We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome rooms awesome property!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome rooms awesome property!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The resort has nice and luxurious rooms. the entire property is beautiful and serene. lot of activities, great facilities and a beautiful garden and beach. Located on the windy side of the Island.
Must visit!

Room Tip: it is the windy side of the Island!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meetrajat_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daren M, EAM at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Greetings from Long Beach. It is with immense pleasure reading from you and your positive comments. Please feel free to contact us should you need any further information on your future stay. Stay well and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Sincerely yours, Daren M (daren.moodely@longbeach.mu).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,479
    513
    160
    70
    30
See reviews for
765
1,100
32
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very disappointed with LBH. The quality of the food is poor, particularly its Italian restaurant Sapori. Service is bad. Our room was not cleaned until 6pm. There is some smell with quilt. WiFi is not reliable and very very slow. Some very ridiculous rules. Non-hotel taxi, which is cheaper than hotel taxi is not allowed to pick up guests, even though the guests have booked the non-hotel taxi. We arrived the hotel at noon with no complementary bottled water in room, as the hotel only provides bottled water only in the evening.

It doesn't worth the name "Luxury hotel" at all.

Room Tip: Very disappointed with LBH. The quality of the food is poor, particularly its Italian restaurant Sap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yaya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daren M, EAM at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Greetings from Long Beach. We have taken good note of your very constructive comments and we do take them very seriously. We would be much grateful to you if you kindly accept to send us an email so that we can look together forward to your next stay among us where we promise to make amend of the mentioned issues. Again we thank you for your feedbacks. Stay well and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Sincerely yours, Daren M (daren.moodely@longbeach.mu).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roodepoort, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I cannot fault this hotel in any way only that there webpage does them no justice
The hotel is really beautiful who ever the architect was did an amazing job if the wind is howling on the beach you just move back to the pool area for peace and tranquility. the rooms are big, quiet and spacious.The hotel has 4 restaurants, all of which are good spoil t for choice.
beach is beautiful and tons to do 10 days was not enough will have to do this again!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M0ni37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daren M, EAM at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Greetings from Long Beach. It is with immense pleasure reading from you and your positive comments. Please feel free to contact us should you need any further information on your future stay. Stay well and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Sincerely yours, Daren M (daren.moodely@longbeach.mu).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

There were a few issues.
Generally I liked the place a lot, nice spacious room with large bathroom, fantastic main swimming pool and loved the infinity pool, loved the modern feel and liked the impeccably kept grounds.
Had a few issues with the service, especially in Sapori restaurant when we waited nearly an hour until our food arrived. I had the lamb shank which didn’t taste anything like lamb! On another occasion when only Sapori and Le Marche were open, I tried to book a table in Sapori, to be told that there was no need to book and just turn up. Turn up we did and there were 2 tables free outside which we asked to dine at……”These tables are reserved, sir”. Reserved?!! How can they be reserved when it was not possible to book a table for that evening? Strange to say the least! We didn’t want to sit inside so we walked away.
Again, in Tides restaurant we waited for over 30 minutes for drinks and then we find out that there are a few things not available on the menu including ‘Catch of the Day’! How can a fish restaurant not have a ‘Catch of the Day’?! Apart from this, the food in Tides was good. However some of the restaurant staff really do need a kick up the backside!
We were booked in the all-inclusive package and we knew that the Japanese restaurant was not included in this which was fine. So, obviously we thought all the food in the other restaurants would be part of the “all-inclusive” package……………sadly it was not, with some items on the menu requiring a supplement to be paid. Why don’t they make this clear before booking?
However, we tried to not let these small but important things to spoil our holiday and did have a great time, and some of the staff were very good and provided excellent service. Housekeeping were very good with turn down service every evening. Had lunch on the beach every day, and the guys that run the beach service were great. Shores Bar in the evening was good with music every evening and the male singer had a particularly good voice. The service in Shores Bar was excellent which was mostly down to SAMUEL who was simply brilliant, he eyes were everywhere and always kept an eye on when the guests needed service. He will surely move on to a better more exclusive hotel soon as he simply shone above everyone else.
Would I go back to Mauritius………YES most definitely I hope to, but I will not stay a Long Beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 10AFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daren M, EAM at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Greetings from Long Beach. We have taken good note of your very constructive comments and we do take them very seriously. We would be much grateful to you if you kindly accept to send us an email so that we can look together forward to your next stay among us where we promise to make amend of the mentioned issues. Again we thank you for your feedbacks. Stay well and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Sincerely yours, Daren M (daren.moodely@longbeach.mu).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had an amazing stay at Long Beach in December 2014. The hotel has a great pool area with shadow and a nice bar. The staff was fantastic! The restaurants offered a wide range of international food. Lots of fun at the beach with snorkling and paragliding. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 70042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daren M, EAM at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Greetings from Long Beach. It is with immense pleasure reading from you and your positive comments. Please feel free to contact us should you need any further information on your future stay. Stay well and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Sincerely yours, Daren M (daren.moodely@longbeach.mu).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at the Long Beach in Jan 2014 for little over one week. After a few days we left the hotel early for its sister-hotel Le Touessrok, because there was disturbance from a big group of hotelguests from Pepsico France. Although the change of hotels was not planned, it turned out exceptionally great, all thanks to the magnificent management of Long Beach. But more on that later.

The hotel itself is very well designed; modern architecture, clear edges, and good situated facilities are some of the great features of the hotel.

As we were seeking for a quiet, relaxing vacation from the stress at home, we contacted the hotel in advance to ask for a quiet room in a specific sector of the hotel (on the hotel's webpage we found a resort map) The front-desk manager Navin took great care of our request and we got what we think is one of the best superior beach-front rooms in the resort.

The food in the restaurants is excellent. We had the chance to try every single one and were never once disappoited. Espacially the Japanese restaurant called Hasu is worth a visit, though one has to pay a supplement if half-board is booked.

Regarding the service provided by the staff: (because some other reviews state poor service quality)

Restaurants:
all our visits to restaurants were very pleasant and we felt very well taken care of. The staff was always friendly and tried its best to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The only thing I have to mention, is that the male waiters, especially in Le Marché (the buffett restaurant) sometimes seem to lack the motivation to work as efficient as their female colleagues, who really always worked swift and without any visible bad attitude. Sometimes small mistakes happend, which might accur due to lack of experience in service, but this was never a big issue, since everybody starts at some point. All in all we always enjoyed ourselves.

Reception:
The reception staff worked swiftly and efficient. We had a very well wecome when we arrived by the front office manager Navin who was, as mentioned above, also in contact with us before we arrived. He assured us again that we will be very satisfied with our room when we arrived and as said befor, we were!

Housekeeping:
The housekeeping staff worked quietly and up to our expectations. One night we found two swans made out of towels and some rose blooms on our bed wich was a very nice suprise after dinner.

Porter:
One of the porters picked up a fresh coconut from a tree and served us the contents in our room at our departure day. Also a very nice suprise.

Spa:
We took a massage there and it was a nice experience. The staff is friendly and competent. The spa itself is situated a few steps away from the main resort, but is easy to reach within 3 minutes of walking.

As I already stated at the very beginning, we left the hotel early for its sister-hotel Le Touessrok. The people from the beverage company had a big tent errected on the beach and also in the plaza there was some stage building going on. After the sound-check of the disco and lighting systems on the beach we immediately contacted Navin and he stated what we already feared: the company will stay four days and on the evening of day 1 there will be an open-end-beach party. Problem was that the party would take place just in from of our room. Navin offerd us an upgrade into Le Touessrok without any hesitation, telling us that he is very sorry for the inconvenience, remebering that we spefically requested a quiet room because of our need for relaxing. He organized the transfer and an upgrade into a suite. We had a nice farewell from him and the entire reception staff. Two thumbs up for that service quality.

So all in all the stay in Mauritius was a very pleasant vacation with the unexpected benefit of seeing two of the most beautiful resorts on the island. For our experiences in Le Touessrok take a look at our review on the corresponding tripadvisor page. We can reccomend Long Beach to anyone who seeks modern architecture, a nice 900m long beach, crystal clear waters, nice food, a lot of outdoor activities (we could not even try everything) and friendly staff.

Room Tip: The Superior Beach Front Room was great. We had a room directy on the beach in sector R which was te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daren M, EAM at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Greetings from Long Beach. It is with immense pleasure reading from you and your positive comments. Of course we apologise again to have disrupted your stay with us with you going to le Touessrok. But we feel that your comfort is very important. Please feel free to contact us should you need any further information on your future stay. Stay well and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Sincerely yours, Daren M (daren.moodely@longbeach.mu).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Ok so when your doing a twin centred holiday your bound to compare the two hotels. The first hotel we stayed in, in Dubai was a 4 star hotel on half board, when we came to long beach, Mauritius, 5 star all inclusive for our honeymoon, at the end of march, we obviously expected it to be better!
So this hotel is absolutely lovely, Mauritius is a beautiful island, When we checked in we received a refreshing welcome drink and were shown to our room, the rooms are spacious, clean, modern and well presented, however, I was disappointed that the honeymoon package that is advertised on the hotel website had not been put into place, we were expecting a fruit basket, sparkling wine amongst other things, I thought maybe they've forgotten. You only plan on having one honeymoon and when you do you want it to be extra special. The next day I spoke to our holiday rep about it during our welcome meeting, she spoke on the phone to the hotel, in French, but I got the feeling that there was a disagreement. I said i don't want this to be a fight, if there's a problem then it doesn't matter, it's not the end of the world.
The next day we were rung up to ask if we wanted some sparking wine and the following day we were rung up to see if we would like a candlelight meal, I declined the candlelight meal, it felt forced and it wasn't special any more, I felt like it was an effort for them to do this for us. We spoke to another couple staying in the hotel who were celebrating their 45th wedding anniversary, they told me about the things they had received in their room, sparkling wine, flowers, fruit basket, I wish the same effort could have been made for us. Nobody even congratulated us. It's the small things that really make a difference. The rep informed me that it was Virgin that had not booked the right honeymoon package for us, however on our confirmation letter, the package that had been booked seemed to be the same as in Dubai and that hotel made a massive effort to make our stay extra special.
Ok so that's the negative out of the way, other than that this hotel is excellent, the staff are polite and friendly and efficient. The service is impeccable. The room service is brilliant and they are constantly making sure you have enough to eat/drink and if everything is ok with your room. The food is brilliant too, I am extremely fussy with food, but there's plenty of choice in the five different restaurants you can eat in. The all inclusive option is brilliant, in the mini bar there is branded items, like coca cola and sprite. The pools and hotel facilities are lovely, all extremely clean and well maintained.
I would have given this hotel a 5 star rating if it wasn't for the issues surrounding our honeymoon.
The disappointment I felt about our honeymoon package has absolutely no reflection on the staff who are amazing.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HannahJMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daren M, EAM at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Greetings from Long Beach. We have taken good note of your very constructive comments and we do take them very seriously. Please accept our apologies on the delay of this acknowledgement. We would be much grateful to you if you kindly accept to send us an email so that we can look together forward to your next stay among us where we promise to make amend of the mentioned issues. Again we thank you for your feedbacks. Stay well and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Sincerely yours, Daren M (daren.moodely@longbeach.mu).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
2.0 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
35.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,286 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,242 reviews
27.8 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
2.2 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sun Resorts property, Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort is located on the east coast, along one of the island's longest and widest natural beaches. Opened in 2011, it is an elegant and affable holiday resort featuring a unique blend of island chic architecture and tropical landscape. Its 255 rooms are harmoniously arranged in three semi-circles with wonderful views over the crystal-clear waters of the lagoon, the coral reef and the Indian Ocean beyond. With a choice of 5 restaurants, and an extensive range of activities including free green fees at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, your holiday at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort are a long way from ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Travelbag so you can book your Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing