We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orchid Villas Mauritius
Wakefield
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Dream holiday!”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We managed to to stay here for 10 days,on very short notice as the villa we were due to stay turned out to be a "dive!" The owners were wonderful, helpful, and genuinely caring. The restaurant next door was superb and the staff excellent! Would definatley stay again!

Room Tip: All the Villas are well placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidw367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    33
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
42
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We found Orchid Villas by happy accident when on honeymoon in Mauritius earlier this year. We were staying in Trou D'Eau Douce and looking for somewhere to have lunch. We spotted Seasons restaurant as we neared Belle Mare and decided to call in. We were given a warm welcome and chatted to the owner over a leisurely and well-prepared meal.

We were already planning to return to Mauritius later in the year and were happy to be given a guided tour of the site. We saw that each of the six villas was sited in a private plot, surrounded by vibrant tropical vegetation, with a driveway in which to park a hire car and a private, crystal clear swimming pool immediately in front of the villa. On the first floor, accommodation comprised three good sized double bedrooms (all with AC), with two fully equipped bathrooms, one of which was en suite, On the ground floor, we found a spacious lounge with widescreen TV, comfortable sofas and a dining table & chairs, plus a good sized kitchen area with double sink, hob, fridge/freezer, small oven, microwave, kettle and breakfast bar with stools - and a lavatory with sink.

Back in the UK, we remembered Orchid Villas when planning an extended Winter trip and made enquiries by email.

We have now been here for the best part of a month and cannot imagine finding a better place to stay in Mauritius whilst exploring the island. Our hosts are unfailingly warm, courteous and helpful and the same is true of all the staff working here - the maids who clean the villa daily, the security guard who mans the gates, the diligent gardener who makes it a delight to look out from the villa each day, the cooks in the attached Seasons restaurant who offer a varied menu of well-prepared Mauritian, Oriental and Indian cuisine and the waiters who serve at table, If you are not exploring the island or lounging by your pool, you can access miles of beach by simply crossing the road.

My wife and I have visited Mauritius three times in the past few years and we much prefer the scenic and quieter east and south coasts to the more commercial and tourist orientated west and north coasts. For us, Orchid Villas is a perfect base.

CDP (December 2012)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We were a family of 3 adults and a 3+ year old kid who stayed for a week at Orchid Villas in 3rd week of October 2012. This was a first time for us booking a villa directly... it was my wife's idea and we were actually prepared to forfeit the initial deposit amount if we found the villas not nice. Not only we stayed there all 7 days - but were bowled over by the hospitality provided. Some of the things I would like to share with everyone:

- Villas are exactly what they promise and look like in the photographs. They are all new and everything works.

- The restaurant is awesome - we had all our dinners there. Not only is the food good, it is better priced as well. And we are vegetarians - yet we got decent food there all days.

- Service is very good. Restaurant staff serves you food @ your villa with a smile. Daily villa cleaning happens perfectly. If you are in your private pool - someone keeps the water running for you to enjoy. If you have an issue with anything, the owners themselves take a keen interest in getting them solved.

- Hospitality is something that moved us the most. For example, we did not know that restaurant is closed on Sunday... when we contacted the owners (who stay in one of the villas) for options around; they actually cooked for us in their home and brought food over for us. When there were cockroaches that came in (yes they do - only if you keep the doors or windows open post sunset), the owner himself brought a insect killer from his home and got security to clean everything up. When I had to check my flight status, the owner lent me his laptop in the restaurant to check things out. And all this, always with a smile and warm feeling.

- The location is decent for the cost. The beach is across the street and you have to cross the length of the hotel on the beach to reach it.

And lastly, it is very competitively priced. The property, the services, the hospitality that you get for the cost you pay - trust me, its awesome. Reccomend it to anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: All villas are exactly similar... so don't worry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vdgandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We had a great stay at Orchid Villas from 15 July to 28 July 2012. Orchid Villas is a small resort that consists of 6 villas. The resort is fully fenced and the entrance is guarded 24 hours a day. Each villa has a well maintained enclosed garden with a private swimming pool. Our villa was tastefully and luxury decorated. A flatscreen tv, a fully equipped kitchen, three airconditioned bedrooms and two bathrooms were included.

My girlfriend and I mainly visited the island for kitesurfing. The resort is located 500 meter (0,3 mile) from Belle Mare beach. Belle Mare has a beautiful flat water lagoon located behind the reef. This spot is great for beginners and freestyle kitesurfers. The windconditions were pretty consistent. During our 13 day stay we had 11 days of wind between 15 and 20 knots. The wind seems to be the strongest during the early morning and the late afternoon.

The resort is owned by a couple who really care about their customers. We will definitely return to this great place!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivo_vE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Beautiful and comfortable place with private swimming pool. The beach is just a stone's throw away. It has an inhouse restaurant with great food and very friendly and helpful staff. Had a memorable holiday. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quaids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle Mare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The place is very beautiful. and comfortable,. The people are very nice and polite. There is a personal swimming pool, a beautiful garden and wifi coverage. You can reach the beach in a 5 minutes walk and reach the towns of the eastern coast in few minutes by car. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riccardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Orchid Villa’s has been just perfect for my girlfriend and I. The Villas themselves are very clean and tidy, massive rooms and loads of cupboard space. We always felt like we had total privacy within the compound, and the added comfort of 24hr security at the front gate. I would have to say this place is great value for money as well as been centrally located. We hired a car and made day trips all around the island, basically it took an hour to reach any part of the island.
The staff and owners were always there to make your stay more comfortable and expressed they had an open door policy for any enquirers.

This is one place you should definitely keep in mind.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.3 mi away
La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#10 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
#6 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,588 reviews
2.2 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
808 reviews
0.5 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Villas Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Villas Mauritius

Property: Orchid Villas Mauritius
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchid Villas Mauritius 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream of whispering waves & palm-shaded holidays? Our Guests will be delighted with the warm welcome, tranquility, privacy & exclusive amenities of the villas. Each villa has its own private pool, a spacious veranda for serene evenings, a fully equipped kitchen, dining area and air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms. A comfortable home away from home ambiance for your personal enjoyment. Whether you're looking for lunch, dinner or just a hearty appetizer, the Seasons Restaurant & Bar has something to match your appetite! Our chef and his culinary team use all freshest local market ingredients to offer authentic an Mauritian Cuisine and a wide selection of European and Asian Cuisine. The East coast of Mauritius is in fact the place for real "sea, sand and sun" holidays in Mauritius. Not only home to the largest lagoon in Mauritius, the East coast offers a multitude of local attractions ranging from Historical to Touristic, namely Ile-aux-Cerfs, Trou-aux-Douce fishing Village, Flacq Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orchid Villas Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Villas Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing