We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Residence Mauritius
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My wife and I have just returned from our 3rd two week visit to this wonderful hotel. We have travelled extensively, either on holiday or for business, and stay in 5 star hotels, so we can compare The Residence with other hotels around the world. We very rarely return to the same hotel, however good it is, because we like to experience different hotels

So what has drawn us back for a 3rd time to The Residence? Well we won't go into the same details we've said in our previous 2 reviews in 2008 and 2010, because they all still apply. The location, design, accommodation, food and atmosphere are all simply first class.

But what sets this hotel above others are the staff.

We will not mention all the outstanding individuals here , they are too many to name, but we will highlight Pradeep, Raj, Rajesh, Desire,Jean- Claude, Emerith, Sam, Ally, Bruno, Ali, Vikram, Rama, plus the day butler who daily changed the flowers my wife loved - all upheld the very high standards of this top class hotel and create a culture which is simply marvellous. And there were many more, including the reception staff and poolside attendants who were so attentive and very friendly and the housekeeping staff who did the most outstanding job of cleaning. Everyone simply could not do enough for us.

From top to bottom they are the best team of hotel staff we have experienced anywhere in the world. It's like coming to meet friends whose only aim is to make the experience the best it can be. From the moment you arrive, and the bell is struck to announce your arrival, it's a 5 plus star journey. Check -in , after a 12 hour flight is done in your room and is so quick and easy - just what you need. We had the same butler as last time , and he unpacked and laid out our clothes beautifully. Our room was a ocean view room and whilst the junior and senior suites are lovely, we find Zelda 2013's comment about the "small and cramped" rooms simply unbelievable - they are large, spacious and beautifully furnished and maintained, and you should not be put off by Zelda's snobby and misleading sneers.

The staff are always prepared to go the extra mile - the terrace manager asked if we'd like a fish for lunch, not on the menu, and had it cooked specially for us ( no extra cost) The butler who kept the flowers fresh, the poolside attendants who were so attentive. And I had a birthday, which the hotel made so memorable - aperetifs, drinks, best table specially dressed, special menu and dessert, birthday cake - it was wonderful! The pastry chef Stephane produces the most wonderful deserts, so if they're your thing, go here!

In successful businesses, one of the key factors driving success is something called "discretionary effort" - it's where employees come in early, stay late because they want to finish a task. It's where employees will do whatever it takes, even if it's not in their job description, and not in the expectation of more pay or reward. In other words they choose to do it not because they have to, but because they want to.

The Residence has this in abundance, and it's what separates it from other, more expensive hotels

The drinks are expensive -( eg a Phoenix local beer is just under £4) - but this is what you pay in 5* hotels around the world, so if it's a problem , go and stay somewhere else. And the VIP card is is well worth it - for lunches and discounts off drinks and purchases.

The weather in mid September to mid October is really very pleasant - temperatures are in the upper 70's, and the breeze can be very welcome at times. You will get the occasional shower, but these blow over quickly, typical of an island, and they rarely inconvenience much.

So will we return? You bet - when you find a real gem like The Residence, it's an easy decision to make and we will be back there next year

Room Tip: Go for ocean view rooms if available. Garden rooms are just as nice, and have a sea view, but more r...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keekee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

We are immensely pleased to read once again your wonderful comments on Trip Ad visor and take this opportunity to thank you for choosing The Residence Mauritius to spend your holidays. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and you enjoyed the resort thoroughly.

Our staffs are ready to go all the way out towards making our guests happy and we will ensure that the guests continue to experience the 'simplicity', the 'genuine desire to serve' and the 'passion to excel' of our team members all the time and through the resort.

The entire team of The Residence Mauritius thank you for the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another wonderful experience.


Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,623)
There are newer reviews for The Residence Mauritius
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

The Residence is a hotel for those who would like to stay by the pool side and not explore. There is not much to do at the hotel and not much outside the hotel. I am not talking about activities, it just does not have any character. We are well travelled and are lucky enough to visit 5 star beach destinations at least once or twice a year.

The beach - is not that great, nothing compared to the Seychelles, Maldives,Philippines, Cook Island, Fiji or Thailand! The water is clear here and there but there is lots of boats and also some kind of net that stops you swimming further. I think this is to protect you from the local boats, but it does not give you much room to swim about in. Great for those who like to take a little dip... but not for those who love swimming.

Weather - In September the sea and the pool was freezing!! temperatures similar to the sea in UK in the summer.Some days tt was soo windy and cold, you would get guest sitting around the pool with their hoodies on! The location of the resort does not help as it is on the east side of Mauritius which is the where you get the south east winds battering the coast..

Rooms - We stayed in the top room - colonial suite - which was really beautiful. The bath room with the dressing room was simply amazing! and our room boy/butler was great. One down side is that they dont offer duvets, just blankets and although the bed was beautiful it was rather hard.I would not liked to have stayed in the other rooms, they looked small and cramped and on top of eachother.

Drinks - were really expensive - you are looking at £8 for a glass of wine. Better to buy all your drinks at the duty free. Do always check your bill before you sign, sometimes they make mistakes - for example there was a number of times when they put the more expensive wine on my bill.

Entertainment - The bar in the evening has no atmostphere and they use the same band every night, when you are staying at the resort for a week or more this can drive you mad! Also the band can't sing.

Food - We really enjoyed the seafood buffet, which is offered once a week. However apart from that the food was over priced and rather dull. There are only really two restaurants at the resort. The Dining Room and The Veranda is in one place. The Pavilion is much nicer and probably the best restaurant, but the menu is just so boring and similar. I found myself eating the same thing every day. Vedict on food - Boring, Bland and Overpriced. Please do go for the VIP club card, you will save a lot of money.

Facilities - not much - everything is around the pool area, even the underground spa and gym ( i dont know why they made it under ground when you could have had some lovely views of the beach). and apart from the Plantation restaurant on the otherside on the hotel there is nothing else.

Service - in consistant. Some staff were really great , howver the others let the resort down, as they did not know what they were doing or understand what you were asking them half the time.

All in all - the resort offers five star prices but delivers a 3 star food and facilities( apart from the top rooms). The service is ok.. but we have had much better.

I would not go there again, the hotel has an atmosphere of a cheap all inclusive resort! Sorry..

Maldives, Seychelles, and East Asia any time! better value for money and better beaches and facilities.

If you have to go to Mauritius then go to the West side or North West, North. If the location was better we would have enjoyed our holiday more.

Room Tip: Colonial Suite - you have your own private terrace and the rooms are huge. The other rooms looked cr...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zelda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking your time to post your review about The Residence Mauritius on the Trip Ad visor. We do note that you were not satisfied with some aspects of your stay with us.

We have a dedicated team to look after our guests and ensure that they do spend a good time in our hotel. We do encourage all guests to speak about anything they may not be happy with whilst they are still at the hotel hence giving us the chance to assist and recover on any service deficiency

Many of our guests do leave the hotel and do excursions as well as other activities and hence will not spend the whole time within the property

We wish to assure you of our untiring effort into taking appropriate measures with regards to the issues brought forward and will definitely reconsider them to maintain part of our passion; to respect and serve our guests.

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to bring clarifications to your review and we wish you to enjoy your holidays for your future trips whatever the destination you choose to visit.


Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

By far one of the classiest hotels in Mauritius, whenever on business in Mauritius or vacation I always find some time to stay whether it be 1 night or 7!

Fantastic throughout a real credit to the hospitality industry, no more needs to be said!

First class.

Room Tip: any room in this hotel!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We have just returned from 10 wonderful days at The Residence. It was our first long haul trip with our 7 month old baby and we spent a long time deciding where to go but we are SO pleased we chose The Residence! We can only reiterate all the positive things people have said about the hotel, the key ones being:

1. Excellent Service
From the moment we arrived, the staff made us welcome and we immediately relaxed so the tiring overnight flight became a distant memory. I hesitate in mentioning names as each and every member of staff we met was a credit to the hotel but a few stood out: Roshan the butler who unpacked our bags quickly and created order out of the mountain of baby paraphenalia; Joy, our cheery room boy who tidied away the baby things (repeatedly) and cleaned our room (a standard, garden view room but incredibly spacious with plenty of room for our baby's cot) each day while we ate breakfast and always finished before we came back for the baby's nap; the bar and restaurant staff including Bruno, Raj, Lydia, Roshan, Sonia and Pooja who never ceased to bring a smile and laugh to our daughter's face which ensured we (and the other guests) could enjoy every meal because she was entertained; Avi and Richi on the beach for the same reasons and Sebie who came to the rescue when our daughter launched herself from the pushchair onto the stone floor around the pool and notified the concierge who then called to ask if we wanted a Dr.

2. Excellent food
Although we are foodies, we hadn't focussed too much on the food side for this trip as we took the view that if our daughter was happy, we would be. As it turned out, the food both at The Dining Room and The Plantation was really enjoyable and the extras like the appetisers were much appreciated. We had VIP cards as part of our package which we would definitely recommend. The allowance of 1,200 Rupees for lunch was plenty for either a big main course (eg. fillet steak and chips) or one of the lighter - but still filling - dishes (eg. a salad, sandwich, pasta, pizza) plus a pudding. As another guest who we spoke to put it, we hadn't expected the triple benefit of a wide choice, good food and reasonable prices (bearing in mind this is a 5* hotel - the Royal Mirage in Dubai, which we also loved, was more expensive).

3. The Spa
We both had a full body massage which was wonderful (with the VIP card we got 30% off the price by having it in the middle of the day which made it very good value and certainly comparable to a London Spa).

Overall, this is a beautiful, well maintained hotel with great service. We flew home on the overnight flight and were given late check out without any problem so we were able to max our last day and we hope to return at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank murphyshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

We are immensely pleased to read your review on Trip Ad visor and take this opportunity to thank you choosing The Residence Mauritius.

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay and you enjoyed the resort thoroughly . Our staffs are ready to go all the way out towards making our guests happy and we will ensure that our guests continue to experience the simplicity, the bona fide desire to serve and the passion to excel of our team members all the time and through the resort.

We thank you for the recommendation of our property and look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another wonderful experience.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This is the second visit to The Residence and I am pleased to say this was consistently excellent as it was on my last visit. The hotel is exceptionally well maintained and staff are so friendly, nothing is too much trouble, we received a welcome back gift and for people that have children, there is a club house for the children, where they can do painting and play games. We even saw a number of the pool side waiters playing with the children to give the parents a break.
The Saturday night sea food buffet was again out of this world.
It is a credit to the management team to deliver this consistent experience to its guests.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are lovely and seldom have passing guests.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeninne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Ad visor after your recent stay with us.

It was an immense pleasure to have you once again at The Residence Mauritius and your precious feedbacks will surely assist us to improve our service quality.

We are pleased to read that The Residence has lived up to your expectations and also note your full appreciation on the quality of service provided by our team members.

We reiterate our thanks and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Holidayed there with my wife and son over Jul/Aug. Our first visit to the hotel but second to the island. When somewhere is so good it's difficult to find anything constructive to write about, so I can only reiterate what other reviewers have written - the service is exceptional, the accomodation is luxurious, the food in both restaurants is delightful and the facilities/amenities are spacious, gracious and comfortable. The staff delight in trying to anticipate your every want and more often than not get it right. A perfect setting for a relaxing family holiday. Congratulations to the management and staff - who carried it all off so well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Ad visor following your recent visit with us.

We are very pleased to read that you have had a wonderful stay and your valuable and motivational comments will assist us in our quest for excellence.

We reiterate our sincerest thanks for your trust in The Residence Mauritius and we sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in a too distant future.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Once again my parents and myself have been privileged to return on holiday to Mauritius and The Residence hotel - which we now call - "Our Residence" This was my 7th and their 5th visit and each time truly is better than the first and for us it is now like returning to friends.
From the moment the welcome bell rings and you are met by the most wonderful people you know you have arrived. Lovely cool towels and drinks are most welcome after the journey and as you move to other end of the most fantastic, vaulted cathedral like, entrance hall you gaze out over the pool to the beach and the sea - and yes it is just like the brochure - only better because at last you are there. The check-in process is smooth and quick and before you know it you are up in your room where your own butler - yes that's right, your butler - helps you to unpack and settle in.
All the staff are wonderful and very friendly but also professional at all times and go out of their way to make sure that you will have the holiday of a lifetime - for me those lifetimes just keep continuing as I have been so privileged to be able to return a number of times.
Your room is spacious and tastefully furnished and is kept spotless and immaculate each day.
Food is one of the main ingredients of any holiday and I can assure you, you will not be disappointed. In the main dinning room Chef Kelley and his team will serve you the most mouth wattering dishes. You can also choose to eat in the Plantation - the second restaurant which is located right on the beach. The dinning room is five star a la carte at its best and if you have dietary requirements or any particular request just let them know - nothing is too much of a problem. The planatation serves more of a buffet style most nights and also has weekly themed evenings with local entertainment and dancers - a must at least once per trip.
The plantation is also wonderful for lunch - great food -fantastic location - frist class service - what else can I say. As you gaze out on the Indian Ocean enjoying your lunch - well its difficult to put into words - wonderful - but to get the full effect you really must go for yourselves.
The hotel layout is sufficent for those who enjoy the company of others but also for those who like to lose themselves in some solitude. In my profession and working with people all the time I prefer the latter. My dad (82) loves the beach and walks it every day and gets to know lots of folk and loves to swim the in the crystal blue waters of the ocean. I prefer the pool area which is kept beatifully clean and spotless at all times. Mum (85) prefers the pool area as she is still learning to swim with the help of her water wings - don't tell her I told you. For those of you who are more adventurous their are plenty of water sports available.
What makes this hotel stand out most of all are the staff. From the boss - Mr Chretien to the room boy/girl who cleans your room each day their only concern is to be of service and make your holiday the experience of a lifetime - and this I can assure you they succeed in doing. All the staff are wonderful and all deserve a mention but space will not allow. So to Mr Chretien thank you for all the kindness shown to mum and dad. To chef Kelley who looks after mum and her meals. To the boys on the beach who watch out for dad. To al who are so kind to me. To Ritesh who has looked after our room needs since our first visit in November 2006 and has become to us as a family a valued and loyal friend. To these individuals and to all at The Residence thank you - thank you again and again.
My friends often ask why when there is such a big world to see we keep returning to The Residence, my answer is simple. Yes we have travelled to the far east and america and africa and all around Europe but you see we have found our little corner of paradise - and its wonderful - so why go anywhere else. Sometimes you read a review and think - is it really that good. The answer is yes and I encourage you to come and find out for yourself. Then like me you will become captivated and want to return as often as possible. Plans in hand for next September already - including the "oldies"

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade to ocean view room the small extra expense is more than worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RevJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,791 reviews
4.0 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,307 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,472 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.2 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Mauritius

Address: Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £201 - £633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Mauritius is situated on the east coast of Mauritius along a mile-long beach of immaculate white sand, fringed by the azure Indian Ocean and tropical gardens - an idyllic retreat for your unreserved relaxation. Inspired by the island's stately turn-of-the-century plantation houses, this luxury Mauritius resort blends modern elegance with classic, colonial style that envelops you in an endearing sense of nostalgia. Live like royalty in rooms that radiate luxurious comfort and charm, with attentive service worthy of the grand colonial houses of yesteryear. Dine on exotic cuisine that captures the incredible potpourri of island flavours. Discover new secrets to soulful relaxation within our serene spa sanctuary, and an endless playground of attractions and activities to be found in the island's unique mix of cultures and stunning landscapes. Whether you seek a romantic escape with your loved one or a spectacular beach getaway with your family, The Residence Mauritius will enthrall you under the warm glow of the Mauritian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Belle Mare
Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing