouma came most mornings (not Sundays) to clean the house which always looked great as you would expect a hotel room to look like by the time she had left with the beds nicely made and every room fresh. Not a bad feat considering there were 6 of us staying.

The owners provided us with lots of information and tips which was very helpful, I would defintely adhere to what Louise says. Next time we'll pack less :-)

Extra info. We stayed in August, supposedly one of the worst if not the worst for weather as its their winter and it wasnt great every day. We had an anti-cyclone that lasted 4 days of wind and patchy rain/cloud and ended with 5 glorious days of clear skies.
The temperature ranged from about 18c at night to 28c in the day and was perfect for us with 3 boys aged 11 to 16 who dont want to sit in the heat and a 2 year old we couldnt keep inside. For us it was very easy to sit an enjoy the sun on one of the many sunbeds.
Preferably we'd have wanted 12 glorious sunny days but it wouldnt put us off coming back in August. There was plenty to see and do on the dodgy days and it always seemed to clear up at some point so the whole day was never a write off. These tropical storms soon pass over.

Overall we would rate this as 9/10. I have missed stuff off I'm sure as I cant say enough positive things about it but whilst we were there we forgot about everything, didnt want to come home and now we cant wait to go back one day - hopefully sooner rather than later.

If you are reading this and deliberating whether to book I would say do it now! You wont regret it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Big Bedrooms, suitable for a large family and a fantastic location
Liked least: Hot water. Had to wait a short time for it to reheat. Not too long but there were 6 but could still all get showered within an hour (helped that 5 were male :-) )
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, UK
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and value for money
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Nov 2013
Wow what a lovely review. Thank you so much, it must have taken you ages to write and I know what it's like when you come back from holiday, always so hectic trying to catch up with day to day things.. Especially after a long journey with a little one.
im so glad that you were well looked after and found the special magic of this place and the people, like we have been doing for years..it has certainly spoilt us for other beach holidays and we have tried a few over the years.
Many thanks again Louise x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris
Reviewed 20 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hildesheim, Germany
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the location and the day bed
Liked least: the rooms are a little bit too dark
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Went dark a little bit too early but it was their winter
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the Indian Ocean
Liked least: The mosquitos and trying to get my deposit returned!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jun 2013
I'm glad you found some aspects of your stay to your liking but sorry you were disappointed with the lack of privacy that you felt whilst staying at our beach house.
You unfortunately stayed at time which coincided with an annual major holiday in Belle Mare where many locals were on holiday and therefore heading for the beach. As you will have discovered they are all lovely people inside and out and a delight to watch as they fish and walk with their families. For some of your stay a rare big family wedding of one of the other other house owners was taking place. Guests at this wedding had booked out many of the usually empty other houses which accounts for it being busier than we have ever known it to be.
As you are used to L'Touserok at 10 times the cost of our Villa, I fear that your expectations of our lovely beach house were slightly unrealistic. I know that you were holidaying alone, probably because you like your privacy. Therefore despite it's private garden and eating areas, choosing our house which is right on one of the best beaches in Mauritius was not ideal for you as there will always be other people on it, especially during a public holiday. Hopefully the rather difficult circumstances that you came home to after your holiday have now eased and life is good once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing