We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Disappointed”
Review of Ambre Mauritius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambre Mauritius
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I booked this hotel based on the good reviews I read. My husband and I stayed here from the 27 April until the 2nd May. The location is great however there are a few services that seem to be lacking. Firstly I requested a sea view room and paid an additional R1700 there was no balcony. The lady who checked us on said she would find out if there was a room with a balcony she did not come back to us and we didn't see her for the rest of our stay. After chatting to some of the other guests we found out they were upgraded from standard to sea view rooms without an additional charge I think it was unfair we were charged extra for a sea view room. The bed in our room made a terrible noise. The cupboard door in the room had a terrible squeaking noise every time it was opened. There are no windows in the toilet and it smelt like urine. The toilet was blocked and we had to call twice before it got fixed. There is no beach service for drinks. We ordered drinks at the beach bar while having lunch and our drinks order was wrong twice. The tv in our room seemed to switch off every now and then.
However to be fair there were some exceptional services like the medical centre a special thanks to Caroline and the doctor. Also Mr Purtee and some of his staff go out of their way to make you feel comfortable namely Pravin,Akshay and Kevin. This is a great hotel but there are just a few minor issues

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shevani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Mr & Mrs. Shevani,

Please allow us to express our sincere thanks for the time spared to share such constructive comments on Trip Advisor, which undoubtedly will allow us to continuously improve our level of services and products.

We take note with great concern about the discomfort and niggles you were subjected to during your holiday. We therefore have no words other than to express our most profuse apologies.

We wish to reassure you that corrective and preventive measure will be enhanced in order to avoid such recurrence.

However, we wish to bring to your attention from your booking file that the requested accommodation was initially from your booking agent paid at source failing which, a commercial gesture would have been extended at our end.

On the other hand, we take note of your appreciation and positive note with regards to our hotel and some members who have excelled to your satisfaction. We shall certainly cascade down your compliments to them.

On a concluding note, should you intend to renew your stay please let us know, whereby we shall extend our courtesies and special attention.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Sincere Regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,937 - 1,943 of 3,981 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This resort is a must for couples!! there are no kids and its all inclusive!!! I have been to Mauritius before & this was such great value for money. the all inclusive package is a must, you really get everything included, drinks, food, activities and much more... and gents... even the golf is for free so bring your clubs for a game on one of the worlds top 150 golf courses, they send you on a boat to spend the day playing golf on the island of ille aux cerfs, then you can stop bye the beach on the island before making your way back to the main land! we spent most of the days in the hotel enjoying cocktails in the rim flow pools that over look onto the beach and did all of the activities that were offered(gym, watersports, crossfit, tai chi, yoga, massage, Jacuzzi, etc...there is so many things to do in the hotel)..you don't need to leave the hotel!! The two things I would recommend doing when spending the day out of the hotel, first spend a day travelling the island on a scooter (we drove through Flacq and drove through to Grand Baie having coconut water next to the roads and eating random indian food...awesome and so much fun and so much cheaper than taking a taxi) then the 2nd was when we spent the day at ille aux cerfs island playing golf and going to the main beach and market there!! hope you enjoy...it really is worth it!!

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are the best!! make sure you don't get a room facing the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Costa_Drepaniotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Sir & Madam,

We would like to first of all thank you for the time spared to share your holiday experience with other travelers.

It is indeed a matter of great pride and privilege for us to learn that our guests are able to enjoy their holiday escape to the fullest and bid us goodbye with the hope of visiting us again and again!

Anybody can easily picture the atmosphere of our resort through your words.
We thank you having chosen our hotel and being an ambassador of choice.

We cannot miss cascading down this note to our other team members!

We look forward to welcome you for another magical sojourn!

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful resort, rooms, staff, food and entertainment. Very very highly recommended! We went with a couple of friends and enjoyed it immensely. Have been to other resorts on the island and this is by far the best. Great value for money too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank FJoubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for the review shared on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your holiday. We shall certainly cascade down your encouraging words to our team members.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing, ideal for a couple retreat. Staff were friendly and gave excellent service they were truly accomadating. All Inclusive package a must, huge compliment of beverages on the menu. A resort at the highest level.

Great place to make new friends.

Thank you Ambre

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for the time spared to share your holiday experience on Trip Advisor after sojourning with us.

Short and simple , but beautiful description of Ambre Resort and Spa.

We wish to reiterate our sincere thanks for having chosen our hotel for your holiday.

To the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The resort is worth every penny! The staff are amazing and make you feel as the most special guest. It is nice to have a resort that caters for adults. Relax and party in one place! The cocktail menu is very extensive and the word "single" shot is not a word understood. They understand that you have come for some adult fun.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Eloise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for this amazing comment on Trip Advisor!

Short, simple but great words!

We thank you for really appreciating the Hotel new concept and glad to know that you enjoyed every single bite of your holiday.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon for another full of fun holiday!

Best Regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

had an amazing holiday at the Ambre, cannot complain about anything the staff were simply brilliant so friendly from the management to gardening and maintenance !!! Our room was lovely just a standard room but had everything we needed we didn't even have an amazing view but that didnt matter as we hardly spent anytime in our room we were either on the fantastic beach from early in morning or eating and drinking in the gorgeous bars and restaurants trying out the delicious cocktails ( recommend the Dodo) and food!! It really was a dream of a holiday. Boat trips booked from the beach were great, with Chris. Brilliant day out so much to see and enjoy Especialy the rum!! Only one complaint I had to come home !!!! Thank you Ambre for a perfect holiday (ps. Don't forget more tomatoes!!!)

Room Tip: how much time do you spend in your room!!!!!!! Garden view was sufficient for us, bed was enormous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Mrs.Stephanie,

We wish to extend our heartfelt thanks for your precious review on Trip Avisor.

As we believe "Simple words are usually the most sincere ones".
Your note will surely be cascaded down to the team members.

We wish to reiterate our thanks for having chosen our resort for your holiday escape.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you bcak very soon to live your dream once again.

Kind Regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have stayed 2 years running at the Ambre. It is a fabulous hotel in a fabulous location. The entrance with the seating in the lobby looking out on the infinity pool and then straight onto the beach /sea is stunning. The staff are very polite and friendly, the rooms are modern and spacious and the restaurants are top class. We particularly liked the setting of the buffet/breakfast restaurant, the Italian was excellent and the food and setting at La Plage restaurant on the beach is stunning. In short, you would be hard pressed to beat this hotel and its sister hotel the 5 star Long Beach just 6 minutes drive down the road where we also spent time over the last 3 weeks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Sir & Madam,

We wish to first of all express our gratitude of visiting us for a second time and sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

Your comments are vital to us. It helps in boosting up the spirit of our team members to provide a better service to future visitors.

We thank you immensely for this simple and great review.

To the pleasure of welcoming you bcak home very soon for your third visit among us.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.1 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,785 reviews
27.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,550 reviews
19.3 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,958 reviews
16.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,760 reviews
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambre Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambre Mauritius

Address: Coast Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601 (Formerly Ambre Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £209 - £636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambre Resort is an all-inclusive adult only resort located in Belle Mare, on the east coast of Mauritius. The resort is one hour away from the airport and from the capital city of Port-Louis. The resort boasts a 700-metre white natural sandy beach running along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Guests of Ambre benefit from free green fees and complimentary transfer at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, an 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Ambre Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Ambre Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing