We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
LUX* Belle Mare
Nearby Hotels
US$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$700
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$471
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$719
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$673
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Long Beach Mauritius(Belle Mare)
US$440
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$405
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambre Mauritius(Belle Mare)
US$392
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$381
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Solana Beach(Belle Mare)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,919)
Filter reviews
5,919 results
Traveller rating
5,262
500
107
36
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,262
500
107
36
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduck laundryfood truckcoffee barrum shackmixe restauranttea houseashish modakbeach rouge restaurantrolls roycekelly hoppenmessage in a bottleice cream parlouramari by vineetour honeymoonevents managerspecial thanksjunior suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,030 - 3,035 of 5,919 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My wife and I went to celebrate our 24th wedding aniversary at the Belle Mare Lux Hotel, and we were very satisfied. It provided a very romantic setting with all the best facilities. The spa and massages were very relaxing and definitely worth it. The food is excellent, and we especially appreciated the hotel staff, who were extremely friendly,polite and able. I would definitely recommend this hotel to eveyone, and I look forward to another stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baboo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish M, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare! The entire team joins me in thanking you for a wonderful feedback posted here on Trip Advisor about your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the resort as a whole. We truly believe that the resort is designed in a way that all our guests are able to relax and completely unwind using the various features and services available.
We look forward to welcoming you again for another excellent stay with us;

Warm regards,
Ashish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We had two weeks at this hotel which were probably the most relaxing and enjoyable time I can remember since starting work over thirty years ago. It offered the best combination of beach, service, food and pool. Litle touches and surprises delighted us from the late check out at no extra charge to the secret bar that pops up in different places from time to time. Having experienced the best that 5* Asia can offer (Singapore, Thailand, etc), I found the service here quite the equal, but with a relaxed informality that was perfectly adapted for the vacation environment.

Many other reviewers have commented on the main aspects so I know readers will want to know whether the standard has been maintained lately (Jan 2012) - yes it has. Instead here are some answers to the questions we had before we came...

How rainy is it during the rainy season? We had one afternoon where it rained for a hour and a half in the whole of the last two weeks of January. There were some showers on several nights as well, which just freshened things up. So we were really pleased that we hadn't been put off coming at this time of year.

Do you need beach shoes to cross the sand to the water or for wading? No, they groom the beach every night and there is an area for swimming in the sea that has been cleared of coral and sea urchins etc, so you can paddle and swim safely in bare feet.

Is there enough variety in the food for two weeks? Yes, the buffet in the main restaurant (called the Kitchen) is different each night of the week, and the other three restaurants all offer something different again. Just note that each one closes for one night each week (except the kitchen).

How spacious are the ordinary rooms (= "junior suites") - We had plenty of space with a good-sized balcony, fair-sized sitting area, king bed area, separate dressing room, large bathroom with a big bath and huge separate shower. We had one of the modernised suites with white plantation blinds. We found the airconditioning to be exceptionally quiet and could be left on low all night together with the overhead fan circling slowly to make for a very comfortable night.

How would they cope with a gluten-free diet? We were a bit concerned at first but spoke with the restaurant manager (Marius) who briefed all the restaurants so whenever we arrived at the Kitchen or a restaurant and gave our room number they were right on top of it. We had gf bread baskets everywhere, gf pasta at the Kitchen and Beach, and when in Langoustier or IndoChine, the manager offered gf advice on options without prompting, and chefs made adjustments to chosed dishes. Very, very impressive.

All in all it was hard to fault the Lux BM, maybe the bar prices are a bit steep, but we accepted that goes with the turf (and are not as high as its next door nieghbour hotels). I have never liked to go back to exactly the same place for a vacation in the past (there's so much of the world still to see), but I would go back to the Lux BM, especially if I needed a vacation that was just about relaxing and winding down.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BerkhamstedJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish M, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Greetings from Mux* Belle Mare! The entire team joins me in thanking you for the wonderful feedback posted by you about us on Trip Advisor. We thank you for the detailing of the various aspects which make us special... the well maintaned beach, the spacious rooms, the variety on offer in the various restaurants, our ability to match the requirements of all our guests and equally importantly the friendliness, professionalism and promptness of our service team across the resort. We are glad that you could unwind completely through your stay with us and we really do hope to welcome you again at your home here in Mauritius!

Warm regards from all of us at Lux* Belle Mare;

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I must say that our choice of this hotel was largely guided by useful comments on trip advisor. While we have visited the St. Geran on previous occassions and have experienced wonderful service; this time we just deicded to try out another hotel on the east coast and Lux* Belle Mare was our pick. And I am glad that we tried a new hotel. Right from our welcome which was warm and genuine to every single interaction we have had with the staff we felt truly cared for. During our stay we were met by the Resort Manager Ashish who took the time to explain the new concept; passionately talking of all the wonderful changes that the ex-Beau Rivage had recently been through. The product is definitely good, we are crazy for the beach and its a truly amazing beach, but more than that the staff outdo each other. Its like being warm and hospitable comes to them naturally, something I have been trying to do with the staff in my company and really find difficult. I wanted to have a speacial surprise for my wife and left it for Marius at the restaurant to arrange. He truly bowled us over with creating a fabulous dinner at a fabulous location.I also want to thank the beach staff who were very attentive, the guys at the restaurant who kept us amused and pampered and the house keeping girl who maintained our room just as we prefer. I want to definitely visit this hotel again and would recommend it to everyone looking for a truly blissful holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RBrown0575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish M, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare! We are really glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and both the place and the people here together contributed to making your stay memorable. Our team is our biggest strength and together with very good Food and Beverage offerings, well appointed and comfortable rooms; it is a perfect combination for a great holiday for our guests. The entire team joins me in thanking you for your wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home here in Mauritius!

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

One of the best experiences at a resort. From the unique smells to a different "scene" everyday, this was truly a magical week. One of the best beaches I have seen in Mauritius. The food choice and variety made every day unique. The junior suite was really spacious and tastefully decorated with all the modern technologies. The staff are awesome and we left making some good friends. Thank You Lux* Island Resorts for a great experience.

Room Tip: The Neptune Wing is smaller and more private
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish M, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about us on Trip Advisor. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, each day is different and unique at Lux* Belle Mare with the different 'scenes' which transform the holiday from just another one to an experience to remember! Thank you for highlighting as well the spaciousness of the rooms, the quality and variety of our food offerings, the friendliness of our team members as also mentioning the beach of ours. We are blessed with a beautiful wide stretch of white sandy beach, definitely amongst the best on the island. We look forward to welcoming you back to your home here in Mauritius!

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Fantastic stay for 10 days on all -inclusive. the staff make your stay even better and their professionalism but genuine friendliness shine through.
For food the Beach restaurant was probably the one we enjoyed the most...... junior suite rooms were first class and appointed to a high standard.

Our 2nd visit but not the last !

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanH470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews