We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in this hotel!!!”
Review of Ambre Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

our stay was short but memorable one...We booked for the All inclusive package and it was worth it.We really enjoyed it...
we had a warm welcome, dynamic, active staff... rapid service
nice swimming pool.. room was spacious and clean....
breakfast n lunch was superb (unlimited drinks, varieties of food0 but we had dinner at the Dolce Vita and the starter was too cold, that was the only negative aspect...
on the overall, we had a fabulous moment, a fantastic time and would highly recommend Hotel Ambre and would definitely return next year!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter... choose one which has a sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EzNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

We would like to thank you for your time taken to write your review on Trip Advisor and for having chosen our hotel as your holiday escape.

As said simple words are always the sweetest. Therefore we seize this opportunity in extending our utmost thanks to you.

We have taken note of the few glitches mentioned and we can assure you that this will be taken care of.

The whole team looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you “back home” next year.
Meanwhile we wish you a merry Christmas and Happy New Year 2014!

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,022 - 2,028 of 3,919 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was our first trip to Mauritius and we decided to go the Ambre as the reviews on here said that Belle Mare had the best beaches and this hotel was rated highly. We travel a fair bit so had various places to rate this against. I'll try to make the review as helpful as I can.

Room:

Pros: we had a superior room which offered a little more space and a sea view. The room was bright and fresh with a huge bed, flat screen tv, mini bar, lots of hanging space, large bathroom. Good air conditioning although we didn't need it. Small balcony but perfect for two people to enjoy a drink over looking the beach.

Negatives: there is a separate WC which is in a tiny cupboard so if you a bit larger getting in and out could be a mission, also our seat was broken. The rooms are located on a hall way so you hear everything, flip flops slapping up and down the stairs, people talking/shouting as soon as they leave their rooms, cleaners start their rounds at 7.45am! Throughout the whole holiday I didn't manage to sleep right through the night or past 7am- solely down to the noise. The cleaning in the rooms could be better especially in the bathrooms, we are not messy but they don't even seem to wipe around the sink work top!

Pool:

Beautiful. Looks out onto the ocean. Lots of beds but you do need to reserve them at about 8.30am. 2 separate pools, one is used for the daytime activities and the other is a large infinity pool.

Beach:

Pros: Calm due to the reef stopping the waves. Free kayaks, pedaloes and glass bottom boat trips. You can walk in both directions which is lovely, and gives you a chance to see some of the hotels and beaches Ambre is up against.

Negatives: The East is supposed to have the best beaches on the island but they are still a far cry from what we expected of the Indian Ocean. There is a lot of seaweed which roles up on to the beach but it is also in the sea too. The broken coral from the sea also washes up so can be sharp under foot, but only for a few steps. There are sea urchins in the sea so watch out for the them. The area you can swim in is cordoned off so is a bit restricted, however the rest of the sea is sharp coral and makes the swimming too dangerous. Compared to the beaches in Cuba and Cyprus which we couldn't fault, this was disappointing.

Food:

Pros: You have two a la carte restaurants and a buffet restaurant, but also a pool bar which serves food. The pool bar serves lovely lunches with a great view. The Italian is also very nice with a good menu. Lovely tasting curries.

Negatives: The service at all food and drink places is awful. We have spent more time this holiday waiting for food, drinks and bills than anything else. Some mornings you don't see tea and coffee for 20 mins and then at dinner you are waiting to be served again, starter plates not cleared away etc etc! They really do let themselves down here. There are a lot of staff in each place but no one seems to know what they are doing and there is no guidance from managers. The main buffet restaurant is restrictive and we are not fussy eaters, at all...but you have curry and rice every night and every lunch time without fail. The only alternatives are pasta, plain meat or fish, or pizza. I did struggle some evenings to have a pleasant meal. There is no ice cream either which I find bizarre in a buffet setup. (But we did find out if you discreetly ask a waiter they get you a couple of scoops from somewhere!)

Everything else:

We got a taxi to the Casela Nature Park- do it it's brilliant. You can walk with lions or just have your picture with them, we also did a Segway Safari and Ziplines. Well worth visiting and booking these up, you'll have a great day.

You can visit Ill De Cerf island by getting a taxi to the nearby Le Touserrok hotel, then a free boat trip to the island. The beach is the best on the island with great views, watersports, restaurants etc. We went for a few hours and it was lovely, you do have to pay for sun beds here though so take some money.

Don't bothers with the Centre de Flacq market, it is £20 in a taxi and the market is hot, smelly and full of food, house hold items and poor quality clothes. Nothing to buy as souvenirs so save your money!

The taxi drivers will tell you to go to the factory shops to buy REAL designer clothing, it's not real and you will be followed around the shops by 10 assistants...not fun!

Overall:

We still think this is a great hotel and the view from the pool and pool bar is amazing, lovely rooms, views and pools, but unfortunately the beach, food and service drags it down. We did enjoy our holiday, it may not seem so but we did, we would recommend it but would let everyone read our review first so they know what to expect.

We probably won't be rushing back to Mauritius as being beach people we strongly believe there is better places to go. Mauritius was our destination as it's weather was preferential in November/December.

Room Tip: Superior room with a sea view. Far away rooms are quieter due to being away from the Coral Bar where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank DevonTravella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for having chosen our resort as your holiday escape and for the time taken to share some words for us on this renowned website Trip-Advisor.

It gives immense pleasure in knowing that your appreciated the resort despite some glitches as highlighted above.

However, we would like to extend our profuse apologies for all the short-comings that lacked behind in making your holiday a perfect one.

Your comments have been taken into consideration and we can assure you that corrective measures have been taken in order to avoid similar niggle in future.

We cannot thank you enough for being our ambassador and sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our sores for another warm experience.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I had been there for my honeymoon(rm305) and i must say that the hotel is well organised.We booked for the All inclusive package and i must say that it was worth it.Our room was far from the pool and restaurant so that we won't feel disturbed.And moreover we got the best seaview from our balcony.The Guest Officer who accompanied us to the room was very very helpful and informs you about all the facilities that the hotel provides.
Breakfast,Lunch and dinner was superb and there are such varieties of food.And on All inclusive package you get all the drink you need.
Wifi near reception and at a very affordable price in room.
The place is very calm and relaxing.Nobody disturb you.
No complains as we had the time of our life and we will surely go there again next year.

Room Tip: Get All-Inclusive package and Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KUNALsookun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guests,

We wish to fore mostly apologise for our belated reply and express our heartfelt thanks for having rated our resort on Trip Advisor.

We are very delighted to read about your overall satisfaction and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another experience.

Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My husband and I arrived at The Ambre Hotel on 25 November for a 10 night holiday with the prime objective being total rest and relaxation. The Ambre did not disappoint.

On arrival we were shown to our Superior Room which was less than 20 metres from the beach. The room was spacious and clean and all the amenities and services available were fully explained to us by the Receptionist who escorted us to our room.

The restaurants were excellent and served a fantastic selection of food. We visited Dolce Vita twice as there was so much on the menu we had to go back again! The F&B Manager, Mr Puttee, goes the extra mile to ensure his guests are fully satisfied with the service they are receiving from his restaurants and takes time out to personally see that your requirements are catered for.

Most days we stayed by the pool but we did venture out on the 5 island trip by speedboat which was organised by Chris on the beach, who became a good friend, and although the weather wasn't great, it was an enjoyable trip which ended with a lovely lobster lunch on an idyllic white sandy beach. My husband also went deep sea fishing, which Chris also organised for him, through one of his contacts. My husband says this was a lifetime experience!

The beach was cleaned regularly and the whole resort was kept clean and tidy throughout. The night time entertainment was adequate but if you were looking for a party atmosphere this is not the resort for you.

Overall, we had a fantastic time and would highly recommend The Ambre and would definitely return!

Room Tip: Request a ground floor, sea view superior room, it is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaxtersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guests

We wish to express our profuse apologies for our belated reply.

We thank you for your nice review and read with great pleasure about your best ever lived experience at our shores and for your kind recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the hotel for four nights! Our first time all inclusive so was worried about quality of food but pleasantly surprised as the buffet food was delicious and well maintained at all times and happily ate there. Tried the Italian restaurant but wasn't anything special, lacked atmosphere and was so dark outside couldn't see the food or menus! The beachfront restaurant was incredible and which had more time to have eaten there again!

The only negatives I had were slow service for drinks everywhere, dinner, the bar etc. it was annoying being asked if all inclusive all the time cos felt a bit harassed having to justify it all the time. Also worried maybe not marked down correctly so would have been better if they told you if you were as a check!

We were fortunate to have an upgrade to a Sea view room and it was gorgeous but if you has a standard room with no view it probably wouldn't have been as nice - so next time would definitely ensure we book that room.

Finally I wouldn't ask them to book you a cab anywhere as they have an arrangement with the driver and get a large share of the fare so you end up paying way too much! Hire a car - it is so much cheaper and easier to get around!

That said all in all would absolutely stay there again but would just have to accept it is still a 4* at the end of the day so it's not going to be perfect but everything is still really good and made a great holiday!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scrabble247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guests,

We wish to fore mostly apologise for our belated reply and express our heartfelt thanks for having rated our resort on Trip Advisor.

We are very delighted to read about your overall satisfaction. On the other hand, your comments on the slow service have retained our attention and we are pleased to inform you that corrective measures with reinforced training have been implemented, which have demonstrated positive results.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another experience

Sincerely,
Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just returned from the Ambre hotel on Belle Mare beach & had a fantastic 2 weeks to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Stunning location & infinity pool are the first things that you see when you arrive. All staff from reception to waiters were very courteous & willing to help. Sailing, windsurfing & other good watersports equipment always available when conditions allowed. Best day was Chris from the beach's boat trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjmfarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for the time taken to write down such magic words for us after your recent at our shores.
We seize this opportunity to wish you anew “Happy Wedding Anniversary”.

As we always say “Life is not a matter of milestones but of moments. So cherish all the good and make good memories...”

We wish to reiterate our thanks to you for having chosen our hotel.
The whole team looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

After much researching we decided to visit the Ambre, 2 couples looking for a relaxing break but with things to do when we felt like it (like golf).
We arrived early on the Friday morning and we're greeted by very friendly & helpful reception staff, who quickly sorted us out, explained the hotel & services available. We'd booked the all inclusive & were quickly able to take advantage of the breakfast buffet which was excellent. A wide variety, plenty of staff keeping things fresh & cooking certain items to order (none of the long queues you often find in the AI hotels).

Although check in wasn't until early afternoon we were shown to our rooms straight away, which is a big plus after a 20hrs travelling. Our room was fine, unfortunately our friends room had a bit of an odour. The hotel staff tried to rectify this a couple of times, whilst we all relaxed by the pool, unfortunately this couldn't be done so the hotel upgraded them to a better room. So all good there.
My advice would be to book the upgraded room anyway, they were much better size & location so well worth the extra couple of hundred pounds.

The hotel had been renovated during 2012 I believe & they had done a superb job of the main areas, reception, pools, restaurants & bars. The rooms looked like they'd been renovated though, as opposed to a new build. But the rooms were fine & who spends their holiday in the room when you're in this location?

The restaurants were all good, the staff seemed to want to help which is a refreshing change to some places. We visited the beach restaurant and the Italian 3 times each and the rest of the time we spent in the main restaurant buffet style. The service was good in both the a la carte & Italian offering a friendly, polite & efficient service. The food was good on all 6 occasions & there was a reasonable variety to choose from. One night the weather rather ruined the night at the beach restaurant but that wasn't anything the hotel could effect.
The buffet had a good variety & changed many of the dishes each night to keep things interesting for guests.

Around the pool during the day there were plenty of sun loungers & brollies and the pool was never crowded. The beach was great, again plenty of sun loungers etc for the size of the hotel.

The bars were generally ok, very clean but part way through the holiday the service did seem to slip, this seemed to be more down to lack of organisation than numbers of staff & I believe several complained to the management who quickly took action to rectify this. Often the food & beverage manager or his deputy were then seen organising the staff, these guys really took it personally & I'm sure will have worked to get the standards of service where they needed to be. (Acknowledging guests waiting to be served would be a great start to improving here).

A few brochures talk about certain food & drink not being included in the AI package, this certainly isn't something that should put you off. They had one of the most comprehensive drinks lists I've seen at an AI hotel & there were only a few things in the a la carte restaurants that weren't included like lobster.

We visited the spa twice, which was very relaxing, the staff were very good and was reasonably priced. Well worth a visit to chill out even more that the strains of being by the pool.
We took advantage of the snorkelling, canoes, pedal boats, sail boats etc all which are included in the AI package.

All in all a good time was had, the big question is would we go back. Yes we would, friendly, helpful staff make a big difference to a holiday & they certainly have those here. Would have given it 5* but for the room problem & bar service all of which I'm sure will be sorted.
If you've already booked enjoy, if you're still deciding get it booked.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Simple words are usually the most sincere.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your holiday experience on Trip Advisor following your stay at our resort.

We cannot thank you enough for being our ambassador.

We trust to be honored with the pleasure of welcoming you back home.

We remain at your disposal info@ambre.mu for any further queries.

Sincere regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.1 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,671 reviews
35.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,850 reviews
16.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,415 reviews
2.5 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambre Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambre Resort & Spa

Address: Coast Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601 (Formerly Ambre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £215 - £577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambre Resort is an all-inclusive adult only resort located in Belle Mare, on the east coast of Mauritius. The resort is one hour away from the airport and from the capital city of Port-Louis. The resort boasts a 700-metre white natural sandy beach running along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Guests of Ambre benefit from free green fees and complimentary transfer at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, an 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambre Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Ambre Resort & Spa Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing