We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Paradise”
Review of Ambre Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Well, Mauritius has been a GO-TO place for all Indians soon after their marriage. With plethora of options to decide from, I found Ambre to be meet up most of our expectations. Its close to the airport, swimming pool area is amazing which stretches out to the waste ocean, good food to fulfill your appetite and good bunch of activities in the Hotel premises. The only drawback that we faced is that you will have to walk a lot from your room to the reception area. But we use to make up for this by walking along the beach. Overall a very friendly staff and good hospitality.

Note - Don't miss out the beach volleyball sessions in the evening. We had most fun in defeating the hotel staff at their own turf :)

Room Tip: Ask them for a room closer to the reception.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience on Trip Advisor, following your holiday at Ambre Hotel on your honeymoon trip.

We are delighted to know that your time with us was to your satisfaction and we will not miss to share your wonderful comments with the rest of the team.

We certainly look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Alessandro Schenone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,869)
There are newer reviews for Ambre Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,749 - 1,755 of 3,870 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at ambre in June/July and booked through Thomson holidays. After a long flight and a hours transfer from the airport we where greated at reception by plenty of people who quickly checked us in and offered us breakfast and a cold flannel.
After they showed us to our room our luggage soon came after.
The rooms are modern and spacious with a large shower and a separate w/c.
The balcony area is small and there was no room around the table and chairs.
Now the hotel has got pros and cons, so I'll start with the good points.
All the staff have a smile on their face and nothing is too much trouble for them.
There are 3 restaurants, the buffet restaurant served a wide variety of foods which all ways tasted great.
The beech restaurant only opened every other night and was in a beautiful setting, again the food tasted great.
The Italian restaurant again served great food with a relaxed environment.
There was never a problem getting a sun lounger either around the pool or on the beech, but this may have been down to that we travelled in the winter season.
The spa was in a great location over looking the beach.

Now onto the problems!!!!

The pool was so cold.

DOGS AND CATS....
They would wonder around the beach and pool area begging for food and the cats would even walk into the Italian restaurant.
The beach restaurant would have dogs around the tables and this was mainly due to the idiots that would feed them scraps from their plates. The last thing I wanted was stray dogs which could have had fleas or any disease begging for food around my feet. We even witnessed on one occasion a waiter trying to persuade a dog away from the tables only for the dog to turn nasty and growl and show it's teeth at him. This happened right at the side of me and my wife.
The hotel is trying to eradicate this problem, but unless the fools that feed them stop feeding them I can't see the hotel getting on top of the issue. I'm sure that if the "dog whispers" where to be sat at home they would not encourage stray dogs like they did whilst I was away, I now see that people even encouraged the stray animals into their rooms and let them sleep there!!!!
All in all we had a great 2 weeks away BUT it would have been so much better if the dogs would have not been able to drink out of the pools and also residents feeding the muts....

Stayed: July 2014
7  Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guests,

We wish to express our heartfelt thanks for your precious time afforded in reviewing our property on Trip Advisor. It is always pleasing to be made aware of your successful holiday experience which we have shared with all the team members.

On the other hand, we read with great about your concerns pertaining the dog's issue and thank you again for acknowledging our efforts to solve out this 'problem'. We are pleased as well to inform you that the pet-friendly action plan enhanced recently is yielding positive results and we are confident that this situation will improve very shortly.

We look forward to read about your renewed stay amongst us.

Sincerely,

Alessandro Schenone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a warm welcome and appreciated the efficient service provided right from the start. We really enjoyed our stay; the cosy rooms, well-catered, cool and relaxing environment, being surrounded by plants/flowers, birds chirping, admiring the sunset/sunrise , the wonderful beach, the aquagym , the nice and varied food. My hubby who is on a special diet was so well catered for. We were all sad to leave and look forward to come back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Gita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Ambre.

It is always a great pleasure to read about the satisfaction and wonderful experience our guests have had and your commendations will definitely be a boost for our team members to continuously strive for perfection!

We look forward to the soonest opportunity of welcoming you back for another wonderful experience.

Sincerely,

Alessandro Schenone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I will keep it short as I'm currently here I will apologise in advance for the grammes and spelling as I'm on my phone .

Hotel is lovely. The food is lovely, the island is lovely although sea life on the beach is sparse so don't expect any of lounger Snorkeling but there are trips.

Hawkers ie Leo, Chris, Michael, allan are pests but we did buy from them and had a bit a of banter with them. they will approach you numerous times and have to be told forcefully to leave you alone if you want them to listen but they aren't allowed around the pool so you can escape if it's a bother.

DOGS... They are here. Roughly 5 of them they do bark although this is mainly the scruffy black girl dog and they do wee on furniture and they do fight literally like dogs feet from you and they will go in the beech reastaurant. People do feed them and do lure them back to there rooms with packets of crisps and let them sleep in there rooms.

They are also racist as they really dislike black people and will chase the Hawkers barking at them up the beech which sounds like there doing you a favour unless you are black in which case they may also chase you... With all that said if they are a pest all you need to do is move away from directly below the coral bar to maybe 30m either way as the dogs tend to hang around there.

Overall though it's a lovely place and a nice hotel staff are lovely so do not be overly worried about coming if you have booked, you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tk2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for the time taken to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay amongst us and that our services provided were to your expectations.

On the other hand, we are saddened to be made aware of the inconveniences you were subjected to and wish to share with you that we have had a meeting with the hawkers whereby the proper attitude and behaviour towards our guests were highlighted.

Please rest assured that the Management has reinforced a pet-friendly action plan and we are confident that this step will definitely bear positive results.

We reiterate our thanks for your compliments on our team members, which we have shared with them and are grateful for your kind recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you soon for another wonderful recall.

Sincerely,

Alessandro Schenone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Myself, my partner and another couple stayed at the Ambre from the 14th July until the 28th. We all had an amazing time and left the Ambre and Mauritius with fond memories that will last a lifetime.

The hotel itself, is stunning, immaculately clean with beautiful surroundings. The beach and pool area is incredible and so relaxing. The pool this time of year is pretty cold though!

Our rooms were kept perfectly clean to a very high standard every day throughout the 2 weeks we were there, can't thank the maids enough.

The restaurants are also to a high standard. We enjoyed all 3 restaurants. La plage was favourite for dinner, coral snack bar for lunch and indigo buffet for breakfast. We did eat at dolce vita a few times and the food was nice there also, however we enjoyed the other restaurants more. The steak at la plage is INCREDIBLE! Staff in every area were brilliant and gave wonderful service!

We booked a catamaran trip with Mcloud on the beach, amazing trip and well worth the money. We found chris to be really annoying, and literally wouldn't leave us alone, I get it's his living, but jeez he was persistent...so we decided not to give him our money.

We also went to casela and did the lion interaction. I honestly couldn't recommend this trip enough! Brilliant experience. Also did a Segway Safari whilst here which was so much fun.

We booked thousand colours, valley de ferney and swimming with dolphins through Thomson. Thousand colours and the dolphins were incredible, valley de ferney not so unfortunately. Very overpriced. Made the most of the day however and still had a nice time.

Booked a couples massage at the spa which was perfect! After you book a treatment you can use spa facilities for the rest of your stay (jacuzzi,sauna,steam room) it was gorgeous at the spa, peaceful and beautiful!

Now for the biggy... Stray dogs... We are all dog lovers And found the dogs to be very friendly and took a shine to one in particular (black and white boy). They were all lovely and mostly minded their own business.

That said however I think feeding the dogs by the pool and by the restaurants is bang out of order and shows no respect whatsoever for the hotel staff and even fellow guests who may not be very confident with stray animals. Allowing them to sleep in your room aswell is disgusting. I mean common guys, that's seriously gross. Who knows what you could catch.

In my opinion people need to be reminded that these dogs are strays and no matter how domesticated they may appear they are unpredictable and it is only a matter of time before someone gets injured...and this won't be the dogs fault...it will be the guests for allowing the situation to get that far.

I have a heart, and do agree its awful wondering if they have had a meal today, where they are going to sleep. But they have lived their whole lives this way and are used to it. I really hope the hotel finds a solution to the problem that keeps the dogs safe and keep the hotel at such a high standard.

To sum it up, this hotel is a gem, on an incredibly beautiful island - and I wouldn't hesitate to holiday here again, we had such a wonderful time.

Go ahead, BOOK IT!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your precious time afforded in sharing your detailed review on our property and are pleased to be made aware of your successful experience at our shores.

Your compliments have been cascaded down with the team who has been able to meet and exceed your expectations.

On a concluding note, we are glad that you have left our island with wonderful recalls and look forward to your repeated stays amongst us.

Sincerely,

Alessandro Schenone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks in July 2014. We had an amazing experience in Mauritius. Below are what we consider the main points which we would have liked to know about Ambre Hotel and surrounding areas.

LOCATION: - FANTASTIC FOR THE EAST COAST: Belle Mare is on the east coast and is known for being windy at this time of year; Ambre hotel however is excellently situated as we did not feel much of a breeze at all during our two week stay. Whilst looking out to sea, if you walk along the beach to the right past the spa, you will find another long stretch of beach which we found many kite surfers riding the waves and strong winds! If you travel to the left, you will walk approx 20-30min to reach Belle Mare village (or a cycle ride which takes about 5-10 minutes).

ROOM WITH A VIEW? - We paid for partial sea view. This was definitely worth the extra bit of cash as some rooms are facing the roadside and do not offer such beautiful views. Although we did not try a full sea view, we found our room offered us enough of a view to warrant a fantastic window and balcony experience (partial sea view in our case meant slightly angled to the sea and some trees obstructing full view) and did not warrant an extra £400 for very little more in our opinion. We spoke with others who were in full sea view rooms and had mixed responses - some saying well worth it, others saying sea view just means FACING the sea, but still has many trees obstructing view.

ROOM - CLEANLINESS, FACILITIES AND COMFORT. Clean and well maintained with a mini bar that is replenished daily without extra cost (unless extra service requested!) The sheets on the bed were always very tightly fitted (we gained some muscles this holiday pulling them out each day!) The mattress was a little hard and the pillows were too high to sleep on for us but after asking the rep, she had another two pillows sent to our room. We did unfortunately see two cockroaches in our room the first night which initially put us off, but we were quickly moved to a different room, higher up as requested and did not see any more through the duration of the two weeks; this is not a reflection of the cleanliness of the rooms as ours was spotless and well maintained! Other guests mentioned tiny geckos (which are extremely fast and harmless) and ants. Also the room was very quiet at night time especially.

FOOD - Fantastic and plentiful!
There are three restaurants to choose from each day. All offered a decent selection of tasty and well presented food. Indigo does not need to be booked and is buffet style offering the biggest selection. Dolce Vita is the on site Italian restaurant and the beach restaurant offers food open air on the beach. In my opinion, we preferred Indigo for the selection, Dolce Vita for wine and dine, and the beach for the location, but all offered superb food (recommend the australian beef). Food is also offered throughout the day (breakfast at indigo until 10:30am and lunch at the beach bar and the beach).

THOMSON REP: - Fantastic Armelle!
Upon our arrival (after a very tiring 12 hour + journey), we had a short rest before the meeting. Armelle gave a brief speech followed by a request that anyone wishing to ask questions should stay. Although I have attended more informative meetings from Thomson reps, her service throughout the holiday was exceptional and the best we have encountered to date. Armelle was friendly and helpful and saw to each individuals needs with care and thoroughness. If any difficulties were encountered, a note of apology and a token of appreciation for the guests patience was delivered to the room (in our case we received a note of apology, a bottle of bubbly and a selection of fruits in our room. Armelle listened to the good and the bad and dealt with things professionally and fairly at all times.

TRIPS
All trips we booked through Thomson prior to arrival were more expensive than booking with the rep in Maurutius - some substantially so! Booked in England: Dolphin swim £90 per person no food included, and Islet Escapade £108, if we had booked through the rep when we reached Mauritius, Islet Escapade would have been £100 per person and Dolphin swim £40 per person with food!!! (£50 difference per person which is bonkers and completely unacceptable under the advice of Thomson in England). We will be taking this further with Thomson. Rant over. Advice: book when you get there, and either go through your rep or even better for value, do your homework and hire a taxi for the day at approx £60 - this was well worth it! (save more money by making friends with another couple and sharing!)

Islet escapade was fab (endangered species, snorkel, gorgeous food and private island you can walk around in 15 minutes with stunning views). Dolphin swim was not worth £90 each and is a very early get up! (5:45am leaving the hotel).

BEACH SPORTS... SPOIL SPORTS!
There is a guy on the beach called Chris who will offer trips and motorised sporting activities at a cheaper rate than those in the hotel. There are some positive and negative comments on trip advisor about his services. If you are looking to book with him, there are some things you should know and consider before taking him up on his services. He is not part of the hotel despite what he may tell you. He does offer cheaper trips which have had some good reviews. He does have a licence to offer the trips but YOU ARE NOT INSURED THROUGH HIS SERVICES. Whilst we were on holiday, one group told us how they had gone to the waterfalls and nearly was dragged over the waterfall with little to no safety warnings about it. Two men dived in to save the man who could swim and just managed to stop him from plummeting to an early grave. Prior to our visit, we heard others had gone over the waterfall and had multiple wounds (its a pretty decent drop with rocks beneath). Chris on the beach also offers a range of beach water sports which some guests seemed to enjoy. Unfortunately our experience of this was not so positive. Our opinion - Chris is a real pest and spoiled our relaxation on the beach! Out of 14 days he approached and pestered us at least 10 times to take part in activities when our response was clear 'no thank you' and when we clearly just wanted to relax and do our own thing. Whilst passing the hut one day, and after being badgered so much, I finally gave in and had a 'free' water-ski lesson on the beach. I was then coerced into water skiing for real for 1500mr (about £30). I ended up out for five minutes before getting sea urchins in my foot and returning to shore. Though it took a while and was painful, I managed to pluck these out with my tweezers and a needle, but on occasions thereafter Chris asked me for payment. I declined each time as I felt more inconvenienced than anything and felt that 5 minutes and sea urchins does not constitute a £30 lesson, and certainly wasn't much fun hobbling around and trying to relax with him approaching us all the while!

BEACH VENDORS
Harmless to begin but really gets annoying when you're trying to relax and they approach you all the time. Their goods are always overly priced and much of the beads are bought from China (many are not real and bought at a fraction of the cost). Also you can purchase much of what they sell in Belle Mare for a fraction of the price. Our advice, do not buy from them unless it's your last day or you really don't want to shop elsewhere.

HOTEL SHOP - Some nice goods but overly priced

ANIMALS - Where was doctor doolittle?
Dogs, Cats, Mice, Ants, Cockroaches, fish, Birds... although they were all present at some point during our stay, the only real problem at this hotel was the stray dogs and the irresponsible attitude of some guests towards them. The dogs roam the beach, bar area and pool area freely. Sometimes staff shoo the dogs away but during our stay we had some guests feeding the dogs, petting and feeding them in the bar, pool and beach restaurant area and even taking them back to their rooms to sleep with them - BARKING MAD and completely irresponsible and disrespectful to other guests and hotel regulations. The hotel I might add, were trying all they could to make their guests happy but combat the problem!

We became friends with a couple who were telling us that the dogs were barking through the night and waking them up but they were too nice to say anything to reception or their rep despite them admitting to us that it was spoiling their holiday! Another couple were frightened of dogs. What about those with allergies too?! I would not be happy to hear my pillow and sheets in this hotel had been slept on by a stray dog... would you?! I m not a dog hater, I love animals, but there is a line not to be stepped over.

DAY ENTERTAINMENT
Some varied activities, aqua aerobics, bike tour, veg and ice carving demo. Nothing too crazy here. Some took place, others did not sue to weather conditions, low numbers or other reasons we weren't aware of.

NIGHT ENTERTAINMENT - This changed slightly from the original schedule but overall was decent and varied. Some of entertainment included: Jazz night / Sega night / Salsa / Eddie vocalist (Louis Armstrong and Tom Jones vocals were good but Elvis still rules i'm afraid!) Fusion dancing (different styles) Brazillian (ladies in thongs waggling bums lol - got a good audience! Not forgetting the lovely local talent).

STAFF: Excellent and professional, fast, friendly and efficient service at all times. Service always given with a smile. All staff willing to help in any given situation. Special mention for Coraly and Sinjen who gave especially excellent bar service throughout the two weeks - (I hope you liked the rings!) Thank you - you made us feel very welcome and our stay very special!

SPA: Fair price, offer available at times, lovely peaceful setting.

PRICE OF TRINKETS:
Really does vary from place to place and person to person! Cashmere pashminas and sarongs cheap at 180-200mr each (bought cheapest in Belle Mare).

Overall, this is a fantastic hotel that is only spoiled in our opinion by the current stray dog situ and constancy of beach vendors when trying to relax. Would we return... Absolutely!

If you have any questions, please feel free to ask!

Room Tip: Higher number rooms (in the 800's) are near the spa and are quiet) Lower number rooms are close...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank EmDMadhatter78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guests,

Greetings from Ambre Hotel!

Thank you very very much for such an incredible review. The entire team is so grateful you took out of your time to share your perception.

We are glad to see that the team managed to make your experience a moment that matter and we have been also particularly impressed by your bright description of the resort and facilities in your review.

As you no doubt know, the hotel is nested in a lush tropical garden which acts as a paradise for tropical birds, ants and various little insects. Having said so, we wish to let you know that we have hired a highly reputed company to manage such issues by installing various devices to prevent such unwanted nuisances.

The beach hawkers who are licensed by the Authorities to operate on our beach have to respect the code of practice stipulated on the license.
On behalf of Management, I would like to apologise for such behavior which is unfortunately out of our control. The beach hawkers have been convened to review rules and regulations pertaining to such operations.

We sincerely thank you for having celebrated those moments with us, and we all hope to have the pleasure of seeing you in the future.

Sincerely Yours,

Alessandro Schenone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Ambre resort Mauritius was fantastic value for money, the entertainment staff were great sports, plenty of inclusive water sports ,food delicious, staff warm and hard working, management could be seen,often asking guests how they were etc very clean ,right on the beach,the infinity pool was amazing with the Indian Ocean in front of you ,never felt crowded ,a great all inclusive deal ,pity the guests couldn't have respected the dress code a little more positively !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chatterbox1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for having chosen our resort for your vacations and for reviewing Ambre on Trip Advisor.

It is indeed very encouraging to read about your overall satisfaction with regards to our services and facilities provided.

Looking forward to the soonest opportunity to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience.

Sincerely yours,

Alessandro Schenone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.1 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,626 reviews
35.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,792 reviews
16.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Le Morne
Hotel Riu Le Morne
#5 of 11 in Le Morne
780 reviews
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,319 reviews
2.5 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambre Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambre Resort & Spa

Address: Coast Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601 (Formerly Ambre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £229 - £537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambre Resort is an all-inclusive adult only resort located in Belle Mare, on the east coast of Mauritius. The resort is one hour away from the airport and from the capital city of Port-Louis. The resort boasts a 700-metre white natural sandy beach running along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Guests of Ambre benefit from free green fees and complimentary transfer at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, an 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambre Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Ambre Resort & Spa Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing