We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab”
Review of Ambre Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Welcoming , spotless, friendly happy place. Had a lovely holiday here the staff were really friendly and nothing to much trouble . There was a choice of restaurants, food on the whole quite good you could always find something . Drinks were good. Entertainment not so good but we made our own . Music a little loud could have done with another section perhaps playing background music so you could chat ?? All in all a lovely holiday people do try to make a living on the beach, but did not bother me that much although did feel obliged to buy a few things. There are dogs on the beach and must admit we did try and feed them.Some are so skinny but they are not aggressive.Chris on the beach does a great cruise day so much fun .

Room Tip: recommend beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IMOANLEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guests,

We are pleased to read about your amazing holiday experience you had at our shores and we thank you for taking the time to share it.

Your point with regards to the entertainment has been taken very much at heart, positive and constructive and we thank you for bringing it to our attention. We took opportune to forward it to our Entertainment Manager for remedial actions.

We are delighted that you have treasured good memories of this experience and will be looking forward to next stay with us.

Sincerely yours,

Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,832 - 1,838 of 3,925 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We visited this place for our honeymoon and I would recommend this to any couples who are looking for a peaceful yet fun loving place on Maurice.

Hospitality and food was just amazing, addition of 3 restaurants in the same venue made the deal more sweet.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ajay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic experience and we can only thank you for having given us the opportunity to look after you!

The whole team looks forward to welcome you back very soon for another warm sojourn.

Sincerely yours,

Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

In hotels its always about the staff, if staff are not happy you can see how a hotel works and unfortunately Ambre Hotel is a let down.

Recommended to us for Honeymoon in December 2013 we went and were not impressed, staff tried so hard with the little they were allowed to do. T
he Food and Beverage staff were great! Thanks Chaya, Rambo!!! Vanessa, Deepak, Jimmy, Lioc, Ishwar, Yousof, Lucabelle and Amantha - Because of you our stay was fantastic!

Beach waiters are terrible so make sure you buy 2 drinks at a time or else you wait a very long time.

Food is very poor, so much to choose which is great but lacks a lot of flavour

Sundeep and Ghookal thank you for everything!

Any who, great property but get more staff and train them, look after them and because they are what make your hotel a success.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayshal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Greetings from Ambre Hotel!

We would like to express our heartfelt thanks for using TripAdvisor to share the experience of your honeymoon stay last December.

Indeed, your comments have been taken very much as heart, positive and constructive which will at large assist us to continuously improve.

We wish to reassure that since January last, just after the festive season, various points relative to service have been reviewed and our workforce have been re-engineered with reinforced training in all aspects.

Despite the time elapsed, we would like to share with you noticeable improvement which on the same site (tripadvisor) will give you an overview.
The last result of our Guest Satisfaction Index is very encouraging and confirms positively the actions we recently embarked to.

On the same note, we are glad to read that some members of our team excel to delight you and we shall cascade your message to them.

We sincerely hope that apart the points highlighted, your overall experience has not been overshadowed and that you have treasured good memories of your vacation.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too far future.

Sincerely yours,

Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I really love this hotel! We took up a standard room all inclusive package. While our room was a standard room located at one end of the hotel, it was cosy, clean and comfortable with a very good bed and well equipped modern bathroom. We rested very well every night and always woke up fresh and happy in the morning.
The food was very good too. Every meal was nicely prepared, selection wasn't as wide as that from a 5-star hotel, but Ambre's chefs did a great job in terms of the quality, freshness and tastes of food offered. Really enjoyed the fish, meat and cocktail drinks offered. We also experienced excellent service at all the hotel's restaurants. Service was always prompt yet atmosphere was relaxed and friendly.
There was a shop at the hotel which sold very pretty things such as handmade beaded purses and bags, hand-painted cushion covers, etc. I just couldn't resist doing some shopping there.
We also liked the hotel's design which was simple, clean-cut and tasteful, with artistic structures decorating the main pool area. Everywhere was bright and cheery. The compound was kept very clean and neat everywhere. It felt safe and cosy like a home :)
What's best was the atmosphere at the hotel, everyone looked cheerful and relaxed, both guests and staff. The staff had shown such sincere warmth and hospitality unmatched by a 5-star hotel that we also stayed in while in Mauritius. Ambre's staff always carried a genuine smile and looked happy to be of service and we really appreciated all the efforts made by the hotel and staff which made our stay at Ambre a very enjoyable and memorable one. Ambre is highly recommended!! Keep it up! Cheers! :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank June Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Ambre Hotel.

It is always a great pleasure to read about the satisfaction and wonderful experience our guests have had and your commendations will definitely be a boost for our team members to continuously strive for perfection!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Best regards,

Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is clean, and most of the staff try really hard to please, but the restaurant menus are lacking, flavourless currys, same food most nights, watercress soup three times in eight days! Then there is always burger and chips or pizza. 4 star? I didn't think so. Dress code only applies if you feel like it, and no smoking areas are where you can find no one smoking, as staff don't seem to enforce the hotel rules. Beach venders can be a pain, polite no thank you is not always good enough. Came here on advice from Thomsons instead of Maldives, we won't listen to them again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mike13760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guests,

We would like to express our sincere thanks for the time taken to share with us your experience of the recent stay at our resort.

We take note very positively your comments pertaining to our food and the few constructive observations. We very much value our guests’ feedbacks which will assist us at large allow us “to continuously” improve to delight our customers.

We wish to reassure you that the issues outlined have been lengthily discussed with key members concerned and the menu items rotation have been entirely reviewed to suit for a more diversified clientele, thus avoiding repetition and improved taste.

On a similar note, our team members have been briefed to reinforce and about the dress code and smoking rules and regulations ensure consistent application.

We renew our thanks for having shared these points with us and wish to express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you were subjected to which in all fairness is very rare but still valid.
We hope that aside the shortcomings encountered you have been able to enjoy the facilities provided and that you have treasured good memories of your stay.

We would be honoured to welcoming you back for another stay amongst us thus making you experience unforgettable moments for which Ambre is famous for.

Sincerely,
Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked the Ambre for both my sixtieth and our wedding anniversary in June this year.We found it to be everything we expected and much much more.On arrival we were met by friendly helpful staff who made our booking in quick and easy. Our bags where then delivered into our rooms a very short time later.The restaurants where clean and there was plenty to choose from, from the three restaurants in the complex and all had a very high standard of delicious food. For romance, a must do is the dinner on the beach.You just couldn't ask for anything nicer. We found the staff professional, friendly and helpful. One member of staff who went out of his way to make our stay perfect was 'Kevin' the manager of the Indigo restaurant. It is not very often I would hold anyone in high esteem but this particular has earned my respect for everything he did for both my wife and myself and for that I was thankful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for taking the time to review Ambre on Trip Advisor and are grateful for having given the opportunity to mark your double celebrations.

It is wonderful to read that we have been able to meet and exceed your expectations and your compliments on the location, service, food quality and above all our team members, specially Kevin have been well acknowledged and shared.

We eagerly look forward to the soonest opportunity to playing host to you.

Sincerely,
Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were travelling to Mauritius in the end of march of 2014, we have local friends in Mauritius but for first part of our holiday we wanted to stay and relax in some nice hotel. By checking many different hotels reviews and pictures Ambre hotel looked like the best choice for us.

After arriving in the hotel from the minute we walked in we were like WOW, the pool area its probably the best one we have seen yet, absolutely stunning... We were given the room with the sea view and it was just beautiful waking up every morning and see that beautiful view each morning. Room was very nice, we stayed before in 5 star hotels in different countries but this one was the best one yet for us.


The every member of the staff was super nice and helpful always gave a smile and said hello.
We highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RuttiDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambre H, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your precious time afforded in writing such a wonderful review.

We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed the facilities provided. We strive to meet and exceed our guests' expectations and are pleased to be made aware that we have succeeded during your stay at Ambre.

We hope to have the soonest opportunity of welcoming you back to our shores for more wonderful recalls.

Sincerely,
Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.1 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,681 reviews
35.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,863 reviews
16.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,448 reviews
2.5 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambre Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambre Resort & Spa

Address: Coast Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601 (Formerly Ambre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £216 - £553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambre Resort is an all-inclusive adult only resort located in Belle Mare, on the east coast of Mauritius. The resort is one hour away from the airport and from the capital city of Port-Louis. The resort boasts a 700-metre white natural sandy beach running along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Guests of Ambre benefit from free green fees and complimentary transfer at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, an 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambre Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Ambre Resort & Spa Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing