We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! Great service. Perfect Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residence Mauritius
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at The Residence for our honeymoon a couple of weeks ago and we had a wonderful time. What we liked most about the hotel was the wonderful staff. They were so friendly and helpful. We found the service was definitely one of the best parts and the staff have clearly all received brilliant training. They also seemed genuinely pleased to help and were very attentive.

Our personal butler Sachin would come by everyday and press our clothes and generally made sure we had everything we could possibly want. The room was cleaned/tidied and amenities replenished twice a day. We had a sea front room which was lovely and had a beautiful view over the ocean from the balcony- worth the extra price.

The waiters at both The Plantation & The Dining Room were also very friendly and hospitable. Medha and Madhvi were especially friendly and chatted to us regularly. We were even given some lovely gifts when we left by two of them and they were very nice.

Even the staff around the pool were incredibly attentive and would not let you move a sunbed without rushing over to help. Jeetun chatted to us everyday and made sure we had enough food, drinks and were happy.

The watersports activities which are included are great. We went wakeboarding/water-skiing daily and went out kayaking and snorkelling on the glass bottom boat.

The spa treatments were great too and all the therapists were very friendly and professional.
The circuits class were a great workout and the guy was very enthusiastic - although not for the faint-hearted!

The food was very good and there was plenty of choice and different options of buffet or a la carte in two different restaurants. Breakfast had a large choice and you could order freshly made crepes, american pancakes and omelettes every morning. The buffet themes changed every night so the food was never repetitive. We found the a la carte food was slightly better quality than the buffet and we had this quite a few evenings.

Overall it was a wonderful place. The view from the beach and the pool is across the ocean and there are beautiful white sands all around the hotel. Would definitely like to go back again - hopefully next year!

Room Tip: ocean front room was very peaceful and looked out across the beautiful ocean. Lovely view from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

We are completely marveled by your amazing written review with a beautiful simplicity.

We are delighted to read of the blissful moments you have had at our property and thank you for your words of appreciation on our team members who have been attentive to each of your needs.

We will for sure share your words of appreciation to those whom you named out and no doubt, this will be a huge motivator for them in continuing to deliver our Residence Hospitality.
Your review has fully wrapped all the facilities and services offered at The Residence Mauritius in such magnificent words and the whole team sincerely thank you for posting such review on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to hosting you in the very near future.

Warmest regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,814 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

This Hotel was Amazing! We stayed in Aug 2014 for 10 nights and although their Winter had a real mixture of weather . This part of the a Island is fairly windy, but we both have amazing tans!
We loved every minute. The hotel Manager Peirot is doing an amazing job as are all his staff. There are too many to mention them all but mainly the restaurant staff, particularly Sam and Sanjeeta. The restaurant Manager Bruno and his assistant Ali could not do enough for us and not forgetting the amazing Chef Kelley! Wow is all I can say! The Plantation Restaurant has a beautiful setting and is well worth a visit or two :-)

When we arrived we were personally greeted by Peirot himself. How many Hotels do that?!?

The rooms are beautiful and very very clean

We will definitely be going back. Fantastic beach too.

Room Tip: Colonial sea view Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Madge1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for posting such magical review on Trip Advisor.

Your review has wrapped the beautiful and special moments you experienced at our resort and no doubt your mesmerizing words on behalf of our team members are very much appreciative.

We reiterate our thanks to you for the choice of our resort for your holidays and sincerely look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in a not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at the Residence in May of this year, after much procrastination as to the best location for our big day. We know the island pretty well and have stayed at a number of the finest hotels. Of course, we were nervous as to whether we had made the right decision (about the hotel - not getting married!)

Well there was no need to be nervous - everything exceeded our expectations. Pierrot - the manager - took amazing care of us from the moment we arrived and went out of his way at every point to make sure that everything was perfect. Which it was.

Our wedding took place in a beautiful and entirely private part of the hotel, overlooking the sea. We dined outside, again, in an entirely private location, eating fabulously delicious food that we had hand picked with the chefs. We had access to the gorgeous royal suites throughout. And the wedding planners ensured that nothing was stressful, everything was exactly as we had hoped it would be - better in fact!

Aside from the wedding itself, the hotel was tremendous. I'm still convinced that the Residence has the best beaches on the island. The service was faultless. The waterskiing perfect. The kitesurfing awesome. The food in the restaurants delicious and not constrained by limited choice or endless supplements. And Serge, who is in charge of the pool, excels at his job and is so attentive (and fun) with the kids.

Whilst all of this may sound like an over the top review, it truly reflects the experience we enjoyed. And will enjoy again soon I hope!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SJBTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,


Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor, the enriching moments you had experienced at our resort.

It is very overwhelming to read that you really appreciate the welcoming nature of all our team members and the services afforded to you whilst being at our resort.

It was a real privilege organizing your very special day and we are glad to note that you are still cherishing those beautiful souvenirs.

We reiterate our deepest thanks for staying at our property once more and all The Residence Team look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

All our personal regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just got back from one of our best holidays ever. We went to Mauritius (Paradis) for our honeymoon 14 years ago and hadn't been back. This time we took our two kids (11 and 10) and were looking for relaxation and lots for the kids to do.

Our holiday company switched us to The Residence a fortnight before we were due to fly because they had recently visited the property in Mauritius that we had originally booked and did not feel it was up to 5* standard. Well, we have no reason to regret their advice - The Residence exceeded our high expectations.

The stand out feature was the service - very friendly, courteous, helpful and personal. Our butlers - Suniel and Sailen - were fantastic and the staff in every area of the hotel were brilliant - from Bruno and Sam and their teams in the main restaurant, to Pritam and his team at the Plantation, Desire and Jean Claude on the Concierge, and even Jeetun and his colleagues at the pool.

The Residence is small enough to feel intimate and was not overly busy when we stayed. Most guests were European, with a party of Chinese guests for part of our stay (apparently all hotels in Mauritius are now targeting the Chinese market). The whole ambience is very relaxed and there were a mix of couples and families with kids of various ages, from toddlers to teenagers. Our kids loved the kids club - from amazing henna tattoos and manicures for the girls, to undersea walks and football matches for the boys. Yacht club also great - free water skiing a bonus and well worth a try if you haven't done it before.

Food was divine - we had delicious food the whole holiday and enough choice from the menu that we never had to eat the same thing twice. Drinks are typical 5* prices - for a 2 week holiday expect to have a significant bill for extras at the end, unless you are All Inclusive, but not atypical for this level of hotel.

Beach is stunning - fine, white sand that has plenty of space. Prevailing winds keep things from getting too hot, but there is a more sheltered section by the Plantation and Yacht club.

If you like golf, Belle Mare Plage Links is only a 10 minute cab ride and a nice course. However, the standout is Le Touessrok course on Ile aux Cerfs - stunning and challenging at the same time.

My wife is already planning our return trip - this is a special place and we were really looked after well. None of us wanted to leave - we heard that some guests come back year after year and stay for weeks or even months (lucky things!).

Room Tip: We had adjoining rooms (115/116) on the ground floor and with a perfect view of the sea and beach to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FeedMe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

First and foremost we deeply thank you for writing such an incredible review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to read that your recent stay was undoubtedly the best one you have ever experienced at The Residence Mauritius.

It is through positive feedback such as yours that our team members continue to be inspired to provide impeccable service and do their utmost everyday to make each of our guests feel special.

We reiterate our heartiest thanks for your loyalty towards The Residence Mauritius and we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on our shores in the near future.

All my best personal regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We treated ourselves and our 3 boys aged 5,8 and 10 years to two weeks in Mauritius in July 2014. The holiday was everything we hoped it would be. The beach, the staff, the food, the service, the pool, the kids club, the white crispy sheets, the spotlessly clean rooms,the beautiful bathrooms, the weather - all were perfect. We left with heavy hearts as it really is an incredible place. The children were relaxed, tanned and happy plus they LOVED the kids club - they made friends with kids from Oslo to Cape Town to London. The Residence is a very special place - sadly not the kind of holiday we can take every year (if I could pick up the phone and book this exact holiday again next year I would do it in a heartbeat) - but we dream of going back. It's winter in Mauritius in July, so low season price wise and temps are a lovely 25 degrees every day, plus the resort was only a third full, so no crowds. Perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms are ovely but if you can stretch to Ocean View go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank myhobycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

We are very appreciative of your kind effort in taking the time to share such amazing review on Trip Advisor.

We will certainly convey your words of appreciation to the team members for their contribution whilst always ensure you and your family had the most fabulous time at our resort.

We reiterate our heartiest thanks for your trust towards The Residence Mauritius and it will certainly be a huge honour of welcoming you and your family back on our shores very soon.


Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Best beach on the island, immaculately maintained. Friendly and professional staff, at all levels. Food was fabulous and service had all the personal touches. At the Redidence Hotel they have perfected the art of making everyone feel special.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sharing your holiday adventure on Trip Advisor.

It gives us immense pleasure to read that you have engraved those cherished moments you had captured at our resort and you truly appreciated our team members who keep on delivering passionate services.

We reiterate our thanks for your visit and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

If like me you may be anxious about visiting during the Mauritian winter (May - September) and you live in the Northern Hemisphere let me reassure you GO, GO, GO! The weather is perfect for our pasty sun starved complexions. Our experience was of dry weather in the range of 20-26 degrees with a refreshing sea breeze.
If this has encouraged you to visit then you will not find a better balance of luxury and value for money than The Residence. The local cab drivers will tell you that one or two hotels on the island provide more luxury but our research since visiting shows us they also charge considerably more. Let me be clear this IS a five star hotel and the drinks in the bar do reflect that but having booked full board we found that every need is included in the cost including free water sports. Added to this the service is sublime.
We used Mauri Tours for two days of touring the island (highly recommended) and this showed us that The Residence sits on one of the best beaches on the island.
Now all you have to do is book! I might see you there because I'm definitely going back.

Room Tip: Even the hotel will tell you to book through an agent/internet as they are much cheaper. Buy you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Buckettrekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for sharing your review full of praises on Trip Advisor.

It’s always a pleasure to read that you really had an excellent and relaxing time at our resort.

We can only be thankful for the description of our property in such magical words, without any doubt this will be a major boost for our team members who will keep on doing their best to assist each of our guests with passion and respect attitude.

We wish to reiterate our thanks for your precious time in writing your comments and for having trusted The Residence Mauritius. The whole team sincerely looks forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful holiday very soon.

Kindest regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,030 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,552 reviews
32.2 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,387 reviews
19.1 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
15.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Mauritius

Address: Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £188 - £945 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Mauritius is situated on the east coast of Mauritius along a mile-long beach of immaculate white sand, fringed by the azure Indian Ocean and tropical gardens - an idyllic retreat for your unreserved relaxation. Inspired by the island's stately turn-of-the-century plantation houses, this luxury Mauritius resort blends modern elegance with classic, colonial style that envelops you in an endearing sense of nostalgia. Live like royalty in rooms that radiate luxurious comfort and charm, with attentive service worthy of the grand colonial houses of yesteryear. Dine on exotic cuisine that captures the incredible potpourri of island flavours. Discover new secrets to soulful relaxation within our serene spa sanctuary, and an endless playground of attractions and activities to be found in the island's unique mix of cultures and stunning landscapes. Whether you seek a romantic escape with your loved one or a spectacular beach getaway with your family, The Residence Mauritius will enthrall you under the warm glow of the Mauritian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Residence Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Belle Mare
Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing