We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY IN LONG BEACH”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I went there with my wife. Simply the resort should be classified as four not five star. Everything was four star, staff were trying but not so succeeding in offering good service. It is not their fault, the management has to be blamed. Bad value for money. Nothing more to say. I agree with Angie S.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor rooms
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew_Gregory-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

We read your comments with much concern and we feel sorry that you have not been able to enjoy your holidays at Long Beach. We sincerely regret for the failure in offering our services. However, The Management wish to reassure you that constant trainings are being conducted to all our team members in order to improve our standard of services. Nevertheless, please accept our thanks for your valuable comments which has definitely retained our attention for corrective actions and will ensure that other guests are not being treated same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,554)
There are newer reviews for Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,392 - 1,398 of 2,554 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

Our family stayed at the hotel for 15 days in December 2011. The hotel has been opened that year. The rooms were good equipped, very clean. Our butler was one of the nicest persons I have met in my life. The restaurants served food in good quality and we have tried all of the restaurants during our stay. Unfortunately the main restaurant could try a little bit harder with the variety of the meals. In the second week, we had the feeling, we are eating the same food all over again. The staff overall was very friendly. As mentioned above, we stayed as a family and in that time we used a children pram. Unfortunately you have to carry the pram to get to your appartment, but this could be fixed very quick by adding some wood rails for the pram. Also the elevator at the reception was broken very often, which meant you had to carry the pram down to the plaza. But the staff helped, when it was around. The only bad experience was during the checkout, when there were a lot of items added to our bill, which we did not order and the guy at the reception was a little bit stressed and rude. Overall I would still say this is a very nice hotel for a stay in Mauritius.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinKonicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback and have well noted your comment with regards to the repetitive meals which will be passed on to our Chef. We are very concerned to read about your disappointment during checkout. We wish to reassure you that the Management will definitely review the attitude and behavior of our front desk team which we agree with you is certainly unacceptable. We sincerely regret for this shortcoming which enhanced to a bad experience at the end of your holidays.

We hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in the near future for another enjoyable experience.

With renewed thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed at Long Beach for 11 days in November. This hotel is a must! The hotel is beautiful with so much to do - we didn't leave the hotel for the whole of our stay. Tennis courts were fabulous and we always got a court at the time we wanted.

We had a few minor 'niggles' which we raised with the manager early on in our stay, and the hotel went out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect for us. This hotel really wants to do well, so if something isn't as you expect, tell the staff and they will fix it for you.

We can't wait to go back to Mauritius, and we will stay at Long Beach again.

A tip on dining - try Hasu - it is worth it, the food is divine.

A tip on the beach - we found that the end of the beach (sunbeds 001, 002, 003) was the quietest and most pleasant spot.

Book your stay at Long Beach - you will love it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggle_412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

It feels very good to read that our team has gone out of their way to make your holiday a wonderful one. We are delighted to take note that although having experienced a minor shortcoming during your stay you have been well taken care of by all our team.

Thank you for your fidelity towards Long Beach and your valuable comments which are indeed very gratifying.

We will have the great pleasure to welcoming you back to our shores in the near future to get another fabulous experience.

Many thanks indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed at Long Beach for 7 nights (17 Jan- 24 Jan 2013) on our first trip to Mauritius. Upon arrival we were amazed at the beautiful resort although it was quite a bumpy ride to get here from Port Louis. Check in was smooth with friendly staff. It was long walk to our room 326 but we complained after the first night and they moved us to 421 (closer to reception, restaurants and pool area). We were happy with our new room because location was way better however, the safe and fridge wasn't working. I called reception to complain in the morning however, after several calls the safe and fridge were only fixed after 9pm (really frustrating for 5 star hotel).

Pool area was really wow! Staff were very friendly and accommodating however, pool beds were all dirty and stained (kind off gross). The swings by the beach were amazing only problem we experienced was that other guests would dump their belongings on the swings kind of "reserving it" even though they weren't sitting there. So throughout the day for the entire 7 days we were there we didn't get to sit on the swings because whenever we got there someones belongings were there already- this really annoyed us and we felt it was really unfair and inconsiderate!

Overall food was really good- value for money.
The Spa was very nice and after experiencing our first treatment we were over impressed and made appointments to return again only to be highly disappointed! It all started when my pedicure treatment was supposed to be 60mins but ended in 30mins! When I went to the spa front desk to ask why the ladies there just kept lying and defending each other instead of compensating me. I was extremely upset with them and mentioned I'm going to the manager to complain. Then the lady offered me a free head massage for the remainder of the 30mins and begged me not to report them. But, after my terrible experience I did not return to the Spa. I was really going to complain to the manager but my husband talked me out of it. We really don't fancy complaining and causing trouble. We are frequent travellers and enjoy every bit of traveling and discovering new places and I did not want to ruin the last day of our holiday. Overall great hotel but these hiccups must be sorted out!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nabskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

We sincerely regret to read that despite you were amazed with the beautiful Long Beach and the friendly team members, you were somehow disappointed with few services during your stay. We have already raised those issues mentioned with the relative Heads of Departments for corrective actions in order to avoid such shortcomings. However, the Management would very appreciate if this matter could have reach their attention on the spot for remedial action.

Your point with regards to the dirty Pool beds has been well noted and we are pleased to inform you that we are contemplating to change them shortly.

Many thanks indeed for your valuable comments which have indeed taken into consideration for improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Absolutely beautiful location badly let down by terrible staff training. Multinational clientele, with domination of French and British people. Many scandinavian families and a big bunch of loud russians.

THE GOOD
great beach - long, white and almost no guests on the beach. Paradise!
the activities are plentiful and fun. Snorkling outstanding with huge variety of fish.
If you are a golfer, the opportunity to play at the near-by Toussarek link is worth everything.
If you look beyond the East German style reception, the design of this hotel is very high-class.
Best pool area I have ever seen anywhere: one huge pool available for families and a large, airy infinity pool reserved for age 12+ only. No problem to find sunbeds at any time of day.
Absolutely wonderful staff in the kid's club which turned our son's friend's birthday into a lifelong memory. 5 stars is not enough for these ladies!
laidback staff in the boathouse easy to get along with.
Above average buffet food but nothing memorable.

THE BAD
If you travel with teenage children, bathrooms without doors is impossible.
Window blinds don't do the job: so already at six in the morning the room is getting too much rays of sunshine
Food not very good at all: only about 50% of food is included in all-inclusive, so even after one week you are truely out of options for variety.
Flies everywhere, and large amounts of birds in the restaurants which feels unsanitary: other hotels have had better solutions to this.
Extremely long distances in hotel: 150 meters outdoor to get from our room to reception or dining area. This is bad when it is hot (360 days per year) or rains heavily (5 days per year).

THE UGLY
Service in this hotel is a joke! None of the famous mauritian friendliness here. Bar men are slow and uninterested. Waiting staff is bored or even hostile. Reception staff unwilling to help. Only guys deserving a tip is the cleaning staff!
Very poorly trained staff in restaurants. We had to wait 5 minutes for attention, 15 minutes for a menu and one hour to get a hamburger served. 30 minutes wait for coffee in the breakfast unacceptable.
Only restaurant with decent service is the chinese restaurant Chopsticks and I am sure that is only because of the excellent, excellent (if somewhat morose) head waiter. And when we had lunch on his day off, they forgot to serve rice with the "cashew beef" - and no cashews either...
Hotel boast five restaurants but this is misguiding: the italian restaurant is not open for dining, the japanese restaurant does not accept guests on a meal plan which leaves three restaurants, but since food in the sea-side restaurant is terrible (after a one-hour wait), it is in truth only the buffet and Chopsticks that counts. If you (like me) don't like all-you-can-eateries, it is down to one: and you cannot eat chinese every night...

Room Tip: Superior rooms not worth the extra $$$ - only thing you get is one neighbour less.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eighty3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

First of all, please accept our thanks for your comments pertaining to your recent holidays at Long Beach. We take note of your dissatisfaction with regards to the various services/facilities at the hotel which we feel very sorry that you have not been able to take advantage of. We feel very sorry for the shortcoming your were subjected to during your stay.

We value your points and would like to address your concerns relative to the food and beverage services as quickly as possible. It is our goal to restore your confidence in our Resort by solving these problems and preventing it from happening again. The Management would very much appreciate if this matter could have been reported on the spot and remedial actions could have undertaken.

Our Pest Control team thrives hard to eradicate the flies issues twice per week with the various treatments which has proved to be efficient and noted a serious improvement. We nonetheless agree that there is always room for improvement and this is where your positive criticism will definitely help us to improve. Thank you once again for your remarks.

With renewed apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed at Long Beach for two weeks in September 2012. Having never been to Mauritius, we booked this resort based on travel agent recommendation, internet research and web reviews, After a tough year, we were looking for our own piece of paradise, and The Long Beach website appeared to offer everything that we were looking for.... We were attracted by the modern style, the relaxed informality, the variety of catering options and the perceived value of the all inclusive. Without any exaggeration, our expectation was met and then absolutely surpassed and blown away!! Literally from the moment we arrived at reception, the tone and style of the service was made blatantly clear as being relaxing, welcoming and fundamentally a "nothing is too much trouble" culture. I know that Long Beach are in the business of hospitality, but it is easy to take these things for granted, especially when you are surrounded by beautiful weather, warm sea and white sand. Clearly the team here have a fabulous approach to service delivery, and this was replicated across each department and area that we experienced throughout the two weeks. The quality of the accommodation is excellent, Modern, stylish, well designed space. We had chosen a beach front room, and it was literally that, waking up to views of the ocean (We stayed in room 127). The food quality and variety was excellent, and the options available on the inclusive were really quite surprising, in comparison to another experience in the Caribbean. We tried every restaurant, and it is really difficult to choose a favourite, as they offer a different style and atmosphere each time. We even stayed in our room one evening and the room service team recreated the restaurant on our veranda, it was stunning attention to detail! We used the gym every day and the team there were friendly and enthusiastic, in particular Nathan and Vikram, who took us on bike rides and running along the beach. I was very keen for my wife to try Scuba and without doubt the only reason for her overcoming her anxieties was the calm, reassurance from Joel, which enabled her to dive in the lagoon for the first time in her life. We also spent a lot of time on the beach, despite the persistent winds that the island was experiencing at the time, and the attentive service that we received on a daily basis from Kashees and Dharm, was tremendous; a pleasure to chat to, with a pre-emptive approach to service. We saw the same service culture from Marjorie,and Dario in Tides and Mahody, who serviced our room to immaculate standards every day. We could go on, but as you can see, our experience was fantastic, and without doubt we hope to return to Long Beach again in the very near future. Congratulations to you all for creating paradise!!

Room Tip: Opt for a beach front room away from the main piazza if possible, you will not be disappointed.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The beach view supreme room was lovely and all the staff were very attentative aswell as being friendly. We would definitely want to go again and recommend it. We were there for only 7 days but perfect for a winter break.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddycat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,791 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,625 reviews
27.8 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,556 reviews
27.9 mi away
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
#4 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £182 - £640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sun Resorts property, Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort is located on the east coast, along one of the island's longest and widest natural beaches. Opened in 2011, it is an elegant and affable holiday resort featuring a unique blend of island chic architecture and tropical landscape. Its 255 rooms are harmoniously arranged in three semi-circles with wonderful views over the crystal-clear waters of the lagoon, the coral reef and the Indian Ocean beyond. With a choice of 5 restaurants, and an extensive range of activities including free green fees at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, your holiday at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort are a long way from ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing