We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Residence, Mauritius”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residence Mauritius
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the beautiful Residence hotel. The hotel is elegant and sophisticated, but in no way stuffy - a great place to relax and unwind and be looked after by the excellent friendly staff. The food was superb. We were on a full board basis and sometimes it seemed like we just had time to go snorkelling or read a little before it was time for the next feast! I would recommend half board or full board as this offers good value for money and also there did not seem to be any local restaurants outside of the hotel. July/August is winter time in Mauritius and it was quite overcast for the first two days of our stay so we were a little concerned about the weather at first. But then it brightened up and we were soon sunbathing on the beach. We stayed for 10 days which worked out well, as even though we had some cloudy and windy days we had plenty of sunny days too. Mauritius is a long flight from London so I think it is worth staying for a little more than a week if you can. I have been lucky enough to stay in a few nice hotels over the years but The Residence has been my favourite.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelandMinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

We sincerely thank you for writing your review on Trip Advisor.

We are appreciative to read that our resort has met up to your expectations and your warm and positive impressions will no doubt motivate our team members to always go the extra mile to delight our guests and brighten their stay.

We look forward to welcome you over again for another relaxing stay at
The Residence Mauritius.

Kind Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 1,906 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

It's been quite a few months since we returned from the Residence. I have been meaning to write a review for ages and always promised myself that I would as soon as I had the chance.

This hotel is simply amazing and there is a reason that people return year after year, we certainly will that's for sure. We are a young family with 3 young children. 4, 4, and 2. What made it amazing was the lengths to which the staff will go to so as to ensure that your stay in a memorable one.

There is rarely a day that goes by where our children don't mention their holiday in Mauritius. The kids club is simply the best. Our nanny Saloni was also notably good, Highly recommended in fact. you should request her in advance! The twins hardly wanted to hang out with us at all. IN fact a few evening we dragged them to the plantation and all they did was beg us to go and eat at the Kids club.

Other notable staff are the wonderful Bruno who always was looking to please. Additionally Pritam and Rajesh from the plantation restaurant. All of them knew us by name and made both a fuss of my wife and I as well as all the kids.

The beach in front of the Plantation is stunning. Pure white sand. Glorious. The availability of free water sports is also great and the fact that certain things such as water skiing are also included is a right touch.
The diving around the resort is so so but I am a little spoilt having lived in Asia previously. This having been said the Diving school is well run and the staff are great.

The rooms are not so modern anymore however they are very homely and comfortable. The butlers are all charming and helpful.

My wife arranged for a surprise for us to renew our wedding vows and all the staff new about it. They went to huge efforts so as to help my wife out and make it a special event.

The buffet in the main restaurant could do with a little more variation but it was generally still of a high standard. We had the Full board option which was well worth it. A few evenings we walked out of the restaurant and walked along the beach to the restaurant at the Lux which is fab. There's definitely a little more chavvy feeling at that hotel as opposed to the colonial feel of the Residence.

We definitely will return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oldskooltrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

We really appreciate your kind gesture in posting such a nice review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you truly enjoyed your stay at our resort and it’s really motivating to our team members to have such positive feedback.

We reiterate our heartiest thanks for your trust towards The Residence Mauritius and it will certainly be a huge honour for us to welcome you back on our shores very soon.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have returned from a wonderful holiday in Mauritius. Our first time at The Residence and a must for all holiday makers looking for excellent service, a relaxing atmosphere and fine food. The property is beautiful and the staff are always aiming to please. We were delighted when the wonderful Head chef made us platters of spicy food to order and the general overall feel of the place is ideal. It may have been a little windy and cool in late July but the hotel was a real gem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manique1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

On behalf of our team members, both the front liner and those behind the screen, we sincerely thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor such beautiful review.

This is very much appreciated and we are delighted to read that you have had special moments in our Resort and that our team members were very attentive to your needs.

We reiterate our thanks for choosing The Residence Mauritius for your holidays and we sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you once more in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is an amazing hotel totally worth every praise it gets. From the moment you get into the hotel cab, you feel the warmth emanating constantly through the entire staff. They treat you like family and make you feel like family, end result? you genuinely feel sad feeling. Me and my wife were celebrating our 2nd year wedding anniversary. We booked a dinner at the beach. So what does our loving family at the hotel do? treat us like royalty, and give us customized menu card for the night with our names, order and wedding date engraved. When we get back what do we find? our butler has prepared us a rose petal bath... WOW! The rooms are good size with an excellent view. Breakfast and Dinner is superb with a lot of variety. The beach access consists of one of the best beaches in Mauritius and emerald waters. Most activities are free for hotel guests. I can just go on. I cant wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try getting the room with an ocean view, you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam


Thank you wholeheartedly for writing such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor after having recently stayed at our resort.

Your words are truly inspiring and this will certainly motivate our team members to go the extra miles in meeting our customer’s needs and also turning their vacations into everlasting memories.

We reiterate our thanks for your sincere appreciation towards The Residence Mauritius and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming for celebrating your 3rd wedding anniversary.


Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Since arriving @ The Residence Hotel the experience has been amazing we were greeted by the Hotel Manager and he was very polite and friendly not had that from any other hotel we have stayed at! There are a number of staff who stand out above the rest Bruno is the restaurant manager with Sangeeta and Ali as his number number 1 and 2 they could not do enough for us and Kelly the head cheff has gone out of his way to prepare meals that we have loved while here. Our staff has been SIMPLY the BEST we have experienced. overall the staff could not do enough for you! I would recommend this destination as the best I have visited in many years the rooms are spotless the bathing facilities as immaculate and the staff are amazing. the only thing that has spoilt our vacation is a couple of guests who have been over demanding and rude as to their demands it's beyond me as to what some people expect. This has to be my favourite hotel ever you would not be disappointed coming here apart from being here at the same time as the ignorant holiday maker! who has visited the hotel 3 times before yet continues to come again? Why would you revisit a hotel 3/4 times if you complain about anything or everything. If all you want to do is give negative feedback do it once and don't go back, Give the rest of us a break and stop spoiling our holidays with your constant moaning. Overall I would give this hotel 10/10 more if I could.

Raj Aggarwal. Wokingham, Berkshire, UK

Room Tip: Beach Front sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Raj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Mr. Agarwal,

Thank you from the bottom of our heart, for expressing such avalanche of praises on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us.

We are so delighted to read such praiseworthy comments and it is a real source of motivation to each and everyone to keep up on serving our customers with passion and respect.

We sincerely believe in a culture of excellence and these valuable comments are a boost up for us to achieve common goals to always strive to get better and where natural smiles and positive attitudes are the norm and not the exception.

We thank you again to have given us the opportunity to be our guest and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in a not too distant future


Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

An absolutely fantastic hotel. We've travelled a lot and stayed in some wonderful places but I have to say, The Residence Mauritius has been the best so far. The hotel itself is just gorgeous - from decor to comfort but the icing on the cake is their staff - they treated us really well, nothing was too much work for them and they were very discreet and not in your face or space! The food at The Plantation was just gorgeous - the staff there were always happy to make anything Mauritius that was not on the menu and we ended up having some wonderful meals. The rooms are large with very comfortable seating area and the bathrooms were just fantastic - best hotel bathrooms! This is the only hotel I could honestly say, I would like to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a relaxing holiday with fantastic service - this is the hotel to choose. Rooms directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hardika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your holidays and for taking the time to share your views on Trip Advisor.

At The Residence Mauritius, we take great pride and are passionate about providing our guests with the highest levels of services and it is very overwhelming to note that you did enjoy your days at our resort.

The entire team of The Residence Mauritius thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another wonderful experience.


Kind personal regards


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I am frequent travel and used to enjoy best property in the world. I can rate The Residence on the best resort in terms of hospality.Staff are very helpful and they will treat you like a king.I had never seen how much dedicated staff in order to help guest to any extent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Vaibhav712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

We wish to thank you most sincerely for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your holiday souvenir on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall stay at our resort and it’s really motivating for our team members to receive such positive feedback

We reiterate our thanks for your visit with us and the comments full of praises and
sincerely look forward to have the opportunity to serve you once more.


Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,150 reviews
15.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,500 reviews
4 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,667 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,584 reviews
32.2 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Mauritius

Address: Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £160 - £770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Mauritius is situated on the east coast of Mauritius along a mile-long beach of immaculate white sand, fringed by the azure Indian Ocean and tropical gardens - an idyllic retreat for your unreserved relaxation. Inspired by the island's stately turn-of-the-century plantation houses, this luxury Mauritius resort blends modern elegance with classic, colonial style that envelops you in an endearing sense of nostalgia. Live like royalty in rooms that radiate luxurious comfort and charm, with attentive service worthy of the grand colonial houses of yesteryear. Dine on exotic cuisine that captures the incredible potpourri of island flavours. Discover new secrets to soulful relaxation within our serene spa sanctuary, and an endless playground of attractions and activities to be found in the island's unique mix of cultures and stunning landscapes. Whether you seek a romantic escape with your loved one or a spectacular beach getaway with your family, The Residence Mauritius will enthrall you under the warm glow of the Mauritian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Residence Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Belle Mare
Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing