We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not magical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Residence Mauritius
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I was so looking forward to my trip to The Residence after reading the reviews.The other three hotels I have visited far exceeded my expectations and hopes - however the Residence did not do that sadly. It pains me to write a review that isn't full of praise as I know that the team running the hotel will be unhappy to learn that it was not as we had hoped, along with other guests I spoke to and a travel companion who agreed.
The transfer driver drove us at breakneck speed in a bumpy van which was terribly uncomfortable.When I arrived the peach tea was just plonked on the table. No welcome like the other hotels where you feel so delighted to have arrived. The first room they gave me was depressingly located near a road and the view was disappointing . I was ready to leave then - and just pay the extra to go to another hotel. I spoke to the desk and they moved me to a sea view room- not near the road - for that I was relieved and grateful -and it helped to lessen the disappointment. My travel companion was equally underwhelmed.
The hotel lacks anything really special as far as I was concerned. The full board option is limited to only two choices and one dessert choice a night. What a bad way to go about it - nearly everything on the menu was extra if you wanted it.The drinks are heavily priced - and as for the spa treatments they cost more than London.
The gym was in the cellar smelled dank, was badly equipped and dark with no lights being on and having to exercise in the dark. It's the only gym I have avoided - always enjoying exercise. This basement disaster is not for even the most keen gym goer.
The beach is lovely and the views - everyone is very kind and helpful no problems there , it's just that no one in management seems to have thought about the guest experience at all. It's like going through the motions without any real effort or genuine care it's a bit like a conveyor belt.
The wifi whilst free is limited to one area and doesn't work. I gave up trying to email anyone which was really difficult with work commitments.. As for sharing photos ( free advertising for the hotel) not one could be shared. Having a free service is only of value if it actual works.
The corridors are really grim. Why not put some kind of rattan matting to cover the grey concrete . The walkways at night are dark and spooky when I was walking back alone - they need better lighting for women travelling alone as its near a public beach and in the dark I was actually nervous. This hotel was £800 more than my last holiday - and yet I had so much less, and this is one of the reasons that I would never visit again - it could be a wonderful place but it just misses the mark sadly.
The three other hotels in Mauritius I have visited are so sublime that I can't wait to go again and recommend them whole heartedly. I feel that the Residence at best is a four star hotel which I was hoping to love and just liked.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank herin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam

We thank you for sharing your feedback on T following your recent stay at our resort.

We are very sorry to read that our resort was not to your expectations however your comments are important which will certainly assist to measure our service quality and improve those areas needy for improvement.

We have noted all the points you referred to and shared to our team members for their perusal and actions to be implemented. You can rest assured that necessary measures have been taken to set right some of the issues in our continuing process of improvement.

We reiterate out thanks for choosing our property for your holidays and sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our shores.

Thank you,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 1,675 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a Wonderful Time in all the hotels you arranged for us.
Residence was also very good in terms of Location and Rooms, The hitch was the service. Service in the sense the behaviour of the staff , The Hospitality was missing what we felt as compared with others. Restaurant staff was very friendly .for breakfast it would be great to get aloo paratas.
Two of the participants Hanumanth from Hoysala and Anil from Alpine Leisure paid for their drinks for some odd reason.
Ashil from marketing department was perfectly good there awesome job, xcept him we dint find anyone friendly there. He encouraged me to do a massage to relax myself.Massage i did was very relaxing and removed all my back pains.he also dropped us to constance hotel in a big car.he took very good care of our group.

Overall our experience in the hotel was ok type.Reception was very helpful and very informative.We will surely send our clients to that hotel as its a very beautiful hotel,the beach is very beautiful and its perfect for honeymooners.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lion K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for the time you spared to share your review on Trip Advisor.

Please rest assured that your remarks have been duly noted and appropriate measures will be taken for improvement.

We will surely communicate to Ashil your kind words which will no doubt be a great source of motivation for him.

We reiterate our thanks for your recommendation and look forward to a mutually and beneficially working relationship


Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Just back from our honeymoon and we have to say: this is the best place to go and we will always cherish these two dreamlike weeks!

Rooms
Upon arrival you are greeted with towels to refresh and a delicious ice tea. Right from the start we were proofed that Mauritian people are indeed as friendly as they say and the staff smiled and greeted us wherever we went. A butler service is included and he would have unpacked the luggage if we wanted to. Also they are available whenever you want; a highlight is definitely the rose petal bath! The rooms are spacious, bright and ours offered a view over the pool and ocean.

Grounds and beach
The hotel grounds offer everything you can wish for. The beach is like heaven, the water really looks turquoise as they advertise it. If you prefer the pool side, they offer three and a heated jacuzzi which is especially nice in the afternoon when the sun slowly goes down. Both in the beach and pool side they offer complimentary towels and cold water. You can also have lunch there.
The hotel grounds are immense, this is a huge area so you never notice the other guests which is nice when on honeymoon.

Food
The hotels has 3 restaurants to choose from. Breakfast and dinner is served in the Dining Room, lunch and dinner in The Plantation. The Verandah is reserved for lunch. They also have an excellent bar with live music every night. The food is outstanding! You can choose from the three course menu or eat a la carte. On weekends the hotel organizes buffets, we had mediterranean, seafood and Asian. It is not only delicious but also pleasing to the eye, like art. The service is also excellent, we can't complain in any way. The waiters are very attentive, friendly and ready to help with the difficult choice of what to eat. When on half board you may need to pay an additional price for some a la carte choices but we only once needed to go for that as the daily menu always presented just the right thing for us. Tap water is free, any other drinks excluded. All the buffets offered already papered food as well as fresh dishes like the Beijing duck (Asian buffet) or grilled fish and meat (seafood buffet). In the morning you can have freshly pressed juices, omelets or pen cakes. During the seafood buffet saga dancers introduced us to the typical Mauritian dance.

We definitely recommend this hotel to every Mauritius traveller and will never forget our honeymoon there. September proofed to be the perfect travel month as the weather is really nice (about 26 degrees, sunshine, no rain) but the hotel is not yet crowded. As our fight only departed at 10pm they offered us to keep the room at no extra fee until our transfer picked us up. That's service!

Room Tip: Colonial Ocean View or Front: rooms are very spacious and offer an excellent view over the ocean. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ch1nal1na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

The Residence Team wholly thank you for your refined and charmingly review that you have kindly posted on Trip Advisor.

Your review reflects that you have had an enriching experience at our resort and we truly value your feedback as this will help our team members to continue to strive to create personable, authentic stays for our guests.

We look forward to having you back in the future and thank you once again for your warm comments.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 for our honeymoon. Having experienced 5 star hotels in Europe and US, I must say that the staff out here is one of the best I came across. Extremely friendly, and always ready to help... and all this seems so genuine! I stayed in an ocean view suite and it was just amazing.

The hotel has complementary water sports. In case you need additional water activities they have a vendor who provides them. You can negotiate a bit. The white sand beach is very nice! Let me tell you that no beaches in Mauritius are private so you may find people at the beach who may not be hotel guests.

The swimming pool is huge with a small jacuzzi and is so inviting. Another highlight is the break fast. The spread is just amazing! you can sit for hours at the plantation restaurant having break fast!

I met with a very friendly guest relations manager Mr. Pradeep Raktoo who made sure our stay was comfortable and also was very keen on getting feedback on the services and food. The food overall is excellent but Indian vegetarian guests might have problems as they do not have an Indian chef at their hotel. In any case they do serve a veg thali.

It was a great experience overall, it was a truly memorable honeymoon!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rakeshrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Your marvellously review on Trip Advisor, is very well appreciated and motivational for our team members.

We are satisfied to read that our team members made you feel warm and welcome, going above and beyond to make your honeymoon as unique and unforgettable as possible.

We value your expectation to our property and sincerely look forward to hosting you for another memorable holiday experience.

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Location - Best in Mauritius

View from Hotel - Ocean view room is Excellent and Spacious room with all five star facilities.

Beach - 1 KM long and amazingly clean with excellent support staff

Hotel Staff - Courteous, extremely friendly and carrying welcoming attitude

Hotel Chef - Can cook amazing Indian food if you ask them to, sometimes veg also. Must try The Plantation restaurant.

If willing to buy some grocery be it water bottle, coke or anything, walk down for just two minutes from hotel and you will find the good store on the main road. You can end up in saving some.

Importantly, a safe secured place for the honeymooners who are travelling abroad for the first time.

Rest assured, its a complete value for money and you will just love the experience.

Thanks
Manav

Room Tip: Ocean view, and if you can spend some extra, go for ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manav1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

We are pleased to read that you have truly enjoyed your stay at our resort.

It’s really excellent to our property to have such positive feedback and we shall endeavour to ensure that we continue to deliver the best quality service and the right serving attitude to our customers.

We hope to welcome you back to our shores for another enchanted holiday experience.

Warmest regards,

The Management
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Residence is truly a class hotel with lot of complimentary offers of all water sports and Undersea walk for their guests . This Hotel is truly a gem and a paradise for Honeymooners with a clear beach . The staff is very friendly and the complimentary Butler service is also not to be missed .

Room Tip: Ocean Ocean Front rooms have excellent view with private garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudeepms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

We first would like to thank you for staying with us at our resort and for sharing your cheerful review on Trip Advisor.

Your comments on our resort and its services were most generous and it is always heartwarming to know that our efforts were effective and appreciated.

We thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you and look forward to seeing you in a short time.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We have just returned from one of the most amazing holidays ever. This hotel is like an earthly Paradise. It is difficult to know what to praise first. The Ocean front rooms we had were immaculate and very well equipped, with a perfect view of the palm trees and ocean. The staff were the most charming in any hotel I have stayed in. The pools were supervised with such diligence that we knew the children were completely safe. The bar and restaurant staff were of an equal high standard and got to know us well; something unusual in my experience and not in any way invasive. The food was superb. The water sports were mostly complimentary - again this is not something all hotels do, and kids club was in a charming little house in the palm trees. It had many varied activities. We were not surprised to learn that 40% of the guests are return visitors. Having been to Mauritius before, we will definitely return here. We strongly recommend this hotel. It is exceptional.

Room Tip: Ocean View and Ocean Front rooms are the ones to have, but if you can stretch to an Ocean Front Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mlobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

We are thankful to read your awesome review on Trip Advisor.

We at The Residence Mauritius strive to ensure that all our guests do have an enjoyable experience while staying with us and we are happy to read that our team members have impressed you by their service attitude.

Excellent vacations create lifetime memories; we reiterate our thanks for choosing our property for your holiday and sincerely look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Warmest regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,860 reviews
4.0 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,334 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,514 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.2 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Mauritius

Address: Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £218 - £785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Mauritius is situated on the east coast of Mauritius along a mile-long beach of immaculate white sand, fringed by the azure Indian Ocean and tropical gardens - an idyllic retreat for your unreserved relaxation. Inspired by the island's stately turn-of-the-century plantation houses, this luxury Mauritius resort blends modern elegance with classic, colonial style that envelops you in an endearing sense of nostalgia. Live like royalty in rooms that radiate luxurious comfort and charm, with attentive service worthy of the grand colonial houses of yesteryear. Dine on exotic cuisine that captures the incredible potpourri of island flavours. Discover new secrets to soulful relaxation within our serene spa sanctuary, and an endless playground of attractions and activities to be found in the island's unique mix of cultures and stunning landscapes. Whether you seek a romantic escape with your loved one or a spectacular beach getaway with your family, The Residence Mauritius will enthrall you under the warm glow of the Mauritian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Belle Mare
Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing