We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Residence Mauritius
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2010

From the moment we arrived the staff at the Residence went out of their way to make us welcome. Having stayed at Le Touessrok previously we have to say that staying at the Residence was far more enjoyable. The staff at the Residence are much friendlier and more attentive and made for a much more exclusive feel to the holiday.

The butlers are a great touch and do all sorts of things to help make your stay relaxing even helping you to unpack, ironing your clothes, running special baths and constantly tidying your room and adding nice little touches all very discreetly.

There is one central pool complex with the main large 1.2m deep pool, 3 smaller shallower pools suitable for younger children and a large hot tub. Even though there are officially no lifeguards the friendly security staff are very attentive and are always keeping a close eye on the children which helps you to relax.

The kids club is definitely one of the best we have come across. It is free and you can drop off the children after breakfast and can collect them as late as 10pm! You can drop them off and pick them up pretty much any time you want and they will feed them as well if you wish. Makes it very easy for the parents to have a romantic meal, or an afternoon sailing or even just a couple of hours of peace by the pool. The staff are very good and are quite inventive at finding things for the children to do. After the first day our children were asking us to go back and we had to drag them away on occasion!

There are essentially two evening restaurants and the food was excellent at both. Both restaurants are a la carte and there are a couple of special themed buffet evenings during the week. Much better than some places where half board includes a buffet restaurant only with a huge premium to eat a la carte. There is a premium to pay for some of the dishes although there is a different menu of the day every day at each of the restaurants. Drinks and food are expensive but that is the norm for Mauritius and it is a 5 star resort. Our favourite restaurant for dinner was the Plantation which is away from the central complex and sits close to the beach. Breakfast is served in the Main Restaurant and there is a great variety to chose from while lunch is served by the pool, in the bar area or at the Plantation.

There is a good selection of watersports including sailing, water ski-ing, snorkelling, kayaks, pedaloes etc. The kit is all in good condition and it is all free while the staff at the water sports centre are also very good at looking after your every need. I believe diving can be arranged as well for a fee.

The beach is very long and you can go for a long stroll in either direction passing numerous other resorts. It is a beautiful beach. There are a number of vendors on the beach and while they will try and approach you they are all good natured and will leave you in peace if you are not interested. There is quite a lot of broken coral that gets washed up on to the beach at the water line but it is sandy bottomed further out and fine for swimming in. The hotel sweep and rake the beach clean every morning! We took the children snorkelling straight off the beach and it was fine. You can see a small number of fish near to the shore but there is a twice daily snorkelling trip further out to the reef and plenty of fish to see there. Whether you settle on the beach or by the pool the staff will look after you.

I am a paleskin and don't like it too hot so July is a perfect time for me to go to Mauritius as it is the middle of the winter. The sun is low so you are much less likely to burn and the temperatures average around the mid twenties with a fairly constant offshore breeze that makes things very pleasant. You will get the occasional cloudy day and the odd short shower. However, if you are a real sun worshipper and like it very hot, then come in the European winter/Mauritian summer to avoid disappointment.

We had a ground floor suite with two rooms and there was plenty of space with every convenience you could need and a large veranda area although we did not really use that. All of the rooms are a short walk from all of the amenities.

Having stayed in many different resorts over the years this is not one of the largest or the most complex but it is definitely one of the best and the friendliest we have come across with exceptional service and we would highly recommend a visit. We don't normally go back to a place but I think we will go back to the Residence one day soon.

The only criticism is that it is not really a place with a wild nightlife but to be honest that is not what we were looking for and if you are then this is probably not the place for you. If you want nightlife then I don’t think Mauritius is the place to go to.

Great for families and groups of friends and the beach is large enough for honeymooners to find a quiet secluded spot.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellTravelledAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2010

Our second visit to the hotel and again we had a wondeful time. We booked a Colonial Ocean Front one bed suite inteconecting to an Ocean Front room and for 2 of us we had loads of space and a lovely lounge area to share .We had 2 butlers who ironed all our clothes on arrival. we ordered a bottle of champagne every evening to be delivered to our room and found that we had some suprise with it every night, homemade chocolates, hor douvres, strawberries etc which was a lovely touch. What was very sweet too was we brought our own tea bags for a proper english cuppa and found that they had set it all up on a little side table with kettle and biscuits ( so typically british and even paying all the money we did we still wanted our own cuppa!!!) The attention to detail was amazing. The food is fantastic too...although a little rich and fussy at times for a plain palette. we attended the themed nights at the plantation and enjoyed the food. They mix a mean cocktail in the bar and found ourselves being the last ones up every night. It is a very relaxing place and the Spa is amazing too which we had a few treatments on most days pre booked by our concierge service with our tour op as we wanted specific times. Being male I had a male therapist which i requested and it was perfect. One thing that worried me was that my friend fell down the stairs in her heels and injured her leg badly and the first aid given by the hotel staff was a little hazy they suggested a hot water bottle to the swelling and bruising.....I asked for ice.....apart from that we had an amazing time. We arrived by helicopter which was lovely after the long flight and took 10 mins a s opposed to the hour transfer.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMARTLEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Had a great stay with a baby of 3 months old. Nice big room on ground floor, v good food. Friendly staf, attentive. Lives up without a doubt to its 5 star rating. We can be quite picky but this place just had nothing to complain about! Beach is lovely not tooo wide though but still lovely. Cheap babysitting (relatively) and lovely kids club. We loved it so much we booked the residence in tunisia for this summer! Hopefully they will be as good as this one!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGElondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Stayed for a week on honeymoon in June 2010. Had an unbelievable experience, resort and the whole island was really empty (maybe 20% occupancy rate), so we were treated with lot of attention.


Had a room on secondd floor of one of the buildings, space was ok, bed was great and the bathroom was really gorgeous, very good design with a small hidden wardrobe very well presented. Shower is a heaven.

The beach is beautiful but there are so many rocks in the sea that you cannot actually swin that much (the area is delimited by buoys), but the combination of sand beaches + swimming pool is enough to have fun.

The staff is just incredible, kine, knowledgeable and very dedicated. Food is one of the highlights, it is delicious and extremely well presented. Our adivce is to opt as often as possible for the restuarant on the beach. Lovely setting. The staff for sea sports is just terrific, very patient and kind, we have a lot of fun.

Spa is surprisingly not vey nice, building it underground wasnt probably the best idea. Relaxation room is great. The overall architecture of the resort is magnificent.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank didier_sept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

This is a lovely resort, but not the kind of place you would want to go for your honeymoon or a romantic getaway. The resort is full of families with kids and the sound of kids running around screaming will drive you nuts if you've gone to Mauritius to relax. However, if you are a family with kids, this is the perfect resort, as they have everything to make a child and parents happy, including an army of nannies.

General comments:

Rooms: Very nice, we would recommend a room on the first floor as the view is better than the ground floor.

Restaurants: Good, though not extraordinarily good.

Beach: Amazing! However bear in mind that this side of the island is a bit windy and believe it or not it may get a bit chilly in the shade and at nights. Bring a sweater with you just in case.

Dive center: Very good, professional staff.

Service: Very good.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We have stayed here twice. Once as a couple and once with 2 small children. I can not fault the hotel on anything. It really was the most wonderful time. The staff were incredible and you never wanted for anything. They almost took offense if you poured your own glass of wine!
The kids club was fantastic and both children adored the staff who were always keen to see them. The daily activites were very sweet!
Yes drinks are expensive, but this is a top class hotel and unfortunately the prices do match.
The spa was a nice treat for us ladies, while there is a gym for those who wish to burn off the calories.
GO! It's the holiday of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkmr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We've just come back from a week at The Residence over half term with our 5-year old daughter and are already planning going back next year. We are fortunate enough to have stayed at some lovely hotels around the world, and this property is unquestionably five star: very high standards of service, the food is excellent (and much improved on two years ago according to some other guests we spoke to) and the kid's club is wonderful.

Our only gripe is that some of furniture in our suite was a victory of form over function (e.g. no comfy sofa or chairs) but this was easily offset by the enormous bathroom and comfy bed. The room was meticulously maintained by a personal butler, who also unpacked for us and was helpful without ever being intrusive.

Also worthy of mention is the full range of free water-sports, which include unlimited water-skiing and wake-boarding – very impressive.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenHud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,861 reviews
4.0 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,334 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,516 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.2 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Mauritius

Address: Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £219 - £789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Mauritius is situated on the east coast of Mauritius along a mile-long beach of immaculate white sand, fringed by the azure Indian Ocean and tropical gardens - an idyllic retreat for your unreserved relaxation. Inspired by the island's stately turn-of-the-century plantation houses, this luxury Mauritius resort blends modern elegance with classic, colonial style that envelops you in an endearing sense of nostalgia. Live like royalty in rooms that radiate luxurious comfort and charm, with attentive service worthy of the grand colonial houses of yesteryear. Dine on exotic cuisine that captures the incredible potpourri of island flavours. Discover new secrets to soulful relaxation within our serene spa sanctuary, and an endless playground of attractions and activities to be found in the island's unique mix of cultures and stunning landscapes. Whether you seek a romantic escape with your loved one or a spectacular beach getaway with your family, The Residence Mauritius will enthrall you under the warm glow of the Mauritian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Belle Mare
Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing