We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful about going here between July-Oct”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Tring
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Be careful about going here between July-Oct”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a fantastic hotel, location, service etc. and on that basis alone I would give a rating of 5. However, we were recommended by people in the vacation industry to go here for our honeymoon in August. When we arrived it was 17C and cloudy, we asked what was with the weather, we were told that at this time of year its mid-Winter in Mauritius and that’s what it’s like. By 6PM it was night-time and pitch black. In August the island has a very strong winds from the east (southern hemisphere) and this Hotel is on the east coast. We were given a free upgrade to 1st floor beach front apartment, the winds were so strong that we couldn’t sleep at night and has to ask to change rooms.

As we went out for our 1st romantic meal we were greeted with cold , horizontal rain and pitch black darkness that was more like a dark winters night in England and we wonder why we had spent a lot of money and 12 hours in a plane when we could have had better weather in Cornwall. There was some days when we didn’t get much rain and the Sun did come out too but the wind never died down. It was always too windy to stay on the beech which was beautiful.

We were told by the locals that the weather is nice from November onwards…

Bottom line, we should have checked ourselves what the weather is like at that time of year and not relied upon the recommendation of our relations, so unfortunately the rating goes down to just 2…

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TringChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,551
    535
    171
    71
    32
See reviews for
809
1,149
35
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I'm writing this sat by the infinity pool as I don't think I'll be able to bring myself to think about Longbeach when I get home without becoming extremely sad.

This place is perfection. The room, dining, beach, activities, gym, pools, and most of all the service is beyond comparison. They've thought of everything. Seats, beds and jacuzzi beds in the pools. Branded spirits included in AI. Free sailing lesson & lots of free watersports. Minibar stocked to the hilt.

Just a tip for the ladies - don't do what I did & bring 12 pairs of heels... Wooden decking really only suited to flipflops even at night. That's the worst thing I can say! Just utterly perfect here. The staff here are so lovely and they have a fab band on every night too. Clearly the management here are top notch.

Thank you Longbeach for making our honeymoon perfect. We've got 6 days left and are already planning to book for our 1st anniversary next year.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank facheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have just come back from Long Beach hotel where we spent 11 nights; it was an amazing experience. The hotel is superb above our expectations. We were staying in a seafront view room which we highly recommend.
We have tried the 4 out of 5 restaurants available and the food exceptionally good in all of them.
The staff is very professional and at the same time friendly.
We recommend this hotel and we hope to go back one day.

Fabio e Francesca

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I write this review whilst still at Long Beach having lunch in the Italian restaurant. This hotel is the most modern and beautiful place I have ever stayed in. The attention to detail in everything is like nothing I have ever experienced before. The staff are amazingly attentive and friendly and the food in the restaurants and the buffet is something Gordon Ramsay would be proud of. The manager is constantly around guests speaking to them being very proactive and making sure everything is satisfactory. The rooms are spacious and modern with a mass of storage space for clothes. The evening band are uplifting and very talented and are based in a bar area that you would find in posh part of Chelsea.This hotel has to be experienced in the all inclusive package as it can be expensive. I don't think we will find a hotel to rival this and are already talking about coming back with 7 days of holiday still left to go.
Nick Taylor and Fairuz Awenat

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickTaylor1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Long Beach was the first leg of our honeymoon & definitely started the trip as we meant to go on! After a 12 hour night flight we were delighted to be greeted with cold face towels & the quickest & easiest check in I have ever experienced! Although it was only 8am our room was ready & waiting, as were staff to welcome us & give us all the info we needed for our stay. The room was beautiful - modern yet luxurious with a lovely big balcony with sea view. The many options for meals were brilliant & I don't think I could fault anything we ate here. The honeymoon dinner by the beach was lovely with the personalized "mr & mrs" menus helping to make the evening special. Staff in all areas couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. The spa was great and the free glass bottom boat was a fun addition. The check out process was smooth and we were able to process most of the paperwork the night before which was much appreciated with an early flight! Definitely recommend Long beach & hope to go back some day!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elainetaylor_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Superb accommodation, great food from many exotic various country restaurants all 100 metres from pristine crystal clear tepid water teeming with a multitude of marine life. What more could we wish for on this idyllic island resort.
I tell you what.
Reasonable alcohol prices. This hotel is a RIP OFF with wine and spirit charges. With superb quality South African wines available in local supermarkets at very reasonable prices how can Long Beach justify the outrageous prices in their restaurants?
Pity but just another example of take the tourist for a ride, Not me 1st class guest house for my next visit to paradise thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunercenturycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights at long beach and it was simply stunning! Check in was quick ( less than 5 mins) and thoroughly enjoyed food at all the restaurants especially thides. Thanks to Nadia for allowing our parents to visit us for a couple of hours. All staffs from manager to room service were the best.

Only issue now is that i hesitate to book other resorts as am not convince i will get same service as good as long beach ;)

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Khaaliq F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,463 reviews
2.2 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,397 reviews
27.8 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#5 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,330 reviews
2.0 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sun Resorts property, Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort is located on the east coast, along one of the island's longest and widest natural beaches. Opened in 2011, it is an elegant and affable holiday resort featuring a unique blend of island chic architecture and tropical landscape. Its 255 rooms are harmoniously arranged in three semi-circles with wonderful views over the crystal-clear waters of the lagoon, the coral reef and the Indian Ocean beyond. With a choice of 5 restaurants, and an extensive range of activities including free green fees at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, your holiday at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort are a long way from ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travelbag, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing