We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Ambre - but with a few niggles!”
Review of Ambre Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Ambre - but with a few niggles!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at Ambre for the last 2 weeks of May.

Having spent several years holidaying in couples all inclusive 5* resorts in the Caribbean, we wanted to try something new. This was our 1st trip to Indian Ocean and Mauritius, our overall opinion of the resort is that it is a fantastic place but it is a 4* resort with minor niggles that need improving if it is to reach a 5* standard.

The positves are; the resort is lovely and the grounds are kept immaculate, everything is spotlessly tidy. The staff are what make this resort special and a real credit to the management. They are incredibly happy and friendly, of particular mention:- Raj and Gary who are hard working beach butlers, Fabrice who makes amazing cocktails in the coral bar and Sooren who is one of the managers in the restaurants. Then a special mention has to go to Anoushka, Jonathan and the rest of the entertainment team who kept my husband entertained for the 2 weeks (who hates sitting around just sunbathing) playing volleyball, waterpolo and bocce.

The food is fantastic at all the restaurants but our particular favourite was "La Plage", unlike previous reviews we never experienced problems with drinks service in the coral bar or on the beach.

The rooms were nice and the cleaners kept them tip top; little additional touches such as providing insect repellant plug ins were good as was having a carton of milk provided in the mini bar for drinks (i like milkly drinks) but it would have been nice to have an iron and ironing board provided in the room. (I did obtain an iron/board from housekeeping but had to give a time to return it so felt pressured to iron everything there and then.)

The free boat trips are really good and worth going on; just take time to book early and experience the hotels activities and you won't be disappointed.

Most people mention 'Chris' on the beach for trips and we booked the 'speed boat trip' with him together with parasailing and inflatable (behind speed boat), all were fantastic. The speed boat trip in particular was great, visiting various islands, a waterfall (with cliff jumping), feeding wild monkeys and the BBQ lunch was to die for!!

We also booked a trip through Thomsons to visit Casala Wildlife Park and did the 'Walk with Lions' which was a high point and a must for all animals lovers.

The niggles/negatives about resort are; the service in the restaurants could do with improving, as some nights the service was good and some nights it was just poor; this seemed to be linked with staff rotations (i.e. waiting for drinks / menus and on particular evening having the main course served whilst still eating starter....just not right!!!) The red wine was always served cold and we asked for it a room temperature on many occasions but was never served that way....may sound picky but was just not right or was never changed.

The entertainment on an evening is very low key compared with the Caribbean and consisted of mainly dance shows in the coral bar; however the after entertainment disco/music was very good.

Despite comments above about the entertainment team, i have to say that the first few days were frustrating for my husband as scheduled activities such as volleyball, waterpolo etc didn't appear to take place or start at all. After my husband mentioned this to the Thomson rep on a few occasions he was then was introduced to Jonathan of the entertainment team, this changed matters but it became apparent that the reason why the entertainment team seemed to be restricted was the management told the team not to hassle the guests, hence this had a negative effect on the team and nothing happened. Subsequently the only way activities then happened was my husband found other guests that wanted to get involved in activities and started up own team of players.

In summary, this is a great resort and will continue i'm sure to improve if the resort and management works out the niggles. Mauritius is a very beautiful island and we did enjoy our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helenclaire09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We are grateful for your valuable review following your recent stay at Ambre and express our sincere thanks for the time afforded in sharing your holiday experience.

We are very pleased to read the hotel and the overall facilities have been to your delights and renew our thanks for having sojourned at our resort for your very first time in Mauritius.

We are distressed to read about the service inconsistency you were subjected to in our F&B outlets and the recreations for which we would like to express our profuse apologies. We took opportune to relay the points highlighted to the key players concerned for all remedial actions.

We always value our guests’ feedback which assist us in our ongoing effort to improve and in achieving our aim of ‘thoroughly delighting all our guests’.

Looking forward to the pleasure of your repeated stay at our shores.

Sincerely,
Alessandro Schenone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,388
    1,040
    288
    63
    32
See reviews for
359
2,927
48
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had a great time at the hotel. Loved the pool, which is an impressive view as soon as you enter the hotel. The staff at the reception were really nice and welcoming. At the restaurants too the staff were just too good. The food also was nice and there's quite a great variety at the buffet. Also enjoyed the drinks at the bar along the pool side. Would definitely recommend the hotel to people visiting the island.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deepa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on this prestigious traveler's site and are delighted to hear that you had a great holiday experience amongst us.

It has been a great pleasure to play host to you and we hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back in the nearest future, for more wonderful recalls.

Sincerely,
Alessandro Schenone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We spent the first two weeks of June at this hotel and had a wonderful time. The staff were very friendly and helpful and without fault especially Sailen our cleaner, who always kept our lovely room very clean. With white sandy beaches, which were cleaned up every morning due to seeweed that had washed up on shore and a warm ocean as long as your shoulders were covered, relaxation was easy. The hotel pool was clean and clear and little used due to being colder than the ocean. Plenty to do throughout the day including kayaking ,pedalo, four daily trips on a glass-bottomed boat, tennis, volley ball, boules and a clean and tidy gym. We went on quite a few trips through Thomson and took a few ourselves finding out about the people and history of this wonderful island. On the days we didn't do trips we relaxed on the beach , swimming and reading or went for a walk to the nearest town. The evening entertainment could be better but we did enjoy the Elvis show and the jazz night. We also had a wonderful evening in the Dolce Vita restaurant for our 12th wedding anniversary which was made special due to the staff there. We met some great people from different walks of life and wish them all the best in everything they do. Finally on the downside the stray dogs need to be controlled better and the paving at the rear of the hotel needs to be addressed due to the large gaps in-between them. Overall we had a fabulous time and would recommend not only the hotel but especially Mauritius itself.

Room Tip: our room was kept very clean and the bed was massive and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Many thanks indeed for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor,

We are delighted to read that the services and products were to your expectations and express our sincere thanks for being our ambassador.

We take note with great care of your constructive comments which will assist in our ongoing effort to improve. Your comments on the stray dogs have again retained our attention and we would like to share with you that the management and concerned stake holders are working in close collaboration to find remedial solutions to this "issue" which all our partners in the same field are faced with.

Thank you as well for highlighting the concrete slab gaps which are presently being attended through our garden and grounds maintenance team.

We reiterate our thanks for making us part of your celebration and for your trust in us. The whole team will be looking forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful recalls.

Sincerely,
Alessandro Schenone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Well after a long flight we arrived too a lovely welcome room was ready and spotless the hotel had great food the staff where great always helpful and smiling we would like too say a big thank you to one of staff in the la dolce vita his name is vijay he was very welcoming and always smiling on our last day he invited us too his family home well we had a great time please pass on your thanks as he is a star we stayed on the first two weeks in June and will be coming back next year

Room Tip: 412 quite room right on the beach and near the gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We express our heartfelt thanks for your gratifying rating of our resort on Trip Advisor following your recent stay.

it is indeed an immense pleasure to read about the success of your holiday experience coupled with the service and attentions provided by our team members. We took great pleasure in sharing your compliments with all of them, especially Vijay who has excelled in delighting you.

We reiterate our thanks for your trust and are looking forward to your renewed stay at our shores.

Sincerely,
Alessandro Schenone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having spent the first two weeks of June 2014 in Mauritius, staying at Ambre, I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Mauritius.

The hotel is located on the east coast and has it's own beautiful, clean beach. The room we stayed in was well equipped, large, clean, with a very nice sized bed.

I personally enjoyed all the food available at the three different restaurants and found the service to be excellent. My girlfriend, being a vegetarian found the menus quite limited, however, after speaking to the staff at the hotel they were very keen to try and accommodate her with meals. The La Plage manager in particular was very helpful.

The staff around the resort were all extremely friendly and made the resort a pleasure to stay at. I didn't come across any member of staff who wasn't smiling or willing to help with any problems.

The all inclusive drinks menu was of a very good standard and the cocktails are much nicer than those made in England. Ritesh, one of the Coral Bar Bartenders was in particular very friendly and made myself and my girlfriend some fantastic cocktails, going the extra length to make our stay even better.

The hotel also provided free watersports, including snorkelling, of which the location on the reef is brilliant. The sports hut and staff were also a joy to spend time with and all gathered together every afternoon to play some kind of beach sport, normally beach volleyball. This was very enjoyable to get involved in.

We spent some days away from the hotel, one of which was at Casela Nature and Leisure Park. We arranged this through our Thomson adviser and i would recommend anyone visiting Mauritius to go to this park. Amazing day out! We spent the day Canyoning, Zip Lining and Quad Biking and could have easily gone back another day to do some more activities.

We both had an amazing holiday and would definiltely visit Ambre and Mauritius again. We will definitely recommend the hotel to our friends and family and would like to thank everyone at Ambre for our wonderful stay. Never have two weeks seemed to have gone so quickly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gradders21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We wish to express our sincere thanks for your precious time afforded to provide us with your detailed feedback on your recent stay and are so delighted to be made aware of your overall satisfaction.

We reiterate our thanks for having given us the opportunity to play-host to you and for your appreciation note on certain members of our team who have excelled in making your holiday into a wonderful recall.

We thank you again for your recommendation and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at our shores, we hope will be in the nearest future.

Sincerely,
Alessandro Schenone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Firstly, my wife & myself celebrated our Silver Wedding Anniversary at the Ambre & would like to say a big thank you to two particular staff members who helped make our day very special.

Aishah (Reception Team) she co-ordinated and planned our celebrations on the day and Ramen (Waiter - La Dolce Vita) who looked after us throughout our meal attending to all our needs.

I am making my reveiw simple rather than write paragraphs.
2nd June - 16th June

RECEPTION & RECEPTION STAFF - Excellent, polite, extremely helpful & all speak very good English 10/10

BEDROOM 833 - Excellent, very clean, spacious & in a quiet location overlooking spa and with a sea view 10/10

RESTURANTS
INDIGO - Excellent buffet breakfasts & buffet evening meals. You will always have a wide selection of food, presented very well. 10/10
LA PLAGE - Buffet lunch & A La Carte evening meals set on the beautiful beach 10/10
LA DOLCE VITA - A chic resturant setting to enjoy a buffet lunch or an A La Carte evening meal 10/10
The food in all of the resturants was excellent, presented well & had a varied selection of dishes.

BARS
CORAL BAR & BEACH SERVICE- A central bar where guests could relax and meet after spending a day on the beach or to gather & watch the evenings entertainment. 10/10
H&H LOUNGE - We didn't use this lounge.

ALL STAFF - Every member of staff always politely acknowledged and spoke to us, followed with an infectcious smile. We had only two occasions to contact staff for assistance with minor issues & our needs were addressed immediately. Staff were obliging, only to willing to help & nothing was too much trouble for them 10/10

HOTEL & RESORT - This beautiful hotel provides a wonderful base to relax & unwind in a modern contemporay environment.The pools are lovely, but very cold at this time of year. The beach is very clean and well maintained, the only negative on this matter is the number of dogs that come onto the beach throughout the day & evening, although we never felt intimidated by them and the staff did their best to chase them off.. A short taxi ride, a twenty minute walk down the road or a thirty minute walk along the beach you will come across the very small village/town of Belle Mare. You will find a couple of designer clothes shops and a handfull of tourist type shops all selling the same giftware.

We had a fabulous holiday and would highly recommend this hotel, thank you to all the staff at the Ambre Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 833 - Overlooked the SPA & had a seaview in a quiet part of the hotel grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Bridgie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We wish to express our sincere thanks and appreciations for the time afforded in sharing your detailed feedback pertaining to your recent stay at Ambre.

We are so delighted to read about your overall satisfaction and are thankful for the rating provided, 10 out of 10 on our products and services , which we have shared with immense pleasure with the team who has also excelled in making your stay into a wonderful recall.

We will be looking forward to the pleasure and soonest opportunity of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Alessandro Schenone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Spend 7 days at this delightful resort. The resort is for 16 and over and offers an all inclusive holiday package. This eliminates the 2 typical annoyances while on holiday - screaming children and the shock when you check out and having to settle the bill for extras. The all inclusive package offers a wide variety of food at several restaurants and an extensive list of drinks. The beach restaurant where you can sit with your feet in the sand being an absolute delight while one can order food from the bar even outside traditional eating times. Service with a smile must be the employees logo at this hotel as the staff never seem to tire of being friendly and helpful. We took a catamaran trip to the waterfall which was organized by the in-house agent. Will definitely recommend this day out which includes a visit to a waterfall, full barbecue, all drinks on the boat, diving and a visit to the island. We had a lovely ground floor unit sea facing with a veranda. The bar entertainment ensures great after dinner enjoyment. This hotel must one of the best value for money resorts on the island. Will definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank ChrisSw312583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for the time afforded to rate our property on Trip Advisor and are most delighted to read about your positive notes on your recent experience amongst us.

Your compliments will truly inspire us in our ongoing effort to improve our service and thoroughly delight all our guests.

We look forward to have the soonest opportunity of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Alessandro Schenone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
16.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,540 reviews
35.3 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,710 reviews
35.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Le Morne
Hotel Riu Le Morne
#5 of 11 in Le Morne
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,587 reviews
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,190 reviews
32.0 mi away
Tamassa Resort
Tamassa Resort
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
5,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambre Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambre Resort & Spa

Property: Ambre Resort & Spa
Address: Coast Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601 (Formerly Ambre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambre Resort is an all-inclusive adult only resort located in Belle Mare, on the east coast of Mauritius. The resort is one hour away from the airport and from the capital city of Port-Louis. The resort boasts a 700-metre white natural sandy beach running along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Guests of Ambre benefit from free green fees and complimentary transfer at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, an 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambre Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Ambre Resort & Spa Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing