We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway”
Review of Ambre Mauritius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambre Mauritius
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at Ambre Resort & Spa, here is my review......
Long flight but on the Dream Liner with Thomson made it bearable. Hour transfer which wasn't the best after travelling for 16 hours but that's life. Arrived at the resort with a warm greeting from the staff, quickish checkin then time to enjoy.
We had excellent weather throughout our stay which is a first for us.
Resort was as expected, clean but small with 2 pools (not heated and cold) 2 al la carte restaurants, buffet, coral pool bar and sports bar.
Italian restaurant was possibly the best however the food on occasions was not hot and the orders were incorrect, but any issues were generally sorted without too much trouble.
La Plage is the beach al la carte which we only visited once, food was good but the stray dogs on the beach were always looking for food scraps!!!
Coral pool bar had a good selection of snacks for the day which were more than adequate.
Buffet restaurant was available for breakfast and evening meals, again breakfast was good (back bacon ummmmm). The evening meals are generally curry or curry based however fish, meat and pasta was being served at the chefs station.
Sports bar was ok, not very big but adequate, night club Shakers is the smallest nightclub on the planet but good for a dance before you go to bed, remember you pay for the drinks after midnight.
Evening entertainment was generally in the Coral pool bar every evening, entertainment was fair but could be improved, entertainment staff do their best.
The drinks seemed to be a bit hit and miss unless you found Fabrice who made the best cocktails (well done Fabrice). The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, always smiling and ready to assist we're they could.
If you get time have a walk to Belle Mare which was an eye opener or even Flack where you get the real Mauritian experience.
Didn't much like the stray cats and dogs but if you don't encourage them they will leave you alone.
Big thanks to the following staff that made our Mauritius experience more special:
Swadesh was our waiter a round the pool, really nice guy and funny
Coraly was also a waitress around the pool, always smiling with nothing too much for her
Fabrice the cocktail man, cool guy
Puttee who is the food and beverage manager, always walking around the resort making sure the staff are doing their best and sorting out any issues.
Thomson rep Amelle was very disappointing and not very helpful, in fact we think she was on holiday, we found her sarcastic and condescending. Thomsons what are you doing?????
Would we go again.....Possibly, thanks Ambre and staff for a memorable time, well done.

Room Tip: High floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guests,

We would like to express our heartfelt thanks for your valuable comments highlighted on this prestigious traveler’s site.

Your comments have been taken very positive, enlightening and constructive which will sum up to continuously improve as we truly believe “Good Enough Never is”.

On the other hand, we are delighted to be made aware that our resort has been to your expectations and some of our team members have excelled in meeting and exceeding your expectations. Please rest assured that your compliments will be shared with the team which will also act as a boost of motivation to further grow in the thriving field they are into.

Your comments with regards to the cats and dogs will be relayed to the authorities concerned for appropriate action. On a similar note, we have recently implemented through various means of communications to inform our guests about good practices for obvious Health and Safety reasons as we are a HACCP property.

Your concluding note pertaining the Thomson Rep has retained our attention and concern which we have already shared with Senior Key Management of the Travel Agent.

We are glad to read that you will renew your stay at our shores without hesitation and wish to reiterate our assurance that no effort will be spared in making you treasure more wonderful recalls.

Sincerely,
Alessandro Schenone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,964 - 1,970 of 4,137 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at the Ambre for 2 weeks from 26th May, we arrived at 7.30 in the morning and even though check said 2pm we were warmly greeted and given the option of breakfast or to go straight to our room which was lovely.
We arrived to champagne in our room.
The room was very large, and we've never slept in such a big bed. Our room was a superior sea view room which was lovely.
The hotel itself is fabulous, the pools looked great, but were a little chilly but this was greatly appreciated after getting hot in the sun.
What really made the holiday was the relaxing atmosphere, extremely friendly helpful staff and great food.
We couldn't fault the service, especially at coral bar!
I am an extremely fussy eater but always found something to eat, we had the special honeymoon meal on the beach and the staff/ chefs prepared a special menu to suit my fussy habits!
Overall our stay was fantastic and we would like to say a big thank you to all the staff who made it that extra bit special!
We hope to come back :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lottieandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for choosing our resort for your honeymoon stay and for your gratifying review on this prestigious traveler's site.

We are indeed very delighted to be made aware that you have thoroughly enjoyed your vacation and your compliments on the food, room's comfort and overall service have been well acknowledged which we have shared with the team who contributed as well in making your stay into a wonderful recall.

We look forward to the soonest opportunity of welcoming you back to our shores.

Sincerely,
Alessandro Schenone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed for two weeks at the end of May 2014. The Ambre hotel is a great place to stay and we had booked a ”superior” double room with sea view which is a bit of a must as some rooms face the rear. Who does not want to wake up to a view of bright sun and clear blue sea? The hotel itself faces east and loses the sun at about 5 in the afternoon. There are three restaurants to choose from. Le Plage on the beach, La Dolce Vita, Italian and the main self service buffet. A little tip, to book the Al a cart restaurants you can do this first thing in the morning by telephoning reception, you do not have to book it at breakfast time at the self service buffet. Snacks are available nearly all day long at the pool bar. A comment about the food is that it could be very repetitive in the main self service buffet and tended to be not very warm. The service from all staff was always friendly and helpful. Mauritius is a paradise island and I advise that you get out and about and see the scenery. We had a car for most of the time and saw most attractions but the drive itself is enjoyable. If you are looking for a relaxing stay where sun beds are easily available and waiters come and ask you if you want a drink then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Full sea view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for the time taken to rate our property on this prestigious traveler's site. We are elated to note that you have enjoyed your stay at Ambre and to read about your positive notes on our product and services.

However, your points with regards to the food choice in our main buffet have been well noted and shared with the Executive Chef. We wish to inform you that pertaining corrective measures have been taken to avoid such recurrence.

On a concluding note, we reiterate our thanks for having given us the opportunity to host and look forward to welcoming you back for another great recalls in a not too far future.

Sincerely,

Alessandro Schenone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The staff were extremely courteous, helpful and always keen to attend to our requests. I was very touched and impressed by the warm personal welcome we received at the Hotel entrance from the Senior Staff on arrival.
The food was excellent and had quite a varied daily menu. There was adequate arrangement for lazing and sunbathing around the pool and on the shore. Room service was the best I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chandomah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for having chosen our resort for your vacations and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you have had, as your review quotes " a blissful and relaxing stay" at our shores and your appreciations expressed on our services and team members have been acknowledged with great joy!!

We look forward to the soonest opportunity of being service to you.

Sincerely,

Alessandro Schenone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Ambre in the first week of June, and although initially we were greeted off the plane by torrential rain we were eventually treated to beautiful hot sunshine accompanied by perfect sea breezes for the rest of our stay.

The hotel is a wonderful place to just relax, the pool area is quiet and the beach is picture perfect. The waiting/bar staff were all great - if a little slow - but this seems to add to the extremely laid back atmosphere of the resort.

The rooms are spacious but basic, ours; 816 was at the right end of the resort right next to the Spa and was lovely and quiet, and literally steps from a very private section of the beach that trapped the sun long after it had set on the pool area. A free minibar was replenished everyday with chocolate and drinks, a lovely touch.

The food is good quality! Breakfast and lunch being our favourite, especially with the pancake and omelette stations. There are 3 choices of restaurant for dinner, each offering something a little different, but we did find that choice became a little limited as the week went on.

There are activities during the day, we took out a pedal-boat, and went snorkelling a couple of times which was excellent and completely free! We took a taxi to Flacq which was a little disappointing, however a lovely 20 minute walk down the perfect white sand beach and you arrive in Belle Mare, a cute town with some nice stalls and shops.

The hotel has a few resident dogs that stroll the beach, they are extremely friendly are very grateful for a scrap of food. We took a particular liking to a specific dog that limps on three legs - If you see her, give her some fuss, she's lovely :D

You do get a few guys selling souvenirs on the beach but are all very respectful and don't bother you - apart from a guy called Chris who sells a boat trip which seems good but he will pest you. Leo is another guy who sells pearl bracelets, we bought a couple and had the pearls checked and they're real!

Overall we had an incredible time at the Ambre and enjoyed the peace and quiet of this couples only hotel. With Thomson now flying Brits to Mauritius it's a great opportunity to get to a dream location for a good price, the only downside of that being that It does seem to attract some classless dirge who think that shorts and trainers qualifies as 'smart dress code'. I would love the staff at Ambre to enforce the dinner dress code with a little more compulsion.

We loved our stay!

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Daniel A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guests,

We would like to express our sincere thanks for your valuable comments posted on this prestigious site pertaining your recent stay at Ambre.

We are delighted to be made aware that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you have left with great recalls. Please rest assured that we shall cascade down your compliments to all relative parties.

However, we also wish to express our appreciation for some of the points raised which need improvement. We will certainly enhance corrective and preventive measures with reinforced training in order to consistently improve our product and services to further delight our customers.

We have taken good note of the limping dog which will be addressed to the authorities concerned coupled with our attention for those pet lovers.

We reiterate our thanks for having chosen our resort for your stay and will be looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Alessandro Schenone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Ambre Resort in May 2014. We had a lovely spacious clean room overlooking the beach and the swaying palm trees. Plenty of beautifully kept gardens around the hotel, and all the staff were friendly. It was very relaxing, we particulary enjoyed sitting on the beach restaurant without shoes having lunch each day. There were plenty of watersports available with the all inclusive package including a glass bottom boat trip, kayaking, snorkelling trip. There was plenty of variety of food in all the restaurants to cater for all tastes, and the service was faultless. I would recommend this hotel for couples and those wanting to chill out and relax.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 312irisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for having chosen our resort for your stay and for the time afforded in rating our property on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you have had an enjoyable experience.Your compliments are highly appreciated which we have shared with the team and will certainly motivate us to continuously striving for perfection as we strongly believe that good enough never is.

We reiterate our thanks for recommending our resort and look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful recalls.

Sincerely,

Alessandro Schenone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Ambre for two weeks in May, the hotel has everything you need. There was never a rush to get up early and have to save a sunbed, there was always a bed available around the pool or along the vast stretch of beach. Drinks were served to you at your sunbed whether you were around the pool or down the other end of the beach.

The gym was really good compared to other hotels I have stayed in abroad and was open from 7am. They had treadmills, bikes, cross trainers and weights along with really good air conditioning. they also did a few activities during the day like aqua aerobics and water polo but they were never too forceful and didn't make you join in if you didn't want to.

The food was good and we found the friendlier you were to the staff the more helpful they were back and who could blame them. I wouldn't want to serve someone who wasn't polite or who didn't show a smile. The beach bar was perfect, right on the beach which meant it was cool in the evenings and they had the entertainment there which was nice as I hate it when you go to a hotel and they have a separate stage where they show the entertainment, it was nice to be able to sit and drink and listen or watch the entertainment also. The bar staff were amazing in particular Ritesh who made our holiday. He did everything he could to make sure we had an amazing time.

The rooms were big and well decorated, I would recommend getting a superior room with balcony as it was nice to walk out in the morning and see the beach or the sunrise, which is at about 6.45am. A must see. The only downside was the cleanliness of the rooms, the rest of the hotel was very clean but the rooms seemed a bit rushed which may be due to the turnaround of Thomson guests.

I would highly recommend actually leaving the hotel and going to explore the island, the taxi's are so cheap and there is movement in their prices. You can hire a taxi for the day and they will take you wherever you want to go. Request to go and see the colonial house Eureka, although the house itself is not as good as some of the others if you walk to the back of the gardens there is a sign which says waterfalls. Follow the sign it is very steep and not the safest of trails but it is worth it. You come to the most amazing waterfalls and what is even better is there are no other tourists there. You will get to a first lot of falls but keep walking the further across/down you go the more there are. We saw about 4 sets and it was truly amazing. I would also recommend booking the half day trip with Thomson's to see the dolphins. They pick you up at 6am, it takes about an hour to get to the other side of the island and they take you out on a boat and you get to jump in and swim along side literally hundreds of dolphins and for only £20.00.

My one negative was the all inclusive drinks which stopped at 11pm. We are not big drinkers but the one night out of 14 which we did stay up past 11, we were disappointed to find out that you have to pay for your drinks at this time. I appreciate that some may take advantage of the free drinks but the majority of people don't.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Superior room with balcony is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guests,

We would like to express our sincere thanks for having given us the opportunity to host and for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that in overall our product, services and facilities were to your expectations and that our team members have excelled in delighting you.

On the other hand, we take note with great concern about the inconveniences you were subjected for which we would like to express our most profuse apologies.

We took opportune to cascade down the points highlighted to key members concerned for all remedial actions to avoid recurrence of such nature.

On the other hand, we are astounded to note for unknown reason, why the All Inclusive stopped at 11pm as opposed to midnight which is the validity period of the All Inclusive application time.

On a concluding note, we wish to renew our heartfelt thanks for these enlightening comments which will keep us on our toe to continuously improve as we do believe that "Good Enough Never Is!"

We hope to be honoured to be of service to you again in the nearest future.

Sincerely,

Alessandro Schenone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.1 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,902 reviews
27.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,665 reviews
16.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5,773 reviews
2.5 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
3,881 reviews
2 mi away
Long Beach Mauritius
Long Beach Mauritius
#4 of 12 in Belle Mare
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambre Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambre Mauritius

Address: Coast Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601 (Formerly Ambre Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £184 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambre Resort is an all-inclusive adult only resort located in Belle Mare, on the east coast of Mauritius. The resort is one hour away from the airport and from the capital city of Port-Louis. The resort boasts a 700-metre white natural sandy beach running along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Guests of Ambre benefit from free green fees and complimentary transfer at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, an 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambre Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Ambre Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing