We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambre Mauritius
Nearby Hotels
US$704
US$476
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$341
US$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Long Beach Mauritius(Belle Mare)
US$427
US$417
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$840
US$551
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LUX* Belle Mare(Belle Mare)
US$390
US$381
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,260)
Filter reviews
4,260 results
Traveller rating
2,625
1,169
343
79
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,625
1,169
343
79
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoral barla plagedolce vitabeach restaurantindigo buffetdogs and catsboat tripthomson repfive islandsitalian restauranttwo weekssea viewrum and cokea la carte restaurantsmet some great peoplesuperior roomall inclusive resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,239 - 2,244 of 4,260 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 12 days and agree with the fact that this must be one of the most beautiful sides of the island. Situated in a bay, white beach and very quiet, this definitely has been a good choice. They talk about the windy side of Mauritius but with full sun, sometimes you are happy to have a bit of wind. Only minor point about this is the fact that it can cool down in the evening so don't forget your sweater.

Ambre has been taken over by another group and it has many good points..

First of all the good points:

* food (from breakfast over lunch/snack to dinner) are excellent in all 3 restaurants. They must have an amazing team of cooks because they surprised us day after day with a very large choice of dishes (even for vegetarians). The service at the restaurants is excellent and they even have some nice red wines on the menu.

* drinks at the Coral bar are always good with a large choice of cocktails, rums, beers, ... They are not always that fast, certainly the pool service, but they do the utmost. In this case, special thanks to Eddie, Veer, Adish and Loïc for their service ! The entertainment in the evening is sometimes good, sometimes not but we especially enjoyed the live bands.

* the rooms, in our case one with sea view, are spacious, very clean and have a minibar that they will fill up every day. The only disadvantage - in our case a room in block 8 - is that we had to wait about 1/2 hour before we got hot water... BEWARE: no free wifi on the rooms and they charge extra, only near the reception and around the swimming pool you can use it for free but it is not very fast.

* swimming pool and area around it are very nice with enough space. Also the garden towards the rooms (not direction Gym) are very clean and nice.

* beach is very clean and nice that it is private. You can also do some watersports, take the glass boat but we did not use it.

* book a taxi via the hotel. We did not find them very expensive and they are checked by the hotel. Every taxi we took was a positive experience with friendly drivers. They can take you to every place you want and it is much cheaper then the guided tours most tour operators offer...

The reception is not very well organised and when you have a problem.... sometimes they don't know how to cope with it. Perhaps it is a new team and they need to learn but once you pay that amount of money you want everything to be perfect and they need to have full attention for every guest.

The animation team sometimes wants to bring fun at the swimming pool with some games and aquagym but... most of the people coming to Mauritius want to enjoy the good weather, food and drinks.... they want to relax. Perhaps it is better to do games only on the beach ?

Overall we would recommend this hotel because it is not that large as most other hotels we have looked at. After a while you know many of the people working there and that makes it more cosy and personal.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view are highly recommended. Not only for the view but definitely for the space. They are much larger then the standard rooms !
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavyDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed for 9 nights at Ambre at the end of September into October. The setting is fantastic, a beautiful white beach with amazing turquoise water. The reception and pool area are stunning and make a definite first impression. Elsewhere, the resort begins to suffer. We moved rooms after a few nights as we found a cockroach in our room which must have been an unfortunate one off. The problem was quickly resolved and we were assisted in moving rooms. Staff seem to work very hard but there doesn’t seem to be great organisation or training. Small things like having to wait 10 minutes at breakfast to be asked if you’d like tea or coffee, reception staff not knowing that the premium paid for wifi is available throughout the hotel and not just in rooms, or booking one of the a la carte restaurants for dinner that evening, only to get there and find it’s closed that day. The food is of a good standard but certainly isn’t of the quality we’ve had at other four star resorts and if Minestrone Soup is something you like, look out for the alphabetical letters at their Italian restaurant, La Dolce Vita, but not before considering your dress code. Our rooms had pieces of skirting board missing, cracked tiles, and lacked slippers and dressing gowns which are sometimes expected at resorts of this kind. The free wifi provided in the reception area is very slow and if anyone is on a half board option, the village of Belle Mare is a 15 minute walk away up the beach to top up on essentials. Overall, a stunning setting but the service and food lacked the quality we would expect. As such, we wouldn’t return but would recommend the area and we are looking at the Lux Belle Mare for next year after visiting a couple of times and being wowed on a number of levels.

Room Tip: Choose a Superior Room. The extra space is worth the value. Belle Mare village is only a 15 minute walk for any essentials.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldinview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Simply stunning.......picture post card location....palm trees and white sands set within a lagoon bordered by a coral reef. The staff could not do enough for you ....I was ticked off for having the audacity to pour myself a drink!! The food was plentiful, freshly prepared and innovative. Everything you could possibly want is on this site - excellent gym, bikes for hire, boats - the lot and almost all within the all in package which in itself is absolutely excellent value for money. The company strive to set high standards - the staff are immaculately turned out and well disciplined. The rooms, restaurant and bar facilities are modern, airy and exceptionally clean. I only wished that some of the clientele had the courtesy to respect and abide by the restaurant dress code - it was such a shame to see the staff making such an effort and some slob wander in in flip flops and cut down denim. Please go - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book the sea front if you can and towards the centre.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheDampGusset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Where to start? My hubby and I stayed at Ambre in August 2013 where we spent our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived we were pampered and treated like royalty. The service upon arrival was exceptionally good as well as throughout the stay. The service in all the restaurants were good but specifically at the a la carte restaurant. We were looked after by Vijay and he made sure we had a special table every night. The quality of the food was that of a 5 star restaurant in South Africa and we were very impressed. It is absolutely worth-it to pay a bit extra for the all inclusive package. The facilities on the property was good. We stayed in a Superior room and what I liked most is that the room is so spacious. Love the patio overlooking the beach. Definitely worth paying a bit extra for the Superior room. Overall it was a pleasurable experience and we will return to Ambre in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarinDuPlessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Ambre is in a superb position on the east side of the island. We enjoyed a wonderful relaxing holiday in this exceptional resort. From the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough to make our stay memorable. The rooms were large and airy and well furnished and clean. The fridge was stocked every morning with water, soft drinks, beer, cola, fresh milk and crisps and biscuits to nibble on. The beach was a stones throw away with an array of water sports available. We chose to relax on the loungers and observe the sights. The sea was turquoise and the sand like white pepper just like paradise. There were 3 restaurants all serving an excellent selection of food and a snack bar. The drinks were of exceptional choice and quality for all inclusive. I will definitely return in the future as the friendliness of the people on this island really impressed us.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueG008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews