We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambre Mauritius
Nearby Hotels
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Long Beach Mauritius(Belle Mare)
US$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$421
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$367
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LUX* Belle Mare(Belle Mare)
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden Villa Hotel Mauritius(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$547
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Orchid Villas Mauritius(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emeraude Beach Attitude(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Solana Beach(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,318)
Filter reviews
4,318 results
Traveller rating
2,645
1,194
346
86
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,645
1,194
346
86
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoral barla plagedolce vitabeach restaurantindigo buffetdogs and catsboat tripthomson repfive islandsitalian restauranttwo weekssea viewrum and cokea la carte restaurantsmet some great peoplesuperior roomall inclusive resort
Filter
Updating list...
2,253 - 2,258 of 4,318 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My dad organised the all inclusive holiday as part of a surprise 60th birthday present for my mum who had no idea until discovering us in the bar, that myself along with 3 other family members would be staying with them!

A wonderful resort, stunning as you walked in. Enjoyed the atmosphere and food throughout the holiday. The Italian restaurant left a lot to be desired though after a 2 and a half hour dinner service with some poorly prepared food. This included serving my mum food that was NOT gluten free after a lengthy explanation (and understanding from the staff). Another couple near to us were very angry about their service and resulted in a group of staff around them and calling the manager.

Some staff were very helpful and friendly. Other staff, mostly at the bar were not attentive to your needs and you needed to chase them until they gave you what you wanted.

Had a brilliant relaxing holiday and was impressed with most things enjoying all we can from our all inclusive experience (apart from what has been mentioned).

HOWEVER:

On the last night myself and my boyfriend ate donner kebab. That night I woke up in the early hours with horrendous stomach cramps. This was the day of our long journey of 16 hours back to England. Sudden violent sickness and diarrhoea dominated the trip, we have never been so ill. As a result we have been off work for a week and ill for more than this with continuing diarrhoea and stomach cramps. Throughout our 10 day holiday we did not eat or drink outside the hotel. I have not written our holiday review until now as have been too unwell.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but try to organise that you have a full double bed rather than 2 singles. 2 singles seem to be more prevalent throughout the hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Miss Moore,

We thank you for your time taken to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate the fact that you cherished our resort and our team members efforts in somehow helping you enjoy a soothing holiday.

However, we would like to express our most profuse apologies for the glitch that occurred at the end of such a wonderful sojourn.

Although, we are distressed to be made aware of your uncomfortable trip and having gathered the required information with all relative parties concerned we wish to assure you that the donner kebab which was a focal culinary item was consumed by a vast majority of our cosmopolitan clientele and no similar short-comings was reported, neither with the Management nor with the medical room and presume could have been an isolated case for which we deeply regret.

We always say that there is no second chance, but only if the first is not known. You have brought to our attention what would impress you and I can assure you that it will not be a missed opportunity.

Having said so, we wish you a quick recovery.

Should you wish to renew your stay among us please feel free to contact us.

Thank you again for your appreciation and rating. We will certainly keep on memories the pleasure we had to be at your service.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was the first time we had visited Mauritius, and we stayed at the Ambre Hotel - Belle Mare for 7 nights between 8 -15th October 2013 for our honeymoon. It was amazing! We went on an all inclusive board basis which we would highly recommend. The choice of food and drinks is brilliant, and everything is clearly marked to show what is and isn't included in the all inclusive package. We ate at all three restaurants La Dolce Vita, La Plage & Indigo Restaurant and all the meals were fantastic! Everything was fresh and delicious. There is also the option to eat during coffee/tea times at the Coral Bar from a great variety light food menu. The setting of the hotel is unbelievable, paradise! We stayed in a superior room with an unbelievable view! The room was nice, it was clean, modern ambiance & spacious.The rooms were cleaned everyday, and the mini bar is re-stocked. All the staff at the resort were so friendly and helpful, and not even to mention the service we had on the beach from Prem - it was brilliant! The were Sega Shows as part of all the great entertainment, thereafter we would go and party in the night club - what an experience! The entertainment the resort offer on a daily basis is exquisite! As part of our honeymoon we got a complementary Honeymoon dinner with our own menu prepared to our perfection, with the menu's typed specially for us with our names on. We literally did all the inclusive activities that were available, from Snorkeling right through to Wind surfing. We had the perfect honeymoon, and would definitely return to Mauritius, and Ambre Hotel, it was perfect!!

Things we would suggest to make the experience better - NOTHING!! (Everything was perfect as is!!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhoa_Jacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you immensely for such wonderful comments on Trip Advisor.
It’s indeed a real pleasure to know that you appreciated the effort made in making your trip a successful one.

Our aim is to make every guests bid us goodbye with a smile on their face and we think that we met our goals. Thank you for such kind words of appreciation.

Your comments will certainly act as a great source of motivation and help us in paving our way to success.
We wish to reiterate our thanks for your loyalty and for having chosen Ambre Hotel Mauritius.

To the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Just got back this morning from the Ambre. Strangely enough we stayed at the same hotel eighteen years ago wher we got engaged after my proposal on the beach ( she said yes! ) It was very nice back then, however , it has recently gone through a refurb last year and I have to say it's now superb!
1 Beach is fab, and you Can walk for miles if you wish on lovely white sand
2. The pool area is lovely with 2 separate pools side by side one an infinity pool
3 staff were very attentive and friendly
4. The rooms were really large and spacious with big walk in showers ( think ours was a superior Beach view room ) would recommend one on ground floor as a lot of the first floor rooms didn't have balconies. Beds were massive and comfy. They were perhaps a little on the simple side but we found it generally good
5. The all inclusive I would highly recommend as most drinks and cocktails were included and were superb. Yourself one particular waiter really new how to make a cocktail! Which my wife loved
6 The local Bear " pheonix " is 5% and is the nicest Beer I 've ever had abroad. Couldn't get enough of it
7. The choice of food ie Buffet , Italian or Beach Front restaurants was excellent as was the quality of the food. It may seem A strange thing to write , but the Bread ( all types ) including the naans in the Tandori Oven was some of the freshest and nicest we've eaten as it's all baked on premises.
8. The weather always makes a holiday and we had 11 nights at the Ambre and it was amazing

I could go on but all in all , if you want a great 4 Star ( plus ) book it!

My wife and I are extensively travelled ie Caribean many many times to very good hotels ie The Divi in Aruba and St. James Club in Antigua last year for example , Maldives, Bali etc... Always good 4 or 5 Star Hotels.
Now the Ambre is under the same ownership as Le Touessrok in Mauitius I would definitely return and not wait another 18 years.

Thanks to both the staff and Management for making our holiday

Nigel & Jakki Dentith

Room Tip: Go for a superior room with either a terrace or an actual balcony and probably away from the main bar if you want an early night
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NigelDentith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Congratulations for your Honeymoon! We thank you for having chosen our hotel to celebrate such a great occasion and for having drop by such pleasing comments for us.

So wonderful to read such pleasing comments from guests who recognize the great job and the effort done in meeting the standards of Sun Resorts.

This is indeed a matter of honor for us and this will certainly help in providing better service for our future guests.

As we say “Life is not a matter of milestones, but of moments”. Therefore we thank you for having shared your special moments among us.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back home very soon for another memorable sojourn at our shores.

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just arrived back from a two week holiday at the Ambre Hotel on the east coast of Mauritius. My wife and I have travelled extensively and always look to book five star hotels, in this instance we didn't. As we always do a fair bit of research on accommodation on tripadvisor I was surprised at the amount of favourable reports which had been written about the Ambre Hotel, which was only classed as a four star, I took the gamble and booked it up through Mauritius holidays direct.

We flew Emirates from Newcastle via Dubia to Mauritius, it's a long journey, 7.5 hours to Dubia a short two hour wait then another 6.5 hours to Mauritius. We arrived on time at 9:30am where we were met at the airport by the rep who held up a board with our name, he greeted us with a cool cloth and ice cold bottle of water and escorted us to the private transfer. The driver was a lovely chap who was very knowledgable about the island and within an hour we were in the Ambre hotel reception. We arrived about 11:00 am and honestly expected to have to wait till early afternoon before we got access to our room, nothing like it, we were greeted by the most lovely young lady called ashina who took all our details, advised we had been upgraded to a superior room, on my request organised the premier wifi access ( gives wifi access in the room which is chargeable) and arranged a Late checkout on our departure ( we were not being picked up till 7:30pm) all this was completed within ten minutes, Ashina then took us to our room explaining the porter would bring our cases shortly. We were in our room by 11:30am which was great after such a long journey. As promised our cases arrived within five minutes and we were all set to start our holiday.

The room was nice but being at the extreme edge of the complex we felt it was too far away from reception, restaurants and pool. We decided to ask reception if there was a possibility of a move to a room closer to the centre, without to much ado this was arranged and to our delight we were allocated a room near all the facilities. One thing we learned early on and which became a theme throughout our stay was that the philosophy instilled in the hotel staff was that "nothing was a problem"

During our stay we were very impressed with the friendliness of all the staff, from the senior management down everyone said hello and would go out of their way to assist you in any way they could. I have always believed that you get back what you put in so unlike some of our grumpier fellow guests from France and South Africa we enjoyed an excellent relationship with the staff (people should realise a simple smile and courtesy goes a long way) the animation team were great people especially Joan and Steven who we formed a lasting friendship with. There was plenty to do during the day, if you were so inclined, from aqua aerobics to beach Olympics with a bit of Zumba thrown in for the real enthusiast. There were also displays laid on by the chefs on ice sculpture carving and napkin folding. Adish and Jay at the pool bar looked after us all holiday by supplying sparkling wine for my wife all day and ice cold bottles of water for me during the day and wonderful Mauritius rum and coke at night the nice thing about the service is that we never had to search for a waiter they anticipated your needs before you ran out and there was always a drink on your table. if you wanted one. They certainly made our holiday all the more enjoyable. The shows at night were very good, there was a bit too much emphasis on dance routines but all in all we both enjoyed the shows and my wife certainly enjoyed the dancing after the shows were over. In the Indigo restaurant praise must be given to Ravi and Kevin who looked after us during Breakfast and lunch. Special praise has to be given to the food and beverage manager, Puttee, who when we asked if we could have lobster and prawn dinner in the Italian restaurant, instead of the beach restaurant, went out of his way to arrange this request also making sure we had an excellent table outside under the stars with a bottle of sparking wine on chill, it was a truly memorable night.

We had a wonderful time at the Ambre hotel and to be honest I cannot think of anything to complain about, it was that good, however there was one thing that I feel needs addressing. It has always annoyed me when hotels display star ratings that they do not live up to, this is also the case with the Ambre, it is certainly not a four star hotel it's rating should be higher and I am sure this will be the case in the near future.

Thanks to the General Manager Alessandro Schenone and all his staff for a wonderful holiday.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank unonumero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I went there in Dec'10. Amber is a good property to enjoy in Mauritius. Place is very calm, away from city crowd. Good rooms, excellent food and wonderful beach are its USPs. That time, they also had an evening band, great performers. If you want go out, you can do various activities there only or can also relax at beach side.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ankit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews