We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Residence Mauritius
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ambre Mauritius(Belle Mare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
LUX* Belle Mare(Belle Mare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa(Trou d'eau Douce)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Solana Beach(Belle Mare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,998)
Filter reviews
1,998 results
Traveller rating
1,562
297
104
22
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,562
297
104
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplantation restaurantyacht clubocean frontylang ylangcolonial feelrose petal bathscolonial stylea la carteour honeymoonan ocean view roompersonal butlerhalf boardbutler servicekids clubseafood buffeticed teacatamaran cruise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
821 - 826 of 1,998 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Our two week holiday to Mauritius started at the residence. The accommodation, ocean view room was perfect. We were on first floor, added to the view and privacy. The beach was fantastic, lots of water sports and helpful guys to advise. We tried kayaking, sailing, snorkelling, one of the best bits was the catamaran tour which visited the waterfalls, lsle de Cerf and a snorkelling location. Lovely BBQ served on board and great opportunity to meet new people.
The service at both restaurants was superb. Food was excellent at both although we opted for the buffet on 2/7 nights only preferring the a la carte.
The staff really made the stay, their warmth and determination to make your stay as good as it could be was obvious. We met the Manager on a number of occasions, he was very visible in the hotel which was a great support to the staff.
We spent most nights in the bar for a night cap, the menu now includes Negroni, which is now there because they were keen to cater for all needs.
It was our anniversary so we were delighted to be welcomed by a bottle of champagne and huge chocolate came as well as gifts of sarong and polo shirt.
The only downside was zero access to wifi in bedrooms and very hit and miss access in public areas, actually this was a blessing as it forces you to switch off completely and let the island do its magic.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank adafiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor which is indeed pleasant to read.

We are delighted to note that you very much enjoyed your stay at the Residence Mauritius and that you have had a wonderful holiday with us.

We are very happy to read that our services were to your expectations and that you have
kept good souvenirs of your stay spent in our hotel.

With reiterated thanks and hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to our resort in the near future

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The staff are really what sets this hotel apart. Just amazing, always professional and nothing was too much trouble. Best food I have ever eaten at a hotel, especially the buffet nights, wow! Loved every minute, wish I could go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

We are grateful for your review on TA and are glad to read that you have had a nice time at our resort

We value your kind words on our team members who always do their utmost for catering the needs of our guest. Your appreciation on the quality of cuisine will certainly be an inspiration.

We sincerely thank you for choosing our property for your holidays and will be pleased to welcoming you back to our shores.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Well what can we say? We have just returned from our 4th visit to this wonderful hotel and it most certainly won't be our last. And as we said in our previous reviews it takes something very special indeed to bring us back again to a hotel and all the comments from our previous review absolutely still apply. This trip was very different from the previous ones in that instead of coming just as a couple, this time it was for our daughters wedding. She had heard such glowing comments from my wife and I, that she thought it was the perfect place in which to get married - and so it proved. In total over 20 people travelled to Mauritius for the wedding, staying a variety of days. The hotel does not have a "conveyor belt" approach to weddings - they really concentrate on your needs exclusively, and this mean that you get a very personal and warm touch to everything they do for you. My wife and I were a little nervous, having said such very complementary things about the hotel, that our guests would not share our love of the hotel and its staff - but we needn't have worried - everyone said it was the best hotel they had ever stayed in and many intend to return. The hotel far exceeded our expectations in every respect - it really is a very very special hotel. When we were planning the wedding, one of the senior managers, Pradeep, e-mailed to reassure us that the hotel would make the whole experience "magical" and they most certainly delivered The location is heavenly, with golden sands, azure sea, tropical trees and flowers,and beautiful gardens immaculately maintained, but it is the atmosphere, culture, and especially the staff which make this such an exceptional hotel . Nothing is too much trouble for them - you are made to feel very special. "Travelpony" sums up what a wonderful time we all had, but we will add a few other comments. We had our first experience of the kids club, which is excellent, with really warm and caring staff whom the children in our party loved. And many of the party really enjoyed the water sports facilities. The hotel organised two speed boats to take the party around the east coast on a spectacular trip for snorkeling, beach picnic and sight seeing. And also organised a special birthday dinner ( at no extra cost) for two of the party. And here's an example of the culture of the Residence. My wife loves frangepan flowers - and the butler remembered from a year earlier and put a big bowl of frangepans in our room on arrival - how good is that? The key to this hotel is the really outstanding staff throughout. Everyone contributes, but some need a special mention. Our friends, Pradeep, Raj and Rajesh provided a substantial and genuine warmth and care that makes them and the hotel special, but others were also major contributors in different ways to making this a most wonderful stay - Pritam, Ally ( at the Plantation and wonderful with the children) , Bruno ( at the restaurant and so warm and attentive), Sanjeeta and Emmerith ( who looked after us brilliantly at breakfast and lunch), Rajesh (Plantation restaurant), Desire ( "Mr Fixit ") and Jean-Claude (concierge) Chef Kelley who supervises the truly fabulous Michelin standard menus and who took some of us around the kitchens - simply terrific especially the bakery - everything is baked on site, Stephane who creates the most delicious deserts imaginable, Serge by the pool ( who kept an eagle eye on all the children to ensure their safety - thank you so much Serge) and Jeteen, so attentive by the pool.I hope we have not offended anyone who is not mentioned by name - you are just too many to mention but you all uphold the culture and values of your hotel so well to make this a truly special and memorable hotel. Thank you so much for giving our daughter, her husband and all the wedding guests such a truly unforgettable experience

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keekee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

The whole team of The Residence Mauritius sincerely thank you for your flawless review that you humbly posted on Trip Advisor.

The content of your review clearly showed that you had truly enjoyed your holidays and also the wedding of your daughter.

This was your holiday and it was our job to make it memorable for you, as each and everyone of our team members adopt the right attitude of serving our customers with passion and respect.

We reiterate our thanks and we look forward to welcoming you and the member of your family back.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this fabulous hotel for 16 nights with 13 family and friends for our wedding and honeymoon and cannot recommend it highly enough - it is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and compares very favourably with Claridges in London.
From beginning to end the staff ensured that our stay and wedding was beyond our expectations.
Unlike some other hotels in Belle Mare, The Residence only hosts a few weddings each month, thus ensuring exclusivity for each couple (other hotels were hosting weddings most days) in the perfect beach front private garden areas.
The whole hotel is beautiful - very tastefully understated in its decor and the lobby is a wonderful area for wedding (or holiday) photos.
The staff can't do enough for you, from offering different food choices at lunch or dinner to personalising our wedding. As many other reviewers have noted, it is the staff which make this hotel so magical and we can't thank them enough for everything they did for us.
The location is a tropical dream with the beaches and gardens beautifully maintained.
The Planters Kids club, whilst not busy, looked after the children in our party very well.
The spa is one of the best we have ever visited, with treatments only slightly more expensive than you would pay in the UK.
The food was always of a consistently high standard with buffets most nights or alternatively the set course/a la carte menu which was as good as any Michelin restaurant (and we've eaten at many 1 & 2 star Michelin restaurants)
The babysitting service is excellent, with the same babysitter provided each night for consistency and good value for money.
If you're thinking of getting married or honeymooning in Mauritius then look no further than the elegant, classy Residence. Pradeep, Rajesh, Raj, Pritam, Bruno, Ali, Sanjeeta, Emerith, Rajesh, Chef Kelley, Desire, Ornella, Serge, Jeeten and the rest of the wonderful team will make your stay better than you could imagine.

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank Travelpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for your recent stay with us and for posting a very classy review on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful to you for having chosen our property for your wedding and we are delighted to read that you really enjoyed your whole stay.

We cultivate the habit of always being attentive to the needs of our guests and no doubt such warm and positive impressions of yours will motivate our team members to always go the extra mile to delight our guests and brighten their stay.

We reiterate our thanks for your trust in our property and very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for other blissful moments.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Pierrot Barbe and his amazing team have just achieved the impossible. Our third visit to The Residence recently was one of the very best ever.
We were welcomed back with genuine delight and sincerity by all the staff and management who remembered us and even by those we met for the first time.
My partner and I were treated as VIPs. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble. The staff continually anticipated our every need, whether in the restaurants or by the beautiful pool.
Emerith and beautiful Sanjeeta.....Breakfast and lunch on the lovely terrace wouldn't be the same without you!
Thanks to Bruno, Simeon, Satish, Mahdoo and Radesh (ChouChou) in the Dining Room for
making it so special for us.
Not forgetting Raj (Bollywood heartthrob),Veeru and their team in the Bar and Ali at the Plantation.
Roshan and Geet our butlers. Simply the best!
Simply The Residence. You can't beat it!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms and suites have those amazing views of the lush gardens and Indian Ocean beyond.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blue2Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Mr Blue

We wish to thank you for your annual visit and we are so pleased to read that once more you enjoyed your stay with us and are enchanted that every member of our staff have done their level best ensuring that you and your partner are well looked after.

It is nice to read that your recent stay was the best one you have ever experienced at The Residence Mauritius as at to date and you can rest assured that our team members will continue to serve and overwhelm our guests whilst ensuring high quality service.

We will certainly share your praiseworthy comments to each member of our team and no doubt this will be a further motivation to each and everyone.

The entire team of The Residence Mauritius thank you once again for your trust in our property and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience.

Kindest regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews