We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With a little attention to detail, could be so much better.”
Review of LUX* Belle Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LUX* Belle Mare
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at the Lux Belle Mare for 10 nights in September 2013. Having researched Mauritius heavily we decided to splash out on a stay at this hotel based on the fantastic reviews. Perhaps our expectations were a little too high but we were sadly a little disappointed. On first sight, the hotel is grand, modern and clean and has a beautiful beach location. It really could be paradise but is let down by some very minor issues which could so easily have been put right. A few small issues are always to be expected but we felt that they all added up throughout our stay leaving us with an overall 'average' view of what should have been a holiday of a lifetime.

The good points:
+ The beach is beautiful - crystal waters and soft white sand.
+ The rooms were spacious - we had a junior suite which was more than adequate.
+ Although we didn't have any treatments at the spa we did use the sauna/steamroom/hot tub facilities which were in a lovely secluded garden area. This area is quite well hidden and none of the hotel staff made us aware that it existed. It's a beautiful area which could easily be missed.
+ The housekeeping staff did a fantastic job of keeping the room immaculately clean and tidy.
+ The communal areas are clean and modern
+ The quality of the food and service in the a la carte restaurants was excellent.

The bad points:
- Although the room was large, it had clearly not been refurbished for some time. Some of the furniture was faded and generally a bit 'tatty'. Most of the taps leaked and a two of the lamps in the room didn't work which was frustrating as the room was quite dark and badly lit. This may seem picky, but it's simply not the standard we would usually expect from a 5 star resort. We spoke to someone at the reception desk immediately on arrival to ask if we could change rooms and we were told to come back the next day once they had completed the room allocations. When we went back the next day we were told to come the following day and speak to the manager. We gave up asking as by this point we had unpacked and wanted to settle and get on with enjoying the holiday.
- 15 minutes after being shown to our room, we had a knock on the door from a member of the team wanting to show us one of the pool villas in an attempt to get us to upgrade. He wouldnt tell us the cost of the upgrade until we had seen the room so being disappointed with ours, we went to look at the villa. The cost of the upgrade was an additional 200 euros per night!! The rooms were beautiful but having already paid in excess of £5k for this holiday it was an expense we simply couldn't justify. Instead, it just highlighted even more the poor standard of the regular suites.
- The food in the evening buffet restaurant which although was great quality was very, very repetitive. Most evenings were just a slight variation on the same old dishes. For example, Mediterranean night consisted of the usual curry/rice/noodle dishes but with the addition of some slices of pizza and a risotto. The type of food offered in the a la carte restaurants was also very similar to what was on offer in the main restaurant.
- The Beach Bar was closed for refurbishment during our stay - as it was sectioned off it really impeded the view of the beach from many areas around the hotel. The work was also quite noisy. I appreciate that refurbishment needs to take place to maintain the high standards of the hotel but no-one made any attempt to warn us that this was taking place upon arrival. A simple apology would have gone a long way.
- With one restaurant closed and the hotel at 85% occupancy it made the other restaurants very busy especially at lunch times. The staff struggled to service the tables - we waited over 30 minutes one day for our bill.
- With the Beach Bar closed it meant a long wait for drinks down on the beach. The waiter on the beach was excellent but with a long walk to the inside bar it took approx 20 minutes each time drinks were ordered.
- A very large temporary marquee was being erected on the beach during our stay to accommodate a large function the following week (presumably as the Beach Bar was out of use.) Again this really spoilt the beach view with vehicles and staff working on the structure in the main beach area for over a week.
- The a la carte restaurants appeared to be almost empty on some evenings yet it was difficult to book a table. We rang on several mornings to book tables and were unable to book for that evening or the following day.
- The information provided by the hotel about the resort is quite poor and doesn't help you to make the most of your stay. The booklet provided in the room to give you information about the resort is massively out of date - it references a bar 'Blue Savannah' that we were told by our waiter hadn't existed for some time, and it claims that lunch is served until 6pm in 'The Kitchen' when infact after 3pm the usual menu is reduced to just sandwiches. Also, it is not made very clear that certain things are not included in the AI package. For example, only 2 beers and soft drinks per day are included form the mini bar (all snacks and wine/spirits are chargeable) and although meals in the a la carte restaurants are included, they have special 'tapas' menus 1 night a week which are offered at a £70 per head supplement which very nearly caught us out.
- The general service was hit and miss. Some staff were exceptional (particularly the bar staff, drinks waiters in the beach area and housekeeping staff) but others were slow and forgetful. Most evenings we didn't get our drinks until we had finished our starters, we had to ask several times for missing cutlery, sauces, side plates etc.
- We felt that the hotel lacked atmosphere. The lunch time entertainment was great but very repetitive with the same band playing the same songs most days. The evening entertainment was varied and on the whole was very good, but most evenings it was finished by 10.30pm. We usually prefer to eat later on holidays and enjoy a drink and some entertainment after our meal but we were unable to do this. The entertainment was really designed for guests who like to be at the front of the dinner queue and in bed for 10.30pm.
- The lack of atmosphere was also perhaps impacted by the Beach Bar being closed as this left only 1 bar to use in the evening. Also, it was hard to distinguish where the 'a la carte' restaurants ended and the main restaurant/bar starts. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was for the variety of bars/restaurants on offer as we were concerned a 10 night stay could become repetitive but really, there was just 1 large area divided into 1 bar and 3 restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catherinek59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Katherine K, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare, Mauritius! First, A sincere thank you for your detailed review. You have listed all the several positives of the resort as also some of the issues which resulted in you not enjoying the holidays to the fullest. My sincere apologies for the resort not having been up to your expectations in these various matters. Unfortunately, due to unavoidable reasons, we had to stop the operations of the Beach restaurant. I have taken up all the points listed by you with the concerned team members and we have taken measures to ensure other guests do not face the same issues. The resort takes pride in our genuine and sincere team members and on our ability to ensure every guest enjoys his / her stay to the fullest and I would request the readers of this forum and our future guests to bring anything which may be hampering you from enjoying your holiday to the fullest with us to my attention and we will ensure that your holiday remains completely enjoyable for you. I really do hope to welcome you again at LUX* Belle Mare;

Sincerely,
Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,481 - 2,487 of 5,640 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

One of the most romantic hotels, if not the most, I have been to. Went wit my wife in February. Beautiful rooms, even more beautiful people. Extremely friendly, warm and make you feel pampered. The spa and hotel activities and events keep you hooked. The food, staff and everyone is awesome. Only drawback I can think of (and its just cos I'm tryin to) is not too many options for vegetarians in the different specialty spread every evening. I enjoyed the food, but my wife, being vegetarian, had to make do wit watever she could. Apart fm that, no complaints whatsoever. I know I'm repeating myself, but the staff are absolutely the best. The spa, the pool, the evening entertainment, the rooms, the beach activities, the bar, the restaurant, the location, everything was impeccable. I would recommend everyone to go for the full board cos the food can get expensive, if you wanna order. I say this, cos even though, you think you may be heading out for food, most times, you will end up being in the hotel, cos its THAT awesome. Our perfect holiday. We still reminisce abt the trip and we may end up, goin there, AGAIN, in the not-so-distant future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venx217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

If you want to try heaven before you get there I suggest you book the Lux* Belle Mare Mauritius for at least two weeks,
Your only regret is it won't be enough three would be better.
We arrived early after an over night flight fearing we would be waiting around for hours, but no our lux* junior suite was indeed ready, great space, great view, and quiet over looking the gardens.
At the Lux* Belle Mare there is an almost family friendliness about the people the like both my wife and i have never come across anywhere in the world before you feel as if you know them, they know you by name and your room number.
I would like to mention a few names but i assure you it applies to every member of the team.
Sheila assistant front office manager (come on Belle Mare assistant what's going on ) what a great lady nothing was any trouble you knew all was well when you saw her a real gem.
Also Roopesh east restaurant and some times greeter at breakfast when he says hello theres no mistake you are on holiday.
The pool lads Vishal he said if i try to move my sun beed again without hime he would impose a fine on me you only had to look up and a drink would be on its way such enthusiasm from these young men was a joy to see these days.just a pitty the beech bar/restaurant was being renovated
but the staff made up for it.
I must mention the bed it's the best i ever slept in if it had rained i could happily of stayed in it.
Finally a big thanks to Ashish Manager you staff are a great credit to your Hotel i have just bought a lotto ticket you never know we could be back next week.
Geoff and Anita Bisset Manchester.

Room Tip: the lux junior suits have just been renovated very calming if you like to be quitter then over look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geoffb4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We had our wedding at 3.9.2013 in this really awesome hotel. There was nothing that we were missing, the villa, the service, the buffet, the beach, everything was nearly perfect!! Thank you Lux Belle Mare for making our wedding & honeymoon so special!!!! We will definately come back!!!!

Room Tip: We spent our vacation at one the really nice (private) villas. Private dinner at the beach => gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine_Kai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

After a challenging year the lux belle mare was just what my daughters and I needed. The rooms were luxurious, having them serviced sometimes twice in a day was a treat. The staff during our 10 day stay were friendly and courteous and most accommodating. The chef catered to the girls individual needs and nothing was too much trouble. I must mention Shelia and the beach waiters who endlessly supplied us with refreshments. We all agreed that it was the best holiday we had experienced. The ice cream parlour, real indulgence every day. The spa facilities were excellent and we enjoyed our treatments with Cynthia. Our perfect holiday. Thank you lux belle mare ...hope to see you again next summer. The raza family x

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naheed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Following lots of positive reviews for this hotel my wife and I booked this resort for 10 days for our "baby moon" for a relaxed break prior to our little arrival in December.

At first we were put in one of the rooms on the ground floor near the pool - which if you want a quiet break then please avoid. At night, you can hear the live bands and music until midnight so not an ideal start, plus the room was quite basic. The next day we requested to be moved to one of the rooms away from the pool in a more quiet location which had been refurbed. Fantastic improvement and exactly what we wanted/needed.

We were half board for the first time not AI and I we weighed up the options of paying extra for AI but with my wife not drinking alcohol and being careful with what she can eat we decided it would not be worth it. Again, word of caution - if you are staying around the pool for drinks and lunch and you are not AI then the bill rapidly grows. For example, we asked for two Coke Zeros and they bring one bottle (500ml) but charge you for two (because they brought two glasses) which roughly equated to about £7.00 ($12.00) - which was ridiculous. We expected incidentals and food/drink to be expensive in resort hotels but we thought this was particularly expensive. So stock up with the duty free for your room or go the local supermarket for refreshments in advance!

You are probably thinking after reading the above why on earth have I rated this 5/5? Well, apart from the above, our stay was superb. For us, the most important things when we go away are the standard of the room, the quality of the food, the level of service, the overall amenities and the people.

The resort speaks for itself in terms of location and stunning beauty but the real attraction here are the people. The staff really couldn't do more for us and went out of their way to make us feel special. Particular mention should go to Akshar the Pool Boy (who will insist on giving your sunglasses the best clean they will ever receive), Dave the Breakfast Waiter (infectious giggle and always remembered our names), Vick (the Kitchen Manager), who arranged special dietary meals to suit my wife and Roopesh (Head Waiter at East Restaurant), who literally is the friendliest guy in Mauritius and always looked after us).

Currently, there are only two a la carte restaurants and the buffet, (although building work is progressing on a beach front third). The buffet is excellent (if not a little heavy on curry type dishes), always fresh (unlike other buffet meals can be sometimes) and of a very high standard. The entertainment in the evenings was also excellent, something new every night and the bands were superb. Oh, another big plus is a lot of water sports are included in your hotel stay like waterskiing.

We also took full advantage of the spa and its treatment massages - I would highly recommend Sabrina and Karinha - who gave some of the best massages we have had.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to couples of all ages looking for a quiet romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for the refurbed rooms away from the pool (hence why I only gave 4/5 for sleep quality) as our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosephW90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We have spent 10 days in Lux* Belle Mare. As it is with luxury resorts it all comes to detail and frankly we expected a bit more. But to the point:
+ the place looks like on a postcard. Fantastic complex with stunning views.
+ we were accommodated in seaside junior suite which is spacious and very well furnished
+ reception staff and housekeeping was excellent, so was the coffee shop (great idea)
+ great spa facilities with reasonable prices (you can buy packages which guarantee discounts)

- unfortunately the room next door was being renovated and we enjoyed sounds of drills and hammers
- so was the beach bar and lying on the beach close to it was quite bothersome
- the hotel allows smoking on the beach, I didn't enjoy being a passive smoker
- lunch service was terribly slow, our record was 80 minutes wait for a starter
- choice of meals for dinner and breakfast was quite limited. The Chef loves curry... After 5 days we were pretty bored with the food
- get yourself a notepad to remember what's in which package as even all inclusive we took excludes some items (like juice in the coffee shop)

Maybe we had our expectations high but overall stay is not more than average.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChuckSW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.4 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,029 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,552 reviews
4.2 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
15.8 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,457 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Belle Mare

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 742CU001
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £241 - £1,326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your LUX* Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX* Belle Mare Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing