We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
FindHotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,307)
Filter reviews
3,307 results
Traveller rating
2,739
393
129
27
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,739
393
129
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plantation restaurant yacht club a la carte ocean front ylang ylang colonial style an ocean view room butler service our honeymoon half board iced tea the main dining room seafood buffet beautiful hotel kids club indian ocean water sports
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
958 - 963 of 3,307 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

We've just returned from 14 nights at The Residence (August 2016) and had a lovely holiday. We were travelling with our young children but still managed to have a relaxing holiday as the hotel is so well set up and the staff exceptional.

We stayed in 2 inter connecting garden view rooms (cheapest available), they were spacious, comfortable with good sized bathrooms. Housekeeping and butler service were great and did their best to fit round our schedules.

The pools were heated, beautifully clean and with stunning views out to sea. Unlimited supplies of mineral water, towels and extremely helpful and polite staff on hand. (One made a swan and a turtle out of towels for my toddler which she loved!) Great beach, access to glass bottom boat, kayaks, sailing boats etc. Three tennis courts (floodlit) to use which were in good condition.

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and variety of food each evening at the buffet (I don't usually like buffets). Delicious fresh fish, BBQ'd meat, salads and huge variety of puddings. The a la carte restaurant was great too but we used it less as the buffet in the dining room worked better for the kids. Breakfasts were excellent - crepes, omelettes, fresh fruit, freshly pressed juice, pastries, cakes(!), freshly baked bread. I didn't try the sausages/bacon etc but it looked good. I'd recommend the half board option but be aware of supplements in the a la carte (all clearly marked). The staff were again excellent, incredibly kind and thoughtful. Only small gripe was that drinks sometimes took a while to arrive... but really not too bad.

The kids club was run by yet more great people. My 5 year old loved it - well organised but also the option to play freely. We let him have dinner there on a few evenings while we ate in the restaurant and he (and we) loved it. Kids food options were great, whether at kids club or any of the restaurants in the hotel.

The spa looked beautiful but I didn't use so cannot comment.... next time!

Thank you to the great staff at The Residence for a fantastic holiday, I hope to return!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank 101,476
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Operations Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you most sincerely for your recent stay with us and the time you have taken to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are very much delighted to read that you had a wonderful holiday at The Residence Mauritius and we feel honoured to read that you really had a good time at The Residence.

We shall share your comments to our team members and for sure this will act as a motivator.

We reiterate our thanks to you for having chosen The Residence Mauritius and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

La Residence is an absolutely amazing hotel. The beach is stunning, the room was lovely, the food was fantastic, the kids club was great, the massages in the spa were first class but what really makes it special is the outstanding service. The staff's attention to detail was really impressive and they came across as being really genuine and helpful. Our holiday in Mauritius was amazing, the only disappointment was our dolphin trip organised by the hotel. Despite what the hotel claimed, there were far too many boats chasing one poor pod of dolphins, there were no snorkels that would fit the children and it wasn't safe for children anyway. The people in charge of the speed boats gave no information and no instructions. I wouldnt recommend this trip and I would suggest doing your own research and finding out which company you are going with before booking anything through the hotel. (We had some fantastic trips that we booked ourselves). Despite this the hotel was outstanding and we cannot recommend it highly enough. Thank you for a wonderful holiday,

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank JennandJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Operations Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at our resort.

We are so delighted to read your praiseworthy comments and it is a real source of motivation to each and everyone to keep up on serving our customers with passion and respect.

We noted your comment on the dolphin trip and understand your disappointment on this activity and you may rest assured that we are taking appropriate measures to look for other activity provider to meet our guest expectations.

The entire team of The Residence Mauritius thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another wonderful experience.


Kind personal regards


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Mauritius is not short of very good hotels and this is one of the best. Set close to the coast road it is unaffected by this and located on one of the Islands very best beaches. While the East Coast is more affected by wind than the west this is my favourite part of the Island. I have visited Mauritius frequently over the past 38 years and always enjoy this part of the Island. The welcome and service at the Hotel was faultless and the room (one of the cheaper ones) extremely comfortable, roomy and spotlessly maintained with an excellent view to the sea. The ambiance at the Hotel was wonderful.
Downsides being a somewhat limited (by Mauritian standards) brekfast choice, but you can only eat so much! The sailing was impacted by the shallow water more than at the St Geran or Prince Maurice and this prevented any sailing during our short stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve046
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Operations Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for sharing your holiday experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you have had beautiful moments during your holidays at The Residence Mauritius.

We reiterate our thanks to you for the choice of our resort for your holidays and sincerely look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in a not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Very well organised lovely hotel with first class staff service. All staff from pool attendants, kids club,yacht club bar and restaurant staff etc really put a lot of personal effort in to make our stay special. We never found anything was too much trouble. Beautiful beach and location. The butler service is excellent and again they put in a lot of effort, our butler Sailem really helpful and so polite. We will return hopefully next year. Overall a great place if you want a peaceful and relaxing holiday where you will be well looked after.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
7  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Operations Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for sparing some of your precious time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you have had a nice relaxing time and were well looked after by our dedicated team members who always look for the comfort of our guest.

We reiterate our thanks for your choosing The Residence Mauritius and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I've just spent 10 wonderful days at The Residence, and would highly recommend it to anyone considering staying here. The staff, without exception, were helpful and responsive.
I have noticed complaints by other users that breakfast was always the same - it is, but with at least 40 different items to choose from, you could eat something different every morning for two weeks. Both the buffet dinner offering at the Dining Room and the A La Carte at The Plantation were very high quality. The spa treatments were equivalent to UK prices and were very good, and the pools in the pool area were all heated to varying degrees (the coldest was 27, two were 29 and the smallest was 32.)

The one very small criticism that I have, is that, having travelled in the past with a friend with some mobility issues, she would have very much struggled getting around the site, and into and out of pools, due to there being no hand rails on the steps. Just a little something to be aware of if you are not great on your feet!

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and am looking forward to returning in the future.

Room tip: Ocean view rooms are lovely.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Libby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Operations Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

We are happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your vacations with us and can only be thankful to you for detailing your holiday escapade on Trip Advisor.

We are very thankful to you for sharing your feedback; so important for us to measure our service quality and for our continuous improvement in our quest for excellence.

We are glad to read that our resort has met up to your expectations, as The Residence Mauritius team is ready to go all the way out in making our guests happy.

We would like to take this opportunity to reiterate our thanks for your choice and hope to see you again very soon at our shores.


Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews