We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long Beach Mauritius”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Long Beach Mauritius”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We are just returned in Italy few days ago. We have been very disappointed by the fact that it is not possible to swim because there are many fun boats that go very fast and very close to the beach!! Why people go to Mauritius, if not for swimming??!! Also the services were not well organized, more than one time, we had to wait for one and an half hour (at the chinese restaurant) before being served and we have a baby of three years old, you can imagine!
The food at the self service restaurant was not sufficiently varied and the personnel seemed they were sleeping and/or trying to work the less they could (also the personnel in charge for the tennis courts were quite lazy). The room was nice and big like the rest of the hotel, but this it is the 20% of the evaluation of an hotel. In the last two years we went to Le Cannonier, on the other side of the island, the room was not as nice as one in Long Beach, but the food was varied and good (and you do not have to pay additional sum for eating simple shrimps) and the service was really great, all the personnel were very kind and ready to satisfy your needs and basicly you could start swimming from the beach. I suggest to the manager of Long Beach to vist Point aux Cannonier to see as an hotel should be runned and do a good job!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,551
    535
    170
    71
    32
See reviews for
808
1,149
35
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I was quite skeptical when deciding to stay for ten nights (during the peak season in early January) at Long Beach as I knew it was quite a new resort which opened just a few months ago. At the end we decided to give it a try because looking at the pictures it felt so different from all the other resorts on the Island. Well, now I have to admit I have such mixed feelings about this experience.

The resort itself is amazing and we were not disappointed. We loved its sleek and smart design (but I understand that it can't suit everyones taste), modern yet with tropical touches. All the common areas, pools and rooms were beautifully designed.

What I really didn't like about my stay was the service. Terrible. From the moment we checked-in we didn't feel welcomed at all. No smiles, lack of communication, people who really don't know what's going on in the resort.
I've been to many 5* hotels around the world and never felt like this before. I could see that some guys from the staff were trying to do their best, and I really appreciated that, but overall the management need to do something to fix this “service” thing as soon as possible.

After some initial problems with our room (once again, the staff seemed to be very annoyed while trying to fix this situation, which was not our fault) we finally moved to another room on the second day.

Rooms.
It's not true that every room is “sea view”. For example, the first two rooms we were shown (247 and 267, both Superiors) had no sea view at all, but were overlooking other buildings and the trees. Apart from this all the rooms, also the standard ones, are spacious, clean and very nicely decorated. The beds are super comfy and the bathrooms are huge, with double sinks, tub and walk-in shower.
Someone here on TA talked about the bathrooms doors so, just to clarify: superior rooms have sliding doors, standard rooms have no doors.
In my opinion the best rooms are the those located in the northern part of the resort: more peaceful beach, close to a beautiful little lagoon and not too far from the piazza where all the restaurants are located. Even better if you're lucky enough to have one of the rooms facing directly the sea.

Restaurants and bars.
Honestly I was expecting more from the food scene at Long Beach; the only exceptions were Hasu, the Japanese (not included in the meal plans) and Chopsticks, the Chinese, super nice settings and food. During our 10 days stay we found buffet in almost every restaurant and that was very disappointing as we didn't want to spend the entire holiday waiting in line for some mediocre food. Also their so called “Italian style deli” restaurant Sapori served buffet dinner every night as part of the main restaurant Le Marche.
Food and drinks are a bit pricey considering the quality and the sloooow service (at Tides we have waited 30 mins for two glasses of wine, and then other 20 mins for the check.. and we were the only ones at the bar!!).
Shores is a very pleasant bar overlooking the sea.. pity that every night it was packed with screaming children. C'mon, it's a bar, not a Kids Club (there's one at the resort, btw)!!!
Breakfast was just average: poor/slow service, no one says 'good morning', lot of tables not cleared up and repetitive food. Not to mention the terrible orange juice.
In my opinion during the peak season they should be at 110% instead of giving a poor service to their guests.
- One night we decided to go out and have dinner at the adjacent One & Only Le Saint Geran and once we arrived there we were greeted by name (never happened at Long Beach even after 10 days there). That's what I call a 5* treatment in a 5* resort, and we were not even their guests! -

Pools and beach.
The beach is lovely though not the best place if you want to swim maybe your place will be the pool. The corals and the rocks are very close to the beach but at the same time it gets very difficult to swim/snorkel due to the annoying boats that run all day in front of the resort.
Maybe it was just because of the busy period, or maybe due to some ignorant guests, but during my stay it was nearly impossible to get a lounger in the pools area and in the beach in front of the main pool. No matter how early we tried to get a sunbed, they were always occupied with flip flops, books etc. Ridiculous. Even more ridiculous is the unwritten rule ( a.k.a. TIPS ) of some members of the staff to reserve the best loungers to some guests who don't even come to the beach. Please, is it a 5* resort or not?
Also the beach service is really poor: nothing is offered to the guests as I experienced in other resorts around the world: no cold towels, no fresh fruit or water or ice creams.. of course I can pay for that (as I did) but in my opinion these are little touches that make great a resort.

Facilities.
At Long Beach there's almost everything you need in a resort: a water sports center, a nice gym, a spa, a (empty) nightclub, kids/teens club. Guests have a preferential access to Le Touessrok golf course on Ile aux Cerfs, but if you don't play golf and just want to visit Ile aux Cerfs (their sister hotel Touessrok owns everything there, from bars to restaurants to sunbeds) there's no preferential access at all: they will call a super expensive taxi to take you to the Trou d'eau Douce and there you can take a boat on your own (this is what we did/what we were told to do by the front desk, but I'm not sure of it as every receptionist used to say different things every time. This guys need some serious training ASAP!). Seems that the hotel taxis are really expensive: 25 Euros for a 5 minutes ride to and from O&O Saint Geran, 45 Euros for a 10 mins ride to Trou d'eau Douce. A rip off. Go outside the resort for a reasonably priced taxi. Based on some reviews here on TA we used a taxi company for our tours on the Island for a very good price.

Would I return to Long Beach? Probably not. We loved the resort but the service was pretty bad. Maybe (hopefully) in a year the situation will be different as the staff will be more trained and experienced. Such a pity a beautiful resort like Long Beach is run so badly. Overall we had a great time in Mauritius so we'll be back soon to this magical island.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank interpol81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We spent Xmas and new year period at long beach and had a fantastic time. The staff were polite and helpful and the kids club was amazing. They were so hospitable and with a child with special needs they couldn't have been more loving, sensitive and inclusive making our holiday even more enjoyable. The sorts facilities were great for both adults and kids too. We had a family room which was great and in an easy location, not too far from kids club, restaurants etc. they were spacious and clean. I would say the only down side if any would be the food, wasn't bad but just wasn't great either and maybe needs to be worked on. We had a great time and would def recommend it to all families.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jumpingkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I don't think this hotel warrants 5 stars. The beach though pretty is disappointing as you can't swim out very far at all. We had a family room which was ok but in a rubbish position because it was a family room and overlooked the concrete jungle that is the hotel. Biggest disappointment for us was the food. We don't want to queue up for our food on holiday, we wanted to sit and be served. As the 10 days progressed the buffet took over and was all that was on offer for both lunch and dinner. It became very dull, like an up market holiday camp.
They need to wake up to what is expected from a five star hotel because at the moment it falls well sort.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

In this resort there are excellent things, and things that definitely are not as you would expect to be from a 5 stars accommodation.
I found the setting and the architecture of the whole complex fantastic, large and comfortable rooms, very nice restaurants and bars, large and beautiful beach with a warm sea, full of corals and fishes. The problem is that you may not swim in such a fantastic sea because during all the day there is a continuous traffic of motor boats going back and forth at small distance from the shore. If you like doing some snorkeling, you may do it only in organized groups unless you stay within 5 meters from the shore.
The level of the overall service offers is heavily dependent on the period you choose to go. I experienced reasonably good service (very nice people, just a bit unorganized though) until January 1st, afterwards it appeared like the whole organization changed. Restaurants a la carte disappeared replaced by a buffet that was day by day dramatically decreasing in quantity, variety and quality. Personnel attending looked halved from one day to the next one.
In summary, the enjoyment of the resort very much depends on the period you go and on the activities you like.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank marcoinviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

People who go to Mauritius usually go for the beach and have the oppertunity to swim. This hotel mocks that objective as there is absolutely no swimming area. I can laze around the pool at my own home, and not have to fly all the way to Long Beach in order to do that. I have never been on a half board package where I have to pay for my water. Such an embarrassment to be part of the group who owns Le Tousrok.
Can't explain how dissappointing my stay was at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Leventis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My husband and I decided to book a holiday to Mauritius for our 1 year wedding anniversary in December 2011. Long Beach Hotel, it's management, together with their staff made our stay an absolutely memorable experience - including a special romantic anniversary dinner and cake. The staff are really committed and try their best to assist.
The room was modern, spacious and very comfortable. The food was fantastic and we ate at the different resort restuarants every night - and the cocktails (must try all). The water sports were great and we tried everything from parasailing to undersea walking. There is even a sports centre with rock climbing and a 4 hole golf course (fun).

Although there were families (with kids), the resort is spacious and big enough to be private, romantic and cater to everyones needs.

Thank You Long Beach for making our holiday and our first anniversary a wonderful one.

Room Tip: Ground rooms, closer to the boat house and restuarants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumeshni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,463 reviews
2.2 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,397 reviews
27.8 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#5 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,330 reviews
2.0 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sun Resorts property, Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort is located on the east coast, along one of the island's longest and widest natural beaches. Opened in 2011, it is an elegant and affable holiday resort featuring a unique blend of island chic architecture and tropical landscape. Its 255 rooms are harmoniously arranged in three semi-circles with wonderful views over the crystal-clear waters of the lagoon, the coral reef and the Indian Ocean beyond. With a choice of 5 restaurants, and an extensive range of activities including free green fees at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, your holiday at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort are a long way from ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing