We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome. Always served with a smile!!”
Review of Ambre Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome. Always served with a smile!!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I went to the Ambre for my honeymoon from 20-26th April. I am still overwhelmed with the experience at the beautiful resort.
The wi-fi enabled lobby part has large and variety of seating arrangements. Many people can be seen chatting at leisure. However, the best part is the infinity pool and the bar, and the service with a smile.
As you enter the resort, you are welcomed with a big smile which is further continued by all the staff. The drink and food options in All inclusive package are enormous.
The only suggestion to staff, is to follow colour coding for the Veg/Non veg food.

Coming to the water sports, the glass bottom boat tours and the padellos are very good and should be a must do for everyone. Also, the night shows, dance and music are too good.

Bottom line, it is an amazing resort and a value for money resort with great beach and service to make your memories worthwhile.
Enjoy!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel_novice2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you this wonderful note on Trip Advisor.

Your word says it all! “Value for Money” “Service with a smile!”….. Two phrases that concludes everything…

We are glad to learn that you had a fantastic holiday among us!

Your valuable suggestion has been well noted and will certainly be discussed among the Management team.

We wish to reiterate our thanks for having chosen our resort and being an ambassador of choice.

To the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Salutations,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,356
    1,025
    282
    62
    32
See reviews for
351
2,884
48
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Ambre Hotel ranks among one of the best hotels in Mauritius. I live in Mauritius and have visited a fair number of hotels, and the service at Ambre is fantastic. The food is also excellent and the all inclusive package has unlimited drinks (until a certain time). This is also an adult-only hotel, which means it is fairly quiet and great for couples looking for a romantic getaway. I will definitely go there again, as its value for money is downright perfect.

PS. A big thank to Chaya for her great service at breakfast on our second day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashvin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Sir,

We are glad to read your review on this renowned website after sojourning at our shores.

Your comments are vital to us.
It helps paving the way to success in a better way and improve where we somehow lack behind.

We will cascade down accordingly your message to chaya which will surely bring her a smile and encourage in providing a better service.

The whole team looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at Ambre over the Easter holidays and loved it. When we ventured out of the resort we were bewildered by hordes of screaming kids that took over the surrounding premium class hotels. Back at the Ambre peace and quiet reigned supreme. What an absolute pleasure.
At this hotel they tried to take every aspect that could put stress on their clients out of the equation. No kids and virtually no money issues as just about all that you could desire was included in the "All inclusive package".
Some stress could result from not booking your desired specialty restaurant in time as the demand for both Dolce Vita (Italian) and La Plage (sea food) outstripped availability at times but then you could always fall back on the wide variety offered in the main buffet style restaurant (Indigo). We never felt that the "inclusive" nature of Ambre detracted from the enthusiasm and care with which dishes were prepared or presented.
The rooms were clean, well appointed and large. Most rooms have a really great sea view.
The staff were friendly and helpful but when something out of the ordinary was requested the consternation that occurs likely stems from inadequate in-depth training. We requested two room keys. One got inactivated by a mobile phone and was re-programmed. After that the other key stopped working and as that was fixed the other key would not work. This carried on until a manager finally stepped in and explained to the staff that the second key has to be issued as a duplicate key and not a new room key. After that everything worked fine.
This resort, like all the others in the area, is not close to any large town or market. We bicycled around the area but all you could see were the entrances to the other resorts.
Transfers to and from the airport take more than an hour so try and book later flights so you do not have to depart from the hotel at 05H30 like we did.
The Ambre hotel website gives a true reflection of the hotel.

Room Tip: Evening shows and events can be noisy. Further from reception quieter. Sea view big plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Sir & Madam,

We wish to thank you for the review shared on Trip Advisor with other visitors planning or still hesitating to visit us.

Your comments will certainly boost up the confidence of those planned to experience our resort and guide those still trying to figure out where to go!!

Your review is fantastic and we are glad to read how the entire resort experience has also left you with so much memories and feelings.

The greatest reward of an hotelier is to have his or her guests return and you can rest assured that the whole team looks forward to welcoming you again.

Thank you also for your high recommendations. We will keep on memories the pleasure we had to be at your service.

Warmest Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Me and my boyfriend spent ten nights at the Ambre Hotel in April.
We were blown away by how beautiful the location is, how clean and modern the hotel is and how tasty the food was. I was recommend this to all !! The all inclusive package was well worth the money, even the mini bar in your room is included. The staff were so friendly and helpful, they made every guest feel special. A very special holiday that we will both never forget.
The bed in the room was HUGE!!! :-)

There is free wifi in the lobby area - but its so beautiful you wont care about the internet when you get there!

Our favourite day out was the 5 island cruise, which can be booked by Chris on the beach, Call Chris on +23057769523. A must do for all visitors.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a Superior Sea Facing room. The location of these are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EllieB3627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Miss,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to read that your sojourn was a good experience and we were able to “blow you away” which is the company’s main objective.

We shall certainly cascade down your little note to Chris.

The whole team looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

From April the first we spent 10 wonderful nights at the Ambre hotel, it was paradise! Our room had a spectacular view of the tropical gardens, beach and sea. The bed was massive and the most comfortable I have slept in. There was a big walk in shower and separate toilet. The bed and towels changed everyday and the room kept spotlessly clean by our lovely houseman. The mini bar had a selection of local beer soft drinks and milk to make a coffee or tea, along with snacks. Breakfast was served buffet style from cereals and fruit to sausages and bacon, with a couple of chefs cooking eggs to your liking, coffee and tea being served by the lovely staff as and when your cup was empty. After a hard morning watching the aqua-aerobics and taking a swim in one of the pools or venturing further to the sea, it was time for lunch! Lunch was buffet style, which could be taken on the beach at La Plage restaurant or in the Italian restaurant La Dolce Vita. Both restaurants offered a selection of salads and cold meat and hot dishes from beef en croute and fresh fish to pizza or curry, not forgetting the scrumptious desserts and fresh fruit. Drinks, wine, beer, water and soft drinks again served to you and topped up on request. Dinner was served al a carte in La Plage and La Dolce Vita while Indigo restaurant offered buffet style, it was nice to have a choice. The quality and choice of food in all three restaurants was very good and I would defy anyone not to find something they liked! Again drinks served at your table with top ups offered regularly. Once our husbands were off to golf at Le Touessrok the ladies visited the spa and experienced relaxation and tranquillity. The Jacuzzi is outside surrounded by lush vegetation, and if you are not hot enough you can warm up in the steam room and sauna. I would recommend a massage to completely relax and afterwards lie and enjoy the view from the chill-out cabana, heaven! Much more relaxing than a game of golf! We ventured out to the local market (Wednesday and Sunday) to see local life, and booked a taxi from the concierge by reception, prices are set for the journey in advance and are very reasonable. We also spent a full day visiting the capital and other tourist spots, with a few extra stops recommended by our driver which made the day, for this we had a minibus for four of us which was not much more than the taxi and gave us more room.

Overall a great hotel in a spectacular location with enthusiastic staff who want to give you good service and see you enjoy yourself and be Happy! For us they succeeded, don’t change a thing. A special thank you to Vikash from the very efficient reception team for arranging the delicious chocolate cake for my Birthday, and flowers on the dinner table for Mr & Mrs T on our last night - Yousef for the cocktails by the pool - Wendy I hope the first aid exam went well - Anouska keep smiling ☺ – and I miss my morning chats with the pool lifeguard – take care - Mr Puttee who popped up everywhere and switched the rain off on request! And last but not least Mr Rajen Canniah for our room arrangements on the last day, it was much appreciated. We do hope to return one day and thank you to everyone for making it a special holiday to remember.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Sir & Madam,

We would like to first of all extend our heartfelt thanks for the time spare to share with other travelers your experience of sojourning at our shores!

It is amazing to read how much memories of this holiday you have brought back home and also how much the team members, especially those whose name mentioned have placed you at the center of their activities.

We will not miss to thank them for their passion which is to ensure that our guests are being cared for from beginning till the end.

Your extensive description of Ambre Hotel facilities and services is more than enough to convince the world that a dream holiday cannot be conceived elsewhere than at this resort.

we would like to reiterate our thanks for being our ambassador and for your high recommendations.

The whole team looks forward with great pleasure to welcome you back very very soon.

Kind Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Ambre Hotel at Belle Mare is a fantastic experience for a couple looking for a totally relaxing break by the sea. Alessandro Schenone and his team provide a 5* star quality service all round. The facilities are beautifully maintained, the dining experience is great and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The nightly entertainment was always something to look forward to. I definitely recommend taking the 'All Inclusive' package - it is great value for money. We would definitely come back to Ambre.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for this short but beautiful review on Trip Advisor.

We thank you for having chosen our resort and certainly we extend our heartfelt thanks for appreciating the service and ofcourse Father of this family "Mr. Schenone"

Your note will be cascaded down accordingly and this will certainly bring him a big smile!

The whole family of Ambre looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you bcak very soon.

Kind Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We just came back from Mauritius and our stay at Ambre has been amazing. Rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff is there for you! Special thanks to Kirty from the welcome staff and Bruno, the "Italian" chef "di nome e di fatto" that made our dinners so special! Nice beach, but nothing compared to the Gabriel Island one. The international food at Indigo was good, but a bit spicey and fat.
If you like the sea view, you can have amazing snacks, hamburgers, etc. at the Coral Bar, where we enjoyed at lunch time.
The Beach Sports Staff is not so kind, especially compared to all other people who always smile at you saying "hello" or "goodnight".
Breakfast was so good with many different kind of food to please everyone.
So, our stay at Ambre has been very pleasant...except for one thing: as I said in the headtitle, my deodorant is still missing! It was in our bathroom, but the day before we left, it disappeared. I wonder how such a thing could happen. The housekeeper said she didn't see it and really nobody at the reception was interested in helping me. A smiley "I'm sorry" is not enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room near the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potter_daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for the time spare to share some words about your stay on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate the fact that overall you had a nice holiday except for some little hiccups at the end, for which we would like to extend our most profuse and sincere apologies…

We will certainly cascade down the encouraging words for Kirty and Chef Bruno our Pizzaiolo!

However, the Hotel Director requests if you could please contact us personally on info@ambre.mu for further investigation and service recovery concerning the lost item.

We await your email and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
16.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,477 reviews
35.3 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,632 reviews
35.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Le Morne
Hotel Riu Le Morne
#5 of 11 in Le Morne
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Creole
Hotel Riu Creole
#6 of 11 in Le Morne
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,052 reviews
32.0 mi away
Tamassa
Tamassa
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
4,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambre Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambre Resort & Spa

Property: Ambre Resort & Spa
Address: Coast Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601 (Formerly Ambre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambre Resort is an all-inclusive adult only resort located in Belle Mare, on the east coast of Mauritius. The resort is one hour away from the airport and from the capital city of Port-Louis. The resort boasts a 700-metre white natural sandy beach running along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Guests of Ambre benefit from free green fees and complimentary transfer at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, an 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambre Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Ambre Resort & Spa Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing